Skip to main content
Alert The Tax Division Offices are open to the public effective July 12, 2021. Our public hours are 8a – 4p Monday to Friday (excluding State Holidays). This includes both the Juneau and Anchorage offices and lobbies. Please call (907)269-6620 for assistance

Electric Cooperative Tax
2014 Annual Report

Electric Cooperative Tax Reports

AS 10.25.540
Alaska levies an electric cooperative tax on kilowatt hours furnished by qualified electric cooperatives recognized under AS 10.25.

The electric cooperative tax is based on a rate per kilowatt hour (kWh), and on the length of time the cooperative has furnished electricity to consumers as follows: $0.00025 per kWh for cooperatives that have furnished electric energy and power to consumers for less than five years as of December 31 of the preceding calendar year or $0.0005 per kWh for cooperatives that have furnished electric energy and poser to consumers for five years or longer as of the preceding calendar year.

Electric cooperatives file calendar year returns that are due with payment before March 1 of the following year.

All qualified electric cooperatives are subject to the cooperative tax. Cooperatives pay the electric cooperative tax in lieu of corporate net income and excise taxes.

The Division deposits all revenue derived from electric cooperative taxes into the General Fund.

Electric cooperative taxes sourced from within municipalities are shared 100% to respective municipalities, less the amount expended by the state in their collection.

The state retains electric cooperative taxes sourced from outside of municipalities.


1959 - The legislature enacted the electric cooperative tax as part of the “Electric and Telephone Cooperative Act” which was adopted to promote cooperatives around the state. The due date for filing electric cooperative tax returns was April 1 of the following year.

1960 - The legislature changed the due date for paying taxes to March 1.

1980 - The legislature changed the tax base for calculating the electric cooperative tax from gross revenue to kWh. The legislature adopted the current mill rates.

Click here for data with additional years.

  Collections Summary

Fiscal Year

2014 2013 2012 2011
   Total Tax





   General Fund

36,883 34,251 29,696 31,357

   Shared with Municipalities

(1,964,614) (2,037,896) (2,016,815) (1,994,349)

  Filing Information

Fiscal Year

2014 2013 2012 2011

   Number of Returns

16 21 17 18

   Number of Taxpayers

15 21 17 18

Get Adobe Reader