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What’s New

Legislative Changes
HB 158, effective July 1, 2015, amends Alaska Statutes 43.40 
by adding a surcharge of $0.0095 per gallon on refined fuel 
sold, transferred, or used in Alaska. Aviation fuel is exempt 
from the surcharge.

Form Changes
Gallons used or delivered to users for heating are no longer 
reported on Form 532. These gallons must be transferred from 
aviation fuel to diesel or gasoline. 

The Tax Division Offers Electronic Filing

The Alaska Department of Revenue, Tax Division, offers elec-
tronic filing through Revenue Online, its tax revenue manage-
ment system. It’s an online portal where taxpayers can file and 
pay tax returns, view tax accounts and balances, apply for 
licenses, upload documents, and conduct other business with 
the Tax Division.

Revenue Online allows us to process refunds faster, communi-
cate with taxpayers quicker, and to more efficiently account for 
information we are required to report to the Alaska Legislature.

See the “How and Where to File” section on Page 2 for more on 
filing electronically through Revenue Online.

General Information
 
Refined fuel that is sold, transferred, or used in the state is sub-
ject to a surcharge of $0.0095 per gallon. The surcharge is paid 
by the dealer or user (if the fuel was not previously taxed).

“Refined fuel” means fuel produced from oil that is used in an 
engine, machine, or contrivance that creates heat, energy, or 
power.

The following refined fuels are exempt from the surcharge:

● fuel sold to a federal or state government agency for 
official use

● fuel refined and used outside the United States
● liquefied petroleum gas
● aviation fuel
● fuel sold or transferred between Qualified Dealers

Motor fuel that is sold, transferred, or used in the state is subject 
to a tax of $0.032 per gallon (jet fuel) or $0.047 per gallon (avia-
tion gasoline). The tax is paid by the dealer or user (if the fuel 
was not previously taxed).

“Motor fuel” means fuel used in an engine for the propulsion of 
a motor vehicle or aircraft, and fuel used in and on watercraft for 
any purpose, or in a stationary engine, machine or mechanical 
contrivance that is run by an internal combustion motor.

The following sales and uses of fuel are exempt:

● sale or transfer between Qualified Dealers

● export to other states or foreign countries
● sale directly to consumers to heat private or commer-

cial buildings or facilities but not including watercraft
● certain power plants for electrical generation:

▪ exclusively for private residential consumption

▪ commercial stationary power plants of 100 
kilowatts or less (not for resale)

▪ public utilities or nonprofit power associations 
generating electricity for sale

● charitable institutions
● federal, state, or local government agencies for official 

use
● residual fuel used in and on watercraft, known as #6 

diesel or bunker fuel
● jet fuel for use in flights to and from foreign countries

Filing Requirements

Every dealer must report all fuel sold, transferred, or used 
during the month, including exempt sales and uses. A dealer 
must file a separate return for each fuel type (diesel, gasoline, 
aviation fuel, and gasohol) but is only required to file the forms 
related to the fuel type for which they had activity within a report-
ing period.

A person who obtains fuel without paying tax and subsequently 
uses the fuel in a taxable manner must file a tax return to report 
the taxable use for the month in which they used the fuel.

Deduction for Timely Filing
A taxpayer is entitled to a credit of 1% of the total monthly tax 
due, limited to a maximum of $100, if the tax return is timely filed 
and the tax is timely paid. 

Due Date
The return and payment are due on the last day of the month 
following the month in which the fuel was sold or transferred. 

Avoid Common Mistakes

To facilitate the processing of your return, be sure to do the fol-
lowing:

1. Provide the correct federal employer identification 
number (FEIN) or Social Security number (SSN).

2. Provide the correct qualified dealer license number.
3. Provide the name and phone number of a contact 

person who is authorized to answer any questions 
the Tax Division may have regarding the return. The 
contact person must be an officer or employee who 
is authorized to answer any such questions. The Tax 
Division cannot discuss taxpayer information with an 
outside party unless we have received a Power of 
Attorney.

4. Attach schedules as required by the forms. Schedules 
providing detail are required as explained in these 
instructions. Attaching complete schedules will ensure 
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a valid filing and prevent unnecessary correspondence 
with the Tax Division. Be sure that attached schedules 
are properly referenced and agree to the totals reported 
on the form.

5. Verify that all qualified dealer license numbers entered 
on Schedules 2 and 6 were valid for the filing period.

6. Verify that all customers listed on Schedule 9 were ap-
proved to defer the tax for the filing period.

7. Sign the return. The return is not valid until it has 
been signed. The return must be signed and dated by 
a person legally authorized to do so.

How and Where to File

Filing Your Return
Taxpayers are encouraged to file their returns electronically us-
ing Revenue Online at http://online-tax.alaska.gov.

Or you may file a paper return by mail. The returns and other 
forms are on the Tax Division’s website at www.tax.alaska.gov. 
Please mail your completed return to: 

		  Alaska Department of Revenue
		  Tax Division
		  PO Box 110420
		  Juneau, AK 99811-0420

How to Pay
You may pay your taxes electronically through Revenue Online, 
http://online-tax.alaska.gov, or access it from our home page 
at www.tax.alaska.gov. You may also pay by wire transfer or 
mail in a check.

Note: If your payment is $100,000 or more, you must pay 
electronically through Revenue Online or by a wire transfer. See 
Alaska Administrative Code 15 AAC 05.310 for more information.

