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This annual report covers fiscal year 2011, which ended June 30, 2011. 

The purpose of this report is to provide an overview of programs 
administered by the Tax Division (“Division”) and statistics of revenue 
collections and other information related to those programs.
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Overview
The programs administered by the 
Tax Division generate a significant 
portion of General Fund revenue 
used for funding state government 
and programs throughout Alaska.

Programs Administered by the 
Tax Division

Oil and Gas Taxes
Conservation Surcharge
Production
Property

Corporate Income Tax 

Excise Taxes
Alcoholic Beverages
Commercial Passenger Vessel
Motor Fuel
Tire Fee
Tobacco
Vehicle Rental

Fisheries Taxes
Dive Fishery Management
Fisheries Business
Fishery Resource Landing
Salmon Enhancement
Seafood Development
Seafood Marketing

Other Taxes
Electric Cooperative
Estate
Large Passenger Vessel Gambling
Mining License
Regulatory Cost Charges
Telephone Cooperative

Other Programs
Gaming
Revenue Forecasting
Salmon Price Reporting
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Retrospect
 
Fiscal year 2011 (FY 2011) provided many challenges for the Tax Division.  
As in previous years, the Division continued to implement the significant 
changes that have been made to the oil and gas production tax in the past 
few years.  Implementation included the initial drafting of a standardized oil 
and gas production tax return, implementing currently adopted regulations 
and streamlining the oil and gas credit purchase and due diligence review 
process.  The continued streamlining of the oil and gas credit program 
resulted in the timely issuance of over 250 tax credit certificates totaling 
over $464 million, and 278 cash purchases of credit certificates totaling 
approximately $450 million.  
 
Along with oil and gas production tax, the Division is responsible for the 
administration of 20 other tax types and the regulation of charitable gaming.  
The Division is also called upon routinely to work with the governor’s 
office, legislators and other state departments to formulate policy and long-
term fiscal planning for the state.  Following are some highlights of major 
accomplishments of the Division during FY 2011:

•	 Assisted the governor with critical legislation to propose changes to 
Alaska’s oil and gas production tax as part of the governor’s overall plan to 
make Alaska more competitive as an oil production state.  Assisted both the 
governor and the legislature in dealing with various other fiscal issues, and 
provided information and testimony on education, film production, research 
and development, and renewable energy tax credits as well as proposed 
changes to the passenger vehicle, motor fuel, and mining license taxes.  

•	 Completed an assessment of current Tax Division systems, and the need 
for an integrated revenue management system to enhance efficiencies in the 
administration of all tax programs.

•	 Initiated a project to identify and standardize critical information needed 
from the oil and gas industry to enhance the quality of oil and gas audits and 
our ability to more accurately estimate future production tax revenues for state 
budgeting purposes.  	
	
•	 Assessed over $65 million in additional production tax and interest liabilities 
as the result of closing multiple audits covering tax years 2003 through 2007.

•	 Continued to provide critical resources in support of the governor’s plans 
regarding a pipeline to transport natural gas.

•	 Continued training of Corporate Income Tax Auditors responsible for 
the Alaska corporate net income tax and Oil and Gas Revenue Auditors 
responsible for oil and gas production tax. The Division also extended its 
contract with an outside audit firm to assist in oil and gas production tax and 
credit audits.
	
•	 The Division distributed over $39 million in shared taxes and fees to 128 
different communities throughout Alaska.
	
•	 Closed over 145 appeals of assessments covering all tax types and 
charitable gaming.
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Program (All Funds) FY 2011 % Fund FY 2010 % Fund FY 2009 % Fund

Oil & Gas Production1 $4,606,102,504 78.52% $3,320,509,475 76.73% $3,181,883,289 74.99%

Oil & Gas Corporate Income1 572,966,245 9.77% 491,876,513 11.37% 532,244,796 12.54%

Oil and Gas Property1 and 2 184,254,471 3.14% 118,768,329 2.74% 111,215,191 2.62%

Other Corporate Income 157,676,608 2.69% 81,910,562 1.89% 120,934,805 2.85%

Tobacco3 73,055,396 1.25% 71,985,643 1.66% 73,075,035 1.72%

Mining License1 49,588,119 0.85% 29,725,100 0.69% 16,044,139 0.38%

Fisheries Business5 44,462,246 0.76% 31,945,400 0.74% 42,235,590 1.00%

Motor Fuel5 39,617,286 0.68% 28,834,020 0.67% 10,064,276 0.24%

Alcoholic Beverages6 38,730,319 0.66% 38,756,760 0.90% 38,496,361 0.91%

Commercial Passenger Vessel4 and 5 31,997,310 0.55% 44,205,582 1.02% 46,383,827 1.09%

Regulatory Cost Charges 9,796,244 0.17% 9,666,038 0.22% 9,040,301 0.21%

Oil & Gas Conservation Surcharge 9,670,333 0.16% 10,318,732 0.24% 11,131,929 0.26%

Seafood Marketing Assessment 8,622,211 0.15% 7,812,697 0.18% 8,874,778 0.21%

Vehicle Rental 8,280,292 0.14% 7,332,686 0.17% 8,044,944 0.19%

Salmon Enhancement 7,851,054 0.13% 4,877,106 0.11% 5,842,890 0.14%

Fishery Resource Landing5 7,083,988 0.12% 12,552,075 0.29% 10,962,929 0.26%

Large Passenger Vessel Gambling 5,764,962 0.10% 6,312,053 0.15% 6,286,467 0.15%

Gaming 2,537,686 0.04% 2,609,282 0.06% 2,834,640 0.07%

Seafood Development 2,143,116 0.04% 1,578,861 0.04% 1,385,482 0.03%

Electric Cooperative5 2,025,707 0.03% 2,038,375 0.05% 2,087,402 0.05%

Telephone Cooperative5 1,897,512 0.03% 2,046,583 0.05% 2,039,822 0.05%

Tire Fee 1,500,800 0.03% 1,427,771 0.03% 1,509,726 0.04%

Dive Fishery Management 603,219 0.01% 523,024 0.01% 391,183 0.01%

Salmon Marketing 0 0.00% (11,781) 0.00% 0 0.00%

Estate 0    0.00%     (19,510) 0.00% 174,613 0.00%

Total $5,866,227,627 100.00% $4,327,581,376    100.00% $4,243,184,415    100.00%
1 Includes amounts transferred to the Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund.
2 Amount is net of credits for local government property tax paid to municipalities.
3 Includes amounts transferred to the School Fund and Tobacco Use Education and Cessation Fund.
4 Includes amounts transferred to the Regional Cruise Ship Impact Fund.
5 Prior to sharing with municipalities.  See Figure 3 for amounts shared under each program.
6 Includes amounts transferred to the Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Treatment and Prevention Fund.

 Note: Amounts below are included in program revenues above.  These amounts were required to be transferred to the designated funds identified below under 
provisions of the Alaska Constitution or Alaska Statutes.

 Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund 
   Oil & Gas Production $62,872,010 37.44% $459,807,918          90.94% $81,060,671 66.63%

   Oil & Gas Corporate 30,851,341 18.37% 45,756,692 9.05% 40,029,318 32.91%

   Mining 607,605 0.36% 48,116 .01% 557,958 0.46%

   Oil & Gas Property      73,618,541     43.83%                    0     0.00%                    0     0.00%

Total CBRF $167,949,497 100.00% $505,612,726 100.00% $121,647,947 100.00%

 School Fund $23,155,813 100.00% $23,440,125 100.00% $23,127,219 100.00%

 Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
   Treatment and Prevention Fund $19,362,716 100.00% $19,231,568 100.00% $18,968,874 100.00%

Regional Cruise Ship Impact Fund $8,757,054 100.00% $11,006,316 100.00% $11,592,602 100.00%

 Tobacco Use Education and 
   Cessation Fund $3,361,917 100.00% $3,403,221 100.00% $3,356,490 100.00%

Figure 1 - Three-Year Comparison of Revenue Collections
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Mining 715

Gaming* 3218

Other 972
   Vehicle Rental 473
   Tire Fee 332
   CPV Excise 131
   Electric Cooperative 18
   Telephone Cooperative 12
   LPV Gambling 6

Oil and Gas                                    1016
Production 34
Corporate Income 107
Property 875

Other Corporate Income                           16223

Motor Fuel 3206

Tobacco 1087

Total Tax Returns Filed  29,275

Alcoholic Beverages 650

Fisheries Business 671

Other Fisheries                              1517
Salmon Enhancement 895
Seafood Marketing 266
Seafood Development 220
Fishery Resource Landing 78
Dive Fishery Management 58

*Annual financial statements and reports filed by permittees, operators, multiple-beneficiary permittees, distributors and manufacturers.

Figure 2 - Tax Returns Filed

Other Corporate
55%

Gaming
11%

Motor
Fuel
11%

Oil and Gas
4%

Other Fisheries 
5%

Other
3%

Tobacco
4% Mining

3%

Fisheries
Business

2% Alcohol
2%
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2011 Legislation
SB 84 (Ch 7 FSSLA 11) – Education Tax Credit.  
 
This legislation extended the expiration date of the $5 million annual 
credit limit from January 1, 2014 to January 1, 2021, and expanded 
the type of contributions eligible for the credit.  
 
Cash contributions to the following now qualify for the Education Tax 
Credit: 

•• For an annual intercollegiate sports tournament by a nonprofit, 
public or private, Alaska two-year or four-year college accredited 
by a regional accreditation association 

•• For Alaska Native cultural or heritage programs provided by a 
nonprofit agency for educational support, including mentoring 
and tutoring, to in-state grades K – 12 public school staff and 
students 

•• For education, research, rehabilitation, and facilities by an in-
state institution that qualifies as a coastal ecosystem learning 
center under the Coastal American Partnership that provides 
education, research and rehabilitation

 
This legislation became effective on July 1, 2011.
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Key Contacts

Corporate Income Tax 
Robynn Wilson
Anchorage Office
907-269-6634

Excise Taxes
Brandon Spanos
Anchorage Office
907-269-6736

Fisheries Taxes
Tim Cottongim
Juneau Office
907-465-3695

Oil & Gas Production Tax
Jenny Rogers
Anchorage Office
907-269-1015

Oil & Gas Property Tax
James Greeley 
Anchorage Office
907-269-1029

Accounting and Collections
Mary Jane Doster-Gates 
Juneau Office
907-465-3776

Appeals
Hollie Kovach 
Anchorage Office
907-269-6640

Economic Research
Cheryl Nienhuis
Anchorage Office
907-269-1019

Gaming
Jeff Prather
Juneau Office
907-465-3410

Information Technology
Donald McDonald 
Juneau Office
907-465-2387

Investigations
Scott Stair 
Anchorage Office
907-269-1073

Home Page:  www.tax.alaska.gov
E-mail:  First Name.Last Name@alaska.gov

Juneau Office
Alaska Department of 
Revenue
Tax Division
11th Floor, State Office 
Building
PO Box 110420
Juneau, AK 99811-0420
907-465-2320 Voice 
907-465-2375 Fax

Anchorage Office
Alaska Department of 
Revenue
Tax Division
Robert B. Atwood Building
550 W 7th Avenue, Ste 500
Anchorage, AK 99501-3556
907-269-6620 Voice 
907-269-6644 Fax

Matthew R. Fonder, Director
Anchorage Office

907-269-6620

Johanna Bales, Deputy Director
Anchorage Office

907-269-6628

John Bernasconi, Chief of Operations
Juneau Office
907-465-4773
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Division Functions
During FY 2011, the Tax Division was 
staffed by 123 full-time and 8 non-
permanent or college intern positions. 
The Division’s FY 2011 operating 
budget was $14.9 million. 

The Division is organized 
according to the functional groups 
of Accounting and Collections, 
Appeals, Income Tax, Excise 
Tax, Oil & Gas Production Tax, 
Economic Research, Fisheries Tax, 
Gaming, Investigations, Oil and 
Gas Property Tax and the support 
groups of Administrative Support and 
Information Technology.

Operations
Overview
The Division maintains offices in both 
Juneau and Anchorage.

Tax returns and payments, except 
oil and gas property tax returns, 
are processed in Juneau. Juneau 
operations consist of Data Entry 
and Processing, Accounting 
and Collections, Fisheries Tax 
Examination and Audit, Corporate 
Income Tax Examination, and 
Gaming Licensing and Examination.

The Juneau office also maintains 
records for minerals related 
settlement payments received by the 
state that are required to be directed 
to the Constitutional Budget Reserve 
Fund (CBRF).

Anchorage operations consist 
of Oil and Gas Production Tax 
Audit and Examination, Corporate 
Income Tax Audit, Excise Tax Audit 
and Examination, Gaming Audit, 
Economic Research, Oil and Gas 
Property Tax Assessment and Audit, 
and Appeals.
 

Accounting and Collections
The Accounting and Collections unit 
processes and deposits payments, 
and reconciles revenues recorded 
in the Division’s tax database to the 
state’s accounting system (AKSAS).  
Accounting and Collections applies 
payments, processes assessment 
letters, issues refunds, makes 
corrections to accounts, and 
processes AKSAS financial journal 
entries when required.

Accounting and Collections processes 
financial journal entries to ensure 
that tax revenues are deposited 
into certain funds as required by the 
Alaska Constitution and statutes.

The unit also collects delinquent tax 
accounts and takes enforcement 
actions such as filing liens, levying 
assets and wages, and garnisheeing 
Permanent Fund Dividends. The 
unit approves tax clearances from 
state agencies that are making 
final payment on state contracts, 
summarizes and reports financial 
data, and provides financial oversight 
and control of agency accounting 
functions. 

The unit also distributes taxes and 
fees to municipalities in accordance 
with statutory requirements, and 
periodically issues warrants to 
communities for the statutory portion 
of tax collected. The amount shared 
is based upon where the tax or fee is 
derived. The following taxes and fees 
are subject to sharing:

• Aviation Motor Fuel
• Commercial Passenger Vessel
• Electric Cooperative
• Fisheries Business
• Fishery Resource Landing
• Telephone Cooperative
• Alcoholic Beverage License

The Division publishes an annual 
shared tax report which summarizes 
the amounts shared with each 
community.  The annual report is 

The Tax Division’s 
FY 2011 operating 

budget was 
$14.9 million. 
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available online at www.tax.alaska.
gov. This report includes information 
regarding the shared taxes and fees 
program.

Appeals 
The Appeals unit conducts 
informal conferences on protested 
assessments, issues informal 
conference decisions, and 
participates in formal hearings before 
the Office of Administrative Hearings. 
In addition, Appeals provides 
assistance for all programs and tax 
types administered by the Division. 

Audit and Examination
The audit groups are the Division’s 
core technical and analytical 
resource that provide support for 
many functions in the Division. Audit 
drafts and implements regulations, 
conducts special projects, and 
provides support to Appeals. 

The audit and examination functions 
are conducted within the following 
groups:

•	 Corporate Income 
The Corporate Income Tax unit 
examines and audits corporate net 
income tax returns, including oil and 
gas corporate income tax returns. 

The group’s examination section 
receives and examines corporation, 
partnership and other informational 
returns and assists with updating 
corporate tax return forms to reflect 
changes in federal and Alaska tax 
laws.

The unit conducts compliance 
activities such as securing returns 
from businesses and individuals 
required to file tax returns, comparing 
internal data with information 
from external agencies (IRS and 
Alaska Department of Commerce, 
Community and Economic 
Development) to identify potential 
taxpayers, and following up on 

compliance leads from internal and 
external sources.

•	 Excise Taxes 
The Excise Tax unit licenses mining 
operations, alcoholic beverage 
manufacturers and distributors, 
tobacco manufacturers and 
distributors, and motor fuel qualified 
dealers.  The unit examines and 
audits returns for the following 
tax types: alcoholic beverages, 
commercial passenger vessel, large 
passenger vessel gambling, mining 
license, motor fuel, tire fee, tobacco, 
and vehicle rental.  

•	 Fish
The Fish Tax unit examines and 
audits returns for the following 
tax types: fisheries business, 
fishery resource landing, salmon 
enhancement, seafood development, 
dive fishery management, and 
seafood marketing assessments.  

The unit licenses fisheries 
businesses that process, catch or 
export fisheries resources from 
the state. As part of the licensing 
function, the unit accounts for cash 
prepayments and other forms of 
security submitted by processors 
to secure payment of their fisheries 
business tax liabilities.

The unit administers the fish 
processor surety bonding program 
as surety against future claims from 
employees, fishermen, and tenders. 

The unit also administers the salmon 
production and wholesale salmon 
price report program, examines 
reports filed by large processors and 
publishes: 

1) tri-annual price reports,
2) annual price reports, and
3) annual production reports.

 

The Gaming group 
publishes an 

annual report that 
is available at www.

tax.alaska.gov.
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• Oil & Gas Production Tax 
The Oil and Gas Production Tax 
unit examines and audits oil and 
gas production tax returns and tax 
credit certificate applications.  The 
unit is responsible for assessing 
additional tax due, issuing tax credits 
for exploration, credits for capital 
expenditures and credits for certain 
losses.  Cash purchases of eligible 
tax credit certificates are processed 
by this unit.  Each quarter, the unit 
calculates prevailing values for gas 
produced from the Cook Inlet and 
from the Alaska North Slope. Monthly 
data collected by the unit includes 
current oil and gas sales contracts 
and invoices; lease expenditure data; 
joint interest billings; and production 
data.  These data are used in audits 
and economic analyses.  The unit 
also issues Advisory Bulletins on 
oil and gas matters and regulatory 
interpretations, and assists in 
development and drafting of 
regulations.

Economic Research 
The Economic Research group 
is responsible for monitoring and 
forecasting state revenues. The unit 
monitors state and national economic 
conditions, national and international 
oil markets, and conducts research 
needed to anticipate economic and 
business trends that affect state tax 
revenue.

Economic Research manages the 
publication of the Revenue Sources 
Book, an annual publication that 
contains historical and forecasted 
revenue information to assist 
the governor and legislature in 
developing the state’s budget. The 
book is available at www.tax.alaska.
gov. The team of economists uses a 
series of highly complex economic 
and revenue models, and works 
with other state agencies to compile 
information for the publication.

In addition to the Revenue Sources 
Book, the Economic Research group 

produces official revenue forecasts 
each spring to provide revised 
information as budgets are being 
finalized. Also, the group provides 
monthly updates on the state’s cash 
flow and comparisons to the latest 
official revenue forecast to provide 
the most up-to-date information.

The Economic Research group also 
publishes important oil and gas data 
including average Alaska North Slope 
crude oil, and natural gas prices and 
production. 

Economic Research monitors trends 
in interstate and intrastate oil and gas 
pipelines and marine transportation 
costs.  The group produces forecasts 
of tariffs for the state’s feeder 
pipelines, the Trans-Alaska oil 
pipeline, and marine transportation 
costs. The group also assists in 
economic analysis for valuation of 
oil and gas pipelines for property tax 
purposes.

The Economic Research group 
analyzes, evaluates, and makes 
recommendations on potential 
changes to the state’s tax structure 
and fiscal system. The economists 
prepare and manage comprehensive 
economic models to estimate the 
fiscal impact of changing taxes 
on different stakeholder groups 
including the state, local and federal 
government, and the taxpayers. 

The Economic Research group 
responds to legislative requests on 
revenue related issues including 
preparation and presentation of 
fiscal notes projecting the costs and 
revenues. The group also responds 
to requests from the administration, 
taxpayers, and the public on revenue 
related issues. The group serves 
as an interface for the state with 
the media on issues related to state 
revenue, oil and gas prices, and oil 
and gas production.

The Economic Research 
group publishes a 

Revenue Sources Book 
that is  available at 

www.tax.alaska.gov. 
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Gaming 
The Gaming unit issues annual 
permits to not-for-profit organizations 
to conduct gaming activities and 
licenses operators to conduct gaming 
activities on behalf of permittees. 
Gaming also issues licenses to pull-
tab manufacturers and distributors.

The unit processes reports and 
monitors financial compliance 
of permittees, operators, and 
distributors. The unit conducts 
compliance audits to ensure gaming 
activities are conducted within the 
scope of gaming laws.
 
The unit publishes an annual 
report that includes more detailed 
information and descriptions of the 
program. The report is available at 
www.tax.alaska.gov.

Information Technology
The Information Technology unit 
maintains databases and provides 
technical computer support to the 
Division. The unit also maintains 
online applications, the Division’s 
websites, imaging systems, and 
provides assistance in forms 
publishing. 

The unit researches, coordinates, 
develops and implements technical 
upgrades that enhance customer 
service to Alaska’s taxpayers.

Investigations 
The unit investigates leads of 
potential violations within all tax 
programs administered by the 
Division. The primary focus of the 
unit is on gaming and tobacco 
tax investigations through field 
inspections. The group investigates 
and inspects gaming operations and 
tobacco distributors and retailers.  

Oil & Gas Property Tax
The Oil and Gas Property Tax unit 
conducts appraisals on all oil and 
gas related property in the State of 
Alaska. It also performs compliance 

and collection functions, and 
processes oil and gas property tax 
returns. 

Audits and appraisals conducted 
by the unit are typically highly 
specialized valuations.  Engineering 
and appraisal experts assist under 
contract as needed.

The Investigations 
group investigates 

and inspects gaming 
operations and tobacco 

distributors and 
retailers.
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 Oil and Gas Production and Surcharges 
General Fund 

Production  $4,543,230,494 $2,860,701,557  $3,100,822,618 
Conservation Surcharge    9,670,333       10,318,732       11,131,929

Total Receipts - General Fund  4,552,900,827 2,871,020,238 3,111,954,547

Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund - CBRF  62,872,010     459,807,918       81,060,671

Total Receipts - All Funds  $4,615,772,837 $3,330,828,207 $3,193,015,218 

 Oil & Gas Corporate Income Tax  

General Fund
Tax  $542,519,052 $376,719,507  $490,834,210 

Penalties and Interest 50,851 71,199,752 2,740,981 

Gas Exploration and Development Credit ***** (1,347,938) (963,963)

Alaska Education Credit     (455,000)      (451,500)        (395,750)

 Total Receipts - General Fund   542,114,903 446,119,821 492,215,478 

Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund - CBRF      30,851,341     45,756,692     40,029,318

Total Receipts - All Funds  $572,966,245 $491,876,513 $532,244,796

Oil and Gas Property Tax
General Fund

Property Tax $476,951,412 $497,474,575 $441,695,314

Credit for Municipal Taxes Paid (366,315,482) (378,706,246) (330,480,123)

Total Receipts - General Fund  110,635,930 118,768,329 111,215,191

Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund - CBRF   73,618,541                     0                     0

Total Receipts - All Funds  $184,254,471 $118,768,329 $111,215,191

Other Corporate Income Tax
Tax 147,303,831 $76,760,863 $118,285,179

Penalties and Interest 11,457,715 5,594,174 3,317,809

Alaska Education Credit    (1,084,939)     (414,475)       (668,183)

Total Receipts - General Fund  $157,676,608 $81,910,562 $120,934,805

*****: This catagory represents too few taxpayers and is not available for disclosure per AS 43.05.230

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
Listed in order of total amount FY 2011 total receipts
All receipts are General Fund unless otherwise designated

 TAX TYPE FY 2011 FY 2010  FY 2009 
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 Tobacco Tax
 Cigarette  $61,637,410 $61,879,232  $63,000,237 
 Tobacco Products 11,686,212 10,384,508 10,242,503 
 Penalties and Interest 86,950 72,877 211,593 
 Cigarette License Fees 4,750 6,000  $6,375 

 Deductions and Stamp Discounts (359,925)    (356,974)    (385,673)

 Total Receipts 73,055,396 71,985,643   73,075,035

 School Fund* (23,155,813) (23,440,125) (23,127,219)
 Tobacco Use Education and Cessation Fund (3,361,917)   (3,403,221)   (3,356,490)

 Amount Retained in General Fund  $46,537,666 $45,142,297 $46,591,326 
         * All cigarette license fees are included in this amount.

