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This annual report covers fiscal year 2010 which ended June 30, 2010. 

This report provides an overview of programs administered by the Tax 
Division and statistics of revenue collections and other information 
related to those programs.
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Overview
The Tax Division administers the 
following programs. The programs 
generate a significant portion of 
General Fund revenue used for 
funding state government and 
programs throughout Alaska.

Programs Administered by the 
Tax Division

Oil and Gas Taxes
Conservation Surcharge
Production
Property

Corporate Income Tax 

Excise Taxes
Alcoholic Beverages
Commercial Passenger Vessel
Motor Fuel
Tire Fee
Tobacco
Vehicle Rental

Fisheries Taxes
Dive Fishery Management
Fisheries Business
Fishery Resource Landing
Salmon Enhancement
Seafood Development
Seafood Marketing

Other Taxes
Electric Cooperative
Estate
Large Passenger Vessel Gambling
Mining License
Regulatory Cost Charges
Telephone Cooperative

Other Programs
Gaming
Revenue Forecasting
Salmon Price Reporting
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Retrospect
As with previous years, fiscal year 2010 was busy and challenging for the 
Tax Division.  The division continued to implement the significant changes 
made to the oil and gas production tax in the past few years.   Implementation 
included drafting and adopting regulations for lease expenditures, overhead, 
transportation and gas valuation, and requirements for tax exempt status 
under AGIA.  In addition, the division expeditiously provided reports and data 
to the Governor’s office and legislators and streamlined the credit purchase 
and due diligence review process which resulted in the timely issuance 
of over 116 tax credit certificates totaling over $310 million and 87 cash 
purchases of credit certificates totaling over $250 million.  

Along with oil and gas production tax, the division is responsible for the 
administration of 20 other tax types and the regulation of charitable gaming.  
The division is also called upon routinely to work with the Governor’s 
office, legislators and other state departments to formulate policy and long-
term fiscal planning for the state.  Following are some highlights of major 
accomplishments of the division during FY 2010:

•• Completed first audits of tax returns filed under PPT production tax 
statutes covering tax year 2006.

	
•• Continued to provide critical resources in support of the Governor’s plans 

regarding a gas line.
	
•• Continued to assist the Governor and the legislature in dealing with fiscal 

issues and other legislation, and provided information and testimony on 
tobacco products tax, cruise ship passenger tax, extension of motor fuel 
tax suspension, oil and gas production tax, and tax credits for natural 
gas storage, geothermal energy, gas exploration and development, 
state tourism marketing, salmon product development, and educational 
contributions.

•• Continued recruitments for the following auditor series positions: 
Corporate Income Tax Auditors responsible for the Alaska corporate net 
income tax and Oil and Gas Revenue Auditors responsible for oil and gas 
production tax. The Tax Division extended its contract with an outside 
audit firm to assist in oil and gas production tax and credit audits.

	
•• Continued a project to remove persons convicted of various crimes from 

participating in charitable gaming as required by gaming statutes and 
provided training regarding gaming laws and regulations to operators and 
permittees at various gaming events and annual meetings.

	
•• Distributed shared taxes and fees of over $44 million to 124 communities 

throughout Alaska.
	
•• Closed appeals from over 200 taxpayers of assessments in all tax types 

and charitable gaming.
	
•• Developed a web portal to allow online filing for Tire Fee, Commercial 

Passenger Vessel and Large Passenger Vessel Gambling excise tax 
returns.
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Program (All Funds) FY 2010 % Fund FY 2009 % Fund FY 2008 % Fund

Oil & Gas Production1 $3,320,509,475 76.73% $3,181,883,289 74.99% $6,874,597,863 80.89%

Oil & Gas Corporate Income1 491,876,513 11.37% 532,244,796 12.54% 996,991,095 11.73%

Oil and Gas Property1,2 118,768,329 2.74% 111,215,191 2.62% 81,565,946 0.96%

Other Corporate Income 81,910,562 1.89% 120,934,805 2.85% 182,586,156 2.15%

Tobacco3 71,985,643 1.66% 73,075,035 1.72% 73,420,572 0.86%

Commercial Passenger Vessel4,5 44,205,582 1.02% 46,383,827 1.09% 46,839,178 0.55%

Alcoholic Beverages6 38,756,760 0.90% 38,496,361 0.91% 38,165,200 0.45%

Fisheries Business5 31,945,400 0.74% 42,235,590 1.00% 34,992,328 0.41%

Mining License1 29,725,100 0.69% 16,044,139 0.38% 54,408,228 0.64%

Motor Fuel5 28,834,020 0.67% 10,064,276 0.24% 41,583,607 0.49%

Fishery Resource Landing5 12,552,075 0.29% 10,962,929 0.26% 13,661,758 0.16%

Oil Conservation Surcharge 10,318,732                      0.24%      11,131,929 0.26%        11,685,189   0.14%

Regulatory Cost Charges 9,666,038 0.22% 9,040,301 0.21% 8,407,631 0.10%

Seafood Marketing Assessment 7,812,697 0.18% 8,874,778 0.21% 8,713,682 0.10%

Vehicle Rental 7,332,686 0.17% 8,044,944 0.19% 8,452,873 0.10%

Large Passenger Vessel Gambling 6,312,053 0.15% 6,286,467 0.15% 6,757,501 0.08%

Salmon Enhancement 4,877,106 0.11% 5,842,890 0.14% 5,484,160 0.06%

Gaming 2,609,282 0.06% 2,834,640 0.07% 2,711,404 0.03%

Telephone Cooperative5 2,046,583 0.05% 2,039,822 0.05% 1,998,127 0.02%

Electric Cooperative5 2,038,375 0.05% 2,087,402 0.05% 2,093,229 0.02%

Seafood Development 1,578,861 0.04% 1,385,482 0.03% 1,386,282 0.02%

Tire Fee 1,427,771 0.03% 1,509,726 0.04% 1,498,216 0.02%

Dive Fishery Management 523,024 0.01% 391,183 0.01% 373,120 0.00%

Salmon Marketing (11,781) 0.00% 0 0.00% 0 0.00%

Estate             (19,510)        0.00%             174,613        0.00%                         0     0.00%

Total $4,327,581,376    100.00% $4,243,184,415    100.00% $8,498,373,345 100.00%
1 Includes amounts transferred to the Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund.
2 Amount is net of credits for local government property tax paid to municipalities.
3 Includes amounts transferred to the School Fund and Tobacco Use Education and Cessation Fund.
4 Includes amounts transferred to the Regional Cruise Ship Impact Fund.
5 Prior to sharing with municipalities.  See Figure 3 for amounts shared under each program.
6 Includes amounts transferred to the Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Treatment and Prevention Fund.

 Note: Amounts below are included in program revenues above.  These amounts were required to be transferred to the designated funds identified below under 
provisions of the Alaska Constitution or Alaska Statutes.

 Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund 
   Oil & Gas Production $459,807,918          90.94% $81,060,671 66.63% $47,228,656 10.78%

   Oil & Gas Corporate 45,756,692 9.05% 40,029,318 32.91% 391,092,988 89.22%

   Mining 48,116 .01% 557,958 0.46% 0 0.00%

   Oil & Gas Property                    0     0.00%                    0     0.00%              8,641     0.00%

Total CBRF $505,612,726 100.00% $121,647,947 100.00% $438,330,285 100.00%

 School Fund $23,440,125 100.00% $23,127,219 100.00% $24,918,332 100.00%

 Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
   Treatment and Prevention Fund $19,231,568 100.00% $18,968,874 100.00% $19,080,505 100.00%

Regional Cruise Ship Impact Fund $11,006,316 100.00% $11,592,602 100.00% $11,684,836 100.00%

 Tobacco Use Education and 
   Cessation Fund $3,403,221 100.00% $3,356,490 100.00% $3,614,401 100.00%

Figure 1 - Three-Year Comparison of Revenue Collections
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Mining 671

Gaming* 2,905

Other 923
   Vehicle Rental 415
   Tire Fee 321
   CPV Excise 152
   Electric Cooperative 18
   Telephone Cooperative 8
   LPV Gambling 9

Oil and Gas                                      987
Production 47
Corporate Income 128
Property 812

Other Corporate Income                           16,520

Motor Fuel 2,977

Tobacco 2,036

Total Tax Returns Filed 29,614

Alcoholic Beverages 588

Fisheries Business 641

Other Fisheries                             1,366 
Salmon Enhancement 847
Seafood Marketing 208
Seafood Development 212
Fishery Resource Landing 63
Dive Fishery Management 36

*Annual financial statements and reports filed by permittees, operators, multiple beneficiary permittees, distributors and manufacturers.

Figure 2 - Tax Returns Filed

Other Corporate
56%

Gaming
10%

Motor
Fuel
10%

Oil and Gas
3%

Other Fisheries 
5%

Other
3%

Tobacco
7%

Mining
2%

Fisheries
Business

2% Alcohol
2%



A
Alaska Tax Division 2010 Annual ReportExecutive Summary 6

2010 Legislation
SB 309 (Ch 15 SLA 10) – Gas Exploration and Development Tax 
Credit.  This legislation authorizes a tax credit against oil and gas 
production taxes to the first three unaffiliated persons that invest in a 
jack-up rig for drilling an offshore well for the purposes of discovering oil 
or gas in Cook Inlet.  The credit is calculated as follows:

•	 First person - 100% of exploration expenditures or $25 million, 
whichever is less

•	 Second person - 90% of exploration expenditures or $22.5 million, 
whichever is less

•	 Third person - 80% of exploration expenditures or $20 million, 
whichever is less

If the well for which the credit is received results in sustained 
production, 50% of the credit received shall be repaid in equal monthly 
installments over a 10-year period.  The provisions of this credit 
became effective May 11, 2010.

This legislation increased the non-North Slope gas exploration and 
development credit percentage from 10% to 25% (of annual costs 
of exploration and development). The credit may be applied against 
corporate income taxes.  The increase is effective for tax years 
beginning after December 31, 2009.  This legislation also increased the 
maximum credit that can be claimed against corporate income taxes 
from 50% to 75% of the taxpayer’s total corporate income tax liability. 

This legislation repealed requirements for additional reinvestment in the 
state for cash purchase of credit certificates issued under oil and gas 
production tax statutes AS 43.55.023 and 43.55.025.  These provisions 
became effective July 1, 2010.

HB 280 (Ch 16 SLA 10) – Cook Inlet Recovery and Natural Gas 
Storage Tax Credits.  This legislation authorizes a refundable credit 
against corporate income taxes for an owner of a qualified gas storage 
facility that commences commercial operation after December 31, 2010 
and before January 1, 2016. A gas storage facility qualifying for the 
credit must have storage capacity of at least 500 million cubic feet of 
gas and minimum withdrawal capability of 10 million cubic feet per day.

The tax credit is equal to $1.50 for each 1,000 cubic feet of working gas 
storage capacity. To claim the credit, the taxpayer is required to submit 
a copy of certification of working gas storage capacity and withdrawal 
capability issued under AS 31.05.032. The total amount of credit for a 
single gas storage facility may not exceed the lesser of $15 million or 
25% of the costs incurred to establish the facility. This credit expires 
December 31, 2015. If the tax credit amount exceeds the taxpayer’s tax 
liability, the taxpayer may request and be paid a refund.

This legislation authorizes a tax credit against oil and gas production 
taxes for well lease expenditures incurred in the state south of 68 
degrees North latitude after June 30, 2010. Taxpayers may claim a 
credit in the amount of 40% of the expenditures.

This legislation became effective May 13, 2010.
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HB 365 (Ch 74 SLA 10) – Fisheries Business Licensing.  This legislation 
adds a condition for obtaining a fisheries business license in which the 
applicant agrees to pay any industry fee levied under a fishing capacity 
reduction program authorized under 16 U.S.C. 1861a (Magnuson-Stevens 
Fishery Conservation and Management Act).

This legislation authorizes the department to withhold issuance of or 
suspend a fisheries business license if the department receives a final 
administrative determination against the applicant from the National Marine 
Fisheries Service of unpaid industry fees described above. 

This legislation became effective June 12, 2010.

SB 236 (Ch 92 SLA 10) – Tax Credits for Educational Contributions.  
This legislation changes the structure of the current education tax credit 
program by: 

•	 Increasing the maximum education credit from $150,000 to $5 million;
•	 Changing the two tier structure (50% of $100,000 and 100% of the 

next $100,000 in contributions) to a three tier structure (50% of the first 
$100,000, 100% of the next $200,000, and 50% of the amount over 
$300,000 of contributions),subject to the $5 million credit maximum;

•	 Imposing the $5 million maximum credit per affiliated group as defined 
under AS 43.20.073; and

•	 Expanding the uses that qualify for the education credit to include 
contributions for facilities.  

This legislation takes effect January 1, 2011.  The changes in this legislation 
sunset on January 1, 2014, unless extended by the legislature. 

This legislation requires an annual report to the legislature before February 
15 to report the total amount of contributions reported and credits claimed 
during the previous calendar year.

SB 312 (Ch 101 SLA 10) – Commercial Passenger Vessel (CPV) Excise 
Tax.  This legislation reduces the CPV excise tax from $46 to $34.50 per 
passenger and authorizes a further reduction of the tax by the total amount 
of municipal tax imposed on a passenger traveling on a commercial 
passenger vessel (if the local tax was enacted before December 17, 2007).  
This legislation increases the number of ports (from five to seven ports) 
which may receive $5 per passenger of the CPV tax.

This legislation repeals the regional cruise ship impact fund; under statutes 
in effect prior to the effective date of this legislation, 25% of CPV excise 
taxes were deposited into this fund.

This legislation also created the large passenger vessel gaming and 
gambling tax account as a sub-account of the commercial vessel passenger 
tax account and directs all proceeds from the Large Passenger Vessel 
Gambling tax to be deposited into this new account.

This legislation requires the commissioner of revenue to submit a written 
report by January 1, 2014 regarding the effect of this legislation on travel to 
and from ports by commercial passenger vessels during the period January 
1, 2010 through November 15, 2013.

This legislation became effective October 1, 2010.
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HB 344 (Ch 102 SLA 10) – Salmon Product Development Tax Credit 
Extension and Expansion.  This legislation extends the current salmon 
product development tax credit for the third time (initially enacted in 2003 and 
extended in 2006 and 2008) from December 31, 2011 to December 31, 2015.  
This legislation expands the definition of property that qualifies for a credit to 
include ice making machines.  This legislation became effective September 23, 
2010.

SB 117 (Ch 114 SLA 10) – Price of Cigarettes.  This legislation changes 
the methodology for establishing a minimum price for selling cigarettes at 
wholesale or retail.  The basis of determining minimum costs changed from 
actual costs to a formula as defined in the legislation.  This legislation became 
effective September 28, 2010.
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Key Contacts

Corporate Income Tax 
Robynn Wilson
Anchorage Office
907-269-6634

Excise Taxes
Collins Mount
Anchorage Office
907-269-0816

Fisheries Taxes
Tim Cottongim
Juneau Office
907-465-3695

Oil & Gas Production Tax
Lennie Dees
Anchorage Office
907-269-6624

Oil & Gas Property Tax
James Greeley 
Anchorage Office
907-269-1029

Accounting and Collections
Mary Jane Doster-Gates 
Juneau Office
907-465-3776

Appeals
Hollie Kovach 
Anchorage Office
907-269-6640

Economic Research
Dona Keppers
Anchorage Office
907-465-1034

Gaming
Jeff Prather
Juneau Office
907-465-3410

Information Technology
Donald McDonald 
Juneau Office
907-465-2387

Investigations
Scott Stair 
Anchorage Office
907-269-1073

Home Page:  www.tax.alaska.gov
E-mail:  First Name.Last Name@alaska.gov

Juneau Office
Alaska Department of 
Revenue
Tax Division
11th Floor, State Office 
Building
PO Box 110420
Juneau, AK 99811-0420
907-465-2320 Voice 
907-465-2375 Fax

Anchorage Office
Alaska Department of 
Revenue
Tax Division
Robert B. Atwood Building
550 W 7th Avenue, Ste 500
Anchorage, AK 99501-3556
907-269-6620 Voice 
907-269-6644 Fax

Jonathan Iversen, Director
Anchorage Office

907-269-6620

Johanna Bales, Deputy Director
Anchorage Office

907-269-6628

Paul Dick, Chief of Operations
Juneau Office
907-465-4773
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Division Functions
During fiscal year 2010, the Tax 
Division was staffed by 123 full-time 
and 9 non-permanent or college 
intern positions. The division’s FY 
2010 operating budget was $14.1 
million. 

The division is organized according 
to the functional groups of 
Accounting and Collections, Appeals, 
Income Tax, Excise Tax, Oil & Gas 
Production Tax, Economic Research, 
Fisheries Tax Examination and 
Audit, Gaming, Investigations, Oil 
and Gas Property Tax and support 
groups; Administrative Support and 
Information Technology.

Operations
Overview
The division maintains offices in both 
Juneau and Anchorage.

Tax returns and payments, except 
oil and gas property tax returns, 
are processed in Juneau. Juneau 
operations consist of Data Entry 
and Processing, Accounting 
and Collections, Fisheries Tax 
Examination and Audit, Corporate 
Income Tax Examination, Gaming 
Licensing and Examination.

The Juneau office also maintains 
records for minerals related 
settlement payments received by the 
state that are required to be directed 
to the Constitutional Budget Reserve 
Fund (CBRF).

Anchorage operations consist 
of Oil and Gas Production Tax 
Audit and Examination, Corporate 
Income Tax Audit, Excise Tax Audit 
and Examination, Gaming Audit, 
Economic Research, Oil and Gas 
Property Tax Assessment and Audit, 
and Appeals.

Accounting and Collections
The Accounting and Collections unit 
processes and deposits payments, 
and reconciles revenues recorded in 
the Tax Division’s tax database to the 
state’s accounting system (AKSAS).  
Accounting and Collections applies 
payments and makes adjustments 
to accounts.  The unit processes 
assessment letters and issues 
refunds.  The unit makes corrections 
to accounts and processes AKSAS 
financial journal entries when 
required.

Accounting and Collections processes 
financial journal entries to ensure 
that tax revenues are deposited into 
separate funds as required by the 
Alaska Constitution and statutes.

The unit collects delinquent tax 
accounts and takes enforcement 
actions such as filing liens, levying 
assets and wages, and garnisheeing 
Permanent Fund Dividends. The 
unit also approves clearances from 
state agencies that are making final 
payment on state contracts. The 
Accounting and Collections unit 
summarizes and reports financial 
data, and provides financial oversight 
and control of agency accounting 
functions. 

Accounting and Collections distributes 
taxes and fees to municipalities 
in accordance with statutory 
requirements and periodically issues 
warrants to communities for the 
statutory portion of tax collected. The 
amount shared is based upon where 
the tax or fee is derived. The following 
taxes and fees are subject to sharing:

• Aviation Motor Fuel
• Commercial Passenger Vessel
• Electric Cooperative
• Fisheries Business
• Fishery Resource Landing
• Telephone Cooperative
• Alcoholic Beverage License

The Tax Division’s 
FY 2010 operating 

budget was 
$14.1 million. 
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The division publishes an annual 
shared tax report which summarizes 
the amounts shared with each 
community.  The annual report is 
available online at www.tax.alaska.
gov. This report includes information 
regarding the shared taxes and fees 
program.

Appeals 
The Appeals unit conducts 
informal conferences on protested 
assessments, issues informal 
conference decisions, and 
participates in formal hearings before 
the Office of Administrative Hearings. 
In addition, Appeals provides 
assistance for all programs and tax 
types administered by the division. 

Audit and Examination
The audit groups are the division’s 
core technical and analytical 
resource that provide support for 
many functions in the division. Audit 
drafts and implements regulations, 
conducts special projects and 
provides support to Appeals. 

The audit and examination functions 
are conducted within the following 
groups.

•	 Corporate Income 
The Corporate Income Tax unit 
examines and audits corporate net 
income tax returns, including oil and 
gas corporate income tax returns. 

The group’s examination section 
receives and examines corporation, 
partnership and other informational 
returns and assists with updating 
corporate tax return forms to reflect 
changes in federal and Alaska tax 
laws.

The unit conducts compliance 
activities such as securing returns 
from businesses and individuals 
required to file tax returns, comparing 
internal data with information 
from external agencies (IRS and 
Alaska Department of Commerce, 

Community and Economic 
Development) to identify potential 
taxpayers, and following up on 
compliance leads from internal and 
external sources.

•	 Excise Taxes 
The Excise Tax unit licenses mining 
operations, alcoholic beverage 
manufacturers and distributors, 
tobacco manufacturers and 
distributors, and motor fuel qualified 
dealers.  The unit examines and 
audits returns for the following 
tax types: alcoholic beverages, 
commercial passenger vessel, large 
passenger vessel gambling, mining 
license, motor fuel, tire fee, tobacco 
and vehicle rental.  

•	 Fish
The Fish group examines and audits 
returns for the following tax types: 
fisheries business, fishery resource 
landing, salmon enhancement, 
seafood development, dive fishery 
management, and seafood marketing 
assessments.  

The group licenses fisheries 
businesses that process, catch or 
export fisheries resources from 
the state. As part of the licensing 
function, the group accounts for 
cash prepayments and other forms 
of security submitted by processors 
to secure payment of their fisheries 
business tax liabilities.

The group administers the fish 
processor surety bonding program 
as surety against future claims from 
employees, fishermen and tenders. 

The group also administers the 
salmon production and wholesale 
salmon price report program, 
examines reports filed by large 
processors and publishes: 1) price 
reports on a tri-annual basis, 2) price 
reports on  an annual basis, and 
3) production reports on an annual 
basis.

The Gaming group 
publishes an 

annual report that 
is available at www.

tax.alaska.gov.
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• Oil & Gas Production Tax 
The Oil and Gas Production Tax 
unit examines and audits oil and 
gas production tax returns and tax 
credit certificate applications.  The 
unit is responsible for assessing 
additional tax due, issuing tax credits 
for exploration, credits for capital 
expenditures and credits for certain 
losses.  Cash purchases of eligible 
tax credit certificates are processed 
by this unit.  Each quarter, the unit 
calculates prevailing values for gas 
produced from the Cook Inlet and 
from the Alaska North Slope.  Data 
collected monthly by the unit includes 
current oil and gas sales contracts 
and invoices; lease expenditure 
data; joint interest billings; and 
production data.  This data is used 
in audits and economic analyses.  
The unit also issues Advisory 
Bulletins on oil and gas matters 
and regulatory interpretations, and 
assists in development and drafting 
of regulations.

Economic Research 
The Economic Research group 
is responsible for monitoring and 
forecasting state revenues. The unit 
monitors state and national economic 
conditions, national and international 
oil markets, and conducts research 
needed to anticipate economic and 
business trends that affect state tax 
revenue.

Economic Research manages 
publication of the Revenue Sources 
Book, an annual publication that 
contains historical and forecasted 
revenue information to assist 
the governor and legislature in 
developing the state’s budget. The 
book is available at www.tax.alaska.
gov. The team of economists uses a 
series of highly complex economic 
and revenue models and works 
with other state agencies to compile 
information for the publication.

In addition to the Revenue Sources 
Book, the Economic Research group 
produces official revenue forecasts 
each spring to provide revised 
information as budgets are being 
finalized. Also, the group provides 
monthly updates on the state’s cash 
flow and comparisons to the latest 
official revenue forecast to provide 
the most up-to-date information.

The Economic Research group 
publishes important oil and gas data 
including average Alaska North Slope 
crude oil and natural gas prices and 
production. 

Economic Research monitors trends 
in interstate and intrastate oil and gas 
pipelines and marine transportation 
costs.  The group produces forecasts 
of tariffs for the state’s feeder 
pipelines, the Trans-Alaska oil 
pipeline, and marine transportation 
costs. The group assists in economic 
analysis for valuation of oil and gas 
pipelines for property tax purposes.

The Economic Research group 
analyzes, evaluates, and makes 
recommendations on potential 
changes to the state’s tax structure 
and fiscal system. The economists 
prepare and manage comprehensive 
economic models to estimate the 
fiscal impact of changing taxes 
on different stakeholder groups 
including the state, local and federal 
government and the taxpayers. 

The Economic Research group 
responds to legislative requests on 
revenue related issues including 
preparation and presentation of 
fiscal notes projecting the costs and 
revenues. The group also responds 
to requests from the administration, 
taxpayers and the public on revenue 
related issues. The group serves 
as an interface for the state with 
the media on issues related to state 
revenue, oil and gas prices, and oil 
and gas production.