 Commercial Passenger Vessel Excise Tax 
 Tax  $31,986,662 $44,025,266  $46,370,407 
 Penalties and Interest      10,649       180,316         13,420 

 Total Receipts  $31,997,310 44,205,582  46,383,827 

 Taxes shared to municipalities (9,145,743) (10,086,943) (9,909,573)
 Amount transferred to Regional Cruise Ship  

    Impact Fund - this is a state fund (8,757,054) (11,006,316) (11,592,602)

 Amount Retained in General Fund  $14,094,513 $23,112,323  $24,881,653 

Alcoholic Beverages Tax

 Liquor  $19,944,505 $19,394,015 $18,609,636 

 Beer 12,106,069 12,832,923 12,971,806 

 Wine 5,564,705 5,332,658 5,512,824 

 Beer qualifying for reduced tax rate 1,105,372 1,003,157 914,888 

 Penalties, Interest and Refunds      9,669      194,007        487,207 

 Total Receipts 38,730,319 $38,756,760  $38,496,361 

 Amount transferred to Alcohol and Other Drug   

   Abuse Treatment and Prevention Fund (19,362,716) (19,231,568) (18,968,874)

Amount Retained in General Fund  $19,367,603 $19,525,192 $19,527,487

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2011 total receipts

All receipts are General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2011 FY 2010  FY 2009 
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 Fisheries Business Tax  
 Established 
   Shore-based  $32,930,706 $22,769,614  $30,223,448 
   Floating 6,337,078 5,045,905 6,809,487 
   Cannery 6,347,450 4,792,527 5,069,742 
 Developing 
   Shore-based 53,585 44,158 48,357 
   Floating          340            1,037             249 
 Total Tax 45,669,159 32,653,241 42,151,283 
 Prepayments 1,314,972 3,612,603 3,523,354 
 Penalties and Interest 157,442 313,438 311,942 
 License Fees 12,475          13,250        13,500 
 Less Credits 

   Winn Brindle (184,817) (123,060) (192,792)
   Alaska Education (449,730) (450,000) (450,000)
   Salmon Product Development (2,057,255)  (4,074,071)  (3,121,697)
 Total Receipts 44,462,246 31,945,400 42,235,590 

 Fisheries Business Tax Shared 
   Direct to Municipalities (22,216,898) (16,255,158) (21,304,498)
   DCCED* Municipal Allocation (2,153,491)  (1,686,964)  (1,635,638)

 Amount Retained by State  $20,091,857 $14,003,278 $19,295,454 

 * Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 

Mining License Tax
 General Fund 
   Tax Before Credits  $50,085,541 $29,673,039  $15,486,880 
   Penalties and Interest (34,164) 98,416  
   Mineral Exploration Incentive Credit (949,466) 0 (699)
   Alaska Education Credit    (121,397)      (94,471)                 0 
 Total Receipts - General Fund 48,980,514 29,676,984  15,486,181 

 Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund (CBRF)       607,605        48,116       557,958 

 Total Receipts - All Funds  $49,588,119 $29,725,100 $16,044,139 
 

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2011 total receipts

All receipts are General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2011 FY 2010  FY 2009 
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Motor Fuel Tax
Highway  $29,878,551 $23,427,554  $6,892,576 
Marine 5,199,186 2,092,010 2,320,266 
Jet 3,885,642 2,947,084 586,000 
Aviation      578,541      337,014      235,849 
Total Tax * 39,541,920 28,803,662 10,034,691 
Penalties and Interest       75,366          30,358        29,585 
Total Receipts 39,617,286 28,834,020 10,064,276 
Aviation Tax Shared      (142,478)       (130,566)     (144,101)

Amount Retained by State  $39,474,808 $28,703,454 $9,920,175 
* Motor fuel tax was suspended for the period September 1, 2008 through August 31, 2009

 Fishery Resource Landing Tax
 Tax Before Credits  $10,141,719 $10,701,244  $11,003,129 

 Penalties, Interest and Refunds (1,725,434) 3,563,499 93,042 

 Less Credits 

   Alaska Education Credit (798,000) (948,000) (150,000)
   CDQ Contributions   (534,297)    (764,668)        16,758 
 Total Receipts 7,083,988 12,552,075 10,962,929 

 Fishery Resource Landing Tax Shared  

   Direct to Municipalities (3,176,680) (3,542,908) (4,572,051)

   DCCED* Municipal Allocation (1,252,767) (752,016) (1,725,481)

 Amount Retained by State  $2,654,541 $8,257,151  $4,665,397 

 * Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development

Regulatory Cost Charges
 Total Receipts  $9,796,244 $9,666,038 $9,040,301 

Seafood Marketing Assessment  
 Fisheries Business  $6,961,962 $5,350,686  $6,740,918 
 Fishery Resource Landing 1,660,249   2,462,011   2,133,860 

 Total Receipts  $8,622,211 $7,812,697 $8,874,778 
 

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2011 total receipts

All receipts are General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2011 FY 2010  FY 2009 
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 Vehicle Rental Tax

 Passenger  $7,836,341 $7,011,525  $7,626,372 

 Recreational 339,191 301,603 364,153 

 Penalties and Interest   104,760       19,558      54,419 

 Total Receipts  $8,280,292 $7,332,686 $8,044,944 

Large Passenger Vessel Gambling Tax

 Tax  $5,667,463 $6,309,939  $6,286,467 

 Penalties and Interest        97,499         2,114               0 

 Total Receipts  $5,764,962 $6,312,053 $6,286,467 

Salmon Enhancement Tax

Tax by Aquacultural Region

Southern Southeast  $1,717,587 $1,438,151  $1,141,446 

Northern Southeast  1,711,943 1,232,922  1,771,256 

Prince William Sound 2,980,774 894,977  1,757,181 

Kodiak 534,098 743,241  571,342 

Cook Inlet 609,547 374,389  434,733 

Chignik    288,397    201,001    165,039 

Total Tax  7,842,346 4,884,681  5,840,997 

Penalties and Interest        8,708       (7,575)         1,893 

Total Receipts  $7,851,054 $4,877,106 $5,842,890 

Gaming Tax and Fees
 Pull-Tab Tax  $1,985,902 $2,144,998  $2,241,650 

 Net Proceeds Fee 406,734 320,149 458,612 
 License and Permit Fees      145,050     144,135     134,378 
 Total Receipts  $2,537,686 $2,609,282 $2,834,640 

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2011 total receipts

All receipts are General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2011 FY 2010  FY 2009 
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Telephone Cooperative Tax
 Total Receipts  $1,897,512 $2,046,583  $2,039,822 
 Taxes shared (1,769,193) (1,931,256) (1,931,876)

 Amount Retained by State  $128,318 $115,327 $107,946 

 Electric Cooperative  Tax

 Total Receipts  $2,025,707 $2,038,375  $2,087,402 
 Taxes shared (1,994,349) (2,009,002) (2,057,093)

 Amount Retained by State  $31,357 $29,373  $30,309 

 Seafood Development Assessment 
 Tax by Development Region 

   Bristol Bay (Drift Gillnet)  $1,575,461 $1,251,268  $1,066,270 

   Prince William Sound (Drift Gillnet) 549,133 317,460 315,862 

   Prince William Sound (Set Gillnet) 15,439 9,772 2 

 Penalties and Interest      3,083            361         3,348 

 Total Receipts  $2,143,116 $1,578,861 $1,385,482 

 Tire Fee 
 Non-Studded  $1,081,406 $1,034,158  $1,062,455 

 Studded 412,186 392,349 444,750 

 Penalties and Interest 7,208         1,264         2,521 

 Total Receipts  $1,500,800 $1,427,771 $1,509,726 

 Dive Fishery Management Assessment 

 Total Receipts *  $603,219 $523,024 $391,183 

* All receipts are derived from Southeast Alaska Management Area A

 Estate Tax 

 Total Receipts $0 $(19,510) $174,613 

Salmon Marketing Tax1

Tax $0 $(5,933) $22

Penalties and Interest     0    (5,848)    0

Total Receipts $0 $(11,781) $22

1Repealed effective January 1, 2005

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2011 total receipts

All receipts are General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2011 FY 2010  FY 2009 
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Figure 4 - Program Revenue and Cost Detail

Sorted by Revenue FY 2011 Statistics FY 2011 Program FY 2011 Per FTE
Returns Revenue Cost1  FTE2 Revenue Cost 

Program
Oil & Gas Production3 34  $4,615,772,837  $4,742,963 35.1  $131,503,500 135,127

Oil & Gas Corporate Income4 107  572,966,245  782,701 7.2  79,578,645 108,708

Oil and Gas Property 875  184,254,471  672,877 5.2  35,433,552 129,399

Other Corporate Income 16,223  157,676,608  3,187,328 31.0  5,086,342 102,817

Tobacco 1,087  73,055,396  897,344 8.6  8,494,813 104,342

Mining License5 715  49,588,119  823,227 7.5  6,611,749 109,764

Fisheries Business 671  44,462,246  654,148 6.2  7,171,330 105,508

Motor Fuel 3,206  39,617,286  575,759 5.5  7,203,143 104,683

Alcoholic Beverages 650  38,730,319  219,913 2.0  19,365,160 109,957

Commercial Passenger Vessel 131  31,997,310  115,510 1.0  31,997,310 115,510

Seafood Marketing Assessment 266  8,622,211  55,128 0.6 See Note 6 See Note 6

Vehicle Rental 473  8,280,292  311,304 3.9  2,123,152 79,822

Salmon Enhancement 895  7,851,054  126,373 1.4  5,607,896 90,266

Fishery Resource Landing 78  7,083,988  190,897 2.0  3,541,994 95,449

Large Passenger Vessel Gambling 6  5,764,962  72,992 0.7 See Note 6 See Note 6

Gaming 3,218  2,537,686  1,306,722 11.1  228,620 117,723

Seafood Development 220  2,143,116  38,192 0.4 See Note 6 See Note 6

Electric Cooperative 18  2,025,707  1,594 <.1 See Note 6 See Note 6

Telephone Cooperative 12  1,897,512  1,594 <.1 See Note 6 See Note 6

Tire Fee 332  1,500,800  128,332 1.3  1,154,462 98,717

Dive Fishery Management 58  603,219  23,100 0.3 See Note 6 See Note 6

Total 29,275  $5,856,431,384  $14,927,998 131.0 $44,705,583 7 $113,954 7  

1Based on operating costs of the Tax Division.
2Full-time Equivalent staff positions.
3Includes oil and gas conservation surcharge revenue of $9,670,333; surcharges are reported on oil & gas production returns.  Includes         
 Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund receipts of $62,872,010.
4Includes Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund receipts of  $30,851,341.
5Includes Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund receipts of  $607,605.
6Combined program revenues ($21,056,727) and costs ($192,600) required approximately 2.0 FTE.
7Reflects total revenue and total cost divided by FTE.
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Figure 5 - Revenue Collected from Assessments

Program Audit Exam Total
Oil and Gas Production  $82,370,453  $0  $82,370,453 
Oil and Gas Property 73,585,814 0 73,585,814 
Oil and Gas Corporate Income 30,851,341 0 30,851,341 
Corporate Income 27,206,239 1,963,865 29,170,104 
Fisheries Business 580,156 54,528 634,684 
Mining 0 607,605 607,605 
Commercial Passenger Vessel Excise 8,184 476,054 484,238 
Tobacco 0 318,283 318,283 
Motor Fuel 210 229,549 229,759 
Fishery Resource Landing 0 82,837 82,837 
Vehicle Rental 6,577 62,022 68,599 
Seafood Marketing 0 60,710 60,710 
Large Passenger Vessel Gambling 0 53,595 53,595 
Salmon Enhancement 0 17,314 17,314 
Charitable Gaming 0 10,472 10,472 
Alcoholic Beverage 0 10,411 10,411 
Dive Fisheries 0 7,869 7,869 
Estate 0 0 0 
Telephone/Electric Co-ops 0 0 0 
Salmon Marketing 0 0 0 
Tire Fee 43,279 (58,154) (14,875)
Seafood Development           0     (17,160)     (17,160)

Total $214,652,253 $3,879,799 $218,532,052
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Alcoholic Beverages Tax
AS 43.60

Description
Alaska levies a tax on alcoholic 
beverages sold in Alaska. The tax is 
collected primarily from wholesalers 
and distributors of alcoholic 
beverages.

Rates

Returns
Taxpayers file returns and pay tax 
monthly. The returns and payment 
are due by the last day of the month 
following the month of sale.

Exemptions
Sales to facilities operated by one of 
the uniformed services of the United 
States are exempt if they fall within 
the guidelines of 4 USC 107.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all alcoholic 
beverage tax revenue into the 
General Fund. The Department of 
Administration separately accounts 
for 50 percent of the tax collected 
and deposits it into the Alcohol and 
Other Drug Abuse Treatment and 
Prevention Fund.

History
The alcoholic beverage tax dates 
back to 1933 when the Legislature 
enacted a tax on beer and wine 
at a rate of five cents per gallon. 
Taxpayers filed alcoholic beverage 
tax returns monthly.

In 1937, the territorial legislature 
enacted a tax on liquor at a rate of 
fifty cents per gallon. At the same 
time, the rate for wine increased to 
fifteen cents per gallon.

Since 1937, the legislature has 
made minor changes to the 
alcoholic beverage tax statutes. In 
addition, between 1937 and 1983, 
the legislature increased Alaska’s 
tax rates to correspond with rate 
changes made by other states. 

2002 - The legislature significantly 
increased the tax rates on all three 
alcoholic beverages effective October 
1, 2002. However, this legislation 
allows breweries meeting the 
qualifications of 26 USC. 5051(a)
(2) (small breweries) to pay tax at 
the lower rate of thirty-five cents per 
gallon on the first 60,000 barrels of 
beer (malt beverages) sold in Alaska. 
At the same time, the legislature 
created the Alcohol and Other Drug 
Abuse Treatment and Prevention 
Fund and directed that 50% of the 
alcoholic beverage tax be deposited 
into this fund for alcohol and drug 
abuse treatment programs.

Between 1937 and 2002, alcoholic 
beverage tax rates have changed as 
follows:

Product Rate
Per Gallon 

Liquor (more than 21% 
alcohol)

$12.80

Wine (21% alcohol or less) $2.50
Beer (malt beverages and 
cider) 

$1.07

Beer (small breweries) $0.35

Liquor Per 
Gallon

1937 $0.50
1941 $1.00
1945 $1.60
1946 $2.00
1947 $3.00
1957 $3.50
1961 $4.00
1983 $5.60
2002 $12.80

Fifty percent of taxes 
on alcoholic beverages 
is available to fund 

alcohol and drug abuse 
treatment programs.
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Wine Per 
Gallon

1933 $0.05
1937 $0.15
1947 $0.25
1957 $0.50
1961 $0.60
1983 $0.85
2002 $2.50

Beer (Malt 
Beverages)

Per 
Gallon

1933 $0.05
1947 $0.10
1957 $0.25
1983 $0.35
2002 $1.07

Beer 
(Small Breweries)

Per 
Gallon

2002 $0.35

Product Gallons Tax Collected

Liquor 1,558,166  $19,944,505 
Beer, Malt Beverage & Cider 11,308,097 12,106,069 
Wine 2,225,911 5,564,705 
Beer, Small Brewery 3,165,185 1,105,372 
Penalties, Interest and Refunds              N/A           9,669 
Total Tax Collected 18,257,359 38,730,319 

Transferred to Alcohol and Other Drug  Abuse 
Treatment and Prevention Fund (19,362,716)

Total Tax Collections – General Fund  $19,367,603 

Number of Returns 650
Number of Taxpayers 47

Program Cost $219,913
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 2.0

FY 2011 Statistics
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Significant changes 
were made to the CPV 

tax during the 2010 
legislative session

Commercial Passenger 
Vessel (CPV) Excise Tax
AS 43.52.200 – 295

Description
Alaska imposes an excise tax on travel 
on commercial passenger vessels, 
typically cruise ships that have 250 
or more berths and provide overnight 
accommodations in the state’s marine 
waters.  Passengers traveling on 
qualified commercial passenger 
vessels are liable for the tax.

Rate
The commercial passenger vessel 
excise tax rate is $34.50 per 
passenger, per voyage.  

Returns
Cruise ship companies and 
commercial passenger vessel owners 
file returns and pay taxes monthly.  
The due date is the last day of the 
month following the month in which 
voyages ended.

Exemptions
The CPV excise tax does not apply to 
passengers on board a commercial 
passenger vessel that does not anchor 
or moor in state marine waters with 
the intent to allow passengers to 
disembark.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all proceeds 
from the CPV excise tax into the 
Commercial Vessel Passenger 
(CVP)Tax Account in the general 
fund.  Subject to appropriation by 

the legislature from this account, the 
Division distributes $5 per passenger 
to each of the first seven ports of call 
in Alaska. The tax is further reduced by 
any municipality taxes, imposed on a 
passenger, that were in effect prior to 
December 17, 2007. 

The Division transfers 25% of the 
revenue deposited in the CVP Tax 
Account into a Regional Cruise Ship 
Impact Fund, a sub-account of the 
CVP Tax Account.  

History
2006 - The CPV excise tax was 
enacted by 2006 Primary Election 
Ballot Measure No. 2.  The measure 
was approved by voters at the primary 
election of August 26, 2006.  The 
results of the election were certified 
September 18, 2006 and the initiative’s 
provisions became effective December 
17, 2006.

2010 - During the 2010 legislative 
session, the CPV tax was reduced 
from $46 to $34.50 per passenger. The 
tax is further reduced by any municipal 
taxes imposed on a passenger that 
were in effect prior to December 17, 
2007. This legislation increased the 
number of ports of call which may 
receive $5 per passenger from 5 to 
7, and removed the provision that 
prohibited a port of call from sharing 
in the CPV revenue if it imposed its 
own tax. The legislation also repealed 
the regional cruise ship impact fund. 
These changes are effective for the 
2011 cruise season.

FY 2011 Statistics
Tax Collections  $31,997,310 
Number of Returns 131
Number of Taxpayers 14
Program Cost $115,510
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 1.0
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Corporate Income Tax
AS 43.20

Description
Alaska levies a corporate income tax 
on Alaska taxable income.
 
For purposes of computing taxable 
income, Alaska, like many states, 
adopts the federal Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) by reference, unless 
excepted to or modified by specific 
Alaska statutes.

For a corporation doing business 
only in Alaska, its taxable income is 
federal taxable income with certain 
Alaska modifications.

A corporation that does business 
both inside and outside Alaska 
apportions a percentage of the 
corporation’s total income to 
Alaska using a formula. The Alaska 
percentage or “apportionment factor” 
is an average of three factors: 
property, payroll, and sales, inside 
and outside the state.

When a corporation is part of a 
group of corporations that operates 
as a unit to conduct a business, the 
taxpayer must apportion to Alaska a 
percentage of the combined incomes 
of all of the corporations in the 
“unitary” or “combined” group.

For unitary groups that are not oil 
and gas companies, Alaska adopts 
“water’s edge combination.” The 
combined group generally includes 
only those corporations with 
significant U.S. activity.

Oil and gas companies combine on a 
worldwide basis. Also, oil companies 
use a “modified” apportionment 
formula of property, sales, and 
extraction. The extraction factor is the 
production of oil and gas in Alaska 
divided by production everywhere.

Rate
Alaska taxes corporate income at 
graduated rates ranging from 1 
percent to 9.4 percent divided over 
10 tax brackets.

Returns and Payments
Corporations file returns annually, 
with the return due three and one-half 
months after the close of the tax year, 
one month after the federal tax return 
is due. Alaska honors the federal 
filing extensions.

Corporations must make quarterly 
estimated payments and the total tax 
is due two and one-half months from 
the end of the tax year. There are no 
extensions to pay the tax. Estimated 
payments of more than $100,000 and 
payments accompanying a return 
greater than $150,000 must be made 
online or by wire transfer.

Exemptions
Generally, Alaska follows the IRC 
when determining an entity’s taxable 
status.

Alaska adopts the flow-through 
federal provisions that exempt 
S-Corporations from tax. 
Federally, S-Corporations are 
treated as partnerships and 
S-Corporation shareholders report 
their proportionate share of the 
corporation’s earnings.

Alaska treats Limited Liability 
Companies (LLCs) as partnerships if 
they file as partnerships federally.
Electric and telephone cooperatives 
pay tax under AS 10.25 and are 
exempt from the corporate income 
tax.

Credits
Under Alaska’s blanket adoption 
of the IRC, taxpayers can claim all 
federal incentive credits. Federal 
credits that refund other federal taxes 
are not allowed. Multistate taxpayers 
apportion their total federal incentive 
credits.  Alaska specific credits 
include:

Corporate income is 
taxed at graduated 
rates ranging from 1 

percent to 9.4 percent.
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Education - Taxpayers that 
contribute to Alaska two-year or four-
year universities or colleges for direct 
instruction, research or educational 
support purposes or school district/
state-operated vocational technical 
education and training schools may 
claim a tax credit for 50% of the first 
$100,000, 100% of the contribution 
over $100,000 and up to $300,000 
and 50% of the remaining amount 
over $300,000.  The total allowable 
credit may not exceed $5 million.  

Minerals Exploration Incentive - 
Taxpayers may claim a credit for 
100% of eligible costs of exploration 
activities related to determining 
existence, location, extent, or quality 
of a locatable mineral or coal deposit. 
An approved exploration incentive 
credit may not exceed $20 million 
and must be applied within 15 tax 
years after the credit is approved. 
Application of the credit is limited to 
the lesser of 50%of the taxpayer’s 
mining license tax liability or 50% of 
its corporate tax liability.

Oil and Gas Exploration 
Incentive - Taxpayers may take a 
credit for up to 50% on state land (or 
25% on non - state lands) of eligible 
oil and gas exploration costs. An 
approved oil and gas exploration 
incentive credit may not exceed $5 
million per project and is limited to 
$30 million per taxpayer. Taxpayers 
may apply the credit against 100% of 
corporation net income taxes due.

Gas Exploration and Development 
- Taxpayers may take a corporate 
income tax credit for 10% of 
qualifying expenditures incurred 
in exploration and development 
of natural gas reserves in Alaska, 
except for the North Slope. The credit 
may be applied against 50% of the 
tax liability. Beginning 1/1/2010 this 
credit is increased to 25% and it may 
be applied against 75% of the tax 
liability.

Gas Storage Facility Tax Credit -
Taxpayers may take a credit for costs 
incurred to establish a gas storage 
facility in Alaska. The available credit 
is $1.50 per 1,000 cubic feet of gas 
storage capacity, with a maximum 
credit available of $15,000,000 or 
25% of costs incurred to establish the 
facility. This is a refundable tax credit.

Film Production - Taxpayers may 
take a credit for certain expenses 
incurred in producing films in 
Alaska. The credit varies from 
30% to 44% and is administered 
by the Alaska Department of 
Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development (DCCED)
in cooperation with the Department 
of Revenue. This credit may be 
transferred.

Disposition of Revenue - The 
Division deposits most corporate 
net income tax collections into 
the General Fund. For oil and gas 
corporations only, the Division 
deposits collections from audit 
assessments into the Constitutional 
Budget Reserve Fund.

History
1949 - The territorial legislature 
enacts the Alaska Net Income Tax 
Act. It is 10% of the federal income 
tax liability on income earned in 
Alaska. The tax applies to individuals 
and corporations.

1959 - Alaska adopts the Uniform 
Division of Income for Tax Purposes 
Act (UDITPA) within AS 43.20. This is 
a model statute that was developed 
by the states to address concerns 
of the U.S. Congress that states 
were collectively taxing more than 
100% of the earnings of multistate 
corporations. UDITPA requires 
multistate corporations to apportion 
a percentage of their total income 
to the state by the apportionment 
formula of property payroll and 
sales. The standard UDITPA formula 
apportions 100% of the corporation’s 



A
Alaska Tax Division 2011 Annual ReportProgram Detail 26

income among the states where the 
taxpayer does business.

1970 - Alaska enacts the Multistate 
Tax Compact in AS 43.19, and 
becomes one of the early members 
of the Multistate Tax Commission. 
The Compact incorporates the 
standard three-factor apportionment 
formula of UDITPA. A main purpose 
of the Compact and the Commission 
is to promote the enactment of 
UDITPA, and the uniform application 
of UDITPA apportionment formula 
by the states. Uniform application of 
UDITPA promotes the full reporting of 
income by taxpayers and avoids the 
taxation of the same income by more 
than one state. 

1975 - The legislature repeals 
the original tax and makes major 
revisions. Alaska enacts its own 
tax rates rather than basing the tax 
on the federal tax liability. Alaska 
adopts the federal Internal Revenue 
Code (“IRC”) by reference, unless 
excepted to, or modified by other 
Alaska statutes. The tax rate was 
5.4% of Alaska taxable income with a 
surtax of 4% based on federal surtax 
exemptions. For 1975, the surtax 
exemption was $50,000.

1978 - The legislature finds that the 
standard three-factor apportionment 
formula does not fairly reflect Alaska 
income for oil and gas corporations. 
Alaska enacts AS 43.21, and requires 
oil and gas companies to calculate 
Alaska taxable income using 
separate accounting. The oil and gas 
companies challenge AS 43.21.

1980 - The legislature repeals the 
parts of AS 43.20 that impose the 
individual income tax and retains the 
exemption for S-Corporations.
 
1981 - In an effort to stem the 
growing amount of disputed 
oil and gas income taxes and 
related litigation, the legislature 
seeks a compromise tax method. 
The legislature repeals separate 

accounting under AS 43.21, and 
enacts AS 43.20.072, the current 
“modified” apportionment formula 
for oil and gas corporations. The 
modified formula drops the payroll 
factor and adds the “extraction 
factor.” The legislature also enacts 
the current graduated tax rate 
structure with a maximum rate of 
9.4%.

1987 - The legislature enacts the 
Alaska Education Credit.

1991 - The legislature enacts 
“water’s edge apportionment” 
with AS 43.20.073. Water’s edge 
apportionment does not apply to oil 
and gas taxpayers, who continue to 
report on a worldwide basis. 

1998 - The Department of Revenue 
wins the OSG Bulkships case. The 
Alaska Supreme Court holds that 
AS 43.20 does not adopt the IRC 
Section 883 by reference. Federally, 
Section 883 exempts from tax foreign 
corporations that operate ships and 
aircraft, and avoids double taxation. 
The Court says that formulary 
apportionment in AS 43.19 also 
avoids double taxation and therefore 
AS 43.19 is an exception to Section 
883. During the next session, the 
legislature specifically adopts Section 
883 and grants explicit tax exemption 
to the foreign corporations operating 
cargo ships, cruise ships, and aircraft 
in Alaska.

2006 - A voter initiative that 
subjects cruise ship operators 
to Alaska corporate income tax 
passes in August 2006.  Prior to 
the initiative, cruise ship operators 
were exempt from taxation through 
the Department’s adoption of IRC 
Section 883.
 
2008 - The legislature amends the 
education credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 
secondary level vocational courses 
and programs by a school district 
in Alaska, and by a state-operated 

A voter initiative 
passed in August 2006 

subjects cruise ship 
operators to the Alaska 
corporate income tax.
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vocational technical education and 
training school. 

The legislature authorizes tax 
credits for qualified film production 
expenditures incurred in Alaska.  Tax 
credits may be sold, transferred, 
exchanged, or conveyed, and must 
be used within three years after being 
granted by DCCED.  The maximum 
of credits claimed by all taxpayers 
over the life of the credit program 
may not exceed $100 million.

2010 - The legislature amends 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expands contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 
schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000.

The legislature expands the Gas 
Exploration and Development 
Credit, increasing it from 10% to 
25% effective January 1, 2010. The 
utilization limit was raised from 50% 
to 75% of the tax liability.

The legislature authorizes tax credits 
for expenditures to establish gas 
storage in Alaska. The available 
credit is $1.50 per 1,000 cubic 
feet of gas storage capacity, with 
a maximum credit available of 
$15,000,000 or 25% of costs incurred 
to establish the facility. This is a 
refundable tax credit. 
 
2011 - The legislature enacted 
legislation extending the date that 
the $5 million annual education 
credit limit expires from January 1, 
2014 to January 1, 2021. It is then 
scheduled to return to $150,000. In 
addition, the legislature expanded 

contributions eligible for the credit to 
include contributions made after June 
30, 2011 to annual intercollegiate 
sports tournaments, Alaska Native 
cultural or heritage programs for 
public school staff and students, and 
a facility in the state that qualifies 
as a coastal ecosystem learning 
center under the Coastal American 
Partnership.
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Oil and Gas Corporate Returns           
Number of Returns 107
Number of Taxpayers 33
Program Cost $782,701
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 7.2

Other than Oil and Gas Corporate Returns
Number of Returns 16,223
Number of Taxpayers 13,664
Program Cost $3,187,328
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 31.0

Total - All Returns
Number of Returns 16,330
Number of Taxpayers 13,697
Program Cost $3,970,029
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 38.2

FY 2011 Statistics
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The dive fishery 
management 
assessment is 

currently imposed in 
Southeast Alaska only.

Dive Fishery Management 
Assessment AS 43.76.150

Description
The dive fishery management 
assessment is an elective 
assessment on the value of fisheries 
resources taken using dive gear. 
The assessment only applies to 
designated management areas and 
species, and is assessed at a rate 
elected by a vote of permit holders.

Rate
Southeast Alaska region commercial 
dive fishermen elected the following 
rates for the Southeast Alaska 
administrative area (Management 
Area A):

Geoduck	 7%
Sea Cucumber	 5%
Sea Urchin	 7%

Returns
Buyers file returns and pay tax 
quarterly. The due date is the last day 
of the month following the calendar 
quarter of purchase.

Buyers file returns for bonus 
payments made to fishermen after the 
close of the fishing season. Returns 
for these payments are due with 
additional taxes by the last day of the 
month following the bonus payment.

Fishermen selling to unlicensed 
buyers, or exporting from the region 
file returns and pay taxes annually.
The due date is March 31, following 
the year of sale or export.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all revenue 
derived from the dive fishery 
management assessment into the 
General Fund.

Under AS 43.76.200, the legislature 
may appropriate dive fishery 
management assessment revenue to 
the Department of Fish and Game for 
the purpose of funding the regional 
dive fishery development association.

History
1997 - The legislature enacted the 
dive fishery management assessment 
statute effective June 1997.

1999 - The Southeast Regional Dive 
Fishery Association elected a dive 
fishery management assessment 
on geoducks, sea cucumbers 
and sea urchins harvested in the 
Southeast Alaska administrative 
area (Management Area A). The 
assessment, effective April 1999, 
set rates of 5% for geoduck and sea 
cucumber and 7% for sea urchin.

2004 - The legislature authorized 
three additional rates: 2%, 4%, 
and 6%. Geoduck fishermen 
subsequently elected to increase 
the geoduck assessment to 7% from 
November 1, 2004 through October 
31, 2006.

2005 - The legislature authorized an 
annual filing due date of March 31 for 
dive fishermen who export or sell to 
unlicensed buyers, effective January 
1, 2005.

2006 - Geoduck fishermen elected to 
continue the 7 percent assessment 
on geoducks after October 31, 2006. 

FY 2011 Statistics
Tax Collections  $603,219        
Number of Returns 58
Number of Taxpayers 21
Program Cost $23,100
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.3
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Electric Cooperative Tax
AS 10.25.555

Description
Alaska levies an electric cooperative 
tax on kilowatt-hours furnished 
by qualified electric cooperatives 
recognized under AS 10.25. 

Rate
The electric cooperative tax is 
based on a rate per kilowatt hour 
(kWh), and on the length of time the 
cooperative has furnished electricity 
to consumers as follows:

Returns
Electric cooperatives file calendar 
year returns that are due with 
payment before March 1 of the 
following year.

Exemptions
All qualified electric cooperatives 
are subject to the cooperative 
tax. Cooperatives pay the electric 
cooperative tax in lieu of corporate 
net income tax.

Length Rate Per kWh
Less than 5 years .25 mill
5 years or longer .5 mill

(1 mill = $0.01)

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all revenue 
derived from electric cooperative 
taxes into the General Fund. 

Electric cooperative taxes sourced 
from within municipalities are shared 
100% to respective municipalities, 
less the amount expended by the 
state in their collection. 

The state retains electric cooperative 
taxes sourced from outside of 
municipalities.

History
1959 - The legislature enacted the 
electric cooperative tax as part 
of the “Electric and Telephone 
Cooperative Act” which was adopted 
to promote cooperatives around the 
state. The due date for filing electric  
cooperative tax returns was April 1 of 
the following year.

1960 - The legislature changed the 
due date for paying taxes to March 1.

1980 - The legislature changed the 
tax base for calculating the electric 
cooperative tax from gross revenue 
to kWh. The legislature adopted the 
current mill rates.

Tax Collections $2,025,707
Number of Returns 18
Number of Taxpayers 18
Program Cost $1,594
Staffing (full-time equivalent) <.1

FY 2011 Statistics

Note: Program Costs reflect the cost of the program. The amount retained by the state after 
sharing (Figure 3) represents prior year costs and unshared tax collected in the current year 
outside of an organized borough or incorporated city.

Electric cooperatives 
pay the electric 

cooperative tax in 
lieu of corporate net 

income tax.
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Estate Tax
AS 43.31

Description
Alaska levies an estate tax on the 
transfer of an estate upon death.

Rate
The Alaska estate tax is the amount 
of state credit allowed on the estate’s 
federal tax return. 

Returns
State returns are required only for 
estates of decedents whose date of 
death was before January 1, 2005, 
and the estate has a federal filing 
requirement. Estates of decedents 
whose date of death is January 1, 
2005 or later are not required to file a 
report.

Estate tax returns and payments are 
due 15 months from the decedent’s 
date of death.

The tax payment due date may be 
extended in one-year increments, not 
to exceed 5 years. Interest accrues 
on the amount of tax due during the 
extension period. The return filing 
due date may be extended for up to 
15 years.

Exemptions
Estates under $1.5 million were 
generally exempt from paying estate 
taxes prior to 2005, taking into 
consideration the estate tax credit 
(formerly the unified credit) allowed 
under the IRC. 

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all revenue 
derived from estate taxes into the 
General Fund.

History
1919 - The territorial legislature 
adopted a tax on inheritances and 
transfers of property from estates. 
Tax rates varied from 1 percent to 
17.5 percent of the property’s value.

1970 - The Alaska legislature 
enacted estate tax statutes currently 
in place. Estate tax statutes tie to the 
state credit allowed under IRC estate 
tax laws.

1991 - Interest on delinquent tax is 
subject to compound interest under 
AS 43.05.225.  

2001 - The federal Economic Growth 
and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act was 
enacted. As a consequence of the 
federal act, the state tax credit was 
phased out gradually over a four-year 
period. The state tax credit no longer 
applies to estates of decedents 
whose date of death is January 1, 
2005 or later. However, the Division 
may continue to collect tax from 
estates where the date of death 
was prior to January 1, 2005, as a 
result of returns filed, audits, or other 
enforcement activities.

The state tax credit 
upon which the 

Alaska state tax is 
based was phased out 
by federal law. The 

Alaska estate tax no 
longer applies to estates 
of decedents whose date 
of death is January 1, 

2005 or later.
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Fisheries Business Tax
AS 43.75

Description
Alaska levies a fisheries business 
tax (also known as the “raw fish 
tax”) on fisheries businesses and 
persons who process fisheries 
resources in, or export unprocessed 
fisheries resources from Alaska. 
The tax is based on the price paid 
to commercial fishermen for the raw 
resource, or fair market value when 
there is no arms length transaction 
prior to processing or export. The 
Division collects fisheries business 
taxes from processors and persons 
who export unprocessed fishery 
resources from Alaska.

Rate
Fisheries business tax rates are 
based on the location and type of 
processing activity and whether 
a fishery resource is classified as 
“established” or “developing” by 
the Alaska Department of Fish and 
Game. Rates are as follows:

Processing Activity	

	
Returns
Fisheries businesses file calendar 
year returns that are due with 
payment on March 31 of the following 
year.

After filing the calendar year return, 
taxpayers file returns to report post-
season bonus payments made 

to fishermen. Returns for these 
payments are due with additional 
taxes by the last day of the month 
following the month of bonus 
payments.

Exclusion
Commercial fishermen who process 
fish on board their vessels are 
excluded from the tax if they sell to a 
licensed processor. 

Credits
Education - Taxpayers that 
contribute to Alaska two-year or four-
year universities or colleges for direct 
instruction, research or educational 
support purposes or school district/
state-operated vocational technical 
education and training schools may 
claim a tax credit for 50% of the first 
$100,000, 100% of the contribution 
over $100,000 and up to $300,000 
and 50% of the remaining amount 
over $300,000.  The total allowable 
credit may not exceed $5 million. 

Scholarship Contributions - Tax-
payers that contribute to the A.W. 
“Winn” Brindle memorial scholarship 
account may claim a tax credit for the 
amount of contribution not to exceed 
5% of their tax liability. 

Salmon Product Development - 
Taxpayers are allowed tax credits 
against the fisheries business tax on 
salmon for expenditures promoting 
the development of salmon 
products. The credit on salmon 
for expenditures promoting the 
development of salmon products was 
extended to December 31, 2015. 

Established  Rate
Floating 5%
Salmon Cannery 4.5%
Shore-based 3%

Developing Rate
Floating 3%
Shore-based 1%

The Fisheries Business 
Tax is Alaska’s 

oldest tax, enacted 
in 1899.
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Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all revenue 
derived from the fisheries business 
tax into the General Fund. The 
legislature may appropriate revenue 
from the tax for revenue sharing 
described below:

Processing Activity Inside 
Municipality
The Division shares 50% of tax 
collected with the incorporated 
city or organized borough in 
which the processing took place. 
If an incorporated city is within an 
organized borough, the Division 
divides the 50% shareable amount 
equally between the incorporated city 
and the organized borough equally.

Processing Activity Outside 
Municipality
The Division shares 50% of tax 
collected from processing activities 
outside an incorporated city or an 
organized borough through an 
allocation program administered 
by the Department of Commerce, 
Community and Economic 
Development. 

History
1899 - the U.S. Congress adopted a 
“salmon case” tax to fund fisheries-
related activities in pre-territorial 
Alaska. The Organic Act passed 
in 1912 established an organized 
territorial government in Alaska. In 
1913, the First Territorial Legislature 
adopted the “salmon pack” tax 
which applied to salmon canneries 
based on canned salmon (7 cents 
per case); and the “cold storage” tax 
which applied to other fisheries and 
was based on business receipts. 
Between 1913 and 1949, the 
legislature amended the tax several 
times by changing tax rates and 
expanding the tax base to include 
different fisheries.

1949 - The territorial legislature 
restructured the fisheries business 

tax to be based on value of the 
fisheries rather than volumes (case 
or business receipts). The new “raw 
fish” tax applied to salmon (4%), 
crab and clams (2%), and other 
fishery products (1%) processed in 
canneries. 

1951 - The territorial legislature 
enacted a fishery business license 
requirement with a $25 license fee, 
a tax on floating processors at 4% of 
value and increased the tax rate for 
salmon canneries to 6%.

1962 - The legislature adopted 
provisions for sharing taxes (10%) 
and requiring calendar year returns 
for all businesses.

1967 - The tax rate on salmon 
canneries was amended to 3% and 
provisions were adopted requiring 
security for a fishery business license 
under certain conditions. 

1979 - The legislature adopted the 
modern tax structure with different tax 
rates for established and developing 
species, as well as increasing the 
shared tax percentage to 20%.

1981 - The shared tax percentage 
was increased to 50%.

1986 - The legislature authorized a 
fisheries business tax credit of up to 
50% of fisheries business taxes for 
capital expenditures associated with 
constructing and improving shore-
side processing operations. The tax 
credit program was effective for 1987 
through 1989 with a carryforward 
provision through 1991. Taxpayers 
claimed approximately $47.5 million 
of credits under this program. The 
legislature also enacted the A.W. 
“Winn” Brindle scholarship credit 
allowing a credit of up to 5% of 
fisheries business taxes due.

50% of the fisheries 
business tax collected 

is shared with 
incorporated cities 
and/or organized 

boroughs.
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1987 - The legislature enacted the 
Alaska education tax credit program 
allowing a tax credit on educational 
contributions of up to $100,000 
against fisheries business taxes due.

1990 - The legislature enacted 
provisions for a civil penalty for 
processing without a license. The 
Division may progressively assess 
penalties in increments of up to 
$5,000 for each infraction to a 
maximum of $25,000 for the fifth 
and subsequent assessments. The 
legislature also enacted a provision 
that authorized sharing of 50 percent 
of taxes sourced from processing 
activities in the unorganized borough, 
effective July 1992.

1991 - The legislature restructured 
the Alaska education credit and 
increased the maximum amount to 
$150,000.

1993 - The Department of Labor 
surety bond program transferred to 
the Department of Revenue under 
Executive Order 85, effective July 1, 
1994. 

1995 - The legislature reduced the 
amount of surety bonding for small 
processors from $10,000 to $2,000. 

2001 - The legislature modified the 
tax payment security requirements 
necessary to obtain a fisheries 
business tax license. The legislature 
expanded the existing requirement 
for a whole-salmon exporter 
to include any exporter of any 
unprocessed fisheries resource. 
Under the legislation, exporters 
of unprocessed fish can obtain a 
fisheries business license by posting 
a $50,000 surety bond and paying 
their taxes monthly.

2002 - The legislature authorized 
credits of up to 50% for contributions 
of not more than $100,000 and 75% 
of the next $100,000 in contributions 
made to the Alaska Veterans’ 

Memorial Endowment Fund. The tax 
credit expired July 1, 2003. 

2003 - The legislature authorized 
a Salmon Product Development/
Utilization (SPDU) Credit that allows 
tax credits against fisheries business 
taxes for expenditures promoting the 
value added processing of salmon 
products and the utilization of salmon 
waste in Alaska. The amount of the 
tax credit cannot exceed 50% of the 
taxpayer’s fisheries business liability 
for processing of salmon during the 
tax year. 

Effective June 11, 2003, and 
retroactive to January 1, 2003, the 
SPDU legislation sunsetted on 
December 31, 2005. Unused credits 
earned may be carried forward for 
three years.

The legislature authorized monthly 
payment of the fisheries taxes in 
lieu of existing forms of security or 
prepayment as a prerequisite to 
being licensed. Fisheries businesses 
that elect the monthly payment option 
must post a $50,000 bond or have 
$100,000 equity in real property 
in the state. The provisions of this 
legislation took effect September 8, 
2003.

2004 - Legislation authorized a new 
Direct Marketing Fisheries Business 
License and tax structure set at the 
shore based rate of 1 percent of the 
value of developing fish species and 
3 percent of the value of established 
fish species. The provisions of this 
legislation took effect January 1, 2005.

2005 - Effective May 18, 2005, 
the legislature modified the surety 
and tax payment requirements 
for obtaining a fisheries business 
license. The legislature reduced the 
amount of surety bonding for small 
primary fish buyers from $10,000 to 
$2,000. The legislation also added 
requisites for obtaining a fisheries 
business license; before being issued 
a license, a fisheries business must 

The Alaska 
Legislature extended 
the Salmon Product 
Development credit 

in 2010 to end in 
December 2015.
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colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed will 
revert to $150,000. 

The legislature extended the salmon 
product development tax credit 
program by four years. The legislation 
extended the last date for placing 
qualified property in service from 
December 31, 2011 to December 31, 
2015. The legislation expanded the 
list of qualified property to include ice 
making machines.

The legislature authorized the 
Department to withhold or suspend a 
fisheries business license if a fisheries 
business fails to pay the permit 
buyback fee imposed by the National 
Marine Fisheries Service under 16 
U.S.C. 1861a.

2011 - The legislature extended 
the date that the $5 million annual 
education credit limit expires from 
January 1, 2014 to January 1, 2021. 
It is then scheduled to return to 
$150,000. In addition, the legislature 
expanded contributions eligible for 
the credit to include contributions 
made after June 30, 2011 to annual 
intercollegiate sports tournaments, 
Alaska Native cultural or heritage 
programs for public school staff and 
students, and a facility in the state 
that qualifies as a coastal ecosystem 
learning center under the Coastal 
American Partnership.

have fully paid (including penalties 
and interest) taxes administered 
by the Division, seafood marketing 
assessments, employment security 
contributions, OSHA penalties, and 
municipal fishery taxes.

2006 - The legislature extended 
the Salmon Product Development 
Credit for expenditures made through 
December 31, 2008. The Salmon 
Utilization Credit was not extended.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 
secondary level vocational courses 
and programs by a school district 
in Alaska and by a state-operated 
vocational technical education and 
training school. 

The legislature extended the 
salmon product development tax 
credit program by three years.  The 
legislation extended the ending date 
for placing specified property in 
service to qualify for the credit from 
December 31, 2008 to December 
31, 2011.  This legislation expanded 
the list of qualified property to include 
conveyors used for producing value-
added salmon products and requires 
that the Department of Revenue 
develop and implement procedures 
for pre-determining if investments 
qualify for the salmon product 
development tax credit.

2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 
schools and two or four-year 

96% of the fisheries 
business licenses issued 

for 2011 were applied for 
online.
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FY 2011 Statistics
Fisheries Business Tax
Tax Collections and License Fees $44,462,246
Including penalties, interest and credits. 

Fisheries Business Licenses Issued Online Paper Total
Direct Marketer 220 12 232
Shore-based 157 6 163
Catch/Processor 47 1 48
Floating 37 0 37
Cannery 26 0 26
Exporter 17 0 17

Total   504     19    523  
Number of Returns 671
Number of Taxpayers 441
Program Cost $654,148
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 6.2
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Fishery Resource Landing 
Tax
AS 43.77

Description
Alaska levies a fishery resource 
landing tax on fishery resources 
processed outside of and first landed 
in Alaska, based on the unprocessed 
value of the resource. The 
unprocessed value is determined 
by multiplying a statewide average 
price per pound (derived from Alaska 
Department of Fish and Game data) 
by the unprocessed weight. 