The Economic Research 
group publishes a 

Revenue Sources Book 
that is  available at 

www.tax.alaska.gov. 
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Gaming 
Gaming issues annual permits 
to not-for-profit organizations to 
conduct gaming activities and 
licenses operators to conduct gaming 
activities on behalf of permittees. 
Gaming also issues licenses to pull-
tab manufacturers and distributors.

Gaming processes reports and 
monitors financial compliance 
of permittees, operators, and 
distributors. The unit conducts 
compliance audits to ensure gaming 
activities are conducted within the 
scope of gaming laws.
 
The unit publishes an annual 
report that includes more detailed 
information and descriptions of the 
program. The report is available at 
www.tax.alaska.gov.

Information Technology
The Information Technology Unit 
maintains databases and provides 
technical computer support to the 
division. The unit also maintains 
online applications, the division’s 
websites, imaging systems, and 
provides assistance in forms 
publishing. 

The unit researches, coordinates, 
develops and implements technical 
upgrades that enhance customer 
service to Alaska’s taxpayers.

Investigations 
The Investigations unit focuses 
on gaming and tobacco tax 

investigations by conducting field 
inspections. The group investigates 
and inspects gaming operations 
and tobacco distributors and 
retailers.  The unit investigates 
leads of potential violations within all 
tax programs administered by the 
division.

Oil & Gas Property Tax
Oil and Gas Property Tax conducts 
appraisals on all oil and gas related 
property in the State of Alaska. It also 
performs compliance and collection 
functions and processes oil and gas 
property tax returns. 

Audits and appraisals conducted 
by the unit are typically highly 
specialized valuations.  Engineering 
and appraisal experts assist under 
contract as needed.

The Investigations 
group investigates 

and inspects gaming 
operations and tobacco 

distributors and 
retailers.
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 Oil and Gas Production and Surcharges 
General Fund 

Production $2,860,701,557  $3,100,822,618  $6,827,369,207 
Conservation Surcharge       10,318,732       11,131,929       11,685,189 

Total Receipts - General Fund 2,871,020,238 3,111,954,547 6,839,054,396

Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund - CBRF     459,807,918       81,060,671       47,228,656

Total Receipts - All Funds $3,330,828,207 $3,193,015,218 $6,886,283,052 

 Oil & Gas Corporate Income Tax  

General Fund
Tax $376,719,507  $490,834,210  $604,487,305 

Penalties and Interest 71,199,752 2,740,981 2,845,931 

Gas Exploration and Development Credit (1,347,938) (963,963) (978,629)

Alaska Education Credit         (451,500)        (395,750)        (456,500)

 Total Receipts - General Fund  446,119,821 492,215,478 605,898,107 

Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund - CBRF       45,756,692     40,029,318    391,092,988

Total Receipts - All Funds $491,876,513 $532,244,796 $996,991,095

Oil and Gas Property Tax
General Fund

Property Tax $497,474,575 $441,695,314 $358,251,156

Credit for Municipal Taxes Paid (378,706,246) (330,480,123) (276,693,851)

Total Receipts - General Fund 118,768,329 111,215,191 81,557,305

Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund - CBRF                     0                     0            8,641

Total Receipts - All Funds $118,768,329 $111,215,191 $81,565,946

Other Corporate Income Tax
Tax $76,760,863 $118,285,179 $179,614,285

Penalties and Interest 5,594,174 3,317,809 3,813,015

Alaska Education Credit     (414,475)       (668,183)       (841,144)

Total Receipts - General Fund $81,910,562 $120,934,805 $182,586,156

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
Listed in order of total amount FY 2010 total receipts
All receipts General Fund unless otherwise designated

 TAX TYPE FY 2010 FY 2009  FY 2008 
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 Tobacco Tax
 Cigarette $61,879,232  $63,000,237  $64,451,094 
 Tobacco Products 10,384,508 10,242,503 9,234,129 
 Penalties and Interest 72,877 211,593 150,976 
 Cigarette License Fees 6,000  $6,375  $6,275 

 Deductions and Stamp Discounts    (356,974)    (385,673)    (421,902)

 Total Receipts 71,985,643   73,075,035   73,420,572

 School Fund* (23,440,125) (23,127,219) (24,912,057)
 Tobacco Use Education and Cessation Fund   (3,403,221)   (3,356,490)  (3,614,401)

 Amount Retained in General Fund $45,142,297 $46,591,326 $44,894,114 
         * All cigarette license fees are included in this amount.

 Commercial Passenger Vessel Excise Tax 
 Tax $44,025,266  $46,370,407  $46,739,342 
 Penalties and Interest       180,316         13,420         99,836 

 Total Receipts 44,205,582  46,383,827  46,839,178 

 Taxes shared to municipalities (10,086,943) (9,909,573) (9,232,830)
 Amount transferred to Regional Cruise Ship  

    Impact Fund - this is a state fund (11,006,316) (11,592,602) (11,684,836)

 Amount Retained in General Fund $23,112,323  $24,881,653  $25,921,512 

Alcoholic Beverages Tax

 Liquor $19,394,015 $18,609,636  $18,719,422 

 Beer 12,832,923 12,971,806 13,317,219 

 Wine 5,332,658 5,512,824 5,140,482 

 Beer qualifying for reduced tax rate 1,003,157 914,888 801,127 

 Penalties, Interest and Refunds      194,007        487,207       186,950 

 Total Receipts $38,756,760  $38,496,361  $38,165,200 

 Amount transferred to Alcohol and Other Drug   

   Abuse Treatment and Prevention Fund (19,231,568) (18,968,874) (19,080,505)

Amount Retained in General Fund $19,525,192 $19,527,487 $19,084,695

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2010 total receipts

All receipts General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2010 FY 2009  FY 2008 
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 Fisheries Business Tax  
 Established 
   Shore-based $22,769,614  $30,223,448  $24,865,940 
   Floating 5,045,905 6,809,487 5,769,466 
   Cannery 4,792,527 5,069,742 5,218,570 
 Developing 
   Shore-based 44,158 48,357 54,486 
   Floating            1,037             249             802 
 Total Tax 32,653,241 42,151,283 35,909,264 
 Prepayments 3,612,603 3,523,354 3,694,083 
 Penalties and Interest 313,438 311,942 504,207 
 License Fees          13,250        13,500        13,975 
 Less Credits 

   Winn Brindle (123,060) (192,792) (177,228)
   Alaska Education (450,000) (450,000) (450,000)
   Salmon Product Development  (4,074,071)  (3,121,697)  (4,501,973)
 Total Receipts 31,945,400 42,235,590 34,992,328 

 Fisheries Business Tax Shared 
   Direct to Municipalities (16,255,158) (21,304,498) (18,268,399)
   DCCED* Municipal Allocation  (1,686,964)  (1,635,638)  (1,920,635)

 Amount Retained by State $14,003,278 $19,295,454 $14,803,294 

 * Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development 

Mining License Tax
 General Fund 
   Tax Before Credits $29,673,039  $15,486,880  $54,569,042 
   Mineral Exploration Incentive Credit 0  (699) 0 
   Alaska Education Credit      (94,471)                 0     (160,814)
 Total Receipts - General Fund 29,676,984  15,486,181  54,408,228 

 Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund (CBRF)          48,116        557,958                   0 

 Total Receipts - All Funds $29,725,100 $16,044,139 $54,408,228 

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2010 total receipts

All receipts General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2010 FY 2009  FY 2008 
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Motor Fuel Tax
Highway $23,427,554  $6,892,576  $30,675,818 
Marine 2,092,010 2,320,266 5,627,878 
Jet 2,947,084 586,000 4,526,804 
Aviation        337,014      235,849        673,940 
Total Tax * 28,803,662 10,034,691 41,504,440 
Penalties and Interest          30,358        29,585          79,167 
Total Receipts 28,834,020 10,064,276 41,583,607 
Aviation Tax Shared       (130,566)     (144,101)       (148,051)

Amount Retained by State $28,703,454 $9,920,175 $41,435,556 
* Motor fuel tax was suspended for the period September 1, 2008 through August 31, 2009

 Fishery Resource Landing Tax
 Tax Before Credits $10,701,244  $11,003,129  $14,085,200 

 Penalties, Interest and Refunds 3,563,499 93,042 1,042,373 

 Less Credits 

   Alaska Education Credit (948,000) (150,000) (1,050,000)
   CDQ Contributions    (764,668)        16,758   (415,815)
 Total Receipts 12,552,075 10,962,929 13,661,758 

 Fishery Resource Landing Tax Shared  

   Direct to Municipalities (3,542,908) (4,572,051) (5,286,500)

   DCCED* Municipal Allocation (752,016) (1,725,481) (1,102,883)

 Amount Retained by State $8,257,151  $4,665,397 $7,272,375 

 * Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development

Regulatory Cost Charges
 Total Receipts $9,666,038 $9,040,301 $8,407,631 

Seafood Marketing Assessment  
 Fisheries Business $5,350,686  $6,740,918  $6,447,727 
 Fishery Resource Landing   2,462,011   2,133,860   2,265,955 

 Total Receipts $7,812,697 $8,874,778 $8,713,682 

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2010 total receipts

All receipts General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2010 FY 2009  FY 2008 
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 Vehicle Rental Tax

 Passenger $7,011,525  $7,626,372  $8,050,884 

 Recreational 301,603 364,153 384,398 

 Penalties and Interest       19,558      54,419      17,591 

 Total Receipts $7,332,686 $8,044,944 $8,452,873 

Large Passenger Vessel Gambling Tax

 Tax $6,309,939  $6,286,467  $6,757,501 

 Penalties and Interest         2,114               0               0 

 Total Receipts $6,312,053 $6,286,467 $6,757,501 

Salmon Enhancement Tax

Tax by Aquacultural Region

Southern Southeast $1,438,151  $1,141,446  $1,496,031 

Northern Southeast 1,232,922  1,771,256 1,296,163 

Prince William Sound 894,977  1,757,181  1,440,700 

Kodiak 743,241  571,342  662,473 

Cook Inlet 374,389  434,733  458,668 

Chignik    201,001    165,039    120,714 

Total Tax 4,884,681  5,840,997  5,474,749 

Penalties and Interest       (7,575)         1,893         9,411 

Total Receipts $4,877,106 $5,842,890 $5,484,160 

Gaming Tax and Fees
 Pull-Tab Tax $2,144,998  $2,241,650  $2,219,335 

 Net Proceeds Fee 320,149 458,612 351,996 
 License and Permit Fees     144,135     134,378    140,073 
 Total Receipts $2,609,282 $2,834,640 $2,711,404 

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2010 total receipts

All receipts General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2010 FY 2009  FY 2008 
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Telephone Cooperative Tax
 Total Receipts $2,046,583  $2,039,822  $1,998,127 
 Taxes shared (1,931,256) (1,931,876) (1,884,515)

 Amount Retained by State $115,327 $107,946 $113,612 

 Electric Cooperative  Tax

 Total Receipts $2,038,375  $2,087,402  $2,093,229 
 Taxes shared (2,009,002) (2,057,093) (2,016,589)

 Amount Retained by State $29,373  $30,309  $76,640 

 Seafood Development Assessment 
 Tax by Development Region 

   Bristol Bay (Drift Gillnet) $1,251,268  $1,066,270  $1,032,860 

   Prince William Sound (Drift Gillnet) 317,460 315,862 352,686 

   Prince William Sound (Set Gillnet) 9,772 2 Not Applicable  

 Penalties and Interest            361         3,348            736 

 Total Receipts $1,578,861 $1,385,482 $1,386,282 

 Tire Fee 
 Non-Studded $1,034,158  $1,062,455  $1,089,972 
 Studded 392,349 444,750 404,564 
 Penalties and Interest         1,264         2,521         3,680 
 Total Receipts $1,427,771 $1,509,726 $1,498,216 

 Dive Fishery Management Assessment 

 Total Receipts * $523,024 $391,183  $373,120 

* All receipts are derived from Southeast Alaska Management Area A

 Estate Tax 

 Total Receipts $(19,510) $174,613 $0

Salmon Marketing Tax1

Tax $(5,933) $22 $ 0

Penalties and Interest    (5,848)    0   0

Total Receipts $(11,781) $22 $ 0

1Repealed effective January 1, 2005

	 Figure 3 - Revenue Collections Detail 			 
	 Listed in order of total amount FY 2010 total receipts

All receipts General Fund unless otherwise designated
 TAX TYPE FY 2010 FY 2009  FY 2008 
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Figure 4 - Program Revenue and Cost Detail

Sorted by Revenue FY 2010 Statistics FY 2010 Program FY 2010 Per FTE
Returns Revenue Cost1  FTE2 Revenue Cost 

Program
Oil & Gas Production3 47 $3,330,828,207 $4,328,549 37.0 $90,022,384 116,988

Oil & Gas Corporate Income4 128 491,876,513 460,478 3.5 140,536,147 131,565

Oil and Gas Property 812 118,768,329 485,237 6.1 19,470,218 79,547

Other Corporate Income 16,520 81,910,562 3,217,996 35.2 2,327,005 91,420

Tobacco 2,036 71,985,643 1,253,054 11.3 6,370,411 110,890

Commercial Passenger Vessel 152 44,205,582 145,899 1.3 34,004,294 112,230

Alcoholic Beverages 588 38,756,760 197,506 1.8 21,531,533 109,726

Fisheries Business 641 31,945,400 600,038 5.7 5,604,456 105,270

Mining License5 671 29,725,100 763,558 6.8 4,371,338 112,288

Motor Fuel 2,977 28,834,020 533,986 5.4 5,339,633 98,886

Fishery Resource Landing 63 12,552,075 166,679 1.7 7,383,574 98,046

Seafood Marketing Assessment 208 7,812,697 44,806 0.5 See Note 6 See Note 6

Vehicle Rental 415 7,332,686 263,027 2.1 3,491,755 125,251

Large Passenger Vessel Gambling 9 6,312,053 61,021 0.5 See Note 6 See Note 6

Salmon Enhancement 847 4,877,106 108,708 1.2 4,064,255 90,590

Gaming 2,905 2,609,282 1,289,095 10.5 248,503 122,771

Telephone Cooperative 8 2,046,583 2,862 <.1 See Note 6 See Note 6

Electric Cooperative 18 2,038,375 2,862 <.1 See Note 6 See Note 6

Seafood Development 212 1,578,861 32,102 0.3 See Note 6 See Note 6

Tire Fee 321 1,427,771 109,074 0.9 See Note 6 See Note 6

Dive Fishery Management           36 523,024 17,463 0.2 See Note 6 See Note 6

Total    29,614 $4,317,946,629     $14,084,000 132.0 $32,711,717 7 $106,697 7

1Based on operating costs of the Tax Division.
2Full-time Equivalent staff positions.
3Includes oil and gas conservation surcharge revenue of $10,318,732; surcharges are reported on oil & gas production returns.  Includes         
 Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund receipts of $459,807,918.
4Includes Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund receipts of $45,756,692.
5Includes Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund receipts of $48,116.
6Combined program revenues ($21,739,364) and costs ($270,190) required approximately 2.5 FTE.
7Reflects total revenue and total cost divided by FTE.
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Figure 5 - Revenue Collected from Assessments

Program Audit Exam Total
Oil and Gas Production $459,807,918 $0 $459,807,918
Oil and Gas Corporate Income 45,756,692 0 45,756,692
Corporate Income 10,436,517 1,826,248 12,262,765
Fisheries Business 1,592,081 84,291 1,676,372
Alcoholic Beverage 556 357,505 358,061
Tobacco 19,902 314,438 334,340
Fishery Resource Landing 0 266,499 266,499
Commercial Passenger Vessel Excise 184 238,521 238,705
Motor Fuel 61,365 177,190 238,555
Seafood Marketing 0 121,627 121,627
Large Passenger Vessel Gambling 10,117 107,276 117,393
Mining 28,789 22,432 51,221
Dive Fisheries 0 46,780 46,780
Vehicle Rental 9,883 24,659 34,542
Salmon Enhancement 0 14,782 14,782
Charitable Gaming 0 4,786 4,786
Seafood Development 0 2,805 2,805
Tire Fee 0 1,930 1,930
Salmon Marketing                   0      (9,935)          (9,935)

Total $517,724,004 $3,601,834 $521,325,838
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Alcoholic Beverages Tax
AS 43.60

Description
Alaska levies a tax on alcoholic 
beverages sold in Alaska. The tax is 
collected primarily from wholesalers 
and distributors of alcoholic 
beverages.

Rates

Returns
Taxpayers file returns and pay tax 
monthly. The returns and payment 
are due by the last day of the month 
following the month of sale.

Exemptions
Sales to facilities operated by one of 
the uniformed services of the United 
States are exempt if they fall within 
the guidelines of 4 USC 107.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all alcoholic 
beverage tax revenue into the 
General Fund. The Department of 
Administration separately accounts 
for 50 percent of the tax collected 
and deposits it into the Alcohol and 
Other Drug Abuse Treatment and 
Prevention Fund.

History
The alcoholic beverage tax dates 
back to 1933 when the Legislature 
enacted a tax on beer and wine at 
a rate of 5¢ per gallon. Taxpayers 
filed alcoholic beverage tax returns 
monthly.

In 1937, the territorial legislature 
enacted a tax on liquor at a rate of 
50¢ per gallon. At the same time, the 
rate for wine increased to 15¢ per 
gallon.

Since 1937, the legislature has 
made minor changes to the 
alcoholic beverage tax statutes. In 
addition, between 1937 and 1983, 
the legislature increased Alaska’s 
tax rates to correspond with rate 
changes made by other states. 

2002 - The legislature significantly 
increased the tax rates on all three 
alcoholic beverages effective October 
1, 2002. However, this legislation 
allows breweries meeting the 
qualifications of 26 USC. 5051(a)(2) 
(small breweries) to pay tax at the 
lower rate of 35 cents per gallon on 
the first 60,000 barrels of beer (malt 
beverages) sold in Alaska. At the 
same time, the legislature created 
the Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Treatment and Prevention Fund 
and directed that 50 percent of the 
alcoholic beverage tax be deposited 
into this fund for alcohol and drug 
abuse treatment programs.

Between 1937 and 2002, alcoholic 
beverage tax rates have changed as 
follows.

Product Rate
Per Gallon 

Liquor (more than 21% 
alcohol)

$12.80

Wine (21% alcohol or less) $2.50
Beer (Malt Beverages and 
Cider) 

$1.07

Beer (Small Breweries) $0.35

Liquor Per 
Gallon

1937 $.50
1941 $1.00
1945 $1.60
1946 $2.00
1947 $3.00
1957 $3.50
1961 $4.00
1983 $5.60
2002 $12.80

Fifty percent of taxes 
on alcoholic beverages 
is available to fund 

alcohol and drug abuse 
treatment programs.



A
Alaska Tax Division 2010 Annual ReportProgram Detail 24

Wine Per 
Gallon

1933 $.05
1937 $.15
1947 $.25
1957 $.50
1961 $.60
1983 $.85
2002 $2.50

Beer (Malt 
Beverages)

Per 
Gallon

1933 $.05
1947 $.10
1957 $.25
1983 $.35
2002 $1.07

Beer 
(Small Breweries)

Per 
Gallon

2002 $.35

Product Gallons Tax Collected

Liquor 1,526,682 $19,394,015
Beer, Malt Beverage & Cider 11,963,326 12,832,923
Wine 2,122,254 5,332,658
Beer, Small Brewery 2,840,476 1,003,157
Penalties, Interest and Refunds               N/A                   194,007         
Total Tax Collected  18,452,738                       $38,756,760                  

Transferred to Alcohol and Other Drug  Abuse 
Treatment and Prevention Fund (19,231,568)

Total Tax Collections – General Fund  $19,525,192                   

Number of Returns 588
Number of Taxpayers 46

Program Cost $197,506
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 1.8

FY 2010 Statistics



A
Alaska Tax Division 2010 Annual ReportProgram Detail 25

Significant changes 
were made to the CPV 

tax during the 2010 
legislative session

Commercial Passenger 
Vessel (CPV) Excise Tax
AS 43.52.200 – 295

Description
Alaska imposes an excise tax on travel 
on commercial passenger vessels, 
typically cruise ships that have 250 
or more berths and provide overnight 
accommodations in the state’s marine 
waters.  Passengers traveling on 
qualified commercial passenger 
vessels are liable for the tax.

Rate
The commercial passenger vessel 
excise tax rate is $46 per passenger 
per voyage.  

Returns
Cruise ship companies and 
commercial passenger vessel owners 
file returns and pay taxes monthly.  
The due date is the last day of the 
month following the month in which 
voyages ended.

Exemptions
The CPV excise tax does not apply to 
passengers on board a commercial 
passenger vessel that does not anchor 
or moor in state marine waters with 
the intent to allow passengers to 
disembark.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all proceeds 
from the CPV excise tax into the 
Commercial Vessel Passenger 
(CVP)Tax Account in the general 
fund.  Subject to appropriation by 

the legislature from this account, the 
division distributes $5 per passenger 
to each of the first five ports of call 
in Alaska unless the port of call 
imposes a tax on travel on commercial 
passenger vessels engaged 
in activities involving overnight 
accommodations.

The division transfers 25% of the 
revenue deposited in the CVP Tax 
Account into a Regional Cruise Ship 
Impact Fund, a sub-account of the 
CVP Tax Account.  

History
2006 - The CPV excise tax was 
enacted by 2006 Primary Election 
Ballot Measure No. 2.  The measure 
was approved by voters at the primary 
election of August 26, 2006.  The 
results of the election were certified 
September 18, 2006 and the initiative’s 
provisions became effective December 
17, 2006.

2010 - During the 2010 legislative 
session, the CPV tax was reduced 
from $46 to $34.50 per passenger. The 
tax is further reduced by any municipal 
taxes imposed on a passenger that 
were in effect prior to December 17, 
2007. This legislation increased the 
number of ports of call which may 
receive $5 per passenger from 5 to 
7 and removed the provision that 
prohibited a port of call from sharing 
in the CPV revenue if it imposed its 
own tax. The legislation also repealed 
the regional cruise ship impact fund. 
These changes are effective for the 
2011 cruise season.

FY 2010 Statistics
Tax Collections $ 44,205,582
Number of Returns 152
Number of Taxpayers 12
Program Cost $145,899
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 1.3
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Corporate Income Tax
AS 43.20

Description
Alaska levies a corporate income tax 
on Alaska taxable income.
 
For purposes of computing taxable 
income, Alaska, like many states, 
adopts the federal Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) by reference, unless 
excepted to or modified by specific 
Alaska statutes.

For a corporation doing business 
only in Alaska, its taxable income is 
federal taxable income with certain 
Alaska modifications.

A corporation that does business 
both inside and outside Alaska 
apportions a percentage of the 
corporation’s total income to 
Alaska using a formula. The Alaska 
percentage or “apportionment 
factor” is an average of three 
factors; property, payroll and sales, 
inside and outside the state for all 
corporations except for oil and gas.

When a corporation is part of a 
group of corporations that operate 
as a unit to conduct a business, the 
taxpayer must apportion to Alaska a 
percentage of the combined incomes 
of all of the corporations in the 
“unitary” or “combined” group.

For unitary groups that are not oil 
and gas companies, Alaska adopts 
“water’s edge combination”. The 
combined group generally includes 
only those corporations with 
significant U.S. activity.

Oil and gas companies combine on a 
worldwide basis. Also, oil companies 
use a “modified” apportionment 
formula of property, sales and 
extraction. The extraction factor is the 
production of oil and gas in Alaska 
divided by production everywhere.

Rate
Alaska taxes corporate income at 
graduated rates ranging from 1 
percent to 9.4 percent.

Returns and Payments
Corporations file returns annually, 
with the return due three and one-half 
months after the close of the tax year, 
one month after the federal tax return 
is due. Alaska honors the federal 
filing extensions.

Corporations must make quarterly 
estimated payments and the total tax 
is due two and one-half months from 
the end of the tax year. There are no 
extensions to pay the tax. Estimated 
payments of more than $100,000 and 
payments accompanying a return 
greater than $150,000 must be made 
online or by wire transfer.

Exemptions
Generally, Alaska follows the IRC 
when determining an entity’s taxable 
status.

Alaska adopts the flow-through 
federal provisions that exempt 
S-Corporations from tax. 
Federally, S-Corporations are 
treated as partnerships and 
S-Corporation shareholders report 
their proportionate share of the 
corporation’s earnings.

Alaska treats Limited Liability 
Companies (LLCs) as partnerships if 
they file as partnerships federally.
Electric and telephone cooperatives 
pay tax under AS 10.25 and are 
exempt from the corporate income 
tax.