The Division collects the fishery 
resource landing tax primarily 
from factory trawlers and floating 
processors that process fishery 
resources outside of the state’s 
3-mile limit and bring their products 
into Alaska for transshipment.

Rate
Tax rates are based on whether the 
resource is classified as “established” 
or “developing” by the Alaska 
Department of Fish and Game. Tax 
rates are:

Returns
Taxpayers file returns and pay tax 
on a calendar year basis with a due 
date of March 31 of the following 
year. Taxpayers are required to make 
quarterly estimated tax payments 
that are due on the last day of each 
calendar quarter.

The Division grants an automatic 
extension to file the landing return if it 
does not provide statewide average 
prices to taxpayers at least 30 days 
prior to the due date. If the extension 
applies, the due date is the last day 
of the month following the month in 
which the Division issues statewide 
average prices. 

Exemptions
Unprocessed fishery resources 
landed in the state are exempt from 
the fishery resource landing tax, 
but may be subject to the fisheries 
business tax.

Credits
Education - Taxpayers that 
contribute to Alaska two-year or four-
year universities or colleges for direct 
instruction, research or educational 
support purposes or school district/
state-operated vocational technical 
education and training schools may 
claim a tax credit for 50% of the first 
$100,000, 100% of the contribution 
over $100,000 and up to $300,000 
and 50% of the remaining amount 
over $300,000.  The total allowable 
credit may not exceed $5 million.  

Scholarship Contributions - Tax-
payers that contribute to the A.W. 
“Winn” Brindle memorial scholarship 
account may claim a tax credit for the 
amount of contributions not to exceed 
5% of their tax liability. 

CDQ - Taxpayers that harvest a 
fishery resource under a community 
development quota (CDQ) may 
claim a credit of up to 45.45 percent 
of fishery resource landing taxes 
for contributions to Alaska nonprofit 
corporations that are dedicated 
to fisheries industry-related 
expenditures. 

Other Taxes - Taxpayers that paid 
taxes on fishery resources to another 
jurisdiction may claim a credit against 
the fishery resource landing tax. The 
credit, equal to the amount of taxes 
paid in the other jurisdiction, may not 
exceed the fishery resource landing 
tax.

Classification Rate
Established 3%
Developing 1%

The majority of fishery 
resource landing tax 
revenues are derived 
from fish processed in 
the Bering Sea and 

landed in Unalaska.
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Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all revenue 
from the fishery resource landing 
tax into the General Fund. The 
legislature may appropriate revenue 
from the tax for revenue sharing as 
described below:

Landings Inside Municipality
The Division shares 50%of taxes 
from landings within a municipality 
with the respective municipalities 
in which landings occurred. If a 
municipality is within a borough, the 
Division divides the 50% shareable 
amount between the municipality and 
borough. 

Landings Outside Municipality
The Division shares 50% of the taxes 
from landings outside a municipality 
(unorganized borough) through an 
allocation program administered 
by the Alaska Department of 
Commerce, Community and 
Economic Development.

History
1993 - The legislature enacted 
the fishery resource landing tax 
effective January 1994. The rate 
was 3.3% of the unprocessed value 
of the resource. The Department 
of Revenue adopted regulations 
regarding administration of the tax, 
effective April 1994. 

1994 - The American Factory Trawler 
Association (AFTA) filed litigation 
challenging the constitutionality of the 
landing tax.

1995 - The Alaska Supreme Court 
rejected AFTA’s request based 
on AFTA’s failure to exhaust 
administrative remedies with the 
Department of Revenue.

1996 - The landing tax was 
restructured to mirror the fisheries 
business tax program. The legislature 
revised the tax rate to 3% for 

established species and 1% for 
developing species. The 0.3% portion 
of the previous 3.3% tax rate was 
incorporated into seafood marketing 
assessment statutes (AS 16.51). The 
legislature also amended the landing 
tax statutes to provide for tax credits 
for education and A.W. “Winn” Brindle 
scholarship contributions. All changes 
were retroactive to January 1994, the 
inception date of the landing tax.

1997 - AFTA dismissed its 
challenge to the landing tax and 
in June, the state issued a formal 
hearing decision upholding the 
constitutionality of the tax. Shared 
tax amounts from calendar year 
1994 and 1995 returns, previously 
held in escrow, were released to 
municipalities. 

1999 - The American Fisheries Act 
(P.L. 105-277) required a fishery 
cooperative to execute a contract 
with each cooperative member that 
obligated the member to make a 
payment to the state for pollock 
harvested in the Alaska pollock 
fishery that is not landed in Alaska. 
AS 43.77.015 required that those 
payments be treated as if they were 
landing taxes.

2001 - The legislature amended 
landing tax statutes to require 
quarterly payment of estimated 
fishery resource landing taxes, 
effective calendar year 2002.

2002 - The legislature authorized 
credits of up to 50% for contributions 
of not more than $100,000 and 75% 
of the next $100,000 in contributions 
made to the Alaska Veterans’ 
Memorial Endowment Fund. The tax 
credit expired July 1, 2003.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 
secondary level vocational courses 
and programs by a school district 
in Alaska and by a state-operated 

50% of the fishery 
resource landing tax 

collected is shared 
with incorporated 

cities and/or organized 
boroughs.
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vocational technical education and 
training school.

2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 
schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000.

Tax Collections $7,083,988
Including penalties, interest and credits.

Number of Returns 78
Number of Taxpayers 66

Program Cost $190,897
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 2.0

FY 2011 Statistics

Pollock and pacific 
cod are the two highest 
value fisheries reported 
by landing taxpayers.

2011 - The legislature enacted 
legislation extending the date that 
the $5 million annual education credit 
limit expires from January 1, 2014 to 
January 1, 2021. It is then scheduled 
to return to $150,000. In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made after June 
30, 2011 to annual intercollegiate 
sports tournaments, Alaska Native 
cultural or heritage programs for 
public school staff and students, and 
a facility in the state that qualifies 
as a coastal ecosystem learning 
center under the Coastal American 
Partnership.
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•• $1,000 for a pull-tab distributor 
license; and

•• $2,500 for a pull-tab manufacturer 
license. 

Reports
The Division requires the following 
reports:
•• Municipalities and qualified 

organizations file quarterly 
reports that are due the 45th day 
following each calendar quarter 
in which the permittee had gross 
receipts of $50,000 or more.

•• Permittees file annual reports 
on a calendar year basis, 
accompanied with payment of the 
additional fee, if required under 
AS 05.15.020(b), by March 15th 
of the following year. Under this 
statute, if the gross receipts for 
the activities were $20,000 or 
more, an additional fee of 1% of 
the net proceeds received during 
the preceding year is due.

•• Operators and multiple-
beneficiary permittees file 
quarterly reports that are due on 
the last business day of the month 
following each calendar quarter. 
Annual reports for the calendar 
year are due no later than 
February 28 of the following year.  

•• Operators are required to submit 
a report to permittees monthly. 
The report must include a daily 
summary of activity conducted 
under the permit and an 
accounting of gross receipts, 
expenses and net proceeds for 
the month. 

•• Pull-tab manufacturers must 
report by the last business day of 
the month on each series of pull-
tabs distributed in the preceding 
month.

•• Distributors must collect a tax 
of 3% of an amount equal to 
the gross receipts less prizes 
awarded on each series of pull-
tabs distributed. Distributors must 
report by the last business day of 
each month each pull-tab series 
distributed in the preceding month 
and pay the taxes collected.

Gaming
AS 05.15

Description
Under Alaska law, municipalities and 
qualified nonprofit organizations may 
conduct certain gaming activities. 
The purpose of these activities is to 
derive public benefit in the form of 
money for nonprofits and revenues 
for the state. 

To ensure that the appropriate level 
of public benefit is being derived, the 
Division: 
 
1) issues permits to nonprofits; 
2) licenses all operators and pull-tab 
distributors and manufacturers; 
3) collects fees and taxes; 
4) audits various permittees and 
licensees; 
5) inspects gaming locations; and 
6) investigates complaints. 
 
The Division also provides education 
and orientation information to the 
public and to prospective permittees 
and licensees.

Rate
The annual permit and license fees 
for games of chance and contests of 
skill are as follows:

Permits
•• $20 if an applicant did not have a 

permit during the preceding year 
or for an initial permit;

•• $20 if an applicant had gaming 
gross receipts of less than 
$20,000 during the preceding 
year;

•• $50 if an applicant had gaming 
gross receipts of $20,000 or 
more, but not exceeding $100,000 
during the preceding year; and

•• $100 if an applicant had gaming 
gross receipts exceeding 
$100,000 during the preceding 
year.

Licenses
•• $500 for an operator license;

Municipalities and 
qualified nonprofits 
may conduct certain 

gaming activities that 
benefit nonprofits in 

Alaska. 
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Exemptions
There are no exemptions that apply 
to gaming.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits permit and 
license fees, net proceeds fees, and 
pull-tab taxes into the General Fund.

History
1960 - The legislature legalized 
gaming and gave oversight for all 
gaming activities to the Department 
of Revenue. 

1984 - The Department authorized 
pull-tabs by regulation.

1988 - The legislature legalized 
operators, authorized pull-tabs, and 
increased prize limits.  

1989 - Under Administrative Order, 
gaming functions transferred to 
the Department of Commerce, 
Community and Economic 
Development.

1993 - Under administrative order, 
gaming functions transferred back 
to the Department of Revenue and 
organized as a separate gaming 
division.

HB 168 significantly changed 
various aspects of the statutes 
governing charitable gaming in 
Alaska. Third-party vendors were 
brought under statutory control 
which allows permittees to contract 
with them directly to sell pull-tabs 
and the Department was authorized 
to issue Multiple-Beneficiary 
Permits (MBP). MBPs enable two 
to six permittees to conduct gaming 
activities jointly. Minimum payments 
increased from 15% to 30% of 
adjusted gross income for pull-tab 
games and require a minimum of 
10% of adjusted gross income for all 
other activities.

1995 - The legislature legalized 
cruise ship gambling activities in 

Alaska waters during the 1995 
season. The gaming statutes 
required that cruise ships pay a 
fee to game in Alaska, and this 
generated more than $500,000 in 
revenue during the 1995 season. 
This law expired after 1995. 

1996 - The legislature authorized 
three new gaming activities – “Sled 
Dog Race Classic”, “Deep Freeze 
Classic”, and “Snow Machine 
Classic.” The legislature also 
created the “McGrath Kuskokwim 
River Ice Classic”, and the 
“Creamer’s Field Goose Classic.” 
The legislature prohibited the 
donation of net proceeds from 
pull-tabs and bingo activities to 
registered lobbyists and certain 
political organizations.

2001 -  The legislature added the 
Bristol Bay Native Corporation 
Education Foundation to the list of 
qualified organizations allowed to 
conduct “salmon classic” games of 
chance, effective January 1, 2002. 

The Alaska Supreme Court in 
Botehlo v. Griffin, 25 P3d at 693 
ruled that “Alaska’s gaming laws 
create the effective equivalent 
of a charitable trust” by requiring 
a portion of the money spent 
on gaming to benefit the public 
generally.

2002 - Effective January 1, 2003, 
the legislature added the Boys and 
Girls Club of the Kenai Peninsula 
to the list of qualified organizations 
allowed to conduct “mercury classic” 
games of chance.

2003 - Effective January 1, 2005, 
the legislature allows a permittee 
that conducts a contest of skill 
and awards more than $500,000 
in prizes to the participants in 
that contest of skill, to exclude 
$500,000 in prizes awarded to those 
participants from the $1,000,000 
maximum prize limitation. 
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contests, charitable raffles and 
lotteries (in addition to fish derbies 
and classics that were previously 
authorized for broadcasting).  The 
legislation recognizes the cabbage 
classic at the Giant Cabbage Weigh-
off at the Alaska State Fair in Palmer 
operated by the Palmer Rotary Club 
as an authorized gaming activity.  
The legislation also raised the 
maximum award of non-bingo prizes 
that a permittee may award each 
year in self-conducted (without an 
operator) gaming activity from $1 
million to $2 million.  The legislation 
took effect July 18, 2008.

2004 - The legislature authorized 
the Department of Revenue to issue 
permits for animal classic games, 
providing the animal classic was 
in existence prior to November 1, 
2002, effective July 25, 2004.  

2005 - The legislature authorized 
the Department of Revenue to 
issue permits for two new games of 
chance – “Calcutta pools” (related 
to amateur and professional 
sporting events) and a “crane 
classic” (the best guess of the time 
of arrival of the first Sandhill Crane 
to a particular place), effective 
September 5, 2005.

2008 - The legislature authorized 
broadcasting for dog mushers’ 

Taxes and Fees Collected $2,537,686
Program Cost $1,306,722
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 11.1

Applications* Online Paper Total
Permittees 497 697 1194
Operators N/A 29 29
Multiple-beneficiary Permittees 4 13 17
Distributors 11 1 12
Manufacturers 7 2 9
Total Applications 519 742 1,261
N/A - Online application not available

Reports*
Permittees 2,753
Operators 158
Multiple-beneficiary Permittees 90
Distributors 117
Manufacturers 100
Total Reports 3,218

FY 2011 Statistics

* Based on a calendar year.  
(Looking for all applications received during calendar year 2010)
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The first year of 
LPV gambling tax 

collections was in FY 
2008.  

Large Passenger Vessel 
(LPV) Gambling Tax
AS 43.35

Description
Alaska imposes a tax on adjusted 
gross income of gambling activities 
aboard large passenger vessels 
in the state.  Gambling activities 
include the use of playing cards, 
dice, roulette wheels, coin-operated 
instruments or machines, or other 
objects or instruments used for 
gaming or gambling, and any other 
gambling activities aboard large 
passenger vessels in Alaska.  The 
tax is imposed on the operator of 
gaming or gambling activities.

Rate
The large passenger vessel 
gambling tax rate is 33% of adjusted 
gross income.  Adjusted gross 
income means gross income less 
prizes awarded and federal and 
municipal taxes paid or owed on the 
income.  

Returns
Operators of gaming and gambling 
activities on large passenger vessels 
file calendar year returns that are 
due April 15 of the following year.  

Exemptions
There are no exemptions for the 
LPV gambling tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all proceeds 
from the LPV gambling tax into 
the Commercial Vessel Passenger 
(CVP) tax account in the General 
Fund.  

History
2006 - The LPV gambling tax was 
enacted by 2006 Primary Election 
Ballot Measure No. 2.  The measure 
was approved by voters at the 
primary election of August 26, 2006.  
The results of the election were 
certified September 18, 2006 and 
the initiative’s provisions became 
effective December 17, 2006.  

2010 - The legislature created the 
“large passenger vessel gaming 
and gambling tax account” as a 
subaccount of the CVP tax account 
and directs all proceeds from the 
LPV Gambling tax to be deposited in 
this new account.

Tax Collections $5,764,962
Number of Returns 6
Number of Taxpayers 5

Program Cost $72,992
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.7

FY 2011 Statistics
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Mining License Tax
AS 43.65

Description
Alaska levies a mining license tax 
on mining net income and royalties 
received in connection with mining 
properties and activities in Alaska. 
The Division collects mining license 
taxes primarily from businesses 
engaged in coal and hard rock 
mining.

Rates

Returns
Mining licensees file annual returns 
based on the mining business’ fiscal 
year. Calendar year returns and 
payment of tax are due April 30. 
Fiscal year returns and payment are 
due before the first day of the fifth 
month after the close of the fiscal 
year.

Exemptions
Except for sand and gravel 
operations, new mining operations 
are exempt from the mining license 
tax for a period of 3½ years after 
production begins.

Credits
Education - Taxpayers that 
contribute to Alaska two-year or 
four-year universities or colleges 
for direct instruction, research 
or educational support purposes 
or school district/state-operated 
vocational technical education and 

training schools may claim a tax 
credit for 50% of the first $100,000, 
100% of the contribution over 
$100,000 and up to $300,000 and 
50% of the remaining amount over 
$300,000.  The total allowable credit 
may not exceed $5 million.  

Minerals Exploration Incentive 
- Taxpayers may claim a credit for 
eligible costs of exploration activities 
related to determining existence, 
location, extent, or quality of a 
locatable mineral or coal deposit. 
An approved exploration incentive 
credit may not exceed $20 million 
and must be applied within 15 tax 
years after the credit is approved. 
Application of the credit is limited 
to the lesser of 50% of the person’s 
mining license tax liability related 
to the mining operation for which 
eligible mining costs were incurred 
or 50% of the person’s total mining 
license tax liability for all mining 
operations.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits revenue 
from the mining license tax into 
the General Fund. Payments 
received after a tax assessment are 
deposited into the Constitutional 
Budget Reserve Fund (CBRF).

History
The mining license tax dates back to 
1913 and the legislature restructured 
it several times over the years. The 
original mining license tax, enacted 
in 1913, imposed a 0.5 percent tax 
on mining net income of more than 
$5,000. There was no tax on net 
income less than $5,000.

1915 - The territorial legislature 
increased the tax rate to 1%. The 
tax-free net income base remained 
at $5,000.

1927 - The tax-free net income 
base was increased to $10,000 and 
a three-tier tax rate structure was 
adopted with rates ranging from 1% 

Mining Net Income Rate
$0 - $40,000 No Tax
$40,001 - $50,000 $1,200 plus 

3% over 
$40,000

$50,001 - $100,000 $1,500 plus 
5% over 
$50,000

Over $100,000 $4,000 plus 
7% over 

$100,000

The mining license 
tax structure adopted 
in 1955 is still in place 

today.
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to 1.75% for net income of more 
than $1 million.

1935 - The territorial legislature 
restructured the tax to an eight-tier 
tax structure with rates ranging 
from 0.75% to 4% for net income of 
more than $1 million. The legislature 
decreased tax-free net income to 
$5,000.

1937 - The tax-free net income base 
was eliminated and all net income 
was subject to tax. A nine-tier tax 
structure was adopted with tax rates 
ranging from 0.75% to 8% for net 
income of more than $1 million.

1947 - The mining license tax was 
restructured by reinstating a tax-
free net income base of $1,000 and 
restructuring the tax rates to a five-
tier structure with rates ranging from 
4% to 8% for net income of more 
than $100,000.

1951 - The legislature authorized a 
3½ year exemption for new mining 
operations. This exemption does 
not apply to sand and gravel mining 
operations.

1953 - The tax-free net income base 
was increased to $10,000 and rates 
changed to range from 3% to 7% for 
net income of more than $100,000.

1955 - The rate structure as it exists 
today was adopted.

1987 - The Alaska education tax 
credit program was enacted allowing 
for a tax credit up to $100,000.

1991 - The Alaska education credit 
was restructured and the maximum 
amount was increased to $150,000.

1995 - The legislature authorized 
the minerals exploration incentive 
credit. The credit is limited to $20 
million and taxpayers may apply the 
credit against 50% of mining license 
liabilities over a 15-year period.

2002 - The legislature authorized 
credits of up to 50% for contributions 
of not more than $100,000 and 75% 
of the next $100,000 in contributions 
made to the Alaska Veterans’ 
Memorial Endowment Fund. The tax 
credit expired July 1, 2003.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to 
include cash contributions accepted 
for secondary level vocational 
courses and programs by a school 
district in Alaska and by a state-
operated vocational technical 
education and training school.

2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 
schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000. 
 
2011 - The legislature enacted 
legislation extending the date that 
the $5 million annual education 
credit limit expires from January 1, 
2014 to January 1, 2021. It is then 
scheduled to return to $150,000 In 
addition, the legislature expanded 
contributions eligible for the credit 
to include contributions made 
after June 30, 2011 to annual 
intercollegiate sports tournaments, 
Alaska Native cultural or heritage 
programs for public school staff and 
students, and a facility in the state 
that qualifies as a coastal ecosystem 
learning center under the Coastal 
American Partnership.
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Tax Collections
General Fund $48,980,514
Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund        607,605
Total $49,588,119

Number of Returns 715

Number of Taxpayers 525

Program Cost $823,227
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 7.5

FY 2011 Statistics
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Motor Fuel Tax
AS 43.40

Description
Alaska levies a motor fuel tax on 
motor fuel sold, transferred, or 
used within Alaska. The Division 
collects motor fuel taxes primarily 
from wholesalers and distributors 
that hold “qualified dealer” licenses 
issued by the Division.

Rates 

    
Returns
Taxpayers file returns and make 
payment monthly. There are four 
separate returns: diesel, gasoline, 
aviation, and gasohol.

The due date is the last day of the 
month following the month of sale or 
taxable use. Taxpayers may deduct 
1 percent of the tax due, limited to 
a maximum of $100 per return, as a 
credit for timely filing.

Refunds
$0.06 per gallon is refundable if fuel 
is used in a vehicle off-highway.

Consumers may claim a refund for 
the full tax rate if the consumer paid 
the full tax rate at purchase and then 
used the fuel for exempt purposes.  
Consumers may also claim a partial 
refund of the tax if a lesser rate was 
paid at purchase or if the consumer 
used the fuel for partially exempt 
purposes.

Resellers, usually retailers, may 
claim a refund for the full tax if the 
reseller paid the tax, and then sold 

the fuel for exempt use and did not 
collect the tax. 

Exemptions
In addition to sales between 
qualified dealers, the following sales 
and use are exempt from motor fuel 
tax:
•• Heating
•• Federal, state, and local 

government agencies
•• Foreign flights (jet fuel)
•• Exports
•• Charitable institutions
•• Bunker fuel (residual fuel oil or #6 

fuel oil) 

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits revenue 
derived from motor fuel taxes into 
the General Fund. Revenue from 
each category of fuel is accounted 
for separately in the Division’s tax 
accounting system. For example, 
proceeds from tax on motor fuel 
used in boats and watercraft are 
deposited in a special watercraft 
fuel tax account and proceeds from 
tax on motor fuel used in highway 
vehicles are deposited in a special 
highway fuel tax account within the 
General Fund.

The Division shares with the 
respective municipalities 60% of 
taxes attributable to aviation fuel 
sales at municipally owned or 
operated airports. All other proceeds 
of the taxes on aviation fuel are 
deposited into a special aviation fuel 
tax account.

History
The motor fuel tax dates back to 
1945 when the legislature imposed 
a tax of $0.01 per gallon on all 
motor fuel. Over time, the legislature 
enacted separate tax rates for each 
of the fuel categories as they exist 
today. Motor fuel tax rates have 
changed as follows:	
	

Fuel Type Rate per 
Gallon

Highway  $0.08
Marine $0.05
Aviation Gasoline $0.047
Jet Fuel $0.032

The motor fuel tax 
dates back to 1945 

when the legislature 
imposed a tax of $0.01 

per gallon on all motor 
fuel. 
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1994 - The legislature enacted a tax 
decrease for bunker fuel. The tax 
rate decreases from $0.05 to $0.01 
per gallon on bunker fuel sales 
exceeding 4.1 million gallons. The 
tax decrease expired on June 30, 
1998.

1997 - The legislature repealed the 
gasohol exemption. The legislature 
enacted a provision that reduces 
the tax on gasohol from $0.08 to 
$0.02 per gallon in areas and at 
times when the use of gasohol is 
required. However, gasohol has not 
been required since the winter of 
2002-2003 and gasohol is currently 
taxed at the full tax rate of $0.08 per 
gallon. 