Credits
Under Alaska’s blanket adoption 
of the IRC, taxpayers can claim all 
federal incentive credits. Federal 
credits that refund other federal taxes 
are not allowed. Multistate taxpayers 
apportion their total federal incentive 
credits.  Alaska specific credits 
include:

Corporate income is 
taxed at graduated 
rates ranging from 1 

percent to 9.4 percent.
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Education - Taxpayers that 
contribute to accredited Alaska 
universities or colleges or vocational 
education programs for educational 
purposes may claim a tax credit for 
50 percent of the first $100,000 and 
100 percent of the next $100,000 
of contributions. The maximum 
credit is $150,000 for each tax year. 
Beginning January 1, 2011, the 
maximum education credit allowed is 
increased to $5 million.

Minerals Exploration Incentive 
- Taxpayers may claim a credit 
for 100 percent of eligible costs 
of exploration activities related to 
determining existence, location, 
extent, or quality of a locatable 
mineral or coal deposit. An approved 
exploration incentive credit may not 
exceed $20 million and must be 
applied within 15 tax years after the 
credit is approved. Application of 
the credit is limited to the lesser of 
50 percent of the taxpayer’s mining 
license tax liability or 50 percent of its 
corporate tax liability.

Oil and Gas Exploration 
Incentive - Taxpayers may take 
a credit for up to 50 percent on 
state land (or 25 percent on non - 
state lands) of eligible oil and gas 
exploration costs. An approved 
oil and gas exploration incentive 
credit may not exceed $5 million per 
project and is limited to $30 million 
per taxpayer. Taxpayers may apply 
the credit against 100 percent of 
corporation net income taxes due.

Gas Exploration and Development 
- Taxpayers may take a corporate 
income tax credit for 10 percent of 
qualifying expenditures incurred 
in exploration and development 
of natural gas reserves in Alaska, 
except for the North Slope. The credit 
may be applied against 50% of the 
tax liability. Beginning 1/1/2010 this 
credit is increased to 25% and it may 
be applied against 75% of the tax 
liability.

Gas Storage Facility Tax Credit -
Taxpayers may take a credit for costs 
incurred to establish a gas storage 
facility in Alaska. The available credit 
is $1.50 per 1,000 cubic feet of gas 
storage capacity, with a maximum 
credit available of $15,000,000 or 
25% of costs incurred to establish the 
facility. This is a refundable tax credit.

Film Production - Taxpayers may 
take a credit for certain expenses 
incurred in producing films in 
Alaska. The credit varies from 30% 
to 44% and is administered by the 
Dept. of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development in 
cooperation with the Department 
of Revenue. This credit may be 
transferred.

Disposition of Revenue - The 
division deposits most corporate 
net income tax collections into 
the General Fund. For oil and gas 
corporations only, the division 
deposits collections from audit 
assessments into the Constitutional 
Budget Reserve Fund.

History
1949 - The territorial legislature 
enacts the Alaska Net Income Tax 
Act. It is 10 percent of the federal 
income tax liability on income 
earned in Alaska. The tax applies to 
individuals and corporations.

1959 - Alaska adopts the Uniform 
Division of Income for Tax Purposes 
Act (UDITPA) within AS 43.20. This is 
a model statute that was developed 
by the states to address concerns 
of the U.S. Congress that states 
were collectively taxing more than 
100% of the earnings of multistate 
corporations. UDITPA requires 
multistate corporations to apportion 
a percentage of their total income 
to the state by the apportionment 
formula of property payroll and 
sales. The standard UDITPA formula 
apportions 100% of the corporation’s 
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income among the states where the 
taxpayer does business.

1970 - Alaska enacts the Multistate 
Tax Compact in AS 43.19, and 
becomes one of the early members 
of the Multistate Tax Commission. 
The Compact incorporates the 
standard three-factor apportionment 
formula of UDITPA. A main purpose 
of the Compact and the Commission 
is to promote the enactment of 
UDITPA, and the uniform application 
of UDITPA apportionment formula 
by the states. Uniform application of 
UDITPA promotes the full reporting of 
income by taxpayers and avoids the 
taxation of the same income by more 
than one state. 

1975 - The legislature repeals 
the original tax and makes major 
revisions. Alaska enacts its own tax 
rates rather than basing the tax on 
the federal tax liability. Alaska adopts 
the federal Internal Revenue Code 
by reference, unless excepted to, or 
modified by other Alaska statutes. 
The tax rate was 5.4% of Alaska 
taxable income with a surtax of 4 
percent based on federal surtax 
exemptions. For 1975, the surtax 
exemption was $50,000.

1978 - The legislature finds that the 
standard three-factor apportionment 
formula does not fairly reflect Alaska 
income for oil and gas corporations. 
Alaska enacts AS 43.21 and requires 
oil and gas companies to calculate 
Alaska taxable income using 
separate accounting. The oil and gas 
companies challenge AS 43.21.

1980 - The legislature repeals the 
parts of AS 43.20 that impose the 
individual income tax and retains the 
exemption for S-Corporations.

1981 - In an effort to stem the 
growing amount of disputed 
oil and gas income taxes and 
related litigation, the legislature 
seeks a compromise tax method. 
The legislature repeals separate 

accounting under AS 43.21, and 
enacts AS 43.20.072, the current 
“modified” apportionment formula 
for oil and gas corporations. The 
modified formula drops the payroll 
factor and adds the “extraction 
factor”. The legislature also enacts 
the current graduated tax rate 
structure with a maximum rate of 
9.4%.

1987 - The legislature enacts the 
Alaska Education Credit.

1991 - The legislature enacts 
water’s edge apportionment with 
AS 43.20.073. Water’s edge 
apportionment does not apply to oil 
and gas taxpayers, who continue to 
report on a worldwide basis. 

1998 - The Department of Revenue 
wins the OSG Bulkships case. 
The Alaska Supreme Court holds 
that AS 43.20 does not adopt 
Internal Revenue Code Section 
883 by reference. Federally, Sec. 
883 exempts from tax foreign 
corporations that operate ships and 
aircraft, and avoids double taxation. 
The Court says that formulary 
apportionment in AS 43.19 also 
avoids double taxation and therefore 
AS 43.19 is an exception to Sec. 
883. During the next session, the 
legislature specifically adopts Sec. 
883 and grants explicit tax exemption 
to the foreign corporations operating 
cargo ships, cruise ships, and aircraft 
in Alaska.

2006 - A voter initiative that subjects 
cruise ship operators to Alaska 
corporate income tax passed in 
August 2006.  Prior to the initiative, 
cruise ship operators were 
exempt from taxation through the 
department’s adoption of Internal 
Revenue Code Section 883.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 
secondary level vocational courses 
and programs by a school district 

A voter initiative 
passed in August 2006 

subjects cruise ship 
operators to the Alaska 
corporate income tax.
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in Alaska and by a state-operated 
vocational technical education and 
training school. 
The legislature authorized tax 
credits for qualified film production 
expenditures incurred in Alaska.  Tax 
credits may be sold, transferred, 
exchanged, or conveyed and must 
be used within three years after being 
granted by the Alaska Department 
of Commerce, Community and 
Economic Development (DCCED).  
The maximum of credits claimed 
by all taxpayers over the life of the 
credit program may not exceed $100 
million.

2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 

Oil and Gas Corporate Returns           
Number of Returns 128
Number of Taxpayers 31
Program Cost $460,478
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 3.5

Other than Oil and Gas Corporate Returns
Number of Returns 16,520
Number of Taxpayers 13,753
Program Cost $3,217,996
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 35.2

Total - All Returns
Number of Returns 16,648
Number of Taxpayers 13,784
Program Cost $3,678,474
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 38.7

FY 2010 Statistics

schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000.

The legislature expanded the Gas 
Exploration and Development 
Credit, increasing it from 10% to 
25% effective January 1, 2010. The 
utilization limit was raised from 50% 
to 75% of the tax liability.

The legislature authorized tax credits 
for expenditures to establish gas 
storage in Alaska. The available 
credit is $1.50 per 1,000 cubic 
feet of gas storage capacity, with 
a maximum credit available of 
$15,000,000 or 25% of costs incurred 
to establish the facility. This is a 
refundable tax credit.



A

30Alaska Tax Division 2010 Annual ReportProgram Detail

Fi
sc

al
 Y

ea
r

FY
 2

01
0

FY
 2

00
9

FY
 2

00
8

To
ta

l R
et

ur
ns

 F
ile

d
16

,6
48

15
,0

92
 

16
,0

62
 

Fi
gu

re
 6

 - 
C

or
po

ra
tio

ns
 F

ili
ng

 A
ct

iv
ity

D
et

ai
l o

f F
Y 

20
10

 F
ili

ng
 A

ct
iv

ity
En

tit
y 

Ty
pe

O
rig

in
al

A
m

en
de

d
N

O
L1

To
ta

l
Su

bc
ha

pt
er

 C
5,

66
7

89
1

23
7

6,
79

5
Su

bc
ha

pt
er

 S
8,

63
7

23
2

8,
66

2
Ex

em
pt

16
8

4
0

17
2

H
om

eo
w

ne
rs

 A
ss

oc
.

73
7

5
2

74
4

O
th

er
2

 1
20

     
  2

7 
 

   
  0

 
  1

47
    

To
ta

l N
on

 O
il 

&
 G

as
15

,3
29

95
0

24
1

16
,5

20
O

il 
& 

G
as

   
   

 2
7 

  
   

  9
6 

 
   

   
5 

   
  1

28
     

G
ra

nd
 T

ot
al

   
   

   
15

,3
56

  
   

   
 1

,0
46

  
   

   
   

   
  2

46
  

   
   

   
  1

6,
64

8    

Ta
xp

ay
er

s
N

on
 O

il 
an

d 
G

as
13

,7
53

O
il 

an
d 

G
as

31

1 N
et

 o
pe

ra
tin

g 
lo

ss
2 E

nt
iti

es
 th

at
 fi

le
d 

fe
de

ra
l r

et
ur

ns
 o

th
er

 th
an

 c
at

eg
or

ie
s 

lis
te

d 
ab

ov
e,

 i.
e.

 F
or

ei
gn

, P
ol

iti
ca

l, 
C

oo
pe

ra
tiv

e,
 e

tc
.



A

31Alaska Tax Division 2010 Annual ReportProgram Detail
Fi

gu
re

 7
 - 

C
or

po
ra

te
 In

co
m

e 
Ta

x 
Li

ab
ili

tie
s 

St
at

is
tic

s 
– 

O
rig

in
al

 R
et

ur
ns

O
il 

an
d 

G
as

 C
or

po
ra

tio
ns

O
th

er
 th

an
 O

il 
an

d 
G

as
 C

or
po

ra
tio

ns
A

ll 
C

or
po

ra
tio

ns
Ta

x 
Li

ab
ili

ty
 R

ep
or

te
d

# 
Fi

le
rs

A
m

ou
nt

%
 T

ot
al

# 
Fi

le
rs

A
m

ou
nt

%
 T

ot
al

# 
Fi

le
rs

A
m

ou
nt

%
 T

ot
al

A
bo

ve
 $

1 
m

ill
io

n
12

$6
39

,5
88

,5
54

99
.8

8%
22

$7
9,

83
0,

14
0

61
.6

5%
34

$7
19

,4
18

,6
94

93
.4

5%

$5
00

,0
00

 - 
$1

 m
ill

io
n

0
0

0.
00

%
25

17
,5

73
,1

50
13

.5
7%

25
17

,5
73

,1
50

2.
28

%

$1
00

,0
00

 - 
$4

99
,9

99
2

55
3,

57
6

0.
09

%
93

18
,8

23
,8

60
14

.5
4%

95
19

,3
77

,4
36

2.
52

%

$5
0,

00
0 

- $
99

,9
99

4
21

4,
28

9
0.

03
%

65
4,

66
1,

45
3

3.
60

%
69

4,
87

5,
74

2
0.

63
%

$1
0,

00
0 

- $
49

,9
99

0
0

0.
00

%
27

8
6,

72
3,

02
8

5.
19

%
27

8
6,

72
3,

02
8

0.
87

%

$1
,0

00
 - 

$9
,9

99
1

1,
83

6
0.

00
%

46
8

1,
64

9,
49

5
1.

27
%

46
9

1,
65

1,
33

1
0.

21
%

$1
00

 - 
$9

99
0

0
0.

00
%

50
5

20
3,

77
3

0.
16

%
50

5
20

3,
77

3
0.

03
%

$1
 - 

$9
9

0
0

0.
00

%
91

7
26

,5
32

0.
02

%
91

7
26

,5
32

0.
00

%

Ze
ro

 T
ax

8
0

0.
00

%
12

,9
56

0
0.

00
%

12
,9

64
0

0.
00

%

To
ta

l
27

$6
40

,3
58

,2
55

10
0.

00
15

,3
29

$1
29

,4
91

,4
31

10
0.

00
%

15
,3

56
$7

69
,8

49
,6

86
10

0.
00

%

N
ot

e:
  T

hi
s 

fig
ur

e 
sh

ow
s 

th
e 

am
ou

nt
 o

f t
ot

al
 ta

x 
lia

bi
lit

y 
as

 re
po

rte
d 

on
 o

rig
in

al
 c

or
po

ra
te

 in
co

m
e 

ta
x 

re
tu

rn
s 

fil
ed

 d
ur

in
g 

FY
 2

01
0.

  T
he

 T
ax

 D
iv

is
io

n 
ac

co
un

ts
 fo

r 
an

d 
re

po
rts

 re
ve

nu
e 

ba
se

d 
on

 re
ce

ip
t d

at
e 

of
 p

ay
m

en
ts

.  
C

or
po

ra
te

 ta
xp

ay
er

s 
ar

e 
re

qu
ire

d 
to

 m
ak

e 
es

tim
at

ed
 ta

x 
pa

ym
en

ts
 th

ro
ug

ho
ut

 th
e 

ye
ar

.  
Th

er
ef

or
e,

 
co

rp
or

at
e 

in
co

m
e 

ta
x 

re
ve

nu
e 

re
po

rte
d 

in
 F

ig
ur

e 
3 

an
d 

th
is

 fi
gu

re
 m

ay
 b

e 
di

ffe
re

nt
.  

Th
e 

di
ffe

re
nc

e 
be

tw
ee

n 
re

ve
nu

e 
re

po
rte

d 
in

 th
e 

tw
o 

fig
ur

es
 is

 d
ue

 p
rim

ar
ily

 to
 

es
tim

at
ed

 ta
x 

pa
ym

en
ts

 re
ce

iv
ed

 in
 a

 p
re

ce
di

ng
 o

r s
ub

se
qu

en
t fi

sc
al

 y
ea

r.



A
Alaska Tax Division 2010 Annual ReportProgram Detail 32

The dive fishery 
management 
assessment is 

currently imposed in 
Southeast Alaska only.

Dive Fishery Management 
Assessment 
AS 43.76.150

Description
The dive fishery management 
assessment is an elective 
assessment on the value of fisheries 
resources taken using dive gear. 
The assessment only applies to 
designated management areas and 
species, and is assessed at a rate 
elected by a vote of permit holders.

Rate
Southeast Alaska region commercial 
dive fishermen elected the following 
rates for the Southeast Alaska 
administrative area (Management 
Area A):

Geoduck	 7%
Sea Cucumber	 5%
Sea Urchin	 7%

Returns
Buyers file returns and pay tax 
quarterly. The due date is the last day 
of the month following the calendar 
quarter of purchase.

Buyers file returns for bonus 
payments made to fishermen after 
the close of the fishing season. 
Returns for these payments are due 
with additional taxes by the last day 
of the month following the bonus 
payment.

Fishermen selling to unlicensed 
buyers or exporting from the region 
file returns and pay taxes annually. 

The due date is March 31 following 
the year of sale or export.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all revenue 
derived from the dive fishery 
management assessment into the 
General Fund.

Under AS 43.76.200, the legislature 
may appropriate dive fishery 
management assessment revenue to 
the Department of Fish and Game for 
the purpose of funding the regional 
dive fishery development association.

History
1997 - The legislature enacted the 
dive fishery management assessment 
statute effective June 1997.

1999 - The Southeast Regional Dive 
Fishery Association elected a dive 
fishery management assessment 
on geoducks, sea cucumbers 
and sea urchins harvested in the 
Southeast Alaska administrative 
area (Management Area A). The 
assessment, effective April 1999, set 
rates of 5 percent for geoduck and sea 
cucumber and 7 percent for sea urchin.

2004 - The legislature authorized 
three additional rates: 2 percent, 
4 percent and 6 percent. Geoduck 
fishermen subsequently elected to 
increase the geoduck assessment to 
7 percent as of November 1, 2004.

2005 - The legislature authorized an 
annual filing due date of March 31 for 
dive fishermen who export or sell to 
unlicensed buyers, effective January 
1, 2005.

Tax Collections  $523,024        
Number of Returns 36
Number of Taxpayers 13
Program Cost $17,463
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.2

FY 2010 Statistics
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Electric Cooperative Tax
AS 10.25.555

Description
Alaska levies an electric cooperative 
tax on kilowatt-hours furnished 
by qualified electric cooperatives 
recognized under AS 10.25. 

Rate
The electric cooperative tax is 
based on a rate per kilowatt hour 
(kWh) and on the length of time the 
cooperative has furnished electricity 
to consumers as follows.

Returns
Electric cooperatives file calendar 
year returns that are due with 
payment before March 1 of the 
following year.

Exemptions
All qualified electric cooperatives 
are subject to the cooperative 
tax. Cooperatives pay the electric 
cooperative tax in lieu of corporate 
net income tax.

Length Rate Per kWh
Less than 5 years .25 mill
5 years or longer .5 mill

(1 mill = .1¢)

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all revenue 
derived from electric cooperative 
taxes into the General Fund. 

Electric cooperative taxes sourced 
from within municipalities are 
shared 100 percent to respective 
municipalities less the amount 
expended by the state in their 
collection. 

The state retains electric cooperative 
taxes sourced from outside of 
municipalities.

History
1959 - The legislature enacted the 
electric cooperative tax as part 
of the “Electric and Telephone 
Cooperative Act” which was adopted 
to promote cooperatives around the 
state. The due date for filing electric  
cooperative tax returns was April 1 of 
the following year.

1960 - The legislature changed the 
due date for paying taxes to March 1.

1980 - The legislature changed the 
tax base for calculating the electric 
cooperative tax from gross revenue 
to kilowatt-hours. The legislature 
adopted the current mill rates.

Tax Collections $2,038,375
Number of Returns 18
Number of Taxpayers 18
Program Cost $2,862
Staffing (full-time equivalent) <.1

FY 2010 Statistics

Note: Program Costs reflect the cost of the program. The amount retained by the state after 
sharing (Table 2) represents prior year costs and unshared tax collected in the current year 
outside an organized borough or incorporated city.

Electric cooperatives 
pay the electric 

cooperative tax in 
lieu of corporate net 

income tax.
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Estate Tax
AS 43.31

Description
Alaska levies an estate tax on the 
transfer of an estate upon death.

Rate
The Alaska estate tax is the amount 
of state credit allowed on the estate’s 
federal tax return. 

Returns
State returns are required only for 
estates of decedents whose date of 
death was before January 1, 2005, 
and the estate has a federal filing 
requirement. Estates of decedents 
whose date of death is January 1, 
2005 or later are not required to file a 
report.

Estate returns and tax payments are 
due 15 months from the decedent’s 
date of death.

The tax payment due date may be 
extended in one-year increments, not 
to exceed 5 years. Interest accrues 
on the amount of tax due during the 
extension period. The return filing 
due date may be extended for up to 
15 years.

Exemptions
Estates under $1.5 million were 
generally exempt from paying estate 
taxes prior to 2005, taking into 
consideration the estate tax credit 
(formerly the unified credit) allowed 
under the Internal Revenue Code. 

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all revenue 
derived from estate taxes into the 
General Fund.

History
1919 - The territorial legislature 
adopted a tax on inheritances and 
transfers of property from estates. 
Tax rates varied from 1 percent to 
17.5 percent of the property’s value.

1970 - The Alaska legislature 
enacted estate tax statutes currently 
in place. Estate tax statutes tie to the 
state credit allowed under Internal 
Revenue Code estate tax laws.

1991 - Interest on delinquent tax is 
subject to compound interest under 
AS 43.05.225.  

2001 - The federal Economic Growth 
and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act was 
enacted. As a consequence of the 
federal act, the state tax credit was 
phased out gradually over a four-year 
period. The state tax credit no longer 
applies to estates of decedents 
whose date of death is January 1, 
2005 or later. However, the division 
may continue to collect tax from 
estates for years prior to January 
1, 2005, as a result of returns 
filed, audits, or other enforcement 
activities.

The state tax credit 
upon which the 

Alaska state tax is 
based was phased out 
by federal law. The 

Alaska estate tax no 
longer applies to estates 
of decedents whose date 
of death is January 1, 

2005 or later.
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Fisheries Business Tax
AS 43.75

Description
Alaska levies a fisheries business 
tax (also known as the “raw fish 
tax”) on fisheries businesses and 
persons who process fisheries 
resources in or export unprocessed 
fisheries resources from Alaska. 
The tax is based on the price paid 
to commercial fishermen for the raw 
resource or fair market value when 
there is no arms length transaction 
prior to processing or export. The 
division collects fisheries business 
taxes from processors and persons 
who export unprocessed fishery 
resources from Alaska.

Rate
Fisheries business tax rates are 
based on the location and type of 
processing activity and whether 
a fishery resource is classified as 
“established” or “developing” by 
the Alaska Department of Fish and 
Game. Rates are as follows:

Processing Activity	

	
Returns
Fisheries businesses file calendar 
year returns that are due with 
payment on March 31 of the following 
year.

After filing the calendar year return, 
taxpayers file returns to report post-
season bonus payments made 

to fishermen. Returns for these 
payments are due with additional 
taxes by the last day of the month 
following the month of bonus 
payments.

Exclusion
Commercial fishermen who process 
fish on board their vessels are 
excluded from the tax if they sell to a 
licensed processor. 

Credits
Education - Taxpayers that 
contribute to accredited Alaska 
universities or colleges or vocational 
education programs for educational 
purposes may claim a tax credit for 
50 percent of the first $100,000 and 
100 percent of the next $100,000 
of contributions. The maximum 
credit is $150,000 for each tax year. 
Beginning January 1, 2011, the 
maximum education credit allowed is 
increased to $5 million.

Scholarship Contributions - Tax-
payers that contribute to the A.W. 
“Winn” Brindle memorial scholarship 
account may claim a tax credit for the 
amount of contribution not to exceed 
5 percent of their tax liability. 

Salmon Product Development - 
Taxpayers are allowed tax credits 
against the fisheries business tax on 
salmon for expenditures promoting 
the development of salmon 
products. The credit on salmon 
for expenditures promoting the 
development of salmon products was 
extended to December 31, 2015. 

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all revenue 
derived from the fisheries business 
tax into the General Fund. The 
legislature may appropriate revenue 
from the tax for revenue sharing 
described below.

Established  Rate
Floating 5%
Salmon Cannery 4.5%
Shore-based 3%

Developing Rate
Floating 3%
Shore-based 1%

The Fisheries Business 
Tax is Alaska’s 

oldest tax, enacted 
in 1899.
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Processing Activity Inside 
Municipality
The division shares 50 percent of 
tax collected with the incorporated 
city or organized borough in 
which the processing took place. 
If an incorporated city is within an 
organized borough, the division 
divides the (50 percent) shareable 
amount equally between the 
incorporated city and the organized 
borough.

Processing Activity Outside 
Municipality
The division shares 50 percent 
of tax collected from processing 
activities outside an incorporated city 
or an organized borough through 
an allocation program administered 
by the Department of Commerce, 
Community and Economic 
Development. 

History
1899 - the U.S. Congress adopted a 
“salmon case” tax to fund fisheries-
related activities in pre-territorial 
Alaska. The Organic Act passed 
in 1912 established an organized 
territorial government in Alaska. In 
1913, the First Territorial Legislature 
adopted the “salmon pack” tax which 
applied to salmon canneries based 
on canned salmon (7¢ per case); and 
the “cold storage” tax which applied 
to other fisheries and was based on 
business receipts. Between 1913 
and 1949, the legislature amended 
the tax several times by changing tax 
rates and expanding the tax base to 
include different fisheries.

1949 - The territorial legislature 
restructured the fisheries business 
tax to be based on value of the 
fisheries rather than volumes (case 
or business receipts). The new 
“raw fish” tax applied to salmon (4 
percent), crab and clams (2 percent), 
and other fishery products (1 percent) 
processed in canneries. 

1951 - The territorial legislature 
enacted a fishery business license 
requirement with a $25 license fee, 
a tax on floating processors at 4 
percent of value and increased the 
tax rate for salmon canneries to 6 
percent.

1962 - The legislature adopted 
provisions for sharing taxes (10 
percent) and requiring calendar year 
returns for all businesses.