Legislation was also passed that 
fully exempted gasohol blended 
with at least 10% alcohol derived 
from wood or seafood waste. This 
legislation expired on June 30, 2004.

The legislature expanded the 
foreign flight exemption to include 
flights originating from foreign 
countries in addition to the existing 
exemption for flights with a foreign 
destination. This legislation included 
a permanent exemption for bunker 
fuel (residual fuel oil known as #6 
fuel oil) which nullified the 1994 
bunker fuel tax rate reduction.

1998 - The legislature authorized 
taxpayers to take a “bad debt” credit 
for sales deemed to be worthless 
and for sales to persons who file 
bankruptcy. This provision expired 
July 1, 2008.

2003 - The legislature enacted 
legislation that made it easier for the 
state to issue motor fuel excise tax 
refunds for credit card purchases 
made by federal, state, and local 
government agencies.
	
2004 - The provision that exempted 
gasohol blended with at least 
10% alcohol derived from wood 

Highway Rate Per 
Gallon

1945 $0.01
1947 $0.02
1955 $0.05
1960 $0.07
1961 $0.08
1964 $0.07
1970 $0.08

Gasohol Rate Per 
Gallon

1997 $0.08 / 
$0.02

($0.02 November through 
February where required)

Marine Rate Per 
Gallon

1945 $0.01
1947 $0.02
1955 $0.05
1957 $0.02
1960 $0.03
1971 $0.04
1977 $0.05

Aviation 
Gasoline

Rate Per 
Gallon

1945 $0.01
1947 $0.02
1955 $0.03
1968 $0.04
1994 $0.047

Jet Fuel Rate Per 
Gallon

1957 $0.015
1968 $0.025
1994 $0.032
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Tax Collections
Highway $29,878,551
Marine Fuel 5,199,186 
Jet Fuel 3,885,642 
Aviation Gasoline 578,541 
Penalties & Interest       75,366  
Total Receipts 39,617,286 
Less Aviation Fuel Tax Shared    (142,478)
Total Amount Retained by State $39,474,808

Motor Fuel Type Gallons
Highway 353,986,500
Marine Fuel 102,211,935
Jet Fuel 127,251,416
Aviation Gasoline 12,424,653
Gasohol (54,174)

** Gallons noted may not compute if calculated as: Gallons X Tax Rate = Tax Collected
Gallons are recorded on the tax return and calculated based on the return tax period, 
whereas tax collections are calculated based on the amount received within a time 
period, and may include payments or refunds from a previous tax period.

Number of Returns 3,206
Number of Taxpayers 225

Program Cost $575,759
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 5.5

FY 2011 Statistics

or seafood waste from the motor 
fuel tax expired on June 30, 2004.  
Currently all gasohol is taxed at the 
rate of $0.08 per gallon.

2008 - In special session, the 
legislature suspended the motor 
fuel tax on all fuel types effective 
September 1, 2008 through August 

31, 2009.  Motor fuel distributors 
were required to file monthly reports 
of all fuel sales during the period of 
suspension.

2009 - The motor fuel tax was 
reinstated effective September 1, 
2009
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Oil Conservation 
Surcharges
AS 43.55.201/300

Description
Conservation surcharges apply to 
all oil production in Alaska and are 
in addition to oil and gas production 
taxes.  Surcharges apply to each 
barrel of oil produced in the state 
less any oil the ownership or right to 
which is exempt from taxation.

Rate and Disposition of 
Revenue
Each taxable barrel(“bbl”) of oil 
is subject to the following two 
surcharges:
•	Conservation Surcharge (AS 
43.55.201) of $0.01 per barrel.  
Revenue derived from this 
surcharge may be appropriated 
to the response account in the oil 
and hazardous substance release 
prevention and response fund.

•	Additional Conservation Surcharge 
(AS 43.55.300) or $0.04 per 
barrel.  Revenue derived from 

this additional surcharge may 
be appropriated to the oil and 
hazardous substance release 
prevention account in the oil and 
hazardous substance release 
prevention and response fund.

History
1989 - Following the grounding of the 
Exxon Valdez, this tax was enacted 
in order to provide a hazardous 
substance release emergency 
fund. A $0.05/bbl hazardous 
release surcharge is imposed on oil 
production until the newly created 
hazardous substance release fund 
achieves a balance of $50 million.

1994 - The hazardous release 
surcharge is modified to the so-called 
“split nickel” with an ongoing charge 
of $0.03/bbl and an additional charge 
of $0.02/bbl whenever the hazardous 
substance release fund balance falls 
below $50 million.

2006 - The legislature set the 
Conservation Surcharge rate 
at $0.01/bbl and the Additional 
Conservation Surcharge rate at 
$0.04/bbl.

The Oil conservation 
surcharge revenues 
fund a hazardous 
substance release 
emergency fund.

Tax Collections $9,670,333
Number of Returns*
Number of Taxpayers*

FY 2011 Statistics

* The Oil Conservation Surcharge is reported on the same return and by the same taxpayers 
as is Alaska’s, Oil and Gas Production Tax (AS 43.55). The Division has not segregated 
program cost and staffing related to each individual tax. The Division reports the total 
production tax cost and staffing in the Oil and Gas Production Tax section.
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Oil and Gas Production Tax
AS 43.55

Description
Alaska levies an annual tax on oil and 
gas production tax value derived from 
production activities in the state.

The legislature amended oil and gas 
production tax statutes in a special 
session that ended November 2007 
that culminated in the passage of 
Alaska’s Clear and Equitable Share 
(ACES).

Like the PPT legislation enacted 
in 2006, ACES tax is levied on the 
production tax value of oil and gas 
production.  

With regard to administrative 
changes, ACES requires more 
thorough reporting from companies.  
Taxpayers are required to report 
volumes and expenditures used to 
calculate their estimated monthly 
installment payments.  Annually, 
on March 31, taxpayers submit tax 
filings that “true up” any tax liabilities 
or overpayments made throughout 
the year.  At the same time, they also 
submit an annual information report.

The ACES legislation provides for 
audit masters who are exempt from 
the state classified pay scale.  In 
FY 2009, the Division employed 
three audit masters in the oil and 
gas production tax group.  The law 
also extended the length of time the 
auditors have to complete production 
tax audits from three to six years.  The 
department expects that these two 
provisions will enable the state to be 
more thorough in its audits of oil and 
gas production tax returns.

The majority of the ACES tax is 
retroactive to July 1, 2007, although 
some provisions are retroactive to 
the implementation of the PPT (April 
1, 2006). One section of the law, 
impacting tax credits for exploration, 
was effective July 1, 2008. Section AS 

43.55.028 and related citations were 
effective January 1, 2008.

Work on regulations began December 
2007 and is on-going. The Division 
has implemented regulations 
regarding: the calculation of prevailing 
value for gas produced from the North 
Slope; taxpayers’ monthly information 
reporting requirements; mid-year 
changes; civil penalties; overall 
conforming changes; Cook Inlet & 
Gas allocations; lease expenditures; 
overhead; .025 credits; transportation; 
and AGIA qualifications.

Throughout the year, tax credit forms 
were updated to reflect the changes 
made with the implementation of 
ACES.

Rate
The base tax rate is 25% of the 
production tax value per BTU 
equivalent barrel of taxable oil and 
gas.  When the average monthly 
production tax value is more than $30 
per barrel, but not more than $92.50, 
there is an additional 0.4% progressive 
tax for each additional dollar of 
production tax value per barrel.  When 
the average monthly production tax 
value exceeds $92.50 per barrel, the 
progressive tax rate is the sum of 25% 
and 0.1% of the difference between 
the average monthly production tax 
value and $92.50.  The maximum tax 
may not exceed 75%.  

Returns
Oil and gas taxpayers make calendar 
year filings that are due with payment 
no later than March 31 of the following 
year. Taxpayers are required to 
make monthly estimated payments, 
based on activity in the prior month, 
which are due the last day of the 
following month.  Taxpayers are also 
required to submit monthly information 
reports that summarize production 
volumes, production tax values, lease 
expenditures incurred and credits 
applied. 

 The Alaska 
Legislature amended 

the oil and gas 
production tax with 

passage of ACES 
legislation in a 

special session ended 
November 2007.
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Exemptions
The tax on oil and gas is levied 
on all production except for public 
(government) royalty production. Oil 
and gas used on a lease or property 
for drilling, production, or repressuring 
is not taxed.

Credits
Exploration Incentive - AS 
38.05.180(i) - Lessees of state 
land drilling an exploratory well or 
conducting certain seismic exploration 
on that land are eligible for this credit.  
The credit is 50% of the cost of the 
exploration expenditures and may 
not exceed 50% of the production 
tax or state royalty against which it is 
applied.  This credit is administered 
by the Department of Natural 
Resources, but may be applied to oil 
and gas production tax.  

Exploration Incentive (Assignable) 
- AS 41.09.010 - This is a distinct 
incentive program administered by 
the Department of Natural Resources.  
The credit is available to be claimed 
against royalty obligations, corporate 
income tax and production tax.  
Taxpayers may take a credit up 
to 50% on state land (or 25% on 
non state lands) of eligible oil and 
gas exploration expenditures.  An 
approved incentive credit under this 
statute may not exceed $5 million per 
project and is limited to $30 million 
per taxpayer.  

Education - AS 43.55.019 - 
Taxpayers that contribute to Alaska 
two-year or four-year universities 
or colleges for direct instruction, 
research or educational support 
purposes or school district/state-
operated vocational technical 
education and training schools may 
claim a tax credit for 50% of the first 
$100,000, 100% of the contribution 
over $100,000 and up to $300,000 
and 50% of the remaining amount 
over $300,000.  The total allowable 
credit may not exceed $5 million.  

Qualified Capital Expenditure - AS 
43.55.023(a) - Taxpayers that incur 
qualified capital expenditures may 
apply for a 20% credit, however, not 
more than half of the credit may be 
applied against a tax levied by AS 
43.55.011(e) for a single calendar 
year. This credit, when certificated, 
is transferable.  Taxpayers may also 
apply the 20% credit to their annual oil 
and gas production tax filings without 
certification.    

In 2010, the legislature passed AS 
43.55.023(l), which allows credit 
of 40% of qualified well lease 
expenditures incurred south of 68 
degrees North latitude for oil or 
gas operations. These credits can 
be applied against production tax 
liabilities, transferred to another 
company, or purchased by the state.

Carried-Forward Annual Loss - AS 
43.55.023(b) - Taxpayers that incur 
lease expenditures that are not de-
ductible in calculating production tax 
values generate a “loss carryforward” 
and they may apply for a tax credit in 
the amount of 25% of that loss.  When 
certificated, half of the credit is avail-
able for use in the calendar year it is 
issued and the other half may be used 
in the years following.  If not certifi-
cated, the entire credit may be applied 
on the taxpayer’s annual filing.  These 
credits are transferable.    

Transitional Investment 
Expenditure - AS 43.55.023(i) - The 
“TIE” credit is generated by qualified 
capital expenditures made during the 
period April 1, 2001, through March 
31, 2006.  The credit is 20% of those 
qualified capital expenditures, not to 
exceed one-tenth of qualified capital 
expenditures incurred after March 31, 
2006 and before January 1, 2008.  
Producers and explorers without com-
mercial production in Alaska before 
January 1, 2008 are eligible for this 
credit. TIE credit is not transferable 
and is available until 2013.

In 2006, the filing 
requirement for the oil 
and gas production tax 
changed from monthly 
to calendar year.  Tax-
payers are required to 

make monthly 
estimated payments.
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New Area Development - AS 
43.55.024(a) - Taxpayers that produce 
in areas outside the Cook Inlet and 
south of 68 degrees north latitude are 
eligible for a tax credit of not more 
than $6 million per year. This credit 
sunsets the later of 2016 or the ninth 
calendar year after first year of pro-
duction.  The credit is not certificated 
and is not transferable.

Small Producer - AS 43.55.024(c) - 
Taxpayers with Alaska oil and gas pro-
duction less than 100,000 BTU equiv-
alent barrels a day are eligible for a 
small producer credit.  When average 
oil and gas production is no more than 
50,000 barrels per day, the credit is 
$12 million per year.  When production 
exceeds 50,000 barrels per day, but is 
less than 100,000 barrels per day, the 
credit is allocated based on production 
volumes.  This credit sunsets the later 
of 2016 or the ninth calendar year af-
ter first year of production.  The credit 
is not certificated and is not transfer-
able.

Alternative Credit for Exploration - 
AS 43.55.025 - Taxpayers that incur 
qualified exploration expenditures 
are eligible for this credit, which is 
30% (20% for work performed prior 
to July 1, 2008) or 40%, depending 
on the qualifications of the explora-
tion project.  Taxpayers must obtain 
pre-approval from and submit certain 
data to the Department of Natural 
Resources as part of the application 
process.  Credit applications under 
AS 43.55.025 are audited prior to 
issuance of the credit certificates.  
Certificates must be eventually issued, 
but the credit may also be applied to 
tax prior to the issuance of a certifi-
cate.  
Note that this credit has been avail-
able since 2003 - pre-dating the oil 
and gas tax law revisions of 2006 and 
2007.  The scope of this credit is more 
specific than that provided for under 
AS 43.55.023.  

Cook Inlet Jack-Up Rig Credit -
AS 43.55.025(a)(5) was passed by 
the legislature in 2010 to incentivize 
investment in a jack-up rig for use in 
Cook Inlet. The credit is available to 
the first three unaffiliated persons that 
drill an offshore exploration well for oil 
or gas in Cook Inlet. Credit under this 
program will be granted for the lesser 
of 100% of exploration expenditures or 
$25 million to the first person who drills 
a qualifying well under the program. 
Credit for the lesser of 90% of explora-
tion expenditures or $22.5 million is 
available to the second person, and 
credit for the lesser of 80% of explo-
ration expenditures or $20 million is 
available to the third person who drills 
a qualifying well under the program.

Credit under this program may be 
granted in the form of a cash reim-
bursement from the state or it may 
be applied against tax liabilities. If the 
drilling under this program results in 
sustained production of oil or gas, 50% 
of the amount of the credit received 
shall be repaid to the state over a 10-
year period.

Cash Purchases of Tax Credit 
Certificates - AS 43.55.028 - Effective 
January 1, 2008, a tax credit fund 
was established so that the State 
may purchase certain tax credit cer-
tificates from oil and gas taxpayers.  
Taxpayers make written application to 
the Department for cash purchases, 
in whole or in part, of tax credit cer-
tificates.  The Department reviews 
the applications for compliance with 
the requirements set forth in AS 
43.55.028(e). 

Disposition of Revenue
All revenue derived from the Oil and 
Gas Production Tax is deposited in the 
General Fund except that payments 
received as a consequence of an as-
sessment or litigation are deposited 
in the Constitutional Budget Reserve 
Fund (CBRF).

Oil and Gas Production 
Tax revenue received 

as a consequence 
of an assessment or 

litigation is deposited 
in the Constitutional 
Budget Reserve Fund.
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History
1955 - The legislature enacts an oil 
and gas production tax of 1% of pro-
duction value.

1967 - A 1% disaster production tax 
is enacted to provide relief after the 
Fairbanks flood.

1968 - The legislature increases oil 
and gas production tax from 1% to 
3% of production value.

1970 - The legislature repealed the 
disaster oil and gas production tax. 
The legislature changes the oil pro-
duction tax to a graduated tax with 
rates of 3% on the first 300 barrels 
per day per well, 5% on the next 700 
barrels per day per well, 6% on the 
next 1500 barrels per day per well 
and 8% on production exceeding 
2500 barrels per day per well.

1972 - The legislature establishes a 
minimum oil production tax based on 
“cents per barrel” equivalent to per-
cent of value tax on oil with wellhead 
value of $2.65 per barrel.

1973 - The legislature revises the 
“stairstep” rate schedule to lower 
production levels. The legislature in-
dexes the cents per barrel minimum 
to the wholesale price index for crude 
oil published by the US Bureau of 
Labor Statistics.

1977 - The legislature raises the 
nominal gas production tax rate to 
10%. The legislature raises the nomi-
nal oil production tax rate to 12.25% 
and adopts the oil and gas economic 
limit factors.

1981 - As part of legislation that re-
pealed the separate accounting oil 
and gas corporation income tax, the 
nominal tax rate on oil produced prior 
to 1981 was raised to 15% and fields 
coming into production after 1981 are 
taxed at 12.25% for five years after 
which the rate increases to 15%. The 
oil economic limit factor is now sub-

ject to a rounding rule so that if the 
calculated factor is greater than or 
equal to 0.7 during the first 10 years 
of production, the factor is set to 1.0.

1989 - The legislature changes the 
economic limit factor for oil produc-
tion taxes to include a field size factor 
in the formula, fixes the production 
at the economic limit (not rebuttable) 
at 300 barrels per well per day, and 
drops the rounding rule. The legisla-
ture fixes production at the economic 
limit for gas production at 3000 mcf 
per well per day.

2002 - The legislature authorized 
credits of up to 50% for contributions 
of not more than $100,000 and 75% 
of the next $100,000 in contribu-
tions made to the Alaska Veterans’ 
Memorial Endowment Fund. The tax 
credit expired July 1, 2003.

2003 - To encourage drilling for 
oil and gas within the state, AS 
43.55.025 provided a new tax credit 
for exploration costs. The minimum 
credit is 20% and the maximum 40% 
for qualified expenditures. 
 
2005 - Prudhoe Bay area oil fields 
are aggregated for purposes of cal-
culating the economic limit factor, ef-
fective February 1, 2005.

2005 - To expand the tax credit for 
exploration enacted the previous 
year, the deadline was extended until 
July 1, 2010 for qualifying work south 
of the Brooks Range (i.e. non-North 
Slope). New rules also changed the 
3 mile and 25 mile rules for the Cook 
Inlet allowing closer distances be-
tween potential exploration targets 
and existing wells and production 
units.

2005 - The legislature extended and 
amended the requirements applica-
ble to the credit that may be claimed 
for certain oil and gas exploration ex-
penses incurred in Cook Inlet against 
oil and gas production taxes. This 
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2010 - The legislature amended the 
alternative tax credit provisions to add 
tax credits for drilling exploration wells 
using a jack-up rig in the Cook Inlet. 
The first three unaffiliated persons 
drilling wells that penetrate and evalu-
ate prospects in the pre-Tertiary zone 
are entitled to credits of 100%, 90% 
or 80%, respectively of the first $25 
million of exploration expenditures. 
Other changes include a new 40% 
tax credit for well lease expenditures 
incurred south of 68 degrees North 
latitude, elimination of the splitting 
of tax credits for lease expenditures 
incurred in the state south of 68 de-
grees North latitude after June 30, 
2010, and elimination of the future 
investment requirement for the pur-
chase of transferable tax credit certifi-
cates by the state.

The legislature amended the educa-
tion credit by increasing the maximum 
credit allowed from $150,000 to $5 
million effective January 1, 2011.  In 
addition, the legislature expanded 
contributions eligible for the credit to 
include contributions made for con-
struction and maintenance of facilities 
by state operated vocational educa-
tion schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed will 
revert to $150,000. 
 
2011 - The legislature enacted leg-
islation extending the date that the 
$5 million annual education credit 
limit expires from January 1, 2014 to 
January 1, 2021. It is then scheduled 
to return to $150,000 In addition, 
the legislature expanded contribu-
tions eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made after June 30, 
2011 to annual intercollegiate sports 
tournaments, Alaska Native cultural 
or heritage programs for public school 
staff and students, and a facility in 
the state that qualifies as a coastal 
ecosystem learning center under the 
Coastal American Partnership.

legislation also amended the credit 
against those taxes for certain explo-
ration expenditures from leases or 
properties in the state. The legislation 
was signed into law July 21, 2005 with 
an immediate effective date.

2006 - In August 2006, legislation 
was passed during a special ses-
sion that made sweeping revisions to 
the oil and gas production tax. The 
Petroleum Production Tax (PPT) es-
tablished new tax rates on oil and gas 
production; repealed the economic 
limit factor; and provided numerous 
credits for certain qualifying expendi-
tures and taxpayers.

2007 - The legislature amended PPT 
legislation in a special session that 
ended November 2007 and culmi-
nated in the passage of Alaska’s Clear 
and Equitable Share (ACES). Like 
the PPT legislation enacted in 2006, 
the ACES tax is levied on the produc-
tion tax value of oil and gas produced 
in the state. The base tax rate under 
ACES is 25% (it was 22.5% under 
PPT) and the progressive surcharge 
tax rate under ACES is 0.4% for every 
dollar the production tax value per bar-
rel exceeds $30 (it was 0.25% on pro-
duction tax values exceeding $40 per 
barrel under PPT). For production tax 
values greater than $92.50 per barrel, 
the progressivity rate changes to 0.1% 
for every additional dollar of produc-
tion tax value.  

2008 - The legislature amended edu-
cation credit provisions to include cash 
contributions accepted for secondary 
level vocational courses and programs 
by a school district in Alaska and by 
a state-operated vocational technical 
education and training school.

The alternative credit for exploration 
was increased from 20 to 30% for 
certain projects and an oil and gas 
tax credit fund was established for the 
cash purchases of tax credit certifi-
cates.



A
Alaska Tax Division 2011 Annual ReportProgram Detail 58

Tax Collections
General Fund $4,543,230,494
Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund 62,872,010
Total 4,609,102,504

Number of Returns 34
Number of Taxpayers 19

Program Cost $4,742,963
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 35.1

FY 2011 Statistics
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Oil and Gas Property 
Taxes (Exploration, 
Production and Pipeline 
Transportation Properties)
AS 43.56

Description
Alaska levies an oil and gas 
property tax on the value of taxable 
exploration, production and pipeline 
transportation property in the 
state. The Division has established 
procedures for the three distinct 
classes of property. 

•• Exploration Property - valued 
on the estimated price which 
the property would bring in an 
open market and under the then 
prevailing market conditions in a 
sale between a willing seller and a 
willing buyer, both conversant with 
the property and with prevailing 
general price levels;

•• Production Property - valued 
on the basis of replacement 
cost of similar new property, 
less depreciation based on the 
economic life of the proven 
reserves; and

•• Pipeline Transportation 
Property - generally valued on 
its economic value relative to the 
reserves feeding into the pipeline.

Rate
The state tax rate is 20 mills, or 2%, 
of the assessed value.

Returns
Taxpayers file annual returns 
reporting taxable property as of 
January 1 of the assessment year. 
Returns are due on or before January 
15. Payment is due on or before 
June 30.

Exemptions
Oil and gas reserves, oil or gas 
leases, and the lease or rights to 
explore or produce oil or gas are 
exempt, as are intangible drilling 

and exploration expenditures.  
Certain aircraft, motor vehicles, 
communication facilities, and 
buildings may be exempt even 
though they are associated with oil 
or gas exploration, production, or 
pipeline transportation. Oil or gas 
pipeline transportation systems 
owned and operated by a public utility 
are exempt. 
 
Credits
Municipal property taxes paid - 
Taxpayers receive a credit against 
state oil and gas property tax for 
property taxes paid to municipalities 
on taxable property.  The credit is 
limited to the amount of state tax 
otherwise due.

Education Credit - Taxpayers that 
contribute to Alaska two-year or four-
year universities or colleges for direct 
instruction, research or educational 
support purposes or school district/
state-operated vocational technical 
education and training schools may 
claim a tax credit for 50% of the first 
$100,000, 100% of the contribution 
over $100,000 and up to $300,000 
and 50% of the remaining amount 
over $300,000.  The total allowable 
credit may not exceed $5 million. 

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits revenue from 
oil and gas property taxes into the 
General Fund. Payments received 
after a tax assessment are deposited 
into the Constitutional Budget 
Reserve Fund (CBRF).

History
The legislature enacted this tax in 
1973 during the first special session 
of the eighth legislature. The state 
assists local governments by 
assessing property subject to the 
tax, insuring uniform treatment of all 
taxable property.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 

Oil or gas pipeline 
transportation systems 

owned and operated 
by a public utility 

are exempt from 
property tax. 
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Property Taxes Billed $476,951,412
Less Municipal Tax Credit (366,315,482)
Total Tax Collections $110,635,930

Number of Returns 875
Number of Taxpayers 144

Program Cost $672,877
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 5.2

FY 2011 Statistics

secondary level vocational courses 
and programs by a school district 
in Alaska and by a state-operated 
vocational technical education and 
training school.

2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 
schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000. 
 

2011 - The legislature enacted 
legislation extending the date that 
the $5 million annual education credit 
limit expires from January 1, 2014 to 
January 1, 2021. It is then scheduled 
to return to $150,000 In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made after June 
30, 2011 to annual intercollegiate 
sports tournaments, Alaska Native 
cultural or heritage programs for 
public school staff and students, and 
a facility in the state that qualifies 
as a coastal ecosystem learning 
center under the Coastal American 
Partnership.
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the General Fund. The legislature 
may make appropriations from the 
General Fund to fund RCA based on 
regulatory cost charges collected. 

History
1992 - The Alaska legislature 
enacted the RCC program to fund 
RCA’s costs of regulating utilities. The 
RCC legislation provided for a sunset 
date of December 1994. Rates went 
into effect through regulations which 
became effective November 1992.

1994 - In the fall of 1994, RCA 
promulgated regulations which 
established RCC rates for FY 
1995 on an annualized basis. The 
regulations took effect December 
1994.

1995 - The legislature reauthorized 
the RCC program that became 
effective June 1995. In October 
1995, RCA adopted regulations to 
reestablish quarterly payments.
 
1999 - The legislature authorized 
separate RCC rates for each 
regulated utility and changed the 
methodology for calculating rates.

2007 - Alaska Regulatory 
Commission implemented online 
report filing through their web site.  
RCA assumed responsibility for 
processing returns and collecting 
data; the Division continues to collect 
revenue as required by statute.

Returns
Quarterly returns and payment 
of RCCs are due on the 30th day 
following the calendar quarter. 
Utilities and carriers are required to 
file a copy of the return with RCA.

Exemptions
Utilities not regulated by RCA are 
exempt from the RCC program.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all revenue 
derived from the RCC program into 

Regulatory Cost Charges
Utilities AS 42.05.254(e) 
Pipeline AS 42.06.286(c) 

Description
Alaska levies regulatory cost 
charges (RCC) on regulated utilities. 
The charges fund the Regulatory 
Commission of Alaska (RCA) that 
regulates utilities and pipeline carriers 
in Alaska. Regulated utilities collect 
charges from consumers and remit 
the collections to the Tax Division.

The Alaska 
legislature enacted 
the RCC program in 

1992 to fund the cost of 
regulating utilities. 

Total RCC Collections $9,796,244
Electric, Telephone, Pipeline Carriers and Other Utilities

FY 2011 Statistics

Rate
Rates are available on the Alaska 
Regulatory Commission’s web site 
at https://rca.alaska.gov/RCAWeb/
RCALibrary/FormsLibrary.aspx.  
Select the RCC Quarterly Report 
Form for calendar year of interest to 
obtain rates for that period.
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Salmon Enhancement Tax
AS 43.76

Description
The salmon enhancement tax is an 
elective tax levied on salmon sold 
in or exported from established 
aquaculture regions in Alaska. 

Fishermen pay salmon enhancement 
taxes to licensed buyers at the time 
of sale, or to the Division for salmon 
sold to unlicensed buyers or exported 
from the region. Buyers remit taxes 
collected from fishermen to the 
Division.

Rate
Commercial fishermen elected 
tax rates for the following regional 
aquaculture associations:

Returns
Buyers file returns and pay the tax 
monthly. The due date is the last day 
of the month following the month of 
purchase.

Buyers file returns for bonus 
payments made to fishermen after 
the close of the fishing season. 
Returns for these payments are due 
with additional taxes by the last day 
of the month following the bonus 
payment.

Fishermen selling to unlicensed 
buyers or exporting from the region 
file returns and pay taxes annually. 
The due date is March 31 following 
the year of sale or export.

Exemptions
Salmon harvested under a special 
harvest area permit (typically, salmon 
harvested on behalf of salmon 
hatcheries) are exempt from the 
salmon enhancement tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all salmon 
enhancement tax revenue into the 
General Fund.

Under AS 43.76.025(c), the 
legislature may appropriate salmon 
enhancement tax revenue to provide 
financing for qualified regional 
aquaculture associations.

History
The legislature adopted the Salmon 
Enhancement Act in 1980. The Act 
authorized a 2% or 3% tax, upon 
election by commercial fishermen 
within established aquaculture 
regions, on salmon transferred 
to buyers in Alaska. Commercial 
fishermen in Southern and Northern 
Southeast aquaculture regions 
elected a 3% tax and Cook Inlet 
region elected a 2% tax.

1981 - The legislature amended the 
Act to subject salmon exported from 
Alaska to the tax.

1985 - Commercial fishermen in the 
Prince William Sound aquaculture 
region elected a 2% tax.

1988 - Commercial fishermen in the 
Kodiak aquaculture region elected a 
2% tax.

1989 - The legislature amended 
statutes to allow for a 1% tax. 

1991 - Commercial fishermen in the 
Chignik aquaculture region elected a 
2% tax.

Region Rate Effective
Southern Southeast 3% 1981 
Northern Southeast 3% 1981 
Cook Inlet 2% 1981 
Prince William Sound 2% 1985 
Kodiak 2% 1988 
Chignik 2% 1991 

The salmon 
enhancement tax is an 
elective tax levied on 
salmon sold in or ex-

ported from established 
aquaculture regions. 
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This legislation clarified who must 
pay the Salmon Enhancement Tax. 
When a buyer does not withhold the 
tax, fishermen must pay the tax with 
an annual return. The legislation took 
effect January 1, 2005.

2004 - The legislature authorized 
additional salmon enhancement 
tax rates, subject to permit holder 
elections held by qualified regional 
associations. In addition to the 
current 1%, 2%, or 3% options, 
10 additional options were made 
available ranging from 4% to 30%. 

Tax Collections $7,851,054
Including interest and penalties

Number of Returns 895
Number of Taxpayers 210

Program Cost $126,373
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 1.4

FY 2011 Statistics
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Returns
Buyers file returns and pay the tax 
monthly. The due date is the last day 
of the month following the month 
of purchase. Buyers file returns for 
bonus payments made to fishermen 
after the close of the fishing season. 
Returns for these payments are 
due with additional taxes by the 
last day of the month following the 
bonus payment. Fishermen selling to 
unlicensed buyers or exporting from 

Regional Seafood 
Development Tax
AS 43.76.350

Description
The seafood development tax is an 
elective tax levied on certain fishery 
resources using specific gear types 
sold in or exported from designated 
seafood development regions. 
Fishermen pay seafood development 
taxes to licensed buyers at the 
time of sale or to the Division for 
resources sold to unlicensed buyers 
or exported from Alaska. Buyers remit 
taxes collected from fishermen to the 
Division.

Rate
Commercial fishermen harvesting 
salmon elected tax rates for the 
following development regions and 
gear types:

Region Rate Effective
Prince William Sound 1% 2005 
(drift gillnet)

Bristol Bay 1% 2006
(drift gillnet)

Prince William Sound 1% 2009
(set gillnet)The regional seafood 

development tax is 
an elective tax levied 

on certain fishery 
resources using specific 

gear types.

Tax Collections Including interest and penalties $2,143,116
Number of Returns 220
Number of Taxpayers 40
Program Cost $38,192
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.4

FY 2011 Statistics

Alaska file returns and pay taxes 
annually. The due date is March 31 
following the year of sale or export.

Exemptions
Resources harvested under special 
harvest area permit (typically, salmon 
harvested on behalf of salmon 
hatcheries) is exempt from the 
seafood development tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all seafood 
development tax revenue into the 
General Fund. 

Under AS 43.76.380(d), the 
legislature may appropriate seafood 
development tax revenue to provide 
financing for qualified regional 
seafood development associations.

History
2004 - The legislature adopted the 
Seafood Development Tax Act. The 
Act authorized a tax of between 
½% and 2%, upon election by 
commercial fishermen harvesting 
within designated regions, on fishery 
resources transferred to buyers in or 
exported from Alaska.

2005 - Commercial salmon drift gillnet 
fishermen in the Prince William Sound 
seafood development region elected 
a 1% tax.

2006 - Commercial salmon drift gillnet 
fishermen in the Bristol Bay seafood 
development region elected a 1% tax.

2009 - Commercial salmon set gillnet 
fishermen in the Prince William Sound 
Seafood Development Region elected 
a 1% tax.
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Seafood Marketing 
Assessment
AS 16.51.120

Description
Alaska levies a seafood marketing 
assessment on seafood processed 
or first landed in Alaska. The state 
also levies the assessment on 
unprocessed fisheries products 
exported from Alaska. The Tax 
Division collects the assessment from 
seafood processors and fishermen 
who export fishery resources out of 
Alaska.

Rate
The seafood marketing assessment 
is 0.5% of the value of seafood 
products exported from, processed, 
or first landed in Alaska.

Returns
Taxpayers file calendar year returns 
with payment before April 1 of the 
following year. Taxpayers file monthly 
returns for postseason (bonus) 
payments made to fishermen after 
the filing of the calendar year return. 
Returns for these payments are due 
with additional assessments by the 
last day of the month following the 
bonus payments.

Exemptions
Processors and fishermen who 
produce less than $50,000 worth 
of seafood products during a 
calendar year are exempt from the 
assessment.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all seafood 
marketing assessments into the 
General Fund. The legislature may 
appropriate funds to the Alaska 
Seafood Marketing Institute.

History
1981 - The legislature enacted 
an elective seafood marketing 
assessment of 0.1%, 0.2% or 0.3% 
(elected by large processors in 
Alaska). In 1981, processors elected 
a 0.3% assessment to take effect in 
calendar year 1982.

1996 - The legislature amended 
seafood marketing assessment 
statutes to include fishery resources 
landed in Alaska. The legislation was 
retroactive to January 1994. Prior to 
FY 96, revenue collected from the 
0.3% portion of the original 3.3% 
landing tax rate was accounted for 
in a separate account designated 
as (landing tax) seafood marketing 
assessments. 

2004 - The legislature directed 
the Alaska Seafood Marketing 
Institute (ASMI) to hold elections 
and determine whether to retain the 
assessment and a second election 
to determine whether to increase 
the assessment from 0.3% to 0.5%. 
Elections were held as prescribed by 
law. The vote retained the Seafood 
Marketing Assessment, increased the 
Seafood Marketing rate to 0.5% and 
eliminated the Salmon Marketing Tax 
effective January 1, 2005. 

The seafood market-
ing assessment is levied 
on seafood processed or 

first landed in Alaska. 
Assessments fund the 

Alaska Seafood 
Marketing Institute. 

Assessment Collections $8,622,211
Number of Returns 266
Number of Taxpayers 158

Program Cost $55,128
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.6

FY 2011 Statistics
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Telephone Cooperative Tax
AS 10.25.550

Description
Alaska levies a telephone 
cooperative tax on gross revenue 
of qualified telephone cooperatives 
under AS 10.25. The Division collects 
taxes from cooperatives.

Rate
The telephone cooperative tax rate 
is based on revenue and the length 
of time in which the cooperative 
has furnished telephone service to 
consumers as follows:

Returns
Telephone cooperatives file calendar 
year returns that are due with 
payment before March 1 of the 
following year.

Exemptions
All qualified telephone cooperatives 
are subject to the cooperative tax. 

Cooperatives pay the telephone 
cooperative tax in lieu of corporate 
net income tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits revenue from 
the telephone cooperative tax into the 
General Fund.

Telephone cooperative taxes sourced 
from within municipalities are shared 
100% to respective municipalities 
less the amount expended by the 
state for collection of taxes.

The state retains telephone 
cooperative taxes sourced from 
outside of municipalities.

History
1959 - The legislature enacted 
the telephone cooperative tax as 
part of the “Electric and Telephone 
Cooperative Act” to promote 
cooperatives around the state. 
The due date for filing telephone 
cooperative tax returns was April 1 of 
the following year.

1960 - The legislature changed the 
due date for filing returns to “before 
March 1.”

Length Percent of 
Revenue

Less than 5 years 1%
5 years or longer 2%

Tax Collections $1,897,512
Number of Returns 12
Number of Taxpayers 7

Program Cost $1,594
Staffing (full-time equivalent) <.1

FY 2011 Statistics

Telephone cooperatives 
pay the telephone 

cooperative tax in lieu 
of corporate net income 

tax.
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Tire Fee
AS 43.98.025

Description
Alaska imposes a tire fee on all new 
tires sold in Alaska. An additional tire 
fee is imposed on the sale of tires 
with metal studs weighing more than 
1.1 grams each (heavy studs). The 
additional tire fee also applies to the 
installation of heavy studs in new or 
used tires. The Division collects tire 
fees primarily from tire dealerships. 

Rate
A $2.50 tire fee applies to each new 
tire. An additional $5 fee applies to 
each studded tire ($7.50 total tire fee 
for new studded tires).

Returns
Taxpayers are required to file returns 
and remit fees quarterly. Returns and 
payment are due 30 days following 
the calendar quarter in which the 
new tires were sold or studs were 
installed. 

Taxpayers may retain 5% of the 
amount collected, limited to a 
maximum of $900 per quarter, to 
cover expenses associated with 
collecting and remitting fees.

Exemptions
The following tires and services are 
exempt if the purchaser provides the 
tire seller with a certificate of use:
•• Tires and services sold to 

federal, state or local government 
agencies for official use.

•• Tires for resale.

The $2.50 tire fee does not apply to 
used tires and certain replacements 
of defective tires.

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all revenue 
from the tire fee into the General 
Fund.

History
2003 - The legislature enacted the 
tire fee, effective 9/26/2003.  

Alaska imposes a tire 
fee on all new tires sold 

in Alaska. 

New tires (non-studded) $1,081,406

Studded tires and stud installations 412,186
Penalties & Interest 7,208        
Tax Collections $1,500,800

Number of Returns 332
Number of Taxpayers 88

Program Cost $128,332
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 1.3

FY 2011 Statistics
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Tobacco Tax
AS 43.50

Description
Alaska levies a tax on cigarettes and 
other tobacco products. The cigarette 
tax is levied on cigarettes imported 
into the state for sale or personal 
consumption. The tobacco products 
tax is levied on other tobacco 
products (other than cigarettes) 
imported into the state for sale. 
The Division collects tobacco taxes 
primarily from licensed wholesalers, 
distributors and retailers.

Rates
Cigarettes - See rates table below. 
The cigarette tax must be paid 
through purchase of cigarette tax 
stamps. A stamp must be affixed 
to the bottom of every pack of 
cigarettes imported into the state for 
sale or personal consumption. 

Nonparticipating 
Manufacturer(“NPM”) Equity Tax – An 
additional tax of 12.5 mills ($0.25 per 
pack of 20 cigarettes) is levied on 
each cigarette imported or acquired 
from a manufacturer that did not 
sign the tobacco Master Settlement 
Agreement.  All revenue collected 
from this tax is deposited in the 
General Fund.

Other Tobacco Products - The tax 
rate on Other Tobacco Products, 
which includes tobacco products 
other than cigarettes such as cigars 
and chewing tobacco, is 75% of the 
wholesale price. The wholesale price 
is the established price at which a 
manufacturer sells tobacco products 
to a distributor. The Division may 

adjust the wholesale price upon 
which tax was calculated if the 
wholesale price was not established 
in an arms-length transaction.

Legislation passed during a special 
legislative session in June 2004 
increased the cigarette tax rate to 
90 mills ($0.09) per cigarette on July 
1, 2006 and 100 mills ($0.10) per 
cigarette on July 1, 2007. In addition, 
as of January 1, 2005, there is an 
additional tax of $0.25 per pack of 20 
cigarettes on cigarette brands that 
are manufactured by manufacturers 
that did not sign the tobacco Master 
Settlement Agreement (NPM 
cigarettes). There was no increase in 
the other tobacco products tax rate.

Returns
Taxpayers must pay the cigarette tax 
by purchasing cigarette tax stamps. 
The other tobacco products tax is 
paid at the time a tax return is filed. 
Tax returns are required to be filed 
on a monthly basis and are due the 
last day of the month following the 
month that cigarette tax stamps were 
purchased or other tobacco products 
were imported into the state for sale. 

Taxpayers that purchase cigarette 
tax stamps are entitled to a 
stamp discount of 3% on the first 
$1,000,000 and 2% on the second 
$1,000,000 of cigarette tax stamps 
purchased in a calendar year. 
The total stamp discount in each 
calendar year may not exceed 
$50,000. Taxpayers who import 
other tobacco products for sale may 
deduct 0.4% of the other tobacco 
products tax due to cover expenses 
of accounting and filing returns. 
There is no limit on this deduction.

Cigarette Tax Rates

Since July 1, 2007 Per cigarette Per 20
Base Rate (School Fund) 38 mills $0.038 $0.76
Additional Tax (General Fund) 62 mills 0.062 1.24
Total 100 mills $0.10 $2.00
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Exemptions
Sales to authorized military 
personnel by a military exchange, 
commissary, or ship store, and sales 
by an Indian reservation business 
located within an Indian reservation 
to members of the reservation are 
not subject to the tax. 

Disposition of Revenue
Cigarette Taxes – Revenue from 
the base rate is deposited in the 
School Fund. Revenue from the 
additional tax is initially deposited 
into the General Fund. Of the amount 
deposited in the General Fund, 
8.9% of revenue is deposited into 
the Tobacco Use Education and 
Cessation Fund, a subfund of the 
General Fund.

The Division deposits all cigarette 
and tobacco products license fees 
into the School Fund, to be used for 
the rehabilitation, construction, repair 
and associated insurance costs of 
state school facilities.

History
The tobacco tax dates to 1949 when 
the legislature enacted a tax of $0.03 
per pack on cigarettes and $0.02 
per ounce on tobacco. There were 
no exemptions provided in the tax 
legislation.

1951 - The legislature increased the 
cigarette tax to $0.05 per pack.

1955 - The legislature eliminated the 
tobacco products tax and, although 
the cigarette tax rate remained at 
$0.05, the legislature converted the 
rate to a mill rate per cigarette (2.5 
mills per cigarette). The legislature 
enacted a 1% deduction provision 
to cover accounting expenses.  The 
legislature also created the School 
Fund and directed all proceeds from 
the cigarette tax be deposited in this 
fund.

1961 - The legislature increased 
the cigarette tax to 4 mills per 

cigarette ($0.08 per pack). The 
legislature dedicated revenue from 
the additional $0.03 to the General 
Fund.

1977 - The legislature exempted 
military sales from the cigarette tax.

1983 - The Department of Revenue 
adopted regulations exempting sales 
of cigarettes by Indian Reservation 
businesses to members of the 
reservation.

1985 - The legislature increased the 
cigarette tax to 8 mills per cigarette 
($0.16 cents per pack).

1988 - The legislature enacted the 
tobacco products tax imposing a 
tax of 25% of the product wholesale 
price. The legislature authorized 
taxpayers to deduct 1% of the tax to 
cover accounting expenses.

1989 - The legislature increased the 
cigarette tax rate to 14.5 mills ($0.29 
per pack of 20).

1997 - Effective October 1, 1997, the 
legislature increased the cigarette 
tax rate to 50 mills or $1 per pack 
of 20; and the tobacco products 
tax rate was increased to 75% of 
wholesale price. The legislature 
reduced the deduction percentage to 
cover accounting expenses from 1% 
to 0.4%. 

1999 - Effective June 3, 1999, 
Alaska became a signatory to 
the nationwide tobacco Master 
Settlement Agreement (MSA). The 
MSA is an agreement between 46 
states, including the State of Alaska, 
and certain cigarette manufacturers 
which have voluntarily agreed 
to reimburse states for costs 
associated with cigarette smoking. 
The Agreement applies only to 
“participating manufacturers” (those 
manufacturers who have agreed to 
participate in the settlement). 

8.9% of cigarette tax 
revenues deposited 

in the General Fund 
are deposited into the  

Tobacco Use Education 
and Cessation Fund.
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The Agreement includes language 
to prevent “nonparticipating 
manufacturers” (those manufacturers 
who have not agreed to participate 
in the settlement) from deriving 
short-term profits and from becoming 
judgment-proof before liability 
arises. This language requires every 
nonparticipating manufacturer to 
place funds in an escrow account 
for each cigarette sold in the state. 
Per the agreement, the state 
is responsible to obtain data to 
determine the amount required to be 
placed in an escrow account by each 
nonparticipating manufacturer. 
 
2001 - Effective July 1, 2001, the 
Department of Revenue gained 
new tools to enforce the nationwide 
Master Settlement Agreement 
signed by the major cigarette 
producers and states. It allows the 
Department to share information with 
other states and entities that may aid 
in the enforcement of the agreement. 
It also prohibits tobacco products 
licensees from importing and 
selling cigarettes in Alaska made by 
nonparticipating manufacturers that 
fail to comply with the agreement.

2003 – The legislature required all 
cigarette manufacturers to certify 
to the Division that they are either 
a signatory to the tobacco Master 
Settlement Agreement (MSA) or 
in compliance with AS 45.53. The 
Division is required to post on 
its website a list of the compliant 
cigarette manufacturers and their 
brands. Only those brands of 
cigarettes included in the list may be 
sold in Alaska. 

2004 - Effective January 1, 2004, the 
cigarette tax must be paid through 
the use of cigarette tax stamps. 
An Alaska cigarette tax stamp 
must be affixed to each cigarette 
pack prior to sale, distribution or 
consumption. Cigarettes found in 
the state that do not bear a cigarette 
tax stamp are contraband and 

subject to immediate seizure by the 
Department of Revenue or any other 
law enforcement agency in the state. 
Additionally, the sale of cigarettes at 
less than cost is prohibited. 

During a special session in June 
2004, the legislature passed 
legislation that:
•• Increased the cigarette tax by 

30 mills to $0.08 per cigarette or 
$1.60 per pack of 20 cigarettes, 
effective January 1, 2005.

•• Levied an additional tax of 
12.5 mills or $0.25 per pack 
of 20 cigarettes on cigarettes 
imported into the state for sale 
or personal consumption if the 
cigarettes were manufactured by 
a nonparticipating manufacturer 
(NPM). A nonparticipating 
manufacturer is a manufacturer 
that did not sign the tobacco 
Master Settlement Agreement. 
Revenue from the entire cigarette 
tax increase and the additional tax 
on NPM product is deposited in 
the General Fund.

•• Required 8.9% of cigarette tax 
revenue deposited in the General 
Fund to be deposited into the 
Tobacco Use Education and 
Cessation Fund, effective January 
1, 2005. Amounts deposited in 
the fund may be appropriated 
by the legislature for tobacco 
use education and cessation 
programs.