1967 - The tax rate on salmon 
canneries was amended to 3 
percent and provisions were adopted 
requiring security for a fishery 
business license under certain 
conditions. 

1979 - The legislature adopted the 
modern tax structure with different tax 
rates for established and developing 
species, as well as increasing the 
shared tax percentage to 20 percent.

1981 - The shared tax percentage 
was increased to 50 percent.

1986 - The legislature authorized a 
fisheries business tax credit of up 
to 50 percent of fisheries business 
taxes for capital expenditures 
associated with constructing and 
improving shore-side processing 
operations. The tax credit program 
was effective for 1987 through 
1989 with a carryforward provision 
through 1991. Taxpayers claimed 
approximately $47.5 million of credits 
under this program. The legislature 
also enacted the A.W. “Winn” Brindle 
scholarship credit allowing a credit of 
up to 5 percent of fisheries business 
taxes due.

1987 - The legislature enacted the 
Alaska education tax credit program 
allowing a tax credit on educational 
contributions of up to $100,000 
against fisheries business taxes due.

50% of the fisheries 
business tax collected 

is shared with 
incorporated cities 
and/or organized 

boroughs.
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1990 - The legislature enacted 
provisions for a civil penalty for 
processing without a license. The 
division may progressively assess 
penalties in increments of up to 
$5,000 for each infraction to a 
maximum of $25,000 for the fifth 
and subsequent assessments. The 
legislature also enacted a provision 
that authorized sharing of 50 percent 
of taxes sourced from processing 
activities in the unorganized borough, 
effective July 1992.

1991 - The legislature restructured 
the Alaska education credit and 
increased the maximum amount to 
$150,000.

1995 - The legislature reduced the 
amount of surety bonding for small 
processors from $10,000 to $2,000. 

2001 - The legislature modified the 
tax payment security requirements 
necessary to obtain a fisheries 
business tax license. The legislature 
expanded the existing requirement 
for a whole-salmon exporter 
to include any exporter of any 
unprocessed fisheries resource. 
Under the legislation, exporters 
of unprocessed fish can obtain a 
fisheries business license by posting 
a $50,000 surety bond and paying 
their taxes monthly.

2002 - The legislature authorized 
credits of up to 50 percent for 
contributions of not more than 
$100,000 and 75 percent of the next 
$100,000 in contributions made 
to the Alaska Veterans’ Memorial 
Endowment Fund. The tax credit 
expired July 1, 2003. 

2003 - The legislature authorized 
a Salmon Product Development/
Utilization (SPDU) Credit that allows 
tax credits against fisheries business 
taxes for expenditures promoting the 
value added processing of salmon 
products and the utilization of salmon 
waste in Alaska. The amount of the 
tax credit cannot exceed 50 percent 

of the taxpayer’s fisheries business 
liability for processing of salmon 
during the tax year. 

Effective June 11, 2003 and 
retroactive to January 1, 2003, the 
SPDU legislation sunsetted on 
December 31, 2005. Unused credits 
earned may be carried forward for 
three years.

The legislature authorized monthly 
payment of the fisheries taxes in 
lieu of existing forms of security or 
prepayment as a prerequisite to 
being licensed. Fisheries businesses 
that elect the monthly payment option 
must post a $50,000 bond or have 
$100,000 equity in real property 
in the state. The provisions of this 
legislation took effect September 8, 
2003.

2004 - Legislation authorized a new 
Direct Marketing Fisheries Business 
License and tax structure set at the 
shore based rate of 1 percent of the 
value of developing fish species and 
3 percent of the value of established 
fish species. The provisions of this 
legislation took effect January 1, 2005.

2005 - Effective May 18, 2005, 
the legislature modified the surety 
and tax payment requirements 
for obtaining a fisheries business 
license. The legislature reduced the 
amount of surety bonding for small 
primary fish buyers from $10,000 to 
$2,000. The legislation also added 
requisites for obtaining a fisheries 
business license; before being issued 
a license, a fisheries business must 
have fully paid (including penalties 
and interest) taxes administered by 
the Tax Division, seafood marketing 
assessments, employment security 
contributions, OSHA penalties, and 
municipal fishery taxes.

2006 - The legislature extended 
the Salmon Product Development 
Credit for expenditures made through 
December 31, 2008. The Salmon 
Utilization Credit was not extended.

The Alaska 
Legislature extended 
the Salmon Product 
Development credit 

in 2010 to end in 
December 2015.
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January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by state 
operated vocational education schools 
and two or four-year colleges.  The 
increase in the credit from $150,000 to 
$5 million expires December 31, 2013.  
On January 1, 2014, the maximum 
credit allowed will revert to $150,000.

The legislature enacted legislation 
extending the salmon product 
development tax credit program by 
four years. The legislation extended 
the last date for placing qualified 
property in service from December 
31, 2011 to December 31, 2015. 
The legislation expanded the list 
of qualified property to include ice 
making machines.

The legislature enacted legislation 
authorizing the department to withhold 
or suspend a fisheries business 
license if a fisheries business fails to 
pay the permit buyback fee imposed 
by the National Marine Fisheries 
Service under 16 U.S.C. 1861a.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 
secondary level vocational courses 
and programs by a school district 
in Alaska and by a state-operated 
vocational technical education and 
training school. 

The legislature enacted legislation 
to extend the salmon product 
development tax credit program by 
three years.  The legislation extended 
the ending date for placing specified 
property in service to qualify for the 
credit from December 31, 2008 to 
December 31, 2011.  This legislation 
expanded the list of qualified 
property to include conveyors used 
for producing value-added salmon 
products and requires that the 
Department of Revenue develop 
and implement procedures for pre-
determining if investments qualify for 
the salmon product development tax 
credit.

2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 

FY 2010 Statistics
Fisheries Business Tax
Tax Collections and License Fees $31,945,400
Including penalties, interest and credits. 

Fisheries Business Licenses Issued Online Paper Total
Direct Marketer 194 38 232
Shore-based 146 11 157
Catch/Processor 56 4 60
Floating 36 0 36
Cannery 26 0 26
Exporter 8 1 9

Total 466        54        520      
Number of Returns 641
Number of Taxpayers 472
Program Cost $600,038
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 5.7

90% of the fisheries 
business licenses issued 
for 2010 were applied 

for online.
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Fishery Resource Landing 
Tax
AS 43.77

Description
Alaska levies a fishery resource 
landing tax on fishery resources 
processed outside and first landed in 
Alaska, based on the unprocessed 
value of the resource. The 
unprocessed value is determined 
by multiplying a statewide average 
price per pound (derived from Alaska 
Department of Fish and Game data) 
by the unprocessed weight. 

Alaska collects the fishery resource 
landing tax primarily from factory 
trawlers and floating processors 
that process fishery resources 
outside of the state’s 3-mile limit and 
bring their products into Alaska for 
transshipment.

Rate
Tax rates are based on whether the 
resource is classified as “established” 
or “developing” by the Alaska 
Department of Fish and Game. Tax 
rates are:

Returns
Taxpayers file returns and pay tax 
on a calendar year basis with a due 
date of March 31 of the following 
year. Taxpayers are required to make 
quarterly estimated tax payments 
that are due on the last day of each 
calendar quarter.

The division grants an automatic 
extension to file the landing return if it 
does not provide statewide average 
prices to taxpayers at least 30 days 
prior to the due date. If the extension 
applies, the due date is the last day 
of the month following the month in 
which the division issues statewide 
average prices. 

Exemptions
Unprocessed fishery resources 
landed in the state are exempt from 
the fishery resource landing tax, 
although they may be subject to the 
fisheries business tax.

Credits
Education - Taxpayers that 
contribute to accredited Alaska 
universities or colleges or vocational 
education programs for educational 
purposes may claim a tax credit for 
50 percent of the first $100,000 and 
100 percent of the next $100,000 
of contributions. The maximum 
credit is $150,000 for each tax year. 
Beginning January 1, 2011, the 
maximum education credit allowed is 
increased to $5 million.

Scholarship Contributions - Tax-
payers that contribute to the A.W. 
“Winn” Brindle memorial scholarship 
account may claim a tax credit for the 
amount of contributions not to exceed 
5 percent of their tax liability. 

CDQ - Taxpayers that harvest a 
fishery resource under a community 
development quota (CDQ) may 
claim a credit of up to 45.45 percent 
of fishery resource landing taxes 
for contributions to Alaska nonprofit 
corporations that are dedicated 
to fisheries industry-related 
expenditures. 

Other Taxes - Taxpayers that paid 
taxes on fishery resources to another 
jurisdiction may claim a credit against 
the fishery resource landing tax. The 
credit, equal to the amount of taxes 
paid in the other jurisdiction, may not 
exceed the fishery resource landing 
tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all revenue 
from the fishery resource landing 
tax into the General Fund. The 
legislature may appropriate revenue 
from the tax for revenue sharing as 
described below.

Classification Rate
Established 3%
Developing 1%

The majority of fishery 
resource landing tax 
revenues are derived 
from fish processed in 
the Bering Sea and 

landed in Unalaska.
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Landings Inside Municipality
The division shares 50 percent 
of taxes from landings within a 
municipality with the respective 
municipalities in which landings 
occurred. If a municipality is within a 
borough, the division divides the (50 
percent) shareable amount between 
the municipality and borough. 

Landings Outside Municipality
The division shares 50 percent of 
the taxes from landings outside 
a municipality (unorganized 
borough) through an allocation 
program administered by the 
Alaska Department of Commerce, 
Community and Economic 
Development.

History
1993 - The legislature enacted the 
fishery resource landing tax effective 
January 1994. The rate was 3.3 
percent of the unprocessed value 
of the resource. The Department 
of Revenue adopted regulations 
regarding administration of the tax, 
effective April 1994. 

1994 - The American Factory Trawler 
Association (AFTA) filed litigation 
challenging the constitutionality of the 
landing tax.

1995 - The Alaska Supreme Court 
rejected AFTA’s request based 
on AFTA’s failure to exhaust 
administrative remedies with the 
Department of Revenue.

1996 - The landing tax was 
restructured to mirror the fisheries 
business tax program. The legislature 
revised the tax rate to 3 percent for 
established species and 1 percent 
for developing species. The 0.3 
percent portion of the previous 3.3 
percent tax rate was incorporated 
into seafood marketing assessment 
statutes (AS 16.51). The legislature 
also amended the landing tax 

statutes to provide for tax credits for 
education and A.W. “Winn” Brindle 
scholarship contributions. All changes 
were retroactive to January 1994, the 
inception date of the landing tax.

1997 - AFTA dismissed its 
challenge to the landing tax and 
in June, the state issued a formal 
hearing decision upholding the 
constitutionality of the tax. Shared 
tax amounts from calendar year 
1994 and 1995 returns, previously 
held in escrow, were released to 
municipalities. 

1999 - The American Fisheries Act 
(P.L. 105-277) required a fishery 
cooperative to execute a contract 
with each cooperative member that 
obligated the member to make a 
payment to the state for pollock 
harvested in the Alaska pollock 
fishery that is not landed in Alaska. 
AS 43.77.015 required that those 
payments be treated as if they were 
landing taxes.

2001 - The legislature amended 
landing tax statutes to require 
quarterly payment of estimated 
fishery resource landing taxes, 
effective calendar year 2002.

2002 - The legislature authorized 
credits of up to 50 percent for 
contributions of not more than 
$100,000 and 75 percent of the next 
$100,000 in contributions made 
to the Alaska Veterans’ Memorial 
Endowment Fund. The tax credit 
expired July 1, 2003.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 
secondary level vocational courses 
and programs by a school district 
in Alaska and by a state-operated 
vocational technical education and 
training school.

50% of the fishery 
resource landing tax 

collected is shared 
with incorporated 

cities and/or organized 
boroughs.
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2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 
schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000.

Tax Collections $12,552,075
Including penalties, interest and credits.

Number of Returns 63
Number of Taxpayers 48

Program Cost $166,679
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 1.7

FY 2010 Statistics

Pollock and pacific 
cod are the two highest 
value fisheries reported 
by landing taxpayers.
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Reports
The division requires the following 
reports:
•• Municipalities and qualified 

organizations file quarterly 
reports that are due the 45th day 
following each calendar quarter 
in which the permittee had gross 
receipts of $50,000 or more.

•• Permittees file annual reports on a 
calendar year basis, accompanied 
with payment of the additional fee, 
if required under AS 05.15.020(b), 
by March 15th of the following 
year. Under this statute, if the 
gross receipts for the activities 
were $20,000 or more, an 
additional fee of 1 percent of the 
net proceeds received during the 
preceding year is due.

•• Operators and multiple-
beneficiary permittees file 
quarterly reports that are due on 
the last business day of the month 
following each calendar quarter. 
Annual reports for the calendar 
year are due no later than 
February 28 of the following year.  
(See below for explanation of the 
multiple-beneficiary permit.)

•• Operators are required to submit 
a report to permittees monthly. 
The report must include a daily 
summary of activity conducted 
under the permit and an 
accounting of gross receipts, 
expenses and net proceeds for 
the month. 

•• Pull-tab manufacturers must 
report by the last business day of 
the month on each series of pull-
tabs distributed in the preceding 
month.

•• Distributors must collect a tax 
of 3 percent of an amount equal 
to the gross receipts less prizes 
awarded on each series of pull-
tabs distributed. Distributors must 
report by the last business day of 
each month each pull-tab series 
distributed in the preceding month 
and pay the taxes collected.

Gaming
AS 05.15

Description
Under Alaska law, municipalities and 
qualified nonprofit organizations may 
conduct certain gaming activities. 
The purpose of these activities is to 
derive public benefit in the form of 
money for nonprofits and revenues 
for the state. 

To ensure that the appropriate level 
of public benefit is being derived, 
the division performs the following: 
1) issues permits to nonprofits; 2) 
licenses all operators and pull-tab 
distributors and manufacturers; 3) 
collects fees and taxes; 4) audits 
various permittees and licensees; 
5) inspects gaming locations; and 
6) investigates complaints.  The 
division also provides education and 
orientation information to the public 
and to prospective permittees and 
licensees.

Rate
Annual permit and license fees for 
games of chance and contests of 
skill are as follows.

Permits
•• $20 if an applicant did not have a 

permit during the preceding year
•• $20 if an applicant had gaming 

gross receipts of less than 
$20,000 during the preceding 
year

•• $50 if an applicant had gaming 
gross receipts of $20,000 or 
more but not exceeding $100,000 
during the preceding year

•• $100 if an applicant had gaming 
gross receipts exceeding 
$100,000 during the preceding 
year

Licenses
•• $500 for an operator license
•• $1,000 for a pull-tab distributor 

license
•• $2,500 for a pull-tab manufacturer 

license

Municipalities and 
qualified nonprofits 
may conduct certain 

gaming activities that 
benefit nonprofits in 

Alaska. 
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Exemptions
There are no exemptions that apply 
to gaming.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits permit and 
license fees, net proceeds fees and 
pull-tab taxes into the General Fund.

History
1960 - The legislature legalized 
gaming and gave oversight for all 
gaming activities to the Department 
of Revenue. 

1984 - The Department authorized 
pull-tabs.

1988 - The legislature legalized 
operators. Pull-tabs legalized 
by statute, and prize limits are 
increased. 

1989 - Under Administrative Order, 
gaming functions transferred to 
the Department of Commerce, 
Community and Economic 
Development.

1993 - Under Administrative Order, 
gaming functions transferred to the 
Department of Revenue.

HB 168 significantly changed 
various aspects of the statutes 
governing charitable gaming in 
Alaska. Third-party vendors were 
brought under statutory control 
which allows permittees to contract 
with them directly to sell pull-tabs 
and the Department was authorized 
to issue Multiple-Beneficiary 
Permits (MBP). MBPs enable two 
to six permittees to conduct gaming 
activities jointly. Minimum payments 
increased from 15 percent to 30 
percent of adjusted gross income 
for pull-tab games and require a 
minimum of 10 percent of adjusted 
gross income for all other activities.

1995 - The legislature legalized 
cruise ship gambling activities in 
Alaska waters during the 1995 

season. The gaming statutes 
required that cruise ships pay a 
fee to game in Alaska, and this 
generated more than $500,000 
in State revenue during the 1995 
season. This law expired after 
1995. Additionally, the legislature  
eliminated Monte Carlo nights.

1996 - The legislature authorized 
three new gaming activities – “Sled 
Dog Race Classic,” “Deep Freeze 
Classic” and “Snow Machine 
Classic.” The legislature also 
created the McGrath Kuskokwim 
River Ice Classic and the Creamer’s 
Field Goose Classic. The legislature 
prohibited the donation of net 
proceeds from pull-tabs and bingo 
activities to registered lobbyists and 
certain political organizations.

2001 -  The legislature added the 
Bristol Bay Native Corporation 
Education Foundation to the list of 
qualified organizations allowed to 
conduct “salmon classic” games of 
chance, effective January 1, 2002. 

The Alaska Supreme Court in 
Botehlo v. Griffin, 25 P3d at 693 
ruled that “Alaska’s gaming laws 
create the effective equivalent 
of a charitable trust” by requiring 
a portion of the money spent 
on gaming to benefit the public 
generally.

2002 - Effective January 1, 2003, 
the legislature added the Boys and 
Girls Club of the Kenai Peninsula 
to the list of qualified organizations 
allowed to conduct “mercury classic” 
games of chance.

2003 - Effective January 1, 2005, 
the legislature allows a permittee 
that conducts a contest of skill 
and awards more than $500,000 
in prizes to the participants in 
that contest of skill, to exclude 
$500,000 in prizes awarded to those 
participants from the $1,000,000 
maximum prize limitation. 
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2008 - The legislature authorized 
broadcasting for dog mushers’ 
contests, charitable raffles and 
lotteries (in addition to fish derbies 
and classics that were previously 
authorized for broadcasting).  The 
legislation recognizes the cabbage 
classic at the Giant Cabbage Weigh-
off at the Alaska State Fair in Palmer 
operated by the Palmer Rotary Club 
as an authorized gaming activity.  
The legislation also raised the 
maximum award of non-bingo prizes 
that a permittee may award each 
year in self-conducted (without an 
operator) gaming activity from $1 
million to $2 million.  The legislation 
took effect July 18, 2008.

2004 - The legislature authorized 
the Department of Revenue to issue 
permits for animal classic games, 
providing the animal classic was 
in existence prior to November 1, 
2002, effective July 25, 2004.  

2005 - The legislature authorized 
the Department of Revenue to 
issue permits for two new games of 
chance – ”Calcutta pools” (related 
to amateur and professional 
sporting events) and a “crane 
classic” (the best guess of the time 
of arrival of the first Sandhill Crane 
to a particular place), effective 
September 5, 2005.

Taxes and Fees Collected $2,609,282
Program Cost $1,289,095
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 10.5

Applications* Online Paper Total
Permittees 427 745 1,172
Operators N/A 26 26
Multiple-beneficiary Permittees 5 13 18
Distributors 6 5 11
Manufacturers 8 1 9
Total Applications 446 790 1,236
N/A - Online application not available

Reports
Permittees 2,510
Operators 125
Multiple-beneficiary Permittees 79
Distributors 109
Manufacturers 82
Total Reports 2,905

FY 2010 Statistics

* Based on a calendar year.  
(Looking for all applications received during calendar year 2009)
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The first year of 
LPV gambling tax 

collections was in FY 
2008.  

Large Passenger Vessel 
(LPV) Gambling Tax
AS 43.35

Description
Alaska imposes a tax on adjusted 
gross income of gambling activities 
aboard large passenger vessels 
in the state.  Gambling activities 
include the use of playing cards, 
dice, roulette wheels, coin-operated 
instruments or machines, or other 
objects or instruments used for 
gaming or gambling, and any other 
gambling activities aboard large 
passenger vessels in Alaska.  The 
tax is imposed on the operator of 
gaming or gambling activities.

Rate
The large passenger vessel 
gambling tax rate is 33% of adjusted 
gross income.  Adjusted gross 
income means gross income less 
prizes awarded and federal and 
municipal taxes paid or owed on the 
income.  

Returns
Operators of gaming and gambling 
activities on large passenger vessels 
file calendar year returns that are 
due April 15 of the following year.  

Exemptions
There are no exemptions for the 
LPV gambling tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all proceeds 
from the LPV gambling tax into 
the Commercial Vessel Passenger 
(CVP) tax account in the general 
fund.  

History
2006 - The LPV gambling tax was 
enacted by 2006 Primary Election 
Ballot Measure No. 2.  The measure 
was approved by voters at the 
primary election of August 26, 2006.  
The results of the election were 
certified September 18, 2006 and 
the initiative’s provisions became 
effective December 17, 2006.  

2010 - The legislature created the 
“large passenger vessel gaming 
and gambling tax account” as a 
subaccount of the CVP tax account 
and directs all proceeds from the 
LPV Gambling tax to be deposited in 
this new account.

Tax Collections $6,312,053
Number of Returns 9
Number of Taxpayers 7

Program Cost $61,021
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.5

FY 2010 Statistics
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Mining License Tax
AS 43.65

Description
Alaska levies a mining license 
tax on mining net income and 
royalties received in connection with 
mining properties and activities in 
Alaska. The Tax Division collects 
mining license taxes primarily from 
businesses engaged in coal and 
hard rock mining.

Rates

Returns
Mining licensees file annual returns 
based on the mining business’ fiscal 
year. Calendar year returns and 
payment of tax are due April 30; 
fiscal year returns and payment are 
due before the first day of the fifth 
month after the close of the fiscal 
year.

Exemptions
Except for sand and gravel 
operations, new mining operations 
are exempt from the mining license 
tax for a period of 3½ years after 
production begins.

Credits
Education - Taxpayers that 
contribute to accredited Alaska 
universities or colleges or vocational 
education programs for educational 
purposes may claim a tax credit for 
50 percent of the first $100,000 and 

100 percent of the next $100,000 
of contributions. The maximum 
credit is $150,000 for each tax year. 
Beginning January 1, 2011, the 
maximum education credit allowed 
is increased to $5 million.

Minerals Exploration Incen-
tive - Taxpayers may claim a credit 
for eligible costs of exploration 
activities related to determining 
existence, location, extent, or 
quality of a locatable mineral or coal 
deposit. An approved exploration 
incentive credit may not exceed 
$20 million and must be applied 
within 15 tax years after the credit is 
approved. Application of the credit 
is limited to the lesser of 50 percent 
of the person’s mining license 
tax liability related to the mining 
operation for which eligible mining 
costs were incurred or 50 percent of 
the person’s total mining license tax 
liability for all mining operations.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits revenue 
from the mining license tax into 
the General Fund. Payments 
received after a tax assessment are 
deposited into the Constitutional 
Budget Reserve Fund (CBRF).

History
The mining license tax dates back to 
1913 and the legislature restructured 
it several times over the years. The 
original mining license tax, enacted 
in 1913, imposed a 0.5 percent tax 
on mining net income  of more than 
$5,000. There was no tax on net 
income less than $5,000.

1915 - The territorial legislature 
increased the tax rate to 1 percent. 
The tax-free net income base 
remained at $5,000.

1927 - The tax-free net income 
base was increased to $10,000 and 
a three-tier tax rate structure was 
adopted with rates ranging from 

Mining Net Income Rate
$0 - $40,000 No Tax
$40,001 - $50,000 $1,200 plus 

3% over 
$40,000

$50,001 - $100,000 $1,500 plus 
5% over 
$50,000

Over $100,000 $4,000 plus 
7% over 

$100,000

The mining license 
tax structure adopted 
in 1955 is still in place 

today.
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1 percent to 1.75 percent for net 
income of more than $1 million.

1935 - The territorial legislature 
restructured the tax to an eight-tier 
tax structure with rates ranging from 
0.75 percent to 4 percent for net 
income of more than $1 million. The 
legislature decreased tax-free net 
income to $5,000.

1937 - The tax-free net income base 
was eliminated and all net income 
was subject to tax. A nine-tier tax 
structure was adopted with tax 
rates ranging from 0.75 percent to 8 
percent for net income of more than 
$1 million.

1947 - The mining license tax was 
restructured by reinstating a tax-
free net income base of $1,000 
and restructuring the tax rates to a 
five-tier structure with rates ranging 
from 4 percent to 8 percent for net 
income of more than $100,000.

1951 - The legislature authorized a 
3½ year exemption for new mining 
operations. This exemption does 
not apply to sand and gravel mining 
operations.

1953 - The tax-free net income base 
was increased to $10,000 and rates 
changed to range from 3 percent 
to 7 percent for net income of more 
than $100,000.

1955 - The rate structure as it exists 
today was adopted.

1987 - The Alaska education tax 
credit program was enacted allowing 
for a tax credit up to $100,000.