•• Increased the cigarette tax by 
10 mills to $0.09 per cigarette or 
$1.80 per pack of 20 cigarettes, 
effective July 1, 2006. The 
revenue from this increase will be 
deposited in the General Fund.

•• Increased the cigarette tax by 
10 mills to $0.10 per cigarette or 
$2.00 per pack of 20 cigarettes, 
effective July 1, 2007. The 
revenue from this increase will be 
deposited in the General Fund.

2008 - Effective August 1, 2008,  
only fire-safe certified cigarettes can 
be imported into Alaska.
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Tax Collections
Cigarettes  $61,637,410 
Tobacco Products 11,686,212 
Penalties & Interest 86,950 
License Fee Collections 4,750 
Accounting Expense & Tax Stamp Deduction   (359,925)
Total Collections by Product $ 73,055,396 

Tax Collections by fund
General Fund $46,537,666
School Fund 23,155,813
Tobacco Use Education and Cessation Fund   3,361,917  
Total Tax Collections All Funds $73,055,396
Cigarettes sold or imported into the state – 
(individual cigarettes) as reported on returns*
Total Cigarettes 621,295,871 
Military and Indian Exempt Sales (5,758,600)
Credits for Returns   (755,809)
Taxable Cigarettes 614,781,462
*Excludes cigarettes for which tax stamps were 
purchased, but not yet sold or imported into the state

Tobacco Products as reported on returns

Total wholesale value reported $17,452,088
Military and Indian Exempt Sales (161,802)
Credits for Returns   (1,672,136)
Taxable Wholesale Value of Tobacco Products $15,618,150

Number of Returns 1087
Number of Taxpayers 182

Program Cost $897,344
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 8.6

FY 2011 Statistics

2010 - The legislature changed the 
methodology for establishing the 
minimum price at which cigarettes 
must be sold.
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Vehicle Rental Tax 
AS 43.52

Description
Alaska levies an excise tax on fees 
and costs charged for the lease or 
rental of a passenger or recreational 
vehicle if the lease or rental does not 
exceed a period of 90 consecutive 
days. The tax is levied on individuals 
renting vehicles and is collected by 
the rental/lease agency.

Rate

Returns
Vehicle rental/lease agencies file tax 
returns and remit taxes quarterly. The 
returns and payments are due the last 
day of the month following the end 
of the calendar quarter in which the 
rental/lease agencies collected the 
tax.

Exemptions
Vehicle rental tax does not apply to: 

•• rentals or leases to federal, state, 
local, or foreign government 
agencies or employees on official 
business  

•• trucks with a gross vehicle weight 
rating greater than 8,500 pounds 
used for moving personal property 
and for vehicles provided to 
customers by automobile dealers 
as replacement transportation 
during warranty, recall or service 
contract repairs 

•	 taxi cabs are excluded from the tax 
under AS 43.52.099. Specifically, 
taxi cabs do not meet the definition 
of a “passenger vehicle”.  There is 
no exemption certificate required 
for taxi cabs. Similarly, rental trucks 
and replacement transportation do 

not meet the “passenger vehicle” 
definition.  However, there is an 
exemption certificate required for 
these transactions

Disposition of Revenue
The Division deposits all revenue from 
the vehicle rental tax into a special 
vehicle rental account in the General 
Fund. The legislature may appropriate 
the balance in the vehicle rental tax 
account for tourism development and 
marketing. 

History
2003 - The legislature enacted the 
vehicle rental tax on August 20, 2003. 
The tax became effective January 1, 
2004. 

2004 - The legislature exempted the 
rental of taxicabs by taxicab drivers 
from the vehicle rental tax. Effective 
May 8, 2004 and retroactive to 
January 1, 2004, the Division refunded 
any tax collected or remitted for taxi 
cab rentals between January 1 and 
May 8, 2004.

2006 - The legislature exempted 
trucks rented by individuals for moving 
personal property and for vehicles 
provided to customers by automobile 
dealers as replacement transportation 
during warranty, recall or service 
contract repairs, effective January 27, 
2006.

Vehicle Type Rate 
(fees & costs)

Passenger 10%
Recreational 3%

The legislature may 
appropriate the 

balance in the vehicle 
rental tax account for 
tourism development 

and marketing. 
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Passenger vehicle rental $7,836,341
Recreational vehicle rental 339,191
Penalties & interest 104,760      
Total Tax Collections $8,280,292

Number of Returns 473
Number of Taxpayers 114

Program Cost $311,304
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 3.9

FY 2011 Statistics
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The Investigations 
Group is called upon to 
investigate potential 
violations of any of 

the tax types adminis-
tered by the division.

Investigations Function

The Investigations Group consists 
of a Chief Investigator and four 
Investigator III’s. The focus of the 
Investigations Group is Tobacco 
Tax and Gaming investigations. The 
investigators frequently conduct 
both administrative and criminal 
cases related to other tax types 
including Motor Fuel, Vehicle Rental, 
Mining, and other Excise Taxes. The 
investigations are generally initiated 
by periodic field inspections, tips from 
the public, and referrals from various 
law enforcement agencies.

Tobacco Tax Investigations
The Investigations Group ensures 
that all cigarettes imported or sold 
in Alaska are properly stamped with 
the Alaska Tax Stamp in accordance 
of AS 43.50.  The investigators 
seize unstamped or improperly 
stamped cigarettes and any other 
tobacco products designated as 
contraband within the provisions of 
Alaska statutes. At the time of the 
investigation, investigators determine 
potential violations of cigarette 
minimum pricing and shipping 
statutes. Most of the tobacco 
investigations are initiated by field 
inspections, complaints by citizens, 
referrals from the tobacco auditors, 
and law enforcement. 

Gaming Investigations
The Investigations Group investigates 
potential gaming statute violations 
by licensed vendors, permittees, 
operators, and distributors. These 
investigations are generally initiated 
by routine inspections of premises 
where licensed activity is conducted, 
citizen complaints, and requests from 
Gaming Auditors.

During these inspections, the 
investigators educate the permittees, 
licensees, and the public about 
gaming laws and regulations.

Other Investigations
The Investigations Group provides 
investigative support to all groups 
within the Division and may be called 
upon to investigate any of the tax 
types administered by the division, 
frequently including tax fraud and 
other tax evasion related crimes.
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staff regarding issues involved in 
active or past litigation.  

Oil and gas production tax cases 
and corporate income tax cases 
are a priority due to the complexity 
of the issues, and the amount of 
tax revenue involved.  These cases 
require more resources to complete 
than the other tax types administered 
by the Division.  
  

Appeals Function

The Appeals Group consists of five 
appeals officers and a supervisor. 
The appeals officers and supervisor 
conduct informal conferences and 
issue informal conference decisions 
in taxpayer appeals of assessments 
for all tax types administered by the 
Division along with charitable gaming 
appeals. Appeals officers work with 
Department of Law attorneys to 
resolve issues related to audit and 
compliance actions.  Appeals officers 
also participate with Department of 
Law attorneys as a team to represent 
the Division in formal hearings before 
the Office of Administrative Hearings 
and in settlement negotiations. 
Appeals officers also advise audit 

Tax Periods* Taxpayer Count
Beginning Inventory 185 58
Plus New Cases 394 152
Less Closed Cases 335 145
Ending Inventory 244   65

FY 2011 Statistics

* Tax periods correspond to periodic tax return filing requirements of taxpayers. One taxpayer 
   may have several tax periods in appeals at the same time.

Appeals conducts 
informal conferences 
and issues decisions 

in taxpayer appeals 
of assessments for 

all tax types
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passenger vessel, mining license, 
motor fuel, vehicle rental and tobacco 
taxes, and tire fees.

The gaming audit group is 
responsible for financial compliance 
of permittees, operators and 
distributors.

The fish audit group is responsible 
for auditing fisheries-related tax 
returns including fisheries business, 
fishery resource landing, salmon 
enhancement, seafood development 
taxes, dive fishery management and 
seafood marketing assessments.

Audit Function

The income audit group is 
responsible for auditing corporate 
income taxes, including oil and gas 
corporate income tax returns.

The production audit group is 
responsible for auditing both oil and 
gas production and property tax 
returns.  

The excise audit group is responsible 
for auditing excise tax returns 
including alcoholic beverages, 
commercial passenger vessel, large 

Audit Collections

Production Audit
Oil and Gas Production $82,370,453
Oil and Gas Property   73,585,814
Total Production Audit $155,956,267

Income Audit (Corporate Net Income)
Oil and Gas Corporations $30,851,341
Other Corporations   27,206,239  
Total Income Audit $58,057,580

Fish Audit 
Fisheries Business $580,156
Fishery Resource Landing 0
Other fisheries taxes              0
Total Fish Audit $580,156

Excise Audit
Motor Fuel     $210
Large Passenger Vessel Gambling 8,184
Vehicle Rental 6,577
Tire Fee  43,279
Total Excise Audit $58,250

         

Total $214,652,253

FY 2011 Statistics

The audit group in-
cludes income audit, 

production audit, 
excise audit, gaming 

audit, and fish audit.
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the end of the month following the 
semi-annual reporting period and 
were required to list products by 
case and specified can sizes.  The 
legislation required the Department 
of Revenue to calculate monthly and 
annual wholesale price averages 
for each species of salmon in each 
unit category and to report to the 
legislature by the 15th day of each 
legislative session.

1998 - The legislature expanded the 
reporting requirement to thermally 
processed salmon products and 
limited the reporting requirement 
to processors selling more than 
240,000 pounds of thermally 
processed salmon products at 
wholesale during the calendar 
year.  The legislation replaced the 
semi-annual filing with a tri-annual 
filing, and required processors 
to report all container sizes of 
thermally processed salmon.  
Effective September 1, 1998, all 
salmon canneries were required to 
report prices received for thermally 
processed salmon for the periods 
January–April, May–August and 
September–December.  The reports 
were due by the end of the month 
following the tri-annual reporting 
period and were required to list 
thermally processed salmon products 
by whatever sizes sold.

2000 - The legislature broadened 
the reporting requirement to include 
all processed salmon products and 
increased the reporting requirement 
to include only those processors 
selling more than 1,000,000 pounds 
of salmon products at wholesale.  
Effective September 1, 2000, 
large processors were required to 
provide areas of production for each 
salmon product sold at wholesale.  
The legislation requires salmon 
processors to file an annual report 
summarizing yearly activity, and 
requires the Department of Revenue 
to provide average wholesale prices 
paid for salmon products by March 
15 of each year.

Salmon Price Reports
AS 43.80

Description
Alaska requires large processors that 
sell salmon products at wholesale 
to provide production and price 
information to the Fish Tax unit. 
This information is used to publish 
average wholesale price information 
for the legislature and public.

Reports
Processors selling salmon products 
at wholesale are required to file price 
reports on salmon for the periods 
January–April, May–August, and 
September–December.  The tri-
annual reports are due by the end 
of the month following the tri-annual 
period.

Processors must also file annual 
reconciliation reports by January 31 
of the following year.

Exemptions
Processors excluded from the tax 
under AS 43.75.017, and processors 
that sell 1,000,000 pounds or less of 
salmon products annually are exempt 
from the report filing requirements.

History
1980 - The legislature enacted 
salmon price reporting requirements 
for salmon canneries.  Effective 
September 10, 1980, the Department 
of Revenue was required to compute 
and report to the legislature the 
average wholesale prices obtained 
for canned salmon reported by 
Alaska salmon canneries during 
the months of August, September, 
October, November and December 
for the previous five years.

1983 - The legislature imposed a 
semi-annual report filing requirement 
on salmon canneries.  Effective 
July 9, 1983, salmon canneries 
were required to report prices 
received for canned salmon for the 
periods October–March and April–
September.  Reports were due by 
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Number of Reports 110
Number of Filers 38

FY 2011 Statistics

Salmon Price Reports
AS 43.80 (Continued)
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Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure Most Recent Change

Alcoholic Beverages AS 43.60 1933 Per Gallon
Wine $0.05                                             
Beer  $0.05                                            

Per Gallon
Liquor $12.80 
Wine $2.50 
Beer (Malt Beverage) and 
Cider  $1.07 
Beer (Small Breweries) 
$0.35

2002 - Effective 10/1/2002, 
tax rates increased for 
alcoholic beverages as 
referenced under current 
tax structure.                                                                                                                               

Commercial 
Passenger Vessel

AS 43.52 2006 $46/passenger $34.50/passenger 2010 - Effective 10/31/10, 
tax reduced from $46 to 
$34.50 per passenger.  The 
number of ports of call for 
sharing increased from 5 
to 7.  Regional cruise ship 
impact fund repealed.

Conservation 
Surcharge on Oil

AS 43.55 1989 $0.05/bbl $0.01/bbl increasing to 
$0.04¢/bbl when fund 
balance drops below $50m

2006 - rates changed to 
$0.01/bbl and $0.04/bbl.

Corporate Income AS 43.20 1949 10% of federal 
income tax liability

1% to 9.4% of net income 2010 - Effective 1/1/2010, 
gas exploration and devel-
opment credit increased 
from 10% to 25% and utili-
zation limit increased from 
50% to 75% of tax liability.  
Tax credits for gas stor-
age facilities authorized at 
$1.50/1,000 cubic feet of 
storage.  Maximum credit 
of $15 million or 25% of 
costs of facility.

Effective 1/1/2011, maxi-
mum education credit in-
creased from $150,000 to 
$5 million.  Eligible contri-
butions for credit expanded 
to include contributions for 
construction and mainte-
nance of university, college 
or vocational education 
facilities.

Dive Fishery 
Management 
Assessment

AS 43.76.150 1997 Voluntary tax of 1%, 
3%, 5%, or 7% of 
value

SE AK Mgmt Area A 
Geoduck - 7%                    
Sea Cucumber - 5%                      
Sea Urchin - 7%

2005 - The legislature 
authorized an annual 
filing due date of March 
31 for dive fishermen who 
export or sell to unlicensed 
buyers, effective January 
1, 2005.

Electric Cooperative AS 10.25.555 1959 1% of gross revenue if 
operating < 5 years
                                  
2% of gross revenue if 
operating  ≥ 5 years

1/4 mill ($.00025) per 
kWh if < 5 years;  1/2 mill 
($.0005) per kWh if  ≥ 5 
years

1980 - tax base on kWh 
rather than gross revenue

Appendix A
Historical Overview of Tax Programs
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Estate AS 43.31 1919 (Inheritance Tax) 
Based on value of 
property

State tax credit on 
federal estate tax return 
attributable to Alaska

2001 - The federal 
Economic Growth and 
Tax Relief Reconciliation 
Act was enacted. As a 
consequence of the federal 
act, the state tax credit 
was phased out gradually 
over a four-year period. 
The state tax credit no 
longer applies to estates 
of decedents whose date 
of death is January 1, 
2005 or later. However, the 
Division may continue to 
collect tax from estates for 
years prior to January 1, 
2005, as a result of returns 
filed, audits, or other 
enforcement activities.

Fisheries Business AS 43.75 1913 $0.07 per case of 
canned salmon;  
Other -- dollar amount 
based on revenue

Floating 5%1 and 3%2 of 
value;                                                                                              
Shore-based 3%1 
and 1%2 of value;                                                                              
Cannery 4.5% of value;                                                              
Direct Market 3%1 and 
1%2 of value                                                                                         

2011 - Effective 7/1/2011, 
eligible contributions for 
education credit expanded 
to include contributions 
to annual intercollegiate 
sports tournaments, 
Alaska Native cultural or 
heritage programs for K-12 
public schools and Alaska 
Sea Life Center. Sunset 
provision reverting $5 
million annual credit limit 
back to $150,000 extended 
to 2021.

Fishery Resource 
Landing

AS 43.77 1993 3.3% of unprocessed 
value

3% of value1                                                                                              
1% of value2

2011 - Effective 7/1/2011, 
eligible contributions for 
education credit expanded 
to include contributions 
to annual intercollegiate 
sports tournaments, 
Alaska Native cultural or 
heritage programs for K-12 
public schools and Alaska 
Sea Life Center. Sunset 
provision reverting $5 
million annual credit limit 
back to $150,000 extended 
to 2021.

Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure  Most Recent Change

Appendix A (Continued)

1 Established species   2Developing species

1 Established species   2Developing species
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Gaming AS 05.15 1960 $20 annual permit fee 
for new and renewal 
permittees.  $50 renewal 
permit fee for permittees 
with $20,000 to $100,000 
in gross receipts.  $100 
renewal permit fee for 
permittees with over 
$100,000 in gross receipts. 
$500 annual operator 
license fee.  $1,000 annual 
distributor fee. $2,500 
annual manufacturer 
license fee. 3% tax of 
an amount equal to the 
gross receipts less prizes 
awarded on each series of 
pull tabs distributed. 

2008 - The legislature 
authorized broadcasting 
for dog mushers’ contests, 
raffles and lotteries; and 
authorized the cabbage 
classic at the Alaska State 
Fair.

Large Passenger 
Vessel Gambling

AS 05.16 2006 33% of adjusted gross 
income from gambling 
activities

33% of adjusted gross 
income from gambling 
activities

2010 - Large passenger 
vessel gaming and 
gambling tax account 
(sub-account of CPV tax 
account) established.

Mining License AS 43.65 1913 5% tax on mining net 
income of more than 
$5,000

On net income
<$40,000 no tax. 
>$40,001 $1,200 plus 3%
>$50,001 $1,500 plus 5%
>$100,000 $4,000 plus 7%

2010 - Effective 1/1/2011, 
maximum education 
credit increased from 
$150,000 to $5 million.  
Eligible contributions 
for credit expanded to 
include contributions 
for construction and 
maintenance of university, 
college or vocational 
education facilities.

Motor Fuel AS 43.40 1945 $0.01 per gallon on 
all fuels

Highway - $0.08/gallon                                                                                         
Marine - $0.05/gallon                                                                                             
Aviation Gas- $0.047/gallon                                                                                             
Jet Fuel - $0.032¢/gallon

2009 - The motor fuel tax 
was reinstated effective 
September 1, 2009.

Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure  Most Recent Change

Appendix A (Continued)
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Appendix A (Continued)

Oil & Gas Production AS 43.55 1955 1% of production 
value

25% of the production tax 
value per BTU equivalent 
barrel of taxable oil and 
gas.  When the average 
monthly production tax 
value is more than $30 
per barrel, but not more 
than $92.50, there is an 
additional 0.4% progressive 
tax for each additional 
dollar of production tax 
value per barrel.  When the 
average monthly production 
tax value exceeds $92.50 
per barrel, the tax rate is 
the sum of 25% and 0.1% 
of the difference between 
the average monthly 
production tax value and 
$92.50.  The maximum tax 
may not exceed 75%.  

2010 - Tax credit for 40% 
of well lease expenditures 
incurred south of 68 
degrees North latitude, 
and the issuance of tax 
credits certificates in the 
full amount of the credit 
for expenditures incurred 
south of 68 degrees North 
latitude. Each change is 
effective for expenditures 
incurred after June 30, 
2010. 

Credit for use of a jack-
up rig in the Cook Inlet 
equal to 100%/90%/80% 
respectively of the first 
$25 million of exploration 
expenditure incurred for 
the drilling of the first 
3 exploration wells by 
unaffiliated persons using 
the jack-up rig.

Effective 7/1/2011, 
maximum education 
credit increased from 
$150,000 to $5 million.  
Eligible contributions 
for credit expanded to 
include contributions 
for construction and 
maintenance of university, 
college or vocational 
education facilities.

Oil & Gas Property AS 43.56 1973 20 mills on full and 
true value

20 mills on full and true 
value

2010 - Effective 1/1/2011, 
maximum education 
credit increased from 
$150,000 to $5 million.  
Eligible contributions 
for credit expanded to 
include contributions 
for construction and 
maintenance of university, 
college or vocational 
education facilities.

Regulatory Cost 
Charge

AS 42.05.253 
(Utilities)                                                           
AS 42.06.285 
(Pipelines)

1992 Electric Utilities: 
$.000626/kWh                

Other Utilities: 
.653% gross revenue                                                   
Pipelines: 
.653% gross revenue

See RCA website at rca.
alaska.gov

2007 - Alaska Regulatory 
Commission implemented 
online report filing through 
their web site.  RCA 
assumed responsibility for 
processing returns and 
collecting data; the division 
continues to collect revenue 
as required by statute.

Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure  Most Recent Change
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Salmon 
Enhancement

AS 43.76 1980 Voluntary tax of 1%, 
2% or 3% of value as 
elected by fishermen 
in an aquaculture 
region

Southern Southeast - 3%                      
Northern Southeast - 3%   
Cook Inlet - 2%    
Pr. William Sound - 2%  
Kodiak - 2%                       
Chignik - 2%

2004 - SB 286 clarified 
the incidence of the tax; 
when selling to a buyer 
who does not withhold 
the tax, fishermen 
must now pay the tax 
on an annual return.                                                                                         
Ten additional rates 
ranging from 4% to 30%

Seafood 
Development

AS 43.76.350 2005 Voluntary tax of 
0.5% - 2% of value 
as elected by 
fishermen in seafood 
development region

Pr. William Sound 1% 
    (drift & set gillnet)
Bristol Bay 1%
    (drift gillnet)

2009 - Commercial salmon 
set gillnet fishermen in 
the Prince William Sound 
seafood development 
region elected a 1% tax.

Seafood Marketing AS 16.51.120 1981 Voluntary assessment 
of .1%, .2% or .3% of 
value as elected by 
processors

Rate set at 0.5% effective 
January 1, 2005.

2004 - SB 273 directed 
a member election of the 
Alaska Seafood Marketing 
Institute (ASMI). Fall 
election determined 
retention of Seafood 
Marketing Assessment and 
increased the rate to 0.5%. 

Telephone 
Cooperative

AS 10.25.550 1959 1% of gross revenue 
if operating < 5 years;                                        
2% of gross revenue 
if operating  ≥ 5 years 
or longer

1% of gross revenue 
if operating < 5 years;                                           
2% of gross revenue if 
operating  ≥ 5 years or 
longer

1960 - The legislature 
changed the due date for 
filing returns to “before 
March 1”.

Tire Fee AS 43.98 2003 $2.50 per new tire 
for highway-use 
motor vehicles                                                      
Additional $5 per tire 
with studs over 1.1 
grams

$2.50 per new tire 
for highway-use 
motor vehicles;                                             
Additional $5 per tire with 
studs over 1.1 grams

No changes since tire fee 
enacted in 2003.

Tobacco AS 43.50 1949 Cigarettes - $0.03 
per pack of 20;                                               
Tobacco - $0.02 per 
ounce

100 mills/cigarette ($2.00 
per pack of 20)                     
Tobacco - 75% of 
wholesale price

2010 - The legislature 
changed the methodology 
for establishing the 
minimum price at which 
cigarettes must be sold.

Vehicle Rental AS 43.52 2004 10% on passenger 
vehicle rentals of 90 
days or less
3% on recreational 
vehicle rentals of 90 
days or less

10% on passenger vehicle 
rentals of 90 days or less 
3% on recreational vehicle 
rentals of 90 days or less

2006 - exemptions 
for trucks for moving 
personal property and 
vehicles as replacement 
transportation.