1991 - The Alaska education credit 
was restructured and the maximum 
amount was increased to $150,000.

1995 - The legislature authorized the 
minerals exploration incentive credit. 
The credit is limited to $20 million 
and taxpayers may apply the credit 
against 50 percent of mining license 
liabilities over a 15-year period.

2002 - The legislature authorized 
credits of up to 50 percent for 
contributions of not more than 
$100,000 and 75 percent of the next 
$100,000 in contributions made 
to the Alaska Veterans’ Memorial 
Endowment Fund. The tax credit 
expired July 1, 2003.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to 
include cash contributions accepted 
for secondary level vocational 
courses and programs by a school 
district in Alaska and by a state-
operated vocational technical 
education and training school.

2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 
and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 
schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000.
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Tax Collections
General Fund $29,676,984
Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund          48,116
Total $29,725,100

Number of Returns 671

Number of Taxpayers 470

Program Cost $763,558
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 6.8

FY 2010 Statistics
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Motor Fuel Tax
AS 43.40

Description
Alaska levies a motor fuel tax on 
motor fuel sold, transferred or 
used within Alaska. The division 
collects motor fuel taxes primarily 
from wholesalers and distributors 
that hold “qualified dealer” licenses 
issued by the division.

Rates 

    
Returns
Taxpayers file returns and make 
payment monthly. There are four 
separate returns: diesel, gasoline, 
aviation and gasohol.

The due date is the last day of the 
month following the month of sale or 
taxable use. Taxpayers may deduct 
1 percent of the tax due, limited to 
a maximum of $100 per return, as a 
credit for timely filing.

Refunds
6¢ per gallon is refundable if fuel is 
used in a vehicle off-highway.

Consumers may claim a refund for 
the full tax rate if the consumer paid 
the full tax rate at purchase and then 
used the fuel for exempt purposes.  
Consumers may also claim a partial 
refund of the tax if a lesser rate was 
paid at purchase or if the consumer 
used the fuel for partially exempt 
purposes.

Resellers, usually retailers, may 
claim a refund for the full tax if the 
reseller paid the tax, and then sold 

the fuel for exempt use and did not 
collect the tax. 

Exemptions
In addition to sales between 
qualified dealers, the following sales 
and use are exempt from motor fuel 
tax:
•• Heating
•• Federal, state and local 

government agencies
•• Foreign flights (jet fuel)
•• Exports
•• Power plants/utilities
•• Charitable institutions
•• Bunker fuel (residual fuel oil or #6 

fuel oil) 

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits revenue 
derived from motor fuel taxes into 
the General Fund. Revenue from 
each category of fuel is accounted 
for separately in the division’s tax 
accounting system. For example, 
proceeds from tax on motor fuel 
used in boats and watercraft are 
deposited in a special watercraft 
fuel tax account and proceeds from 
tax on motor fuel used in highway 
vehicles are deposited in a special 
highway fuel tax account within the 
General Fund.

The division shares with the 
respective municipalities 60 percent 
of taxes attributable to aviation 
fuel sales at municipally owned or 
operated airports. All other proceeds 
of the taxes on aviation fuel are 
deposited into a special aviation fuel 
tax account.

History
The motor fuel tax dates back to 
1945 when the legislature imposed a 
tax of 1¢ per gallon on all motor fuel. 
Over time, the legislature enacted 
separate tax rates for each of the 
fuel categories as they exist today. 
Motor fuel tax rates have changed 
as follows:	
		

Fuel Type Rate per 
Gallon

Highway  8¢
Marine 5¢
Aviation Gasoline 4.7¢
Jet Fuel 3.2¢

The motor fuel tax 
dates back to 1945 

when the legislature 
imposed a tax of 1¢ per 

gallon on all motor 
fuel. 
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1994 - The legislature enacted a 
tax decrease for bunker fuel. The 
tax rate decreases from 5¢ to 1¢ 
per gallon on bunker fuel sales 
exceeding 4.1 million gallons. The 
tax decrease expired on June 30, 
1998.

1997 - The legislature repealed the 
gasohol exemption. The legislature 
enacted a provision that reduces 
the tax on gasohol from 8¢ to 2¢ 
per gallon in areas and at times 
when the use of gasohol is required. 
However, gasohol has not been 
required since the winter of 2002-
2003 and gasohol is currently taxed 
at the full tax rate of 8¢. 

Legislation was also passed that 
fully exempted gasohol blended with 
at least 10 percent alcohol derived 
from wood or seafood waste. This 
legislation expired on June 30, 2004.

The legislature expanded the 
foreign flight exemption to include 
flights originating from foreign 
countries in addition to the existing 
exemption for flights with a foreign 
destination. This legislation included 
a permanent exemption for bunker 
fuel (residual fuel oil known as #6 
fuel oil) which nullified the 1994 
bunker fuel tax rate reduction.

1998 - The legislature authorized 
taxpayers to take a “bad debt” credit 
for sales deemed to be worthless 
and for sales to persons who file 
bankruptcy. This provision expired 
July 1, 2008.

2003 - The legislature enacted 
legislation that made it easier for the 
state to issue motor fuel excise tax 
refunds for credit card purchases 
made by federal, state and local 
government agencies.
	
2004 - The provision that exempted 
gasohol blended with at least 10 
percent alcohol derived from wood 
or seafood waste from the motor 

Highway Rate Per 
Gallon

1945 1¢
1947 2¢
1955 5¢
1960 7¢
1961 8¢
1964 7¢
1970 8¢

Gasohol Rate Per 
Gallon

1997 8¢ / 2¢
(2¢ November through 

February where required)

Marine Rate Per 
Gallon

1945 1¢
1947 2¢
1955 5¢
1957 2¢
1960 3¢
1971 4¢
1977 5¢

Aviation 
Gasoline

Rate Per 
Gallon

1945 1¢
1947 2¢
1955 3¢
1968 4¢
1994 4.7¢

Jet Fuel Rate Per 
Gallon

1957 1.5¢
1968 2.5¢
1994 3.2¢
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Tax Collections
Highway $23,427,554
Marine Fuel 2,092,010
Jet Fuel 2,947,084
Aviation Gasoline 337,014
Penalties & Interest        30,358
Total Receipts 28,834,020
Less Aviation Fuel Tax Shared    (130,566)
Total Amount Retained by State $28,703,454

Motor Fuel Type Gallons
Highway 410,663,471
Marine Fuel 92,965,386
Jet Fuel 114,968,619
Aviation Gasoline 12,345,961
Gasohol 0

** Gallons noted may not compute if calculated as: Gallons X Tax Rate = Tax Collected
Gallons are recorded on the tax return and calculated based on the return tax period, 
whereas tax collections are calculated based on the amount received within a time 
period and may include payments or refunds from a previous tax period.

Number of Returns 2,977
Number of Taxpayers 176

Program Cost $533,986
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 5.4

FY 2010 Statistics

fuel tax expired on June 30, 2004.  
Currently all gasohol is taxed at the 
rate of 8 cents per gallon.

2008 - In special session, the 
legislature suspended the motor 
fuel tax on all fuel types effective 
September 1, 2008 through August 

31, 2009.  Motor fuel distributors 
were required to file monthly reports 
of all fuel sales during the period of 
suspension.

2009 - The motor fuel tax was 
reinstated effective September 1, 
2009
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Oil Conservation 
Surcharges
AS 43.55.201/300

Description
Conservation surcharges apply to 
all oil production in Alaska and are 
in addition to oil and gas production 
taxes.  Surcharges apply to each 
barrel of oil produced in the state 
less any oil the ownership or right to 
which is exempt from taxation.

Rate and Disposition of 
Revenue
Each taxable barrel of oil is subject to 
the following two surcharges:
•	Conservation Surcharge (AS 
43.55.201) of $.01 per barrel.  
Revenue derived from this 
surcharge may be appropriated 
to the response account in the oil 
and hazardous substance release 
prevention and response fund.

•	Additional Conservation Surcharge 
(AS 43.55.300) or $.04 per 
barrel.  Revenue derived from 
this additional surcharge may 

be appropriated to the oil and 
hazardous substance release 
prevention account in the oil and 
hazardous substance release 
prevention and response fund.

History
1989 - Following the grounding of the 
Exxon Valdez, this tax was enacted 
in order to provide a hazardous 
substance release emergency 
fund. A $.05/bbl hazardous release 
surcharge is imposed on oil 
production until the newly created 
hazardous substance release fund 
achieves a balance of $50 million.

1994 - The hazardous release 
surcharge is modified to the so-called 
“split nickel” with an ongoing charge 
of $.03/bbl and an additional charge 
of $.02/bbl whenever the hazardous 
substance release fund balance falls 
below $50 million.

2006 - The legislature set the 
Conservation Surcharge rate at 
$.01 per barrel and the Additional 
Conservation Surcharge rate at $.04 
per barrel.

The Oil conservation 
surcharge revenues 
fund a hazardous 
substance release 
emergency fund.

Tax Collections $10,318,732
Number of Returns*
Number of Taxpayers*

FY 2010 Statistics

* The Oil Conservation Surcharge is reported on the same return and by the same taxpayers 
as is Alaska’s, Oil and Gas Production Tax (AS 43.55). The division has not segregated 
program cost and staffing related to each individual tax. The division reports the total 
production tax cost and staffing in the Oil and Gas Production Tax section.
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Oil and Gas Production 
Tax
AS 43.55

Description
Alaska levies an annual tax on oil 
and gas production tax value derived 
from production activities in the state.

The legislature amended oil and gas 
production tax statutes in a special 
session that ended November 2007 
that culminated in the passage of 
Alaska’s Clear and Equitable Share 
(ACES).

Like the PPT legislation enacted in 
2006, ACES tax is levied on the pro-
duction tax value of oil and gas pro-
duction. ACES continues to authorize 
credits for certain losses and capital 
expenditures, exploration activities, 
prior year investments and “small” 
producers, as the PPT did. However, 
ACES amended the rate and timing 
of some of these credits and en-
hanced certain credits to further en-
courage investments in Alaska.

The ACES tax also subjects legacy 
fields Prudhoe Bay and Kuparuk to 
a standard deduction for lease op-
erating expenditures.  The standard 
deduction amount is based on 2006 
operating expenditures reported by 
respective companies with a 3 per-
cent per year inflation component.  
The standard deduction provision 
expired December 31, 2009.

With regard to administrative chang-
es, ACES requires more thorough re-
porting from companies.  Taxpayers 
are required to report volumes and 
expenditures used to calculate their 
estimated monthly installment pay-
ments.  Annually, on March 31, tax-
payers submit tax filings that “true up” 
any tax liabilities or overpayments 
made throughout the year.  At the 
same time, they also submit an an-
nual information report.

The ACES legislation provides for 
audit masters who are exempt from 
the state classified pay scale.  In FY 
2009, the division employed three 
audit masters in the oil and gas 
production tax group.  The law also 
extended the length of time the audi-
tors have to complete production tax 
audits from three to six years.  The 
department expects that these two 
provisions will enable the state to be 
more thorough in its audits of oil and 
gas production tax returns.

The majority of the ACES tax is ret-
roactive to July 1, 2007, although 
some provisions are retroactive to 
the implementation of the PPT (April 
1, 2006). One section of the law, 
impacting tax credits for exploration, 
was effective July 1, 2008. Section 
AS 43.55.028 and related citations 
were effective January 1, 2008.

Work on regulations began 
December 2007 and is on-going. The 
division has implemented regulations 
regarding: the calculation of prevail-
ing value for gas produced from the 
North Slope; taxpayers’ monthly infor-
mation reporting requirements; mid-
year changes; civil penalties; overall 
conforming changes; Cook Inlet & 
Gas allocations; lease expenditures; 
overhead; .025 credits; transportation 
and AGIA qualifications.

Throughout the year, tax credit forms 
were updated to reflect the changes 
made with the implementation of 
ACES.

Rate
The base tax rate is 25 percent of 
the production tax value per BTU 
equivalent barrel of taxable oil and 
gas.  When the average monthly pro-
duction tax value is more than $30 
per barrel, but not more than $92.50, 
there is an additional 0.4 percent pro-
gressive tax for each additional dollar 
of production tax value per barrel.  
When the average monthly produc-
tion tax value exceeds $92.50 per 

 The Alaska Legisla-
ture amended the oil 

and gas production tax 
with passage of ACES 

legislation in a 
special session ended 

November 2007.
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barrel, the progressive tax rate is the 
sum of 25 percent and 0.1 percent of 
the difference between the average 
monthly production tax value and 
$92.50.  The maximum tax may not 
exceed 75 percent.  

Returns
Oil and gas taxpayers make calendar 
year filings that are due with payment 
no later than March 31 of the follow-
ing year. Taxpayers are required to 
make monthly estimated payments, 
based on activity in the prior month, 
which are due the last day of the fol-
lowing month.  Taxpayers are also 
required to submit monthly informa-
tion reports that summarize produc-
tion volumes, production tax values, 
lease expenditures incurred and 
credits applied. An annual tax return 
has been issued for workshops and 
comment. 

Exemptions
The tax on oil and gas is levied on all 
production except for public (govern-
ment) royalty production. Oil and gas 
used on a lease or property for drill-
ing, production or repressuring is not 
taxed.

Credits
Exploration Incentive - AS 
38.05.180(i) - Lessees of state land 
drilling an exploratory well or con-
ducting certain seismic exploration 
on that land are eligible for this credit.  
The credit is 50 percent of the cost 
of the exploration expenditures and 
may not exceed 50 percent of the 
production tax or state royalty against 
which it is applied.  This credit is 
administered by the Department of 
Natural Resources, but may be ap-
plied to oil and gas production tax.  

Exploration Incentive (Assignable) 
- AS 41.09.010 - This is a distinct in-
centive program administered by the 
Department of Natural Resources.  
The credit is available to be claimed 
against royalty obligations, corpo-
rate income tax and production tax.  

Taxpayers may take a credit up to 50 
percent on state land (or 25 percent 
on non state lands) of eligible oil and 
gas exploration expenditures.  An 
approved incentive credit under this 
statute may not exceed $5 million per 
project and is limited to $30 million per 
taxpayer.  

Education - AS 43.55.019 - 
Taxpayers that contribute to accred-
ited Alaska universities or colleges 
or vocational education programs 
for educational purposes may claim 
a tax credit for 50 percent of the first 
$100,000 and 100 percent of the next 
$100,000 of contributions. The maxi-
mum credit is $150,000 for each tax 
year. Beginning January 1, 2011, the 
maximum education credit allowed is 
increased to $5 million.

Qualified Capital Expenditure - AS 
43.55.023(a) - Taxpayers that incur 
qualified capital expenditures may ap-
ply for a 20 percent credit, however, 
not more than half of the credit may 
be applied against a tax levied by AS 
43.55.011(e) for a single calendar 
year. This credit, when certificated, 
is transferable.  Taxpayers may also 
apply the 20 percent credit to their an-
nual oil and gas production tax filings 
without certification.    

In 2010, the legislature passed AS 
43.55.023(l), which allows credit of 40 
percent of qualified well lease expen-
ditures incurred south of 68 degrees 
North latitude for oil or gas operations. 
These credits can be applied against 
production tax liabilities, transferred to 
another company or purchased by the 
state.

Carried-Forward Annual Loss - AS 
43.55.023(b) - Taxpayers that incur 
lease expenditures that are not de-
ductible in calculating production tax 
values generate a “loss carryforward” 
and they may apply for a tax credit in 
the amount of 25 percent of that loss.  
When certificated, half of the credit is 
available for use in the calendar year 

In 2006, the filing 
requirement for the oil 
and gas production tax 
changed from monthly 
to calendar year.  Tax-
payers are required to 

make monthly 
estimated payments.
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it is issued and the other half may 
be used in the years following.  If not 
certificated, the entire credit may be 
applied on the taxpayer’s annual fil-
ing.  These credits are transferable.    

Transitional Investment 
Expenditure - AS 43.55.023(i) - The 
“TIE” credit is generated by qualified 
capital expenditures made during the 
period April 1, 2001, through March 
31, 2006.  The credit is 20 percent of 
those qualified capital expenditures, 
not to exceed one-tenth of qualified 
capital expenditures incurred after 
March 31, 2006 and before January 
1, 2008.  Producers and explorers 
without commercial production in 
Alaska before January 1, 2008 are 
eligible for this credit. TIE credit is 
not transferable and is available until 
2013.

New Area Development - AS 
43.55.024(a) - Taxpayers that pro-
duce in areas outside the Cook Inlet 
and south of 68 degrees north lati-
tude are eligible for a tax credit of not 
more than $6 million per year. This 
credit sunsets the later of 2016 or the 
ninth calendar year after first year of 
production.  The credit is not certifi-
cated and is not transferable.

Small Producer - AS 43.55.024(c) 
- Taxpayers with Alaska oil and gas 
production less than 100,000 BTU 
equivalent barrels a day are eligible 
for a small producer credit.  When 
average oil and gas production is no 
more than 50,000 barrels per day, the 
credit is $12 million per year.  When 
production exceeds 50,000 barrels a 
day, but is less than 100,000 barrels 
a day, the credit is allocated based 
on production volumes.  This credit 
sunsets the later of 2016 or the ninth 
calendar year after first year of pro-
duction.  The credit is not certificated 
and is not transferable.

Alternative Credit for Exploration - 
AS 43.55.025 - Taxpayers that incur 
qualified exploration expenditures are 
eligible for this credit, which is 30 per-

cent (20 percent for work performed 
prior to July 1, 2008) or 40 percent, 
depending on the qualifications of the 
exploration project.  Taxpayers must 
obtain pre-approval from and submit 
certain data to the Department of 
Natural Resources as part of the ap-
plication process.  Credit applications 
under AS 43.55.025 are audited prior 
to issuance of the credit certificates.  
Certificates must be eventually is-
sued, but the credit may also be ap-
plied to tax prior to the issuance of a 
certificate.  
Note that this credit has been avail-
able since 2003 - pre-dating the oil 
and gas tax law revisions of 2006 
and 2007.  The scope of this credit is 
more specific than that provided for 
under AS 43.55.023.  

Cook Inlet Jack-Up Rig Credit -
AS 43.55.025(a)(5) was passed by 
the legislature in 2010 to incentivize 
investment in a jack-up rig for use 
in Cook Inlet. The credit is available 
to the first three unaffiliated persons 
that drill an offshore exploration well 
for oil or gas in Cook Inlet. Credit un-
der this program will be granted for 
the lesser of 100 percent of explora-
tion expenditures or $25 million to 
the first person who drills a qualifying 
well under the program. Credit for 
the lesser of 90 percent of explora-
tion expenditures or $22.5 million is 
available to the second person, and 
credit for the lesser of 80 percent of 
exploration expenditures or $20 mil-
lion is available to the third person 
who drills a qualifying well under the 
program.

Credit under this program may be 
granted in the form of a cash reim-
bursement from the state or it may 
be applied against tax liabilities. If the 
drilling under this program results in 
sustained production of oil or gas, 50 
percent of the amount of the credit 
received shall be repaid to the state 
over a 10-year period.

Oil and Gas Production 
Tax revenue received 

as a consequence 
of an assessment or 

litigation is deposited 
in the Constitutional 
Budget Reserve Fund.
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Cash Purchases of Tax Credit 
Certificates - AS 43.55.028 - 
Effective January 1, 2008, a tax cred-
it fund was established so that the 
State may purchase certain tax credit 
certificates from oil and gas taxpay-
ers.  Taxpayers make written ap-
plication to the Department for cash 
purchases, in whole or in part, of tax 
credit certificates.  The Department 
reviews the applications for compli-
ance with the requirements set forth 
in AS 43.55.028(e). 

Disposition of Revenue
All revenue derived from the Oil and 
Gas Production Tax is deposited in 
the General Fund except that pay-
ments received as a consequence of 
an assessment or litigation are de-
posited in the Constitutional Budget 
Reserve Fund (CBRF).

History
1955 - The legislature enacts an oil 
and gas production tax of 1 percent 
of production value.

1967 - A 1 percent disaster produc-
tion tax is enacted to provide relief 
after the Fairbanks flood.

1968 - The legislature increases oil 
and gas production tax from 1 per-
cent to 3 percent of production value.

1970 - The legislature repeals the di-
saster oil and gas production tax. The 
legislature changes the oil production 
tax to a graduated tax with rates of 
3 percent on the first 300 barrels per 
day per well, 5 percent on the next 
700 barrels per day per well, 6 per-
cent on the next 1500 barrels per day 
per well and 8 percent on production 
exceeding 2500 barrels per day per 
well.

1972 - The legislature establishes a 
minimum oil production tax based on 
“cents per barrel” equivalent to per-
cent of value tax on oil with wellhead 
value of $2.65 per barrel.

1973 - The legislature revises the 
“stairstep” rate schedule to lower 
production levels. The legislature in-
dexes the cents per barrel minimum 
to the wholesale price index for crude 
oil published by the US Bureau of 
Labor Statistics.

1977 - The legislature raises the 
nominal gas production tax rate to 
10 percent. The legislature raises 
the nominal oil production tax rate to 
12.25 percent and adopts the oil and 
gas economic limit factors.

1981 - As part of legislation that re-
pealed the separate accounting oil 
and gas corporation income tax, the 
nominal tax rate on oil produced prior 
to 1981 was raised to 15 percent 
and fields coming into production 
after 1981 are taxed at 12.25 percent 
for five years after which the rate 
increases to 15 percent. The oil eco-
nomic limit factor is now subject to a 
rounding rule so that if the calculated 
factor is greater than or equal to 0.7 
during the first 10 years of produc-
tion, the factor is set to 1.0.

1989 - The legislature changes the 
economic limit factor for oil produc-
tion taxes to include a field size factor 
in the formula, fixes the production 
at the economic limit (not rebuttable) 
at 300 barrels per well per day, and 
drops the rounding rule. The legisla-
ture fixes production at the economic 
limit for gas production at 3000 mcf 
per well per day.

2002 - The legislature authorized 
credits of up to 50 percent for contri-
butions of not more than $100,000 
and 75 percent of the next $100,000 
in contributions made to the Alaska 
Veterans’ Memorial Endowment 
Fund. The tax credit expired July 1, 
2003.

2003 - To encourage drilling for 
oil and gas within the state, AS 
43.55.025 provided a new tax credit 
for exploration costs. The minimum 
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surcharge tax rate under ACES is 0.4 
percent for every dollar the produc-
tion tax value per barrel exceeds $30 
(it was 0.25 percent on production 
tax values exceeding $40 per barrel 
under PPT). For production tax val-
ues greater than $92.50 per barrel, 
the progressivity rate changes to 0.1 
percent for every additional dollar of 
production tax value.  

2008 - The legislature amended edu-
cation credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 
secondary level vocational courses 
and programs by a school district in 
Alaska and by a state-operated voca-
tional technical education and training 
school.

The alternative credit for exploration 
was increased from 20 to 30 percent 
for certain projects and an oil and gas 
tax credit fund was established for the 
cash purchases of tax credit certifi-
cates.

2010 - The legislature amended the 
alternative tax credit provisions to add 
tax credits for drilling exploration wells 
using a jack-up rig in the Cook Inlet. 
The first three unaffiliated persons 
drilling wells that penetrate and evalu-
ate prospects in the pre-Tertiary zone 
are entitled to credits of 100%, 90% 
or 80%, respectively of the first $25 
million of exploration expenditures. 
Other changes include a new 40% 
tax credit for well lease expenditures 
incurred south of 68 degrees North 
latitude, elimination of the splitting 
of tax credits for lease expenditures 
incurred in the state south of 68 de-
grees North latitude after June 30, 
2010, and elimination of the future 
investment requirement for the pur-
chase of transferable tax credit certifi-
cates by the state.

The legislature amended the educa-
tion credit by increasing the maximum 
credit allowed from $150,000 to $5 
million effective January 1, 2011.  In 
addition, the legislature expanded 

credit is 20 percent and the maximum 
40 percent for qualified expenditures.
2005 - Prudhoe Bay area oil fields are 
aggregated for purposes of calculat-
ing the economic limit factor, effective 
February 1, 2005.

2005 - To expand the tax credit for 
exploration enacted the previous year, 
the deadline was extended until July 
1, 2010 for qualifying work south of 
the Brooks Range (i.e. non-North 
Slope). New rules also changed the 
3 mile and 25 mile rules for the Cook 
Inlet allowing closer distances be-
tween potential exploration targets 
and existing wells and production 
units.

2005 - The legislature extended and 
amended the requirements applicable 
to the credit that may be claimed for 
certain oil and gas exploration expens-
es incurred in Cook Inlet against oil 
and gas production taxes. This legisla-
tion also amended the credit against 
those taxes for certain exploration ex-
penditures from leases or properties in 
the state. The legislation was signed 
into law July 21, 2005 with an immedi-
ate effective date.

2006 - In August 2006, legislation 
was passed during a special ses-
sion that made sweeping revisions to 
the oil and gas production tax. The 
Petroleum Production Tax (PPT) es-
tablished new tax rates on oil and gas 
production; repealed the economic 
limit factor; and provided numerous 
credits for certain qualifying expendi-
tures and taxpayers.

2007 - The legislature amended PPT 
legislation in a special session that 
ended November 2007 and culmi-
nated in the passage of Alaska’s Clear 
and Equitable Share (ACES). Like 
the PPT legislation enacted in 2006, 
the ACES tax is levied on the produc-
tion tax value of oil and gas produced 
in the state. The base tax rate under 
ACES is 25 percent (it was 22.5 per-
cent under PPT) and the progressive 
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contributions eligible for the credit to 
include contributions made for con-
struction and maintenance of facili-
ties by state operated vocational ed-
ucation schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000.

Tax Collections
General Fund $2,860,701,557
Constitutional Budget Reserve Fund 459,807,918
Total 3,320,509,475

Number of Returns 47
Number of Taxpayers 18
Number of Explorers
Program Cost $4,328,549
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 37.0

FY 2010 Statistics
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Oil and Gas Property 
Taxes (Exploration, 
Production and Pipeline 
Transportation Properties)
AS 43.56

Description
Alaska levies an oil and gas 
property tax on the value of taxable 
exploration, production and pipeline 
transportation property in the 
state. The division has established 
procedures for the three distinct 
classes of property. 

•• Exploration Property - valued 
on the estimated price which 
the property would bring in an 
open market and under the then 
prevailing market conditions in a 
sale between a willing seller and a 
willing buyer, both conversant with 
the property and with prevailing 
general price levels.

•• Production Property - valued 
on the basis of replacement 
cost of similar new property, 
less depreciation based on the 
economic life of the proven 
reserves.

•• Pipeline Transportation 
Property - generally valued on 
its economic value relative to the 
reserves feeding into the pipeline.

Rate
The state tax rate is 20 mills, or 2%, 
of the assessed value.

Returns
Taxpayers file annual returns 
reporting taxable property as of 
January 1 of the assessment year. 
Returns are due on or before January 
15. Payment is due on or before 
June 30.

Exemptions
Oil and gas reserves, oil or gas 
leases, and the lease or rights to 
explore or produce oil or gas are 
exempt, as are intangible drilling 

and exploration expenditures.  
Certain aircraft, motor vehicles, 
communication facilities, and 
buildings may be exempt even 
though they are associated with oil 
or gas exploration, production, or 
pipeline transportation. Oil or gas 
pipeline transportation systems 
owned and operated by a public utility 
are exempt. 
 
Credits
Municipal property taxes paid - 
Taxpayers receive a credit against 
state oil and gas property tax for 
property taxes paid to municipalities 
on taxable property.  The credit is 
limited to the amount of state tax 
otherwise due.

Education Credit - Taxpayers that 
contribute to accredited Alaska 
universities or colleges or vocational 
education programs for educational 
purposes may claim a tax credit for 
50 percent of the first $100,000 and 
100 percent of the next $100,000 
of contributions. The maximum 
credit is $150,000 for each tax year. 
Beginning January 1, 2011, the 
maximum education credit allowed is 
increased to $5 million.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits revenue from 
oil and gas property taxes into the 
General Fund. Payments received 
after a tax assessment are deposited 
into the Constitutional Budget 
Reserve Fund (CBRF).

History
The legislature enacted this tax in 
1973 during the first special session 
of the eighth legislature. The state 
assists local governments by 
assessing property subject to the 
tax, insuring uniform treatment of all 
taxable property.

2008 - The legislature amended 
education credit provisions to include 
cash contributions accepted for 
secondary level vocational courses 

Oil or gas pipeline 
transportation systems 

owned and operated 
by a public utility 

are exempt from 
property tax. 
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Property Taxes Billed $497,474,575
Less Municipal Tax Credit (378,706,246)
Total Tax Collections $118,768,329

Number of Returns 812
Number of Taxpayers 128

Program Cost $485,237
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 6.1

FY 2010 Statistics

and programs by a school district 
in Alaska and by a state-operated 
vocational technical education and 
training school.

2010 - The legislature amended 
the education credit by increasing 
the maximum credit allowed from 
$150,000 to $5 million effective 
January 1, 2011.  In addition, the 
legislature expanded contributions 
eligible for the credit to include 
contributions made for construction 

and maintenance of facilities by 
state operated vocational education 
schools and two or four-year 
colleges.  The increase in the credit 
from $150,000 to $5 million expires 
December 31, 2013.  On January 1, 
2014, the maximum credit allowed 
will revert to $150,000.
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the General Fund. The legislature 
may make appropriations from the 
General Fund to fund RCA based on 
regulatory cost charges collected. 

History
1992 - The Alaska legislature 
enacted the RCC program to fund 
RCA’s costs of regulating utilities. The 
RCC legislation provided for a sunset 
date of December 1994. Rates went 
into effect through regulations which 
became effective November 1992.

1994 - In the fall of 1994, RCA 
promulgated regulations which 
established RCC rates for FY 
1995 on an annualized basis. The 
regulations took effect December 
1994.

1995 - The legislature reauthorized 
the RCC program that became 
effective June 1995. In October 
1995, RCA adopted regulations to 
reestablish quarterly payments.
 
1999 - The legislature authorized 
separate RCC rates for each 
regulated utility and changed the 
methodology for calculating rates.

2007 - Alaska Regulatory 
Commission implemented online 
report filing through their web site.  
RCA assumed responsibility for 
processing returns and collecting 
data; the division continues to collect 
revenue as required by statute.

Returns
Quarterly returns and payment 
of RCCs are due on the 30th day 
following the calendar quarter. 
Utilities and carriers are required to 
file a copy of the return with RCA.

Exemptions
Utilities not regulated by RCA are 
exempt from the RCC program.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all revenue 
derived from the RCC program into 

Regulatory Cost Charges
Utilities AS 42.05.254(e) 
Pipeline AS 42.06.286(c) 

Description
Alaska levies regulatory cost 
charges (RCC) on regulated utilities. 
The charges fund the Regulatory 
Commission of Alaska (RCA) that 
regulates utilities and pipeline carriers 
in Alaska. Regulated utilities collect 
charges from consumers and remit 
the collections to the Tax Division.

The Alaska 
legislature enacted 
the RCC program in 

1992 to fund the cost of 
regulating utilities. 

Total RCC Collections $9,666,038
Electric, Telephone, Pipeline Carriers and Other Utilities

FY 2010 Statistics

Rate
Rates are available on the Alaska 
Regulatory Commission’s web site 
at https://rca.alaska.gov/RCAWeb/
RCALibrary/FormsLibrary.aspx.  
Select the RCC Quarterly Report 
Form for calendar year of interest to 
obtain rates for that period.
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Salmon Enhancement Tax
AS 43.76

Description
The salmon enhancement tax is an 
elective tax levied on salmon sold 
in or exported from established 
aquaculture regions in Alaska. 

Fishermen pay salmon enhancement 
taxes to licensed buyers at the time 
of sale, or to the division for salmon 
sold to unlicensed buyers or exported 
from the region. Buyers remit taxes 
collected from fishermen to the 
division.

Rate
Commercial fishermen elected 
tax rates for the following regional 
aquaculture associations:

Returns
Buyers file returns and pay the tax 
monthly. The due date is the last day 
of the month following the month of 
purchase.

Buyers file returns for bonus 
payments made to fishermen after 
the close of the fishing season. 
Returns for these payments are due 
with additional taxes by the last day 
of the month following the bonus 
payment.

Fishermen selling to unlicensed 
buyers or exporting from the region 
file returns and pay taxes annually. 
The due date is March 31 following 
the year of sale or export.

Exemptions
Salmon harvested under a special 
harvest area permit (typically, salmon 
harvested on behalf of salmon 
hatcheries) is exempt from the 
salmon enhancement tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all salmon 
enhancement tax revenue into the 
General Fund.

Under AS 43.76.025(c), the 
legislature may appropriate salmon 
enhancement tax revenue to provide 
financing for qualified regional 
aquaculture associations.

History
The legislature adopted the Salmon 
Enhancement Act in 1980. The Act 
authorized a 2 percent or 3 percent 
tax, upon election by commercial 
fishermen within established 
aquaculture regions, on salmon 
transferred to buyers in Alaska. 
Commercial fishermen in Southern 
and Northern Southeast aquaculture 
regions elected a 3 percent tax and 
Cook Inlet region elected a 2 percent 
tax.

1981 - The legislature amended the 
Act to subject salmon exported from 
Alaska to the tax.

1985 - Commercial fishermen in the 
Prince William Sound aquaculture 
region elected a 2 percent tax.

1988 - Commercial fishermen in the 
Kodiak aquaculture region elected a 
2 percent tax.

1989 - The legislature amended 
statutes to allow for a 1 percent tax. 

1991 - Commercial fishermen in the 
Chignik aquaculture region elected a 
2 percent tax.

Region Rate Effective
Southern Southeast 3% 1981 
Northern Southeast 3% 1981 
Cook Inlet 2% 1981 
Prince William Sound 2% 1985 
Kodiak 2% 1988 
Chignik 2% 1991 

The salmon 
enhancement tax is an 
elective tax levied on 
salmon sold in or ex-

ported from established 
aquaculture regions. 
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percent to 30 percent. This legislation 
clarified who must pay the Salmon 
Enhancement Tax. When a buyer 
does not withhold the tax, fishermen 
must pay the tax with an annual 
return. The legislation took effect 
January 1, 2005.

2004 - The legislature authorized 
additional salmon enhancement 
tax rates, subject to permit holder 
elections held by qualified regional 
associations. In addition to the 
current 1 percent, 2 percent or 3 
percent options, 10 additional options 
were made available, ranging from 4 

Tax Collections $4,877,106
Including interest and penalties

Number of Returns 847
Number of Taxpayers 204

Program Cost $108,708
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 1.2

FY 2010 Statistics



A
Alaska Tax Division 2010 Annual ReportProgram Detail 64

and pay taxes annually. The due date is 
March 31 following the year of sale or 
export.

Exemptions
Resources harvested under special 
harvest area permit (typically, salmon 
harvested on behalf of salmon 
hatcheries) is exempt from the seafood 
development tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all seafood 
development tax revenue into the 
General Fund. 

Under AS 43.76.380(d), the legislature 
may appropriate seafood development 
tax revenue to provide financing for 
qualified regional seafood development 
associations.

History
2004 - The legislature adopted the 
Seafood Development Tax Act. The Act 
authorized a tax of between ½ and 2 
percent, upon election by commercial 
fishermen harvesting within designated 
regions, on fishery resources 
transferred to buyers in or exported 
from Alaska.

2005 - Commercial salmon drift gillnet 
fishermen in the Prince William Sound 
seafood development region elected a 
1% tax.

2006 - Commercial salmon drift gillnet 
fishermen in the Bristol Bay seafood 
development region elected a 1% tax.

2009 - Commercial salmon set gillnet 
fishermen in the Prince William Sound 
Seafood Development Region elected 
a 1% tax.

Returns
Buyers file returns and pay the tax 
monthly. The due date is the last day 
of the month following the month of 
purchase. Buyers file returns for bonus 
payments made to fishermen after the 
close of the fishing season. Returns 
for these payments are due with 
additional taxes by the last day of the 
month following the bonus payment. 
Fishermen selling to unlicensed buyers 
or exporting from Alaska file returns 

Seafood Development Tax
AS 43.76.350

Description
The seafood development tax is an 
elective tax levied on certain fishery 
resources using specific gear types sold 
in or exported from designated seafood 
development regions. Fishermen pay 
seafood development taxes to licensed 
buyers at the time of sale or to the 
division for resources sold to unlicensed 
buyers or exported from Alaska. Buyers 
remit taxes collected from fishermen to 
the division.

Rate
Commercial fishermen harvesting 
salmon elected tax rates for the 
following development regions and gear 
types:

Region Rate Effective
Prince William Sound 1% 2005 
(drift gillnet)

Bristol Bay 1% 2006
(drift gillnet)

Prince William Sound 1% 2009
(set gillnet)

The seafood develop-
ment tax is an elective 

tax levied on certain 
fishery resources using 

specific gear types.

Tax Collections Including interest and penalties $1,578,861
Number of Returns 212
Number of Taxpayers 47
Program Cost $32,102
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.3

FY 2010 Statistics
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Seafood Marketing 
Assessment
AS 16.51.120

Description
Alaska levies a seafood marketing 
assessment on seafood processed 
or first landed in Alaska. The state 
also levies the assessment on 
unprocessed fisheries products 
exported from Alaska. The Tax 
Division collects the assessment from 
seafood processors and fishermen 
who export fishery resources out of 
Alaska.

Rate
The seafood marketing assessment 
is 0.5 percent of the value of seafood 
products exported from, processed or 
first landed in Alaska.

Returns
Taxpayers file calendar year returns 
with payment before April 1 of the 
following year. Taxpayers file monthly 
returns for postseason (bonus) 
payments made to fishermen after 
the filing of the calendar year return. 
Returns for these payments are due 
with additional assessments by the 
last day of the month following the 
bonus payments.

Exemptions
Processors and fishermen who 
produce less than $50,000 
of seafood products during a 
calendar year are exempt from the 
assessment.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all seafood 
marketing assessments into the 
General Fund. The legislature may 
appropriate funds to the Alaska 
Seafood Marketing Institute.

History
1981 - The legislature enacted 
an elective seafood marketing 
assessment of 0.1 percent, 0.2 
percent or 0.3 percent (elected by 
large processors in Alaska). In 1981, 
processors elected a 0.3 percent 
assessment to take effect in calendar 
year 1982.

1996 - The legislature amended 
seafood marketing assessment 
statutes to include fishery resources 
landed in Alaska. The legislation was 
retroactive to January 1994. Prior to 
FY 96, revenue collected from the 
0.3 percent portion of the original 
3.3 percent landing tax rate was 
accounted for in a separate account 
designated as (landing tax) seafood 
marketing assessments. 

2004 - The legislature directed ASMI 
to hold elections and determine 
whether to retain the assessment 
and a second election to determine 
whether to increase the assessment 
from 0.3 percent to 0.5 percent. 
Elections were held as prescribed by 
law. The vote retained the Seafood 
Marketing Assessment, increased 
the Seafood Marketing rate to 0.5 
percent and eliminated the Salmon 
Marketing Tax effective January 1, 
2005. 

The seafood market-
ing assessment is levied 
on seafood processed or 

first landed in Alaska. 
Assessments fund the 

Alaska Seafood 
Marketing Institute. 

Assessment Collections $7,812,697
Number of Returns 208
Number of Taxpayers 181

Program Cost $44,806
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.5

FY 2010 Statistics
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Telephone Cooperative Tax
AS 10.25.550

Description
Alaska levies a telephone 
cooperative tax on gross revenue 
of qualified telephone cooperatives 
under AS 10.25. The Tax Division 
collects taxes from cooperatives.

Rate
The telephone cooperative tax rate 
is based on revenue and the length 
of time in which the cooperative 
has furnished telephone service to 
consumers as follows:

Returns
Telephone cooperatives file calendar 
year returns that are due with 
payment before March 1 of the 
following year.

Exemptions
All qualified telephone cooperatives 
are subject to the cooperative tax. 

Cooperatives pay the telephone 
cooperative tax in lieu of corporate 
net income tax.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits revenue from 
the telephone cooperative tax into the 
General Fund.

Telephone cooperative taxes 
sourced from within municipalities 
are shared 100 percent to respective 
municipalities less the amount 
expended by the state for collection 
of taxes.

The state retains telephone 
cooperative taxes sourced from 
outside of municipalities.

History
1959 - The legislature enacted 
the telephone cooperative tax as 
part of the “Electric and Telephone 
Cooperative Act” to promote 
cooperatives around the state. 
The due date for filing telephone 
cooperative tax returns was April 1 of 
the following year.

1960 - The legislature changed the 
due date for filing returns to “before 
March 1”.

Length Percent of 
Revenue

Less than 5 years 1%
5 years or longer 2%

Tax Collections $2,046,583
Number of Returns 8
Number of Taxpayers 7

Program Cost $2,862
Staffing (full-time equivalent) <.1

FY 2010 Statistics

Telephone cooperatives 
pay the telephone 

cooperative tax in lieu 
of corporate net income 

tax.
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Tire Fee
AS 43.98.025

Description
Alaska imposes a tire fee on all new 
tires sold in Alaska. An additional tire 
fee is imposed on the sale of tires 
with metal studs weighing more than 
1.1 grams each (heavy studs). The 
additional tire fee also applies to the 
installation of heavy studs in new or 
used tires. The division collects tire 
fees primarily from tire dealerships. 

Rate
A $2.50 tire fee applies to each new 
tire. An additional $5 fee applies to 
each studded tire ($7.50 total tire fee 
for new studded tires).

Returns
Taxpayers are required to file returns 
and remit fees quarterly. Returns and 
payment are due 30 days following 
the calendar quarter in which the 
new tires were sold or studs were 
installed. 

Taxpayers may retain 5 percent of 
the amount collected, limited to a 
maximum of $900 per quarter, to 
cover expenses associated with 
collecting and remitting fees.

Exemptions
The following tires and services are 
exempt if the purchaser provides the 
tire seller with a certificate of use:
•• Tires and services sold to 

federal, state or local government 
agencies for official use.

•• Tires for resale.

The $2.50 tire fee does not apply to 
used tires and certain replacements 
of defective tires.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all revenue 
from the tire fee into the General 
Fund.

History
2003 - The legislature enacted the 
tire fee, effective 9/26/2003.  

Alaska imposes a tire 
fee on all new tires sold 

in Alaska. 

New tires (non-studded) $1,034,158

Studded tires and stud installations 392,349
Penalties & Interest         1,264
Tax Collections $1,427,771

Number of Returns 321
Number of Taxpayers 85

Program Cost $109,074
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 0.9

FY 2010 Statistics
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Tobacco Tax
AS 43.50

Description
Alaska levies a tax on cigarettes 
and other tobacco products. The 
cigarette tax is levied on cigarettes 
imported into the state for sale 
or personal consumption. The 
tobacco products tax is levied on 
other tobacco products (other than 
cigarettes) imported into the state for 
sale. The division collects tobacco 
taxes primarily from licensed 
wholesalers, distributors and 
retailers.

Rates
Cigarettes - See rates table below. 
The cigarette tax must be paid 
through purchase of cigarette tax 
stamps. A stamp must be affixed 
to the bottom of every pack of 
cigarettes imported into the state for 
sale or personal consumption. 

Nonparticipating Manufacturer Equity 
Tax – An additional tax of 12.5 mills 
(25 cents per pack of 20 cigarettes) 
is levied on each cigarette imported 
or acquired from a manufacturer 
that did not sign the tobacco Master 
Settlement Agreement.  All revenue 
collected from this tax is deposited in 
the General Fund.

Other Tobacco Products - The tax 
rate on Other Tobacco Products, 
which includes tobacco products 
other than cigarettes such as 
cigars and chewing tobacco, is 75 
percent of the wholesale price. The 
wholesale price is the established 
price at which a manufacturer sells 
tobacco products to a distributor. 

The division may adjust the 
wholesale price upon which tax was 
calculated if the wholesale price was 
not established in an arms-length 
transaction.

Legislation passed during a special 
legislative session in June 2004 
increased the cigarette tax rate to 90 
mills (9 cents) per cigarette on July 
1, 2006 and 100 mills (10 cents) per 
cigarette on July 1, 2007. In addition, 
as of January 1, 2005, there is an 
additional tax of $.25 per pack of 20 
cigarettes on cigarette brands that 
are manufactured by manufacturers 
that did not sign the tobacco Master 
Settlement Agreement (NPM 
cigarettes). There was no increase in 
the other tobacco products tax rate.

Returns
Taxpayers must pay the cigarette tax 
by purchasing cigarette tax stamps. 
The other tobacco products tax is 
paid at the time a tax return is filed. 
Tax returns are required to be filed 
on a monthly basis and are due the 
last day of the month following the 
month that cigarette tax stamps were 
purchased or other tobacco products 
were imported into the state for sale. 

Taxpayers that purchase cigarette 
tax stamps are entitled to a stamp 
discount of 3 percent on the first 
$1,000,000 and 2 percent on the 
second $1,000,000 of cigarette tax 
stamps purchased in a calendar 
year. The total stamp discount in 
each calendar year may not exceed 
$50,000. Taxpayers who import 
other tobacco products for sale 
may deduct 0.4 percent of the other 
tobacco products tax due to cover 
expenses of accounting and filing 

Cigarette Tax Rates

Since July 1, 2007 Per cigarette Per 20
Base Rate (School Fund) 38 mills $0.038 $0.76
Additional Tax (General Fund) 62 mills 0.062 1.24
Total 100 mills $0.10 $2.00
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returns. There is no limit on this 
deduction.

Exemptions
Sales to authorized military 
personnel by a military exchange, 
commissary, or ship store; and sales 
by an Indian reservation business 
located within an Indian reservation 
to members of the reservation are 
not subject to the tax. 

Disposition of Revenue
Cigarette Taxes – Revenue from 
the base rate is deposited in the 
School Fund. Revenue from the 
additional tax is initially deposited 
into the General Fund. Of the amount 
deposited in the General Fund, 8.9 
percent of revenue is deposited into 
the Tobacco Use Education and 
Cessation Fund, a subfund of the 
General Fund.

The division deposits all cigarette 
and tobacco products license fees 
into the School Fund, to be used for 
the rehabilitation, construction, repair 
and associated insurance costs of 
state school facilities.

History
The tobacco tax dates to 1949 when 
the legislature enacted a tax of 3 
cents per pack on cigarettes and 2 
cents per ounce on tobacco. There 
were no exemptions provided in the 
tax legislation.

1951 - The legislature increased the 
cigarette tax to 5 cents per pack.

1955 - The legislature eliminated the 
tobacco products tax and, although 
the cigarette tax rate remained at 5 
cents, the legislature converted the 
rate to a mill rate per cigarette (2.5 
mills per cigarette). The legislature 
enacted a 1 percent deduction 
provision to cover accounting 
expenses.  The legislature also 
created the School Fund and 
directed all proceeds from the 

cigarette tax be deposited in this 
fund.

1961 - The legislature increased 
the cigarette tax to 4 mills per 
cigarette (8 cents per pack). The 
legislature dedicated revenue from 
the additional 3 cents to the General 
Fund.

1977 - The legislature exempted 
military sales from the cigarette tax.

1983 - The Department of Revenue 
adopted regulations exempting sales 
of cigarettes by Indian Reservation 
businesses to members of the 
reservation.

1985 - The legislature increased the 
cigarette tax to 8 mills per cigarette 
(16 cents per pack).

1988 - The legislature enacted the 
tobacco products tax imposing a 
tax of 25 percent of the product 
wholesale price. The legislature 
authorized taxpayers to deduct 
1 percent of the tax to cover 
accounting expenses.

1989 - The legislature increased the 
cigarette tax rate to 14.5 mills (29 
cents per pack of 20).

1997 - Effective October 1, 1997, the 
legislature increased the cigarette 
tax rate to 50 mills or $1 per pack 
of 20; and the tobacco products tax 
rate was increased to 75 percent 
of wholesale price. The legislature 
reduced the deduction percentage to 
cover accounting expenses from 1 
percent to 0.4 percent. 

1999 - Effective June 3, 1999, 
Alaska became a signatory to 
the nationwide tobacco Master 
Settlement Agreement (MSA). The 
MSA is an agreement between 46 
states, including the State of Alaska, 
and certain cigarette manufacturers 
which have voluntarily agreed 
to reimburse states for costs 

8.9% of cigarette tax 
revenues deposited 

in the General Fund 
are deposited into the  

Tobacco Use Education 
and Cessation Fund.
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associated with cigarette smoking. 
The Agreement applies only to 
“participating manufacturers” (those 
manufacturers who have agreed to 
participate in the settlement). 

The Agreement includes language 
to prevent “nonparticipating 
manufacturers” (those manufacturers 
who have not agreed to participate 
in the settlement) from deriving 
short-term profits and from becoming 
judgment-proof before liability 
arises. This language requires every 
nonparticipating manufacturer to 
place funds in an escrow account 
for each cigarette sold in the state. 
Per the agreement, the state 
is responsible to obtain data to 
determine the amount required to be 
placed in an escrow account by each 
nonparticipating manufacturer. 
 