Appendix A (Continued)
Tax Type Legal 

Reference
First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure Most Recent Change
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Appendix A (Continued)

Repealed Tax Programs

Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure Most Recent Change

Business License AS 43.70 1949 $25 license fee plus 
.5% of gross receipts 
> $20,000 plus .25% 
of gross receipts > 
$50,000

Repealed 1979
Reinstated 1988
and transferred
to DCCED

Tax repealed effective 
January 1, 1979. License 
program transferred to 
DCCED by Executive 
Order effective July 1, 
1988.

Oil & Gas 
Conservation

AS 43.57 1955 5 mills per barrel of oil 
or 50,000 cubic feet of 
natural gas

Repealed Tax repealed effective 
July 1, 1999.

Coin-operated 
Devices

AS 43.35 1941 12.5% of gross 
receipts on coin-
operated machines 

Repealed Tax repealed effective 
January 1, 1999.

Individual Income AS 43.20 1949 10% of federal 
income tax liability

Repealed Tax repealed retroactive 
to 1979.

Salmon Marketing AS 43.76 1993 1% of value of salmon 1% of value of salmon Repealed effective 
January 1, 2005.

School AS 43.45 1919 $5 tax on each male 
person

Repealed Tax repealed retroactive 
to 1980.
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State Rate
($ per gallon) Rank* State Rate

($ per gallon) Rank*

Alabama Footnote1 N/A Montana Footnote1 N/A
Alaska 12.80   1  Nebraska 3.75   16  
Arizona 3.00   21  Nevada 3.60   18  
Arkansas 2.50   24  New Hampshire Footnote1 N/A
California 3.30   19  New Jersey 5.50   8  
Colorado 2.28   29  New Mexico 6.06   5  
Connecticut 4.50   11  New York 6.44   4  
Delaware 5.46   9  North Carolina Footnote1 N/A
Florida 6.50   3  North Dakota 2.50   24  
Georgia 3.79   15  Ohio Footnote1 N/A
Hawaii 5.98   6  Oklahoma 5.56   7  
Idaho Footnote1 N/A Oregon Footnote1 N/A
Illinois 8.55   2  Pennsylvania Footnote1 N/A
Indiana 2.68   23  Rhode Island 3.75   16  
Iowa Footnote1 N/A South Carolina 2.72   22  
Kansas 2.50   24  South Dakota 3.93   14  
Kentucky 1.92   31  Tennessee 4.40   12  
Louisiana 2.50   24  Texas 2.40   28  
Maine Footnote1 N/A Utah Footnote1 N/A
Maryland 1.50   32  Vermont Footnote1 N/A
Massachusetts 4.05   13  Virginia Footnote1 N/A
Michigan Footnote1 N/A Washington Footnote1 N/A
Minnesota 5.03   10  West Virginia Footnote1 N/A
Mississippi Footnote1 N/A Wisconsin 3.25   20  
Missouri 2.00   30  Wyoming Footnote1 N/A

1 Sales are through state stores.  Revenue is generated from various taxes, fees and net profits.
* Out of 32 states which levy a per gallon tax, highest to lowest.
N/A - Not Applicable
(a) Data available from January 2010

Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Alcohol – Liquor
January 2011(a)

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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State Rate
($ per gallon) Rank* State Rate

($ per gallon) Rank*

Alabama 1.70   4  Montana 1.06   11  
Alaska 2.50   1  Nebraska .95   14  
Arizona .84   19  Nevada .70   23  
Arkansas .75   21  New Hampshire Footnote1 N/A
California .20   44  New Jersey .875   17  
Colorado .28   42  New Mexico 1.70   4  
Connecticut .60   25  New York .30   37  
Delaware .97   13  North Carolina .79   20  
Florida 2.25   2  North Dakota .50   31  
Georgia 1.51   6  Ohio .30   37  
Hawaii 1.38   9  Oklahoma .72   22  
Idaho .45   34  Oregon .67   24  
Illinois 1.39   8  Pennsylvania Footnote1 N/A
Indiana .47   33  Rhode Island .60   25  
Iowa 1.75   3  South Carolina .90   16  
Kansas .30   37  South Dakota .93   15  
Kentucky .50   31  Tennessee 1.21   10  
Louisiana .11   46  Texas .20   44  
Maine .60   25  Utah Footnote1 N/A
Maryland .40   35  Vermont .55   28  
Massachusetts .55   28  Virginia 1.51   6  
Michigan .51   30  Washington .87   18  
Minnesota .30   37  West Virginia 1.00   12  
Mississippi .35   36  Wisconsin .25   43  
Missouri .30   37  Wyoming Footnote1 N/A

1 Sales are through state stores.  Revenue is generated from various taxes, fees and net profits.
* Out of 46 states which impose a per gallon tax, highest to lowest.
N/A - Not Applicable
(a) Data available from January 2010

Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Alcohol – Wine
January 2011(a)

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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State Rate
($ per gallon) Rank State Rate

($ per gallon) Rank

Alabama .53   4  Montana .14   36  
Alaska 1.07   1  Nebraska .31   14  
Arizona .16   30  Nevada .16   30  
Arkansas .23   21  New Hampshire .30   15  
California .20   22  New Jersey .12   39  
Colorado .08   44  New Mexico .41   8  
Connecticut .19   25  New York .14   36  
Delaware .16   30  North Carolina .53   4  
Florida .48   6  North Dakota .16   30  
Georgia .32   12  Ohio .18   27  
Hawaii .93   2  Oklahoma .40   10  
Idaho .15   34  Oregon .08   44  
Illinois .235   20  Pennsylvania .08   44  
Indiana .115   40  Rhode Island .10   42  
Iowa .19   25  South Carolina .77   3  
Kansas .18   27  South Dakota .27   16  
Kentucky .08   44  Tennessee .14   36  
Louisiana .32   12  Texas .20   22  
Maine .35   11  Utah .41   8
Maryland .09   43  Vermont .265   17  
Massachusetts .11   41  Virginia .26   19  
Michigan .20   22  Washington .261   18  
Minnesota .15   34  West Virginia .18   27  
Mississippi .4268   7  Wisconsin .06   48  
Missouri .06   48  Wyoming .02   50  

(a) Data available from January 2010

Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Alcohol – Beer
January 2011 (a)

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Highway Gasoline
January 2011

State
Rate
(¢ per 
gallon)

Other 
Tax1

(¢ per 
gallon)

Total
(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank

Alabama 16 2 18 40
Alaska* 8 8 51
Arizona 18 1 19 36
Arkansas 21.5 0.3 21.8 28
California 35.3 35.3 2
Colorado 22 22 26
Connecticut 25 25 16
Delaware 23 23 24
Dist of Columbia 20 0 20 32
Florida 4 12.2 16.2 48
Georgia 7.5 10.1 17.6 42
Hawaii 17 17 45
Idaho 25 1 26 14
Illinois 19 1.1 20.1 31
Indiana 18 18 40
Iowa 21 1 22 26
Kansas 24 24 21
Kentucky 24.5 1.4 25.9 15
Louisiana 20 20 32
Maine 29.5 29.5 10
Maryland 23.5 23.5 23
Massachusetts 21 21 30
Michigan 19 19 36
Minnesota 27.5 2.1 29.6 9
Mississippi 18 0.4 18.4 39
Missouri 17 0.3 17.3 44

State
Rate
(¢ per 
gallon)

Other 
Tax1

(¢ per 
gallon)

Total
(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank

Montana 27 27 13
Nebraska 26.4 0.9 27.3 12
Nevada 24 0.805 24.805 19
New Hampshire 18 1.625 19.625 35
New Jersey 10.5 4 14.5 49
New Mexico 17 1.875 18.875 38
New York 8 17 25 16
North Carolina 32.5 0.25 32.75 5
North Dakota 23 23 24
Ohio 28 28 11
Oklahoma 16 1 17 45
Oregon 30 30 8
Pennsylvania 12 19.2 31.2 7
Rhode Island 32 1 33 3
South Carolina 16 0.75 16.75 47
South Dakota 22 2 24 21
Tennessee 20 1.4 21.4 29
Texas 20 20 32
Utah 24.5 24.5 20
Vermont 19 5.98 24.98 18
Virginia 17.5 17.5 43
Washington 37.5 37.5 1
West Virginia 20.5 11.7 32.2 6
Wisconsin 30.9 2 32.9 4
Wyoming 13 1 14 50

1 Includes state sales tax, gross receipts tax and underground storage tank taxes.
* Tax suspended effective September 1, 2008 through August 31, 2009.

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Aviation Fuel
January 2011(a)

State Jet Fuel
(¢ per gallon) Rank1

Aviation 
Gas

(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank2

Alabama 1 30 3 33
Alaska 3.2 20 4.7 30
Arizona 3.05 21 5.0 25 
Arkansas Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
California 2.0 25 18.0 6
Colorado 4.0 16 6.0 21 
Connecticut None N/A None N/A
Delaware None N/A 23.0 3 
Florida 6.9 9 6.9 19 
Georgia Sales Tax N/A 1.0 37
Hawaii 2 25 2 35
Idaho 6 10 7 17
Illinois 11.0 2 11.0 10
Indiana 0.8 33 18.0 6
Iowa 3.0 22 8.0 14
Kansas Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
Kentucky Sales Tax N/A 21.8 4
Louisiana Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A 
Maine 3.4 19 29.5 1 
Maryland 7.0 8 7.0 17
Massachusetts 10.7 4 25.2 2
Michigan 3.0 22 3.0 33
Minnesota 5.0 13 5.0 25
Mississippi 5.25 12 6.4 20 
Missouri Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A

State
Jet Fuel
(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank1

Aviation 
Gas

(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank2

Montana 4.0 16 4.0 31
Nebraska 3.0 22 5.0 25 
Nevada 1 30 2.0 37
New Hampshire 2.0 25 4.0 31
New Jersey 12.5 1 12.5 9
New Mexico Sales Tax N/A 17.0 8 
New York 8.0 6 8.0 14
North Carolina Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
North Dakota 8.0 6 8.0 14
Ohio Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
Oklahoma 0.08 34 0.08 39
Oregon 1.0 30 9.0 12 
Pennsylvania 1.6 25 5.4 24
Rhode Island None N/A None N/A
South Carolina Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
South Dakota 4.0 16 6.0 21 
Tennessee 1.4 29 1.4 36
Texas None N/A None N/A
Utah 9.0 5 9.0 12
Vermont Sales Tax N/A 20.0 5 
Virginia 5.0 13 5.0 25 
Washington 11.0 2 11.0 10
West Virginia 5% of 

average N/A
5% of 
average N/A

Wisconsin 6.0 10 6.0 21 
Wyoming 5.0 13 5.0 25 

1Out of 34 states with tax rates      
2Out of 39 states with tax rates
(a) Data available from January 2010

Source: National Business Aircraft Association, Inc. 2011 State Aviation Tax Report
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Cigarette
January 2011

State Rate
($ per pack) Rank State Rate

($ per pack) Rank

Alabama (a) 0.425 46 Montana 1.70 16
Alaska 2.00 10 Nebraska 0.64 37
Arizona 2.00 10 Nevada 0.80 34
Arkansas 1.15 28 New Hampshire 1.78 15
California 0.87 32 New Jersey 2.70 6
Colorado 0.84 33 New Mexico 1.66 18
Connecticut 3.00 4 New York (a) 4.35 1
Delaware 1.60 19 North Carolina 0.45 44
Florida (b) 1.339 24 North Dakota 0.44 45
Georgia 0.37 47 Ohio 1.25 25
Hawaii (c) 3.00 4 Oklahoma 1.03 29
Idaho 0.57 41 Oregon 1.18 27
Illinois (a) 0.98 31 Pennsylvania 1.60 19
Indiana 0.995 30 Rhode Island 3.46 2
Iowa 1.36 23 South Carolina 0.57 41
Kansas 0.79 35 South Dakota 1.53 21
Kentucky (d) 0.60 39 Tennessee (a) (e) 0.62 38
Louisiana 0.36 48 Texas 1.41 22
Maine 2.00 10 Utah 1.70 16
Maryland 2.00 10 Vermont 2.24 9
Massachusetts 2.51 8 Virginia (a) 0.30 49
Michigan 2.00 10 Washington 3.025 3
Minnesota (e) 1.23 26 West Virginia 0.55 43
Mississippi 0.68 36 Wisconsin 2.52 7
Missouri (a) 0.17 50 Wyoming 0.60 39

(a) Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes:  in Alabama, 1¢ to 6¢; Illinois, 10¢ to 15¢;

Missouri, 4¢ to 7¢; New York City, $1.50; Tennessee, 1¢; and Virginia, 2¢ to 15¢. 

(b) Florida’s rate includes a surcharge of $1 per pack.

(c) Hawaii’s tax rate is scheduled to rise to $3.20 per pack effective July 1, 2011.

(d) Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of 0.1¢ per pack in Kentucky and 0.05¢ in Tennessee. 

(e) In addition, Minnesota imposes an in lieu cigarette sales tax determined annually by the Department.

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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State Rate State Rate
Alabama                  Cigars (2) $0.03 - $0.405/10 cigars Minnesota 70%  Wholesale Price

Tobacco/Snuff $0.01 - $0.08/ounce Mississippi 15%  Manufacturer Price

Alaska 75% Wholesale Price Missouri 10%  Manufacturer Price

Arizona                    Cigars  $0.337 - $1.10/10 cigars Montana 50%  Wholesale Price

Tobacco/Snuff 23.8¢/ounce Nebraska 20%  Wholesale Price

Arkansas 68% Manufacturer Price Nevada 30%  Wholesale Price

California (3) 33.02% Wholesale Price New Hampshire 65.03%  Wholesale Price

Colorado 40% Manufacturer Price New Jersey 30%  Wholesale Price

Connecticut (5) 20% Wholesale Price New Mexico 25%  Product Value

Delaware 15% Wholesale Price New York 75%  Wholesale Price

Florida (7) 85% Wholesale Price North Carolina 12.8%  Wholesale Price

Georgia                Little Cigars $0.025/10 cigars North Dakota

Other Cigars 23% Wholesale Price Cigars & Tobacco 28% Wholesale Price

Tobacco 10% Wholesale Price Chew Tobaacco/Snuff $0.16 - $0.60/ounce

Hawaii Ohio 17%  Wholesale Price

Cigars 50%  Wholesale Price Oklahoma                 Cigars $0.36-$1.20/10 cigars

Tobacco/Snuff 70%  Wholesale Price Tobacco/Snuff 60% - 80%  Factory List Price

Idaho 40%  Wholesale Price Oregon 65%  Wholesale Price

Illinois 18%  Wholesale Price Pennsylvania  N/A

Indiana 24%  Wholesale Price Rhode Island 80%  Wholesale Price

Iowa (6) 50%  Wholesale Price South Carolina 5%  Manufacturer Price

Kansas 10%  Wholesale Price South Dakota 35%  Wholesale Price

Kentucky 15%  Wholesale Price Tennessee 6.6%  Wholesale Price

Louisiana                      Cigars 8%-20% Manufacturer Price Texas                              Cigars $0.01 - $0.15/10 cigars

Tobacco/Snuff 20%-33% Manufacturer Price Tobacco/Snuff $1.13/ounce

Maine       Chewing Tob./Snuff $2.02 / ounce Utah 86%  Manufacturer Price

Smoking Tob./Cigars 20% Wholesale Price Vermont 92%  Manufacturer Price

Maryland 15%  Wholesale Price Virginia 10%  Wholesale Price

Massachusetts Washington 95%  Wholesale Price

Smokeless Tobacco 90%  Wholesale Price West Virginia 7%  Wholesale Price

Smoking Tob./Cigars 30%  Wholesale Price Wisconsin 71%  Manufacturer Price

Michigan 32%  Wholesale Price Wyoming (4) 20%  Wholesale Price

Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Tobacco Products
January 2011

Tobacco products include chewing tobacco and snuff.  
     
(1) The volume based tax rates were converted to cents per 10 cigars or per ounce for consistency.
(2) tax rate on cigars varies, based on the package weight.
(3) Tax rate is adjusted annually by the state, effective July 1st each year.
(4) or 10% of retail price.
(5) Snuff tobacco taxed at 40 cents per ounce.
(6) Little cigars are taxed as cigarettes.
(7) Includeds a 60% surtax.

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Corporate Income
January 2011

State Rate (%)
Tax Brackets Number of 

BracketsLowest Highest
Alabama 6.5 Flat Rate 1
Alaska 1.0 - 9.4 $9,999 $90,000 10
Arizona 6.968 Flat Rate 1
Arkansas 1.0 - 6.5 $3,000 $100,001 6
California 8.84 Flat Rate 1
Colorado 4.63 Flat Rate 1
Connecticut 7.5 Flat Rate 1
Delaware 8.7 Flat Rate 1
Florida 5.5 Flat Rate 1
Georgia 6.0 Flat Rate 1
Hawaii 4.4 - 6.4 $25,000 $100,001 3
Idaho 7.6 Flat Rate 1
Illinois 9.5 Flat Rate 1
Indiana 8.5 Flat Rate 1
Iowa 6.0 - 12.0 $25,000 $250,001 4
Kansas 4.0 Flat Rate 1
Kentucky 4.0 - 6.0 $50,000 $100,001 3
Louisiana 4.0 - 8.0 $25,000 $200,001 5
Maine 3.5 - 8.93 $25,000 $250,000 4
Maryland 8.25 Flat Rate 1
Massachusetts 8.25 Flat Rate 1
Michigan 4.95 Flat Rate 1
Minnesota 9.8 Flat Rate 1
Mississippi 3.0 - 5.0 $5,000 $10,001 3
Missouri 6.25 Flat Rate 1

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Corporate Income
January 2011 
(Continued)

State Rate (%)
Tax Brackets Number of 

BracketsLowest Highest
Montana 6.75 Flat Rate 1
Nebraska 5.58 - 7.81 $100,000 2
Nevada No Corporation Income Tax N/A
New Hampshire 8.5 Flat Rate 1
New Jersey 9.0 Flat Rate 1
New Mexico 4.8 - 7.6 $500,000 $1,000,000 3
New York 7.1 Flat Rate 1
North Carolina 6.9 Flat Rate 1
North Dakota 2.1 - 6.4 $25,000 $50,001 3
Ohio Tax Based on Commercial Activity N/A
Oklahoma 6.0 Flat Rate 1
Oregon 6.6 - 7.6 $250,001 2
Pennsylvania 9.99 Flat Rate 1
Rhode Island 9.0 Flat Rate 1
South Carolina 5.0 Flat Rate 1
South Dakota No Corporation Income Tax N/A
Tennessee 6.5 Flat Rate 1
Texas Tax Based on Capital and Surplus N/A
Utah 5.0 Flat Rate 1
Vermont 6.0 - 8.5 $10,000 $250,000 3
Virginia 6.0 Flat Rate 1
Washington No Corporation Income Tax N/A
West Virginia 8.5 Flat Rate 1
Wisconsin 7.9 Flat Rate 1
Wyoming No Corporation Income Tax N/A

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Individual Income*
January 2011

State Rate (%)
Tax Brackets Number of

BracketsLowest Highest
Alabama 2.0 - 5.0 $500 $3,000 3
Alaska No State Income Tax N/A
Arizona 2.59 - 4.54 $10,000 $150,001 5
Arkansas 1.0 - 7.0 $3,899 $32,700 6
California 1.0 - 9.3 $7,124 $46,767 6
Colorado 4.63 Flat Rate 1
Connecticut 3.0 - 6.5 $10,000 $500,001 3
Delaware 2.2 - 6.95 $5,000 $60,001 6
Florida No State Income Tax N/A
Georgia 1.0 - 6.0 $750 $7,001 6
Hawaii 1.4 - 11 $2,400 $200,001 12
Idaho 1.6 - 7.8 $1,315 $26,320 8
Illinois 5.0 Flat Rate 1
Indiana 3.4 Flat Rate 1
Iowa .36 - 8.98 $1,439 $64,756 9
Kansas 3.5 - 6.45 $15,000 $30,001 3
Kentucky 2.0 - 6.0 $3,000 $75,001 6
Louisiana 2.0 - 6.0 $12,500 $50,001 3
Maine 2.0 - 8.5 $4,949 $19,750 4
Maryland 2.0 - 5.5 $1,000 $500,001 7
Massachusetts 5.3 Flat Rate 1
Michigan 4.35 Flat Rate 1
Minnesota 5.35 - 7.85 $22,770 $74,781 3
Mississippi 3.0 - 5.0 $5,000 $10,001 3
Missouri 1.5 - 6.0 $1,000 $9,001 10

* Rates apply to unmarried individuals

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Individual Income*
January 2011 
(Continued)

State Rate (%)
Tax Brackets Number of

BracketsLowest Highest
Montana 1.0 - 6.9 $2,600 15,401 7
Nebraska 2.56 - 6.84 $2,400 $27,001 4
Nevada No State Income Tax N/A
New Hampshire Tax Limited to Dividends and Interest Income Only N/A
New Jersey 1.4 - 8.97 $20,000 $500,000 6
New Mexico 1.7 - 4.9 $5,500 $16,001 4
New York 4.0 - 8.97 $8,000 $500,001 7
North Carolina 6.0 - 7.75 $12,750 $60,000 3
North Dakota 1.84 - 4.86 $34,000 $373,651 5
Ohio 0.587 - 5.925 $5,050 $200,001 9
Oklahoma 0.5 - 5.5 $1,000 $8.701 7
Oregon 5.0 - 11.0 $2,000 $250,001 5
Pennsylvania 3.07 Flat Rate 1
Rhode Island 3.75 - 5.99 $55,000 $125,001 3
South Carolina 0 - 7.0 $2,740 $13,701 6
South Dakota No State Income Tax N/A
Tennessee Tax Limited to Dividends and Interest Income Only N/A
Texas No State Income Tax N/A
Utah 5.0 Flat Rate 1
Vermont 3.55 - 8.95 $34,000 $373,651 5
Virginia 2.0 - 5.75 3,000 17,001 4
Washington No State Income Tax N/A
West Virginia 3.0 - 6.5 $9,999 $60,000 5
Wisconsin 4.6 - 7.75 $10,070 $221,661 5
Wyoming No State Income Tax N/A

* Rates apply to unmarried individuals

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Sales
January 2011

State Rate
(%)

Alabama 4.0
Alaska No State Sales Tax
Arizona 6.6
Arkansas 6.0
California 7.25
Colorado 2.9
Connecticut 6.35
Delaware No State Sales Tax
Florida 6.0
Georgia 4.0
Hawaii 4.0
Idaho 6.0
Illinois 6.25
Indiana 7.0
Iowa 6.0
Kansas 6.3
Kentucky 6.0
Louisiana 4.0
Maine 5.0
Maryland 6.0
Massachusetts 6.25
Michigan 6.0
Minnesota 6.875
Mississippi 7.0
Missouri 4.225

State Rate
(%)

Montana No State Sales Tax
Nebraska 5.5
Nevada 6.85
New Hampshire No State Sales Tax
New Jersey 7.0
New Mexico 5.125
New York 4.0
North Carolina 4.75
North Dakota 5.0
Ohio 5.5
Oklahoma 4.5
Oregon No State Sales Tax
Pennsylvania 6.0
Rhode Island 7.0
South Carolina 6.0
South Dakota 4.0
Tennessee 7.0
Texas 6.25
Utah 4.7
Vermont 6.0
Virginia 4.0
Washington 6.5
West Virginia 6.0
Wisconsin 5.0
Wyoming 4.0

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org