2001 - Effective July 1, 2001, the 
Department of Revenue gained 
new tools to enforce the nationwide 
Master Settlement Agreement 
signed by the major cigarette 
producers and states. It allows the 
department to share information with 
other states and entities that may aid 
in the enforcement of the agreement. 
It also prohibits tobacco products 
licensees from importing and 
selling cigarettes in Alaska made by 
nonparticipating manufacturers that 
fail to comply with the agreement.

2003 – The legislature required all 
cigarette manufacturers to certify 
to the division that they are either 
a signatory to the tobacco Master 
Settlement Agreement (MSA) or 
in compliance with Alaska Statute 
45.53. The division is required to 
post on its website a list of the 
compliant cigarette manufacturers 
and their brands. Only those brands 
of cigarettes included in the list may 
be sold in Alaska. 

2004 - Effective January 1, 2004, the 
cigarette tax must be paid through 
the use of cigarette tax stamps. 

An Alaska cigarette tax stamp 
must be affixed to each cigarette 
pack prior to sale, distribution or 
consumption. Cigarettes found in 
the state that do not bear a cigarette 
tax stamp are contraband and 
subject to immediate seizure by the 
Department of Revenue or any other 
law enforcement agency in the state. 
Additionally, the sale of cigarettes at 
less than cost is prohibited. 

During a special session in June 
2004, the legislature passed 
legislation that:
•• Increased the cigarette tax by 30 

mills to 8 cents per cigarette or 
$1.60 per pack of 20 cigarettes, 
effective January 1, 2005.

•• Levied an additional tax of 
12.5 mills or 25 cents per pack 
of 20 cigarettes on cigarettes 
imported into the state for sale 
or personal consumption if the 
cigarettes were manufactured by 
a nonparticipating manufacturer 
(NPM). A nonparticipating 
manufacturer is a manufacturer 
that did not sign the tobacco 
Master Settlement Agreement. 
Revenue from the entire cigarette 
tax increase and the additional tax 
on NPM product is deposited in 
the General Fund.

•• Required 8.9 percent of cigarette 
tax revenue deposited in the 
General Fund to be deposited into 
the Tobacco Use Education and 
Cessation Fund, effective January 
1, 2005. Amounts deposited in 
the fund may be appropriated 
by the legislature for tobacco 
use education and cessation 
programs.

•• Increased the cigarette tax by 10 
mills to 9 cents per cigarette or 
$1.80 per pack of 20 cigarettes, 
effective July 1, 2006. The 
revenue from this increase will be 
deposited in the General Fund.

•• Increased the cigarette tax by 10 
mills to 10 cents per cigarette or 
$2.00 per pack of 20 cigarettes, 
effective July 1, 2007. The 
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minimum price at which cigarettes 
must be sold.

Tax Collections
Cigarettes $61,879,232
Tobacco Products 10,384,508
Penalties & Interest 72,877
License Fee Collections 6,000
Accounting Expense & Tax Stamp Deduction      (356,974)
Total Collections by Product $71,985,643

Tax Collections by fund
General Fund $45,142,297
School Fund 23,440,125
Tobacco Use Education and Cessation Fund    3,403,221
Total Tax Collections All Funds $71,985,643
Cigarettes sold or imported into the state – 
(individual cigarettes) as reported on returns*
Total Cigarettes  621,870,509
Military and Indian Exempt Sales (5,434,000)
Credits for Returns   (4,060,189)
Taxable Cigarettes 612,376,320
*Excludes cigarettes for which tax stamps were 
purchased, but not yet sold or imported into the state

Tobacco Products as reported on returns

Total wholesale value reported $15,972,869
Military and Indian Exempt Sales (151,082)
Credits for Returns   (1,988,526)
Taxable Wholesale Value of Tobacco Products $13,833,261

Number of Returns 2,036
Number of Taxpayers 428

Program Cost $1,253,054
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 11.3

FY 2010 Statistics

revenue from this increase will be 
deposited in the General Fund.

2008 - Effective August 1, 2008,  
only fire-safe certified cigarettes can 
be imported into Alaska.

2010 - The legislature changed the 
methodology for establishing the 
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Vehicle Rental Tax 
AS 43.52

Description
Alaska levies an excise tax on fees 
and costs charged for the lease or 
rental of a passenger or recreational 
vehicle if the lease or rental does not 
exceed a period of 90 consecutive 
days. The tax is levied on individuals 
renting vehicles and is collected by 
the rental/lease agency.

Rate

Returns
Vehicle rental/lease agencies file tax 
returns and remit taxes quarterly. The 
returns and payments are due the last 
day of the month following the end 
of the calendar quarter in which the 
rental/lease agencies collected the 
tax.

Exemptions
Vehicle rental tax does not apply to:
•• rentals or leases to federal, state, 

local, or foreign government 
agencies or employees on official 
business 

•• trucks with a gross vehicle weight 
rating greater than 8,500 pounds 
used for moving personal property 
and for vehicles provided to 
customers by automobile dealers 
as replacement transportation 
during warranty, recall or service 
contract repairs.

Exclusions
Taxi cabs are excluded from the tax 
under AS 43.52.099. Specifically, 
taxi cabs do not meet the definition 
of a “passenger vehicle”.  There is 
no exemption certificate required 
for taxi cabs. Similarly, rental trucks 
and replacement transportation do 
not meet the “passenger vehicle” 
definition.  However, there is an 
exemption certificate required for 
these transactions.

Disposition of Revenue
The division deposits all revenue from 
the vehicle rental tax into a special 
vehicle rental account in the General 
Fund. The legislature may appropriate 
the balance in the vehicle rental tax 
account for tourism development and 
marketing. 

History
2003 - The legislature enacted the 
vehicle rental tax on August 20, 2003. 
The tax became effective January 1, 
2004. 

2004 - The legislature exempted the 
rental of taxicabs by taxicab drivers 
from the vehicle rental tax. Effective 
May 8, 2004 and retroactive to 
January 1, 2004, the division refunded 
any tax collected or remitted for taxi 
cab rentals between January 1 and 
May 8, 2004.

2006 - The legislature exempted 
trucks rented by individuals for moving 
personal property and for vehicles 
provided to customers by automobile 
dealers as replacement transportation 
during warranty, recall or service 
contract repairs, effective January 27, 
2006.

Vehicle Type Rate 
(fees & costs)

Passenger 10%
Recreational 3%

The legislature may 
appropriate the 

balance in the vehicle 
rental tax account for 
tourism development 

and marketing. 
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Passenger vehicle rental $7,011,525
Recreational vehicle rental 301,603
Penalties & interest       19,558
Total Tax Collections $7,332,686

Number of Returns 415
Number of Taxpayers 120

Program Cost $263,027
Staffing (full-time equivalent) 2.1

FY 2010 Statistics
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The Investigations 
Group is called upon to 
investigate potential 
violations of any of 

the tax types adminis-
tered by the division.

Investigations Function

The Investigations Group consists 
of a Chief Investigator and four 
Investigator III’s. The focus of the 
Investigations Group is Tobacco 
Tax and Gaming investigations. The 
Investigators frequently conduct 
both administrative and criminal 
cases related to other tax types 
including Motor Fuel, Vehicle Rental, 
Mining, and other Excise Taxes. The 
investigations are generally initiated 
by periodic field inspections, tips from 
the public, and referral from various 
law enforcement agencies.

Tobacco Tax Investigations
The Investigations Group ensures 
that all cigarettes imported or sold 
in Alaska are properly stamped with 
the Alaska Tax Stamp in accordance 
of AS 43.50.  The investigators 
seize unstamped or improperly 
stamped cigarettes and any other 
tobacco products designated as 
contraband within the provisions 
of Alaska statutes. At the time of 
the investigation, investigators 
determine potential violations of 
cigarette minimum pricing and 
shipping statutes. Most of the 
tobacco investigations are initiated 
by field inspections, complaints 
by citizens and referrals from the 
Internet Tobacco Auditors and law 
enforcement. 

Gaming Investigations
The Investigations Group investigates 
potential gaming statute violations 
by licensed vendors, permittees, 
operators, and distributors. These 
investigations are generally initiated 
by routine inspections of premises 
where licensed activity is conducted, 
citizen complaints, and requests from 
Gaming Auditors.

During these inspections, the 
investigators educate the permittees, 
licensees, and the public about 
gaming laws and regulations.

Other Investigations
The Investigations Group provides 
investigative support to all groups 
within the Tax Division and may be 
called upon to investigate any of 
the tax types administered by the 
division, frequently including tax fraud 
and other tax evasion related crimes.
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staff regarding issues involved in 
active or past litigation.  

Oil and gas production tax cases 
and corporate income tax cases 
are a priority due to the complexity 
of the issues and the amount of tax 
revenue involved.  These cases 
require more resources to complete 
than the other tax types administered 
by the Department of Revenue.  

Appeals Function

The Appeals Group consists of four 
appeals officers and a supervisor.  
The appeals officers and supervisor 
conduct informal conferences and 
issue informal conference decisions 
in taxpayer appeals of assessments 
for all tax types administered by the 
Department of Revenue along with 
charitable gaming appeals.  Appeals 
officers work with Department of Law 
attorneys to resolve issues related 
to audit and compliance actions.  
Appeals officers also participate with 
Department of Law attorneys as a 
team to represent the Department of 
Revenue in formal hearings before 
the Office of Administrative Hearings 
and in settlement negotiations.    
Appeals officers also advise audit 

Tax Periods* Taxpayer Count
Beginning Inventory  164     65
Plus New Cases  578   198
Less Closed Cases 557 205
Ending Inventory  185    58

FY 2010 Statistics

* Tax periods correspond to periodic tax return filing requirements of taxpayers. One taxpayer 
   may have several tax periods in appeals at the same time.

Appeals conducts 
informal conferences 
and issues decisions 

in taxpayer appeals 
of assessments for 

all tax types
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motor fuel, vehicle rental and tobacco 
taxes, and tire fees.

The gaming audit group is 
responsible for financial compliance 
of permittees, operators and 
distributors.

The fish audit group is responsible 
for auditing fisheries-related tax 
returns including fisheries business, 
fishery resource landing, salmon 
enhancement, seafood development 
taxes, dive fishery management and 
seafood marketing assessments.

Audit Function

The income audit group is 
responsible for auditing corporate 
income taxes, including oil and gas 
corporate income tax returns.

The production audit group is 
responsible for auditing oil and gas 
production and property tax returns.  

The excise audit group is responsible 
for auditing excise tax returns 
including alcoholic beverages, 
commercial passenger vessel, large 
passenger vessel, mining license, 

Audit Collections

Production Audit
Oil and Gas Production $459,807,918
Oil and Gas Property                     0
Total Production Audit $459,807,918

Income Audit (Corporate Net Income)
Oil and Gas Corporations $45,756,692
Other Corporations   10,436,517
Total Income Audit $56,193,209

Fish Audit 
Fisheries Business $1,592,081
Fishery Resource Landing 0
Other fisheries taxes                 0
Total Fish Audit $1,592,081

Excise Audit
Motor Fuel     $61,365
Mining 28,789
Tobacco 19,902
Large Passenger Vessel Gambling 10,117
Vehicle Rental 9,883
Alcoholic Beverages 556
Commercial Passenger Vessel          184
Total Excise Audit $130,796

Total $517,724,004

FY 2010 Statistics

The audit group in-
cludes income audit, 

production audit, 
excise audit, gaming 
audit and fish audit.
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the end of the month following the 
semi-annual reporting period and 
were required to list products by 
case and specified can sizes.  The 
legislation required the Department 
of Revenue to calculate monthly and 
annual wholesale price averages 
for each species of salmon in each 
unit category and to report to the 
legislature by the 15th day of each 
legislative session.

1998 - The legislature expanded the 
reporting requirement to thermally 
processed salmon products and 
limited the reporting requirement 
to processors selling more than 
240,000 pounds of thermally 
processed salmon products at 
wholesale during the calendar 
year.  The legislation replaced the 
semi-annual filing with a tri-annual 
filing, and required processors 
to report all container sizes of 
thermally processed salmon.  
Effective September 1, 1998, all 
salmon canneries were required to 
report prices received for thermally 
processed salmon for the periods 
January–April, May–August and 
September–December.  The reports 
were due by the end of the month 
following the tri-annual reporting 
period and were required to list 
thermally processed salmon products 
by whatever sizes sold.

2000 - The legislature broadened 
the reporting requirement to include 
all processed salmon products and 
increased the reporting requirement 
to include only those processors 
selling more than 1,000,000 pounds 
of salmon products at wholesale.  
Effective September 1, 2000, 
large processors were required to 
provide areas of production for each 
salmon product sold at wholesale.  
The legislation requires salmon 
processors to file an annual report 
summarizing yearly activity, and 
requires the Department of Revenue 
to provide average wholesale prices 
paid for salmon products by March 
15 of each year.

Salmon Price Reports
AS 43.80

Description
Alaska requires large processors that 
sell salmon products at wholesale 
to provide production and price 
information to the Fish Tax unit, 
which is used to publish average 
wholesale price information for the 
legislature and public.

Reports
Processors selling salmon products 
at wholesale are required to file price 
reports on salmon for the periods 
January–April, May–August, and 
September–December.  The tri-
annual reports are due by the end 
of the month following the tri-annual 
period.

Processors must also file annual 
reconciliation reports by January 31 
of the following year.

Exemptions
Processors excluded from the tax 
under AS 43.75.017 and processors 
that sell 1,000,000 pounds or less of 
salmon products annually are exempt 
from the report filing requirements.

History
1980 - The legislature enacted 
salmon price reporting requirements 
for salmon canneries.  Effective 
September 10, 1980, the Department 
of Revenue was required to compute 
and report to the legislature the 
average wholesale prices obtained 
for canned salmon reported by 
Alaska salmon canneries during 
the months of August, September, 
October, November and December 
for the previous five years.

1983 - The legislature imposed a 
semi-annual report filing requirement 
on salmon canneries.  Effective 
July 9, 1983, salmon canneries 
were required to report prices 
received for canned salmon for the 
periods October–March and April–
September.  Reports were due by 
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Number of Reports 113
Number of Filers 38

FY 2010 Statistics

Salmon Price Reports
AS 43.80 (Continued)
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Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure Most Recent Change

Alcoholic Beverages AS 43.60 1933 Wine 5¢/gallon                                              
Beer 5¢/gallon                                            

Per Gallon
Liquor $12.80 
Wine $2.50 
Beer (Malt Beverage) and 
Cider  $1.07 
Beer (Small Breweries) 
$0.35

2002 - Effective 10/1/2002, 
tax rates increased for 
alcoholic beverages as 
referenced under current tax 
structure.                                                                                                                               

Commercial 
Passenger Vessel

AS 43.52 2006 $46/passenger $34.50/passenger 2010 - Effective 10/31/10, 
tax reduced from $46 to 
$34.50 per passenger.  The 
number of ports of call for 
sharing increased from 5 to 7.  
Regional cruise ship impact 
fund repealed.

Conservation 
Surcharge on Oil

AS 43.55 1989 5¢/bbl 1¢/bbl increasing to 4¢/bbl 
when fund balance drops 
below $50m

2006 - rates changed to 1¢/
bbl and 4¢/bbl.

Corporate Income AS 43.20 1949 10% of federal 
income tax liability

1% to 9.4% of net income 2010 - Effective 1/1/2010, 
gas exploration and develop-
ment credit increased from 
10% to 25% and utilization 
limit increased from 50% to 
75% of tax liability.  Tax cred-
its for gas storage facilities 
authorized at $1.50/1,000 cu-
bic feet of storage.  Maximum 
credit of $15 million or 25% of 
costs of facility.

Effective 1/1/2011, maximum 
education credit increased 
from $150,000 to $5 million.  
Eligible contributions for cred-
it expanded to include contri-
butions for construction and 
maintenance of university, 
college or vocational educa-
tion facilities.

Dive Fishery 
Management 
Assessment

AS 43.76.150 1997 Voluntary tax of 1, 
3, 5, or 7% of value

SE AK Mgmt Area A 
Geoduck - 7%                    
Sea Cucumber - 5%                      
Sea Urchin - 7%

2005 - The legislature 
authorized an annual filing 
due date of March 31 for 
dive fishermen who export 
or sell to unlicensed buyers, 
effective January 1, 2005.

Electric Cooperative AS 10.25.555 1959 1% of gross revenue 
if operating < 5 years
                                  
2% of gross revenue 
if operating  ≥ 5 years

1/4 mill ($.00025) per 
kWh if < 5 years;  1/2 mill 
($.0005) per kWh if  ≥ 5 
years

1980 - tax base on kWh 
rather than gross revenue

Appendix A
Historical Overview of Tax Programs
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Estate AS 43.31 1919 (Inheritance Tax) 
Based on value of 
property

State tax credit on 
federal estate tax return 
attributable to Alaska

2001 - The federal Economic 
Growth and Tax Relief 
Reconciliation Act was 
enacted. As a consequence 
of the federal act, the state 
tax credit was phased out 
gradually over a four-year 
period. The state tax credit 
no longer applies to estates 
of decedents whose date of 
death is January 1, 2005 or 
later. However, the division 
may continue to collect tax 
from estates for years prior to 
January 1, 2005, as a result 
of returns filed, audits, or 
other enforcement activities.

Fisheries Business AS 43.75 1913 7¢ per case of 
canned salmon;  
Other -- dollar 
amount based on 
revenue

Floating 5%1 and 3%2 of 
value;                                                                                              
Shore-based 3%1 
and 1%2 of value;                                                                              
Cannery 4.5% of value;                                                              
Direct Market 3%1 and 
1%2 of value                                                                                         

2010 - Effective 1/1/2011, 
maximum education credit 
increased from $150,000 
to $5 million.  Eligible 
contributions for credit 
expanded to include 
contributions for construction 
and maintenance of 
university, college or 
vocational education facilities.

Salmon product development 
credit extended by 4 years 
and qualified property 
expanded to include ice 
making machines.

Department authorized 
to suspend or withhold a 
fisheries business license 
if a fisheries business fails 
to pay a permit buyback fee 
imposed by NMFS.

Fishery Resource 
Landing

AS 43.77 1993 3.3% of 
unprocessed value

3% of value1                                                                                              
1% of value2

2010 - Effective 1/1/2011, 
maximum education credit 
increased from $150,000 
to $5 million.  Eligible 
contributions for credit 
expanded to include 
contributions for construction 
and maintenance of 
university, college or 
vocational education facilities.

Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure Most Recent Change

Appendix A (Continued)

1 Established species   2Developing species

1 Established species   2Developing species
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Gaming AS 05.15 1960 $20 annual permit fee for 
new and renewal permittees.  
$50 renewal permit fee for 
permittees with $20,000 to 
$100,000 in gross receipts.  
$100 renewal permit fee 
for permittees with over 
$100,000 in gross receipts. 
$500 annual operator 
license fee.  $1,000 annual 
distributor fee. $2,500 
annual manufacturer license 
fee. 3% tax of an amount 
equal to the gross receipts 
less prizes awarded on 
each series of pull tabs 
distributed. 

2008 - The legislature 
authorized broadcasting for 
dog mushers’ contests, raffles 
and lotteries; and authorized 
the cabbage classic at the 
Alaska state fair.

Large Passenger 
Vessel Gambling

AS 05.16 2006 33% of adjusted 
gross income from 
gambling activities

33% of adjusted gross 
income from gambling 
activities

2010 - Large passenger 
vessel gaming and gambling 
tax account (sub-account 
of CPV tax account) 
established.

Mining License AS 43.65 1913 5% tax on mining 
net income of more 
than $5,000

On net income
<$40,000 no tax. 
>$40,001 $1,200 plus 3%
>$50,001 $1,500 plus 5%
>$100,000 $4,000 plus 7%

2010 - Effective 1/1/2011, 
maximum education credit 
increased from $150,000 
to $5 million.  Eligible 
contributions for credit 
expanded to include 
contributions for construction 
and maintenance of 
university, college or 
vocational education facilities.

Motor Fuel AS 43.40 1945 1¢ per gallon on all 
fuels

Highway - 8¢/gallon                                                                                         
Marine - 5¢/gallon                                                                                             
Aviation Gas- 4.7¢/gallon                                                                                             
Jet Fuel - 3.2¢/gallon

2009 - The motor fuel tax 
was reinstated effective 
September 1, 2009.

Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure Most Recent Change

Appendix A (Continued)
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Appendix A (Continued)

Oil & Gas Production AS 43.55 1955 1% of production 
value

25 percent of the 
production tax value per 
BTU equivalent barrel of 
taxable oil and gas.  When 
the average monthly 
production tax value is 
more than $30 per barrel, 
but not more than $92.50, 
there is an additional 0.4 
percent progressive tax 
for each additional dollar 
of production tax value per 
barrel.  When the average 
monthly production tax 
value exceeds $92.50 per 
barrel, the tax rate is the 
sum of 25 percent and 0.1 
percent of the difference 
between the average 
monthly production tax 
value and $92.50.  The 
maximum tax may not 
exceed 75 percent.  

2010 - Tax credit for 40% 
of well lease expenditures 
incurred south of 68 degrees 
North latitude, and the 
issuance of tax credits 
certificates in the full amount 
of the credit for expenditures 
incurred south of 68 degrees 
North latitude. Each change 
is effective for expenditures 
incurred after June 30, 2010. 

Credit for use of a jack-up 
rig in the Cook Inlet equal to 
100%/90%/80% respectively 
of the first $25 million of 
exploration expenditure 
incurred for the drilling of the 
first 3 exploration wells by 
unaffiliated persons using the 
jack-up rig.

Effective 1/1/2011, maximum 
education credit increased 
from $150,000 to $5 million.  
Eligible contributions for 
credit expanded to include 
contributions for construction 
and maintenance of 
university, college or 
vocational education facilities.

Oil & Gas Property AS 43.56 1973 20 mills on full and 
true value

20 mills on full and true 
value

2010 - Effective 1/1/2011, 
maximum education credit 
increased from $150,000 
to $5 million.  Eligible 
contributions for credit 
expanded to include 
contributions for construction 
and maintenance of 
university, college or 
vocational education facilities.

Regulatory Cost 
Charge

AS 42.05.253 
(Utilities)                                                           
AS 42.06.285 
(Pipelines)

1992 Electric Utilities: 
$.000626/kWh                

Other Utilities: 
.653% gross 
revenue                                                   
Pipelines: 
.653% gross 
revenue

See RCA website at rca.
alaska.gov

2007 - Alaska Regulatory 
Commission implemented 
online report filing through 
their web site.  RCA assumed 
responsibility for processing 
returns and collecting data; 
the division continues to 
collect revenue as required by 
statute.

Salmon 
Enhancement

AS 43.76 1980 Voluntary tax of 
1%, 2% or 3% of 
value as elected 
by fishermen in an 
aquaculture region

Southern Southeast - 3%                      
Northern Southeast - 3%   
Cook Inlet 2%    
Pr. William Sound 2%  
Kodiak - 2%                       
Chignik - 2%

2004 - SB 286 clarified the 
incidence of the tax; when 
selling to a buyer who 
does not withhold the tax, 
fishermen must now pay 
the tax on an annual return.                                                                                         
Ten additional rates ranging 
from 4 to 30%

Tax Type Legal 
Reference

First 
Enacted Original Tax Current Tax Structure Most Recent Change



Alaska Tax Division 2010 Annual ReportAppendices 83

Seafood 
Development

AS 43.76.350 2005 Voluntary tax 
of 0.5%-2% of 
value as elected 
by fishermen 
in seafood 
development region

Pr. William Sound 1% 
    (drift & set gillnet)
Bristol Bay 1%
    (drift gillnet)

2009 - Commercial salmon 
set gillnet fishermen in 
the Prince William Sound 
seafood development region 
elected a 1% tax.

Seafood Marketing AS 16.51.120 1981 Voluntary 
assessment of 
.1%, .2% or .3% of 
value as elected by 
processors

Rate set at 0.5% effective 
January 1, 2005.

2004 - SB 273 directed 
a member election of the 
Alaska Seafood Marketing 
Institute (ASMI). Fall election 
determined retention 
of Seafood Marketing 
Assessment and increased 
the rate to 0.5%. 

Telephone 
Cooperative

AS 10.25.550 1959 1% of gross 
revenue if operating 
< 5 years;                                        
2% of gross 
revenue if operating  
≥ 5 years or longer

1% of gross revenue 
if operating < 5 years;                                           
2% of gross revenue if 
operating  ≥ 5 years or 
longer

1960 - The legislature 
changed the due date for 
filing returns to “before March 
1”.

Tire Fee AS 43.98 2003 $2.50 per new tire 
for highway-use 
motor vehicles                                                      
Additional $5 per 
tire with studs over 
1.1 grams

$2.50 per new tire 
for highway-use 
motor vehicles;                                             
Additional $5 per tire with 
studs over 1.1 grams

No changes since tire fee 
enacted in 2003.

Tobacco AS 43.50 1949 Cigarettes - 3¢ 
per pack of 20;                                               
Tobacco - 2¢ per 
ounce

100 mills/cigarette    
($2.00 per pack of 20)                    
75% of wholesale price

2010 - The legislature 
changed the methodology 
for establishing the minimum 
price at which cigarettes must 
be sold.

Vehicle Rental AS 43.52 2004 10% on passenger 
vehicle rentals of 90 
days or less
3% on recreational 
vehicle rentals of 90 
days or less

10% on passenger vehicle 
rentals of 90 days or less 
3% on recreational vehicle 
rentals of 90 days or less

2006 - exemptions for trucks 
for moving personal property 
and vehicles as replacement 
transportation.

Repealed Tax Programs

Business License AS 43.70 1949 $25 license fee 
plus .5% of gross 
receipts > $20,000 
plus .25% of gross 
receipts > $50,000

Repealed 1979
Reinstated 1988
and transferred
to DCCED

Tax repealed effective 
January 1, 1979. License 
program transferred to 
DCCED by Executive Order 
effective July 1, 1988.

Oil & Gas 
Conservation

AS 43.57 1955 5 mills per barrel of 
oil or 50,000 cubic 
feet of natural gas

Repealed Tax repealed effective July 1, 
1999.

Coin-operated 
Devices

AS 43.35 1941 12.5% of gross 
receipts on coin-
operated machines 

Repealed Tax repealed effective 
January 1, 1999.

Individual Income AS 43.20 1949 10% of federal 
income tax liability

Repealed Tax repealed retroactive to 
1979.

Salmon Marketing AS 43.76 1993 1% of value of 
salmon

1% of value of salmon Repealed effective January 
1, 2005.

School AS 43.45 1919 $5 tax on each male 
person

Repealed Tax repealed retroactive to 
1980.

Appendix A (Continued)
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State Rate
($ per gallon) Rank* State Rate

($ per gallon) Rank*

Alabama Footnote1 N/A Montana Footnote1 N/A
Alaska 12.80   1  Nebraska 3.75   16  
Arizona 3.00   21  Nevada 3.60   18  
Arkansas 2.50   24  New Hampshire Footnote1 N/A
California 3.30   19  New Jersey 5.50   8  
Colorado 2.28   29  New Mexico 6.06   5  
Connecticut 4.50   11  New York 6.44   4  
Delaware 5.46   9  North Carolina Footnote1 N/A
Florida 6.50   3  North Dakota 2.50   24  
Georgia 3.79   15  Ohio Footnote1 N/A
Hawaii 5.98   6  Oklahoma 5.56   7  
Idaho Footnote1 N/A Oregon Footnote1 N/A
Illinois 8.55   2  Pennsylvania Footnote1 N/A
Indiana 2.68   23  Rhode Island 3.75   16  
Iowa Footnote1 N/A South Carolina 2.72   22  
Kansas 2.50   24  South Dakota 3.93   14  
Kentucky 1.92   31  Tennessee 4.40   12  
Louisiana 2.50   24  Texas 2.40   28  
Maine Footnote1 N/A Utah Footnote1 N/A
Maryland 1.50   32  Vermont Footnote1 N/A
Massachusetts 4.05   13  Virginia Footnote1 N/A
Michigan Footnote1 N/A Washington Footnote1 N/A
Minnesota 5.03   10  West Virginia Footnote1 N/A
Mississippi Footnote1 N/A Wisconsin 3.25   20  
Missouri 2.00   30  Wyoming Footnote1 N/A

1 Sales are through state stores.  Revenue is generated from various taxes, fees and net profits.
* Out of 32 states which levy a per gallon tax, highest to lowest.
N/A - Not Applicable

Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Alcohol – Liquor
January 2010

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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State Rate
($ per gallon) Rank* State Rate

($ per gallon) Rank*

Alabama 1.70   4  Montana 1.06   11  
Alaska 2.50   1  Nebraska .95   14  
Arizona .84   19  Nevada .70   23  
Arkansas .75   21  New Hampshire Footnote1 N/A
California .20   44  New Jersey .875   17  
Colorado .28   42  New Mexico 1.70   4  
Connecticut .60   25  New York .30   37  
Delaware .97   13  North Carolina .79   20  
Florida 2.25   2  North Dakota .50   31  
Georgia 1.51   6  Ohio .30   37  
Hawaii 1.38   9  Oklahoma .72   22  
Idaho .45   34  Oregon .67   24  
Illinois 1.39   8  Pennsylvania Footnote1 N/A
Indiana .47   33  Rhode Island .60   25  
Iowa 1.75   3  South Carolina .90   16  
Kansas .30   37  South Dakota .93   15  
Kentucky .50   31  Tennessee 1.21   10  
Louisiana .11   46  Texas .20   44  
Maine .60   25  Utah Footnote1 N/A
Maryland .40   35  Vermont .55   28  
Massachusetts .55   28  Virginia 1.51   6  
Michigan .51   30  Washington .87   18  
Minnesota .30   37  West Virginia 1.00   12  
Mississippi .35   36  Wisconsin .25   43  
Missouri .30   37  Wyoming Footnote1 N/A

1 Sales are through state stores.  Revenue is generated from various taxes, fees and net profits.
* Out of 46 states which impose a per gallon tax, highest to lowest.
N/A - Not Applicable

Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Alcohol – Wine
January 2010

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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State Rate
($ per gallon) Rank State Rate

($ per gallon) Rank

Alabama .53   4  Montana .14   36  
Alaska 1.07   1  Nebraska .31   14  
Arizona .16   30  Nevada .16   30  
Arkansas .23   21  New Hampshire .30   15  
California .20   22  New Jersey .12   39  
Colorado .08   44  New Mexico .41   8  
Connecticut .19   25  New York .14   36  
Delaware .16   30  North Carolina .53   4  
Florida .48   6  North Dakota .16   30  
Georgia .32   12  Ohio .18   27  
Hawaii .93   2  Oklahoma .40   10  
Idaho .15   34  Oregon .08   44  
Illinois .235   20  Pennsylvania .08   44  
Indiana .115   40  Rhode Island .10   42  
Iowa .19   25  South Carolina .77   3  
Kansas .18   27  South Dakota .27   16  
Kentucky .08   44  Tennessee .14   36  
Louisiana .32   12  Texas .20   22  
Maine .35   11  Utah .41   8
Maryland .09   43  Vermont .265   17  
Massachusetts .11   41  Virginia .26   19  
Michigan .20   22  Washington .261   18  
Minnesota .15   34  West Virginia .18   27  
Mississippi .4268   7  Wisconsin .06   48  
Missouri .06   48  Wyoming .02   50  

Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Alcohol – Beer
January 2010

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Highway Gasoline
January 2010

State
Rate
(¢ per 
gallon)

Other 
Tax1

(¢ per 
gallon)

Total
(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank

Alabama 16 2 18 38 
Alaska * 8 0 8 51 
Arizona 18 0 18 38 
Arkansas 21.5 0 21.5 26 
California 18 0 18 38 
Colorado 22 0 22 24 
Connecticut 25 0 25 13 
Delaware 23 0 23 22 
Dist of Columbia 20 0 20 31 
Florida 4 12 16 47 
Georgia 7.5 9.3 16.8 46 
Hawaii 17 0 17 44 
Idaho 25 1 26 12 
Illinois 19 1.1 20.1 30 
Indiana 18 0 18 38 
Iowa 21 0 21 28 
Kansas 24 0 24 19 
Kentucky 22.7 1.4 24.1 17 
Louisiana 20 0 20 31 
Maine 29.5 0 29.5 7 
Maryland 23.5 0 23.5 21 
Massachusetts 21 0 21 28 
Michigan 19 0 19 35 
Minnesota 27.1 0 27.1 10 
Mississippi 18 0.4 18.4 37 
Missouri 17 0.55 17.55 42 

State
Rate
(¢ per 
gallon)

Other 
Tax1

(¢ per 
gallon)

Total
(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank

Montana 27 0 27 11 
Nebraska 26.8 0.9 27.7 9 
Nevada 24 0.055 24.055 18 
New Hampshire 18 1.625 19.625 34 
New Jersey 10.5 4 14.5 49 
New Mexico 17 1.875 18.875 36 
New York 8 16.4 24.4 16 
North Carolina 30.3 0.25 30.55 6 
North Dakota 23 0 23 22 
Ohio 28 0 28 8 
Oklahoma 16 1 17 44 
Oregon 24 0 24 19 
Pennsylvania 12 19.2 31.2 4 
Rhode Island 30 1 31 5 
South Carolina 16 0 16 47 
South Dakota 22 0 22 24 
Tennessee 20 1.4 21.4 27 
Texas 20 0 20 31 
Utah 24.5 0 24.5 14 
Vermont 19 5.5 24.5 14 
Virginia 17.5 0 17.5 43 
Washington 37.5 0 37.5 1 
West Virginia 20.5 11.7 32.2 3 
Wisconsin 30.9 2 32.9 2 
Wyoming 13 1 14 50 

1 Includes state sales tax, gross receipts tax and underground storage tank taxes.
* Tax suspended effective September 1, 2008 through August 31, 2009.

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Aviation Fuel
January 2010

State Jet Fuel
(¢ per gallon) Rank1

Aviation 
Gas

(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank2

Alabama 1 30 3 33
Alaska * 3.2 20 4.7 30
Arizona 3.05 21 5.0 25 
Arkansas Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
California 2.0 25 18.0 6
Colorado 4.0 16 6.0 21 
Connecticut None N/A None N/A
Delaware None N/A 23.0 3 
Florida 6.9 9 6.9 19 
Georgia Sales Tax N/A 1.0 37
Hawaii 2 25 2 35
Idaho 6 10 7 17
Illinois 11.0 2 11.0 10
Indiana 0.8 33 18.0 6
Iowa 3.0 22 8.0 14
Kansas Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
Kentucky Sales Tax N/A 21.8 4
Louisiana Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A 
Maine 3.4 19 29.5 1 
Maryland 7.0 8 7.0 17
Massachusetts 9.2 4 23.2 2
Michigan 3.0 22 3.0 33
Minnesota 5.0 13 5.0 25
Mississippi 5.25 12 6.4 20 
Missouri Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A

State
Jet Fuel
(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank1

Aviation 
Gas

(¢ per 
gallon)

Rank2

Montana 4.0 16 4.0 31
Nebraska 3.0 22 5.0 25 
Nevada 1 30 1.0 37
New Hampshire 2.0 25 4.0 31
New Jersey 12.5 1 12.5 9
New Mexico Sales Tax N/A 17.0 8 
New York 8.0 6 8.0 14
North Carolina Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
North Dakota 8.0 6 8.0 14
Ohio Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
Oklahoma 0.08 34 0.08 39
Oregon 1.0 30 9.0 12 
Pennsylvania 2.0 25 5.3 24
Rhode Island None N/A None N/A
South Carolina Sales Tax N/A Sales Tax N/A
South Dakota 4.0 16 6.0 21 
Tennessee 1.4 29 1.4 36
Texas None N/A None N/A
Utah 9.0 5 9.0 12
Vermont Sales Tax N/A 20.0 5 
Virginia 5.0 13 5.0 25 
Washington 11.0 2 11.0 10
West Virginia 5% of 

average N/A
5% of 
average N/A

Wisconsin 6.0 10 6.0 21 
Wyoming 5.0 13 5.0 25 

1Out of 34 states with tax rates      
2Out of 39 states with tax rates
*Tax suspended effective September 1, 2008 through August 31, 2009.

Source: National Business Aircraft Association, Inc. 2010 State Aviation Tax Report
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Cigarette
January 2010

State Rate
($ per pack) Rank State Rate

($ per pack) Rank

Alabama (1) 0.425 45 Montana 1.70 16
Alaska 2.00 10 Nebraska 0.64 37
Arizona 2.00 10 Nevada 0.80 33
Arkansas 1.15 26 New Hampshire 1.78 15
California 0.87 31 New Jersey 2.70 7
Colorado (5) 0.84 32 New Mexico 0.91 30
Connecticut 3.00 2 New York (1) 2.75 3
Delaware 1.60 17 North Carolina 0.45 43
Florida (6) 1.339 22 North Dakota 0.44 44
Georgia 0.37 46 Ohio 1.25 23
Hawaii (3) 2.60 5 Oklahoma 1.03 27
Idaho 0.57 41 Oregon 1.18 25
Illinois (1) 0.98 29 Pennsylvania 1.60 17
Indiana 0.995 28 Rhode Island 3.46 1
Iowa 1.36 21 South Carolina 0.07 50
Kansas 0.79 34 South Dakota 1.53 19
Kentucky (2) 0.60 39 Tennessee (1)(2) 0.62 38
Louisiana 0.36 47 Texas 1.41 20
Maine 2.00 10 Utah 0.695 35
Maryland 2.00 10 Vermont 2.24 8
Massachusetts 2.51 7 Virginia (1) 0.30 48
Michigan 2.00 10 Washington 2.025 9
Minnesota (4) 1.23 24 West Virginia 0.55 42
Mississippi 0.68 36 Wisconsin 2.52 6
Missouri (1) 0.17 49 Wyoming 0.60 39

(1) Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes in AL, .01 - .06; IL, .10 - .15; MO, .04 - .07; NYC $1.50; TN, .01; and VA, .02 - .15.

(2) Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of .01 per pack in KY and .005 in TN.

(3) Tax Rate is scheduled to increase to $2.80 per pack effective July 1, 2010 and $3.00 per pack effective July 1, 2011.

(4) Plus an additional .33 sales tax is added to the wholesale price of a tax stamp (total $1.56). This rate is determined annually by the Department of Revenue.

(5) In addition there will be a 2.9% state sales tax on top of the stated per pack tax rate from 07/01/2009 through 07/01/2011

(6) includes a $1.00 per pack surcharge

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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State Rate State Rate
Alabama                  Cigars (2) $0.03 - $0.405/10 cigars Minnesota 70%  Wholesale Price

Tobacco/Snuff $0.01 - $0.08/ounce Mississippi 15%  Manufacturer Price

Alaska 75% Wholesale Price Missouri 10%  Manufacturer Price

Arizona                    Cigars (2)  $0.441 - $2.60/20 cigars Montana 50%  Wholesale Price

Tobacco/Snuff 23.8¢/ounce Nebraska 20%  Wholesale Price

Arkansas 68% Manufacturer Price Nevada 30%  Wholesale Price

California (3) 41.11% Wholesale Price New Hampshire 48.59%  Wholesale Price

Colorado 40% Manufacturer Price New Jersey 30%  Wholesale Price

Connecticut (5) 27.5% Wholesale Price New Mexico 25%  Product Value

Delaware 15% Wholesale Price New York 46%  Wholesale Price

Florida (7) 85% Wholesale Price North Carolina 12.8%  Wholesale Price

Georgia                Little Cigars $0.025/10 cigars North Dakota

Other Cigars 23% Wholesale Price Cigars & Tobacco 25% Wholesale Price

Tobacco 10% Wholesale Price Chew Tobaacco/Snuff $0.16 - $0.60/ounce

Hawaii 40%  Wholesale Price Ohio 17%  Wholesale Price

Cigars 50%  Wholesale Price Oklahoma                 Cigars (2) $0.36-$1.20/10 cigars

Tobacco/Snuff 70%  Wholesale Price Tobacco/Snuff 60% - 80%  Factory List Price

Idaho 40%  Wholesale Price Oregon 65%  Wholesale Price

Illinois 18%  Wholesale Price Pennsylvania  N/A

Indiana 24%  Wholesale Price Rhode Island 80%  Wholesale Price

Iowa (6) 50%  Wholesale Price South Carolina 5%  Manufacturer Price

Kansas 10%  Wholesale Price South Dakota 35%  Wholesale Price

Kentucky 15%  Wholesale Price Tennessee 6.6%  Wholesale Price

Louisiana                      Cigars 8%-20% Manufacturer Price Texas                       Cigars (2) $0.01 - $0.15/10 cigars

Tobacco/Snuff 20%-33% Manufacturer Price Tobacco/Snuff $1.10/ounce

Maine       Chewing Tob./Snuff 78%  Wholesale Price Utah 35%  Manufacturer Price

Smoking Tob./Cigars 20% Wholesale Price Vermont (6) 92%  Manufacturer Price

Maryland 15%  Wholesale Price Virginia 10%  Wholesale Price

Massachusetts Washington 75%  Wholesale Price

Smokeless Tobacco 90%  Wholesale Price West Virginia 7%  Wholesale Price

Smoking Tob./Cigars 30%  Wholesale Price Wisconsin 71%  Manufacturer Price

Michigan 32%  Wholesale Price Wyoming (4) 20%  Wholesale Price

Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Tobacco Products
January 2010

Tobacco products include chewing tobacco and snuff.  
     
(1) The volume based tax rates were converted to cents per 10 cigars or per ounce for consistency.
(2) tax rate on cigars varies, based on the selling price.
(3) Tax rate is adjusted annually by the state, effective July 1st each year.
(4) or 10% of retail price.
(5) Snuff tobacco taxed at 40 cents per ounce.
(6) Little cigars are taxed as cigarettes.
(7) Includeds a 60% surtax.

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Corporate Income
January 2010

State Rate (%)
Tax Brackets Number of 

BracketsLowest Highest
Alabama 6.5 Flat Rate 1
Alaska 1.0 - 9.4 $10,000 $90,000 10
Arizona 6.968 Flat Rate 1
Arkansas 1.0 - 6.5 $3,000 $100,000 6
California 8.84 Flat Rate 1
Colorado 4.63 Flat Rate 1
Connecticut 7.5 Flat Rate 1
Delaware 8.7 Flat Rate 1
Florida 5.5 Flat Rate 1
Georgia 6.0 Flat Rate 1
Hawaii 4.4 - 6.4 $25,000 $100,000 3
Idaho 7.6 Flat Rate 1
Illinois 7.3 Flat Rate 1
Indiana 8.5 Flat Rate 1
Iowa 6.0 - 12.0 $25,000 $250,000 4
Kansas 4.0 Flat Rate 1
Kentucky 4.0 - 6.0 $50,000 $100,000 3
Louisiana 4.0 - 8.0 $25,000 $200,000 5
Maine 3.5 - 8.93 $25,000 $250,000 4
Maryland 8.25 Flat Rate 1
Massachusetts 8.75 Flat Rate 1
Michigan 4.95 Flat Rate 1
Minnesota 9.8 Flat Rate 1
Mississippi 3.0 - 5.0 $5,000 $10,000 3
Missouri 6.25 Flat Rate 1

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Corporate Income
January 2010 
(Continued)

State Rate (%)
Tax Brackets Number of 

BracketsLowest Highest
Montana 6.75 Flat Rate 1
Nebraska 5.58 - 7.81 $100,000 2
Nevada No Corporation Income Tax N/A
New Hampshire 8.5 Flat Rate 1
New Jersey 9.0 Flat Rate 1
New Mexico 4.8 - 7.6 $500,000 $1,000,000 3
New York 7.1 Flat Rate 1
North Carolina 6.9 Flat Rate 1
North Dakota 2.1 - 6.4 $25,000 $50,000 3
Ohio 5.1 - 8.5 $50,000 2
Oklahoma 6.0 Flat Rate 1
Oregon 6.6 - 7.9 $250,000 2
Pennsylvania 9.99 Flat Rate 1
Rhode Island 9.0 Flat Rate 1
South Carolina 5.0 Flat Rate 1
South Dakota No Corporation Income Tax N/A
Tennessee 6.5 Flat Rate 1
Texas Tax Based on Capital and Surplus N/A
Utah 5.0 Flat Rate 1
Vermont 6.0 - 8.5 $10,000 $250,000 3
Virginia 6.0 Flat Rate 1
Washington No Corporation Income Tax N/A
West Virginia 8.5 Flat Rate 1
Wisconsin 7.9 Flat Rate 1
Wyoming No Corporation Income Tax N/A

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Individual Income*
January 2010

State Rate (%)
Tax Brackets Number of

BracketsLowest Highest
Alabama 2.0 - 5.0 $500 $3,000 3
Alaska No State Income Tax N/A
Arizona 2.59 - 4.54 $10,000 $150,000 5
Arkansas 1.0 - 7.0 $3,899 $32,600 6
California 1.25 - 9.55 $7,300 $47,900 6
Colorado 4.63 Flat Rate 1
Connecticut 3.0 - 6.5 $10,000 $500,001 3
Delaware 2.2 - 6.95 $5,000 $60,001 6
Florida No State Income Tax N/A
Georgia 1.0 - 6.0 $750 $7,000 6
Hawaii 1.4 - 11 $2,400 $200,001 12
Idaho 1.6 - 7.8 $1,320 $26,418 8
Illinois 3.0 Flat Rate 1
Indiana 3.4 Flat Rate 1
Iowa .36 - 8.98 $1,407 $63,316 9
Kansas 3.5 - 6.45 $15,000 $30,000 3
Kentucky 2.0 - 6.0 $3,000 $75,000 6
Louisiana 2.0 - 6.0 $12,500 $50,000 3
Maine 2.0 - 8.5 $4,949 $19,750 4
Maryland 2.0 - 6.25 $1,000 $1,000,001 8
Massachusetts 5.3 Flat Rate 1
Michigan 4.35 Flat Rate 1
Minnesota 5.35 - 7.85 $22,770 $74,781 3
Mississippi 3.0 - 5.0 $5,000 $10,000 3
Missouri 1.5 - 6.0 $1,000 $9,000 10

* Rates apply to unmarried individuals

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Individual Income*
January 2010 
(Continued)

State Rate (%)
Tax Brackets Number of

BracketsLowest Highest
Montana 1.0 - 6.9 $2,600 15,401 7
Nebraska 2.56 - 6.84 $2,400 $27,001 4
Nevada No State Income Tax N/A
New Hampshire Tax Limited to Dividends and Interest Income Only N/A
New Jersey 1.4 - 10.75 $20,000 $1,000,000 8
New Mexico 1.7 - 4.9 $5,500 $16,000 4
New York 4.0 - 8.97 $8,000 $500,000 7
North Carolina 6.0 - 7.75 $12,750 $60,000 3
North Dakota 1.84 - 4.86 $34,000 $373,650 5
Ohio 0.618 - 6.24 $5,000 $200,000 9
Oklahoma 0.5 - 5.5 $1,000 $8.701 7
Oregon 5.0 - 11.0 $2,000 $250,000 5
Pennsylvania 3.07 Flat Rate 1
Rhode Island 3.8 - 9.9 $33.500 $372,950 5
South Carolina 0 - 7.0 $2,740 $13,701 6
South Dakota No State Income Tax N/A
Tennessee Tax Limited to Dividends and Interest Income Only N/A
Texas No State Income Tax N/A
Utah 5.0 Flat Rate 1
Vermont 3.55 - 8.95 $33,950 $372,951 5
Virginia 2.0 - 5.75 3,000 17,000 4
Washington No State Income Tax N/A
West Virginia 3.0 - 6.5 $10,000 $60,000 5
Wisconsin 4.6 - 7.75 $10,220 $225,001 5
Wyoming No State Income Tax N/A

* Rates apply to unmarried individuals

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org
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Appendix B - State Tax Rate Comparisons
Sales
January 2010

State Rate
(%)

Alabama 4.0
Alaska No State Sales Tax
Arizona 5.6
Arkansas 6.0
California 8.25
Colorado 2.9
Connecticut 6.0
Delaware No State Sales Tax
Florida 6.0
Georgia 4.0
Hawaii 4.0
Idaho 6.0
Illinois 6.25
Indiana 7.0
Iowa 6.0
Kansas 5.3
Kentucky 6.0
Louisiana 4.0
Maine 5.0
Maryland 6.0
Massachusetts 6.25
Michigan 6.0
Minnesota 6.875
Mississippi 7.0
Missouri 4.225

State Rate
(%)

Montana No State Sales Tax
Nebraska 5.5
Nevada 6.85
New Hampshire No State Sales Tax
New Jersey 7.0
New Mexico 5.0
New York 4.0
North Carolina 5.75
North Dakota 5.0
Ohio 5.5
Oklahoma 4.5
Oregon No State Sales Tax
Pennsylvania 6.0
Rhode Island 7.0
South Carolina 6.0
South Dakota 4.0
Tennessee 7.0
Texas 6.25
Utah 4.7
Vermont 6.0
Virginia 4.0
Washington 6.5
West Virginia 6.0
Wisconsin 5.0
Wyoming 4.0

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators (FTA) - www.taxadmin.org