Pay Electronically
Revenue Online uses Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit 
payments. It does not accept credit cards or ACH credit transac-
tions.
 
If you are making a payment using Revenue Online for the 
first time, click on “Enroll Now” on the sign-in page and fol-
low the prompts. If you have questions, call the Tax Division at 
907.269.0041 or 907.269.6627. 

Check with your bank before setting up a debit (ACH) payment 
to determine if your account has a debit block. The block (or fil-
ter) controls electronic transactions posted to bank accounts and 
only accepts transactions from authorized ACH debit originators.
 
If you have a debit block on your account, you must ask your 
bank to list the State of Alaska as an authorized ACH debit 
originator on your account, and give your bank the Department 
of Revenue’s company ID (0000902050). If you don’t give that 
information to your bank, your bank will reject your tax payment, 
and rejected payments may result in late payment penalties and 
interest.

Pay by Wire Transfer
To make a payment by wire transfer, you must notify the Depart-
ment of Revenue, Treasury Division, by 2:00PM Alaska Time 
the business day prior to the wire transfer settlement date. 

For the notification, prepare a payment voucher on Revenue 
Online, and email it to dor.trs.cashmgmt@alaska.gov. The 
notice must include the taxpayer’s name, total payment amount, 
settlement date, tax type, purpose of the payment, and that the 
funds are for the Department of Revenue. If your payment covers 
multiple tax periods, prepare a separate voucher for each period.

Contact the Treasury Division for the State of Alaska’s bank in-
formation at dor.trs.cashmgmt@alaska.gov or 907.465.2320. 
Ask your bank to initiate a wire transfer of funds through the 
Federal Reserve wire transfer system to be received and cred-
ited to the State of Alaska.

If you don’t have email or want confirmation that a wire transfer 
was successful, call 907.465.2360. 

Pay by Check
Make checks payable to the State of Alaska. Mail your check 
and tax return to our Juneau office at the address below. To mail 
in your check without your tax return, fill out and print off a pay-
ment voucher from Revenue Online.
 
		  Alaska Department of Revenue
		  Tax Division
		  PO Box 110420
		  Juneau, AK  99811-0420

Penalties

Late Filing of a Return
Returns not filed by the due date are subject to a failure to file 
penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 30-day period or portion 
of a period the return is late, up to a maximum of 25%.

Late Payment of Tax
If the full amount of tax is not paid by the original due date of the 
return, even if an extension to file was granted, the return is sub-
ject to a failure to pay penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 
30-day period or portion of a period the payment is late, up to a 
maximum of 25%. An extension to file is not an extension to pay 
taxes. If, during any period or portion of a period, both the failure 
to file and failure to pay penalties are applicable, only the failure 
to file penalty is imposed.

Interest
Under Alaska Statute 43.05.225, interest will be assessed on 
any unpaid or delinquent tax. For current and historical rates, 
refer to our website at www.tax.alaska.gov.

Line-by-Line Instructions 

Complete Sections II and III and all supporting schedules before 
completing Section I.

Section I. Summary

Inventory Reconciliation

Line 1 – Beginning physical inventory. Enter the prior month’s 
ending inventory.

Line 2 – Receipts. Enter the amount from Page 2, Section II, line 5.

Line 3 – Disbursements. Enter the amount from Page 2, Section 
III, line 16.
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Line 4 – Gain (loss). This is a value calculated after all the other 
line items are entered in the Inventory Reconciliation section. 
The gain or loss includes gains and losses from temperature 
changes, and losses from spillage, fire, and other accidents. 
Enter a gain as a positive number. Enter a loss as a negative 
number. Attach an explanation for all losses not related to tem-
perature changes.

Line 5 – Transfers. Enter the amount of any fuel re-branded 
from one product to another. Do not enter transfers or exchang-
es of fuel between dealers. The total of all reported “transfers” 
during any month should equal zero.

Line 6 – Ending physical inventory. Add lines 1, 2, 4, and 5 and 
subtract line 3. This should match your actual (measured) end-
ing inventory.

Tax Computation

Line 7 – Total gallons delivered tax-on. Enter the amount from 
Page 2, Section III, line 4.

Line 8 – Tax-paid purchases. The total of highway and marine 
gallons should equal Page 2, Section II, line 2. Attach all original 
invoices to the tax return showing these purchases.

Line 9 – Net taxable gallons. Subtract line 8 from line 7.

Line 11 – Tax. Multiply line 9 by line 10.

Line 12 – Total tax. Add each entry from line 11.

Line 13 – Deduction for timely filing. Enter 1% of line 12, or 
$100, whichever is less. Enter zero if the return and/or payment 
is filed after the due date.

Line 14 – Claim for refund on fuel used by dealer for non-
highway use. Enter the number of gallons of fuel that you used 
for non-highway use. Multiply the gallons by the refundable tax 
rate. You must complete Schedule 16 – Equipment List showing 
a list of equipment in which the fuel was used. The total number 
of gallons claimed must equal the total on Schedule 16.

Line 15 – If filing an amended return, enter the total amount of 
tax paid on the original return and/or previous amendments. 
Otherwise, enter zero.

Line 16 – Total amount due. Subtract lines 13, 14a, 14b and 15 
from line 12.

Section II. Receipts

Report all transactions in whole gallons.

Line 1 – In-state refinery production. Enter the number of gal-
lons you produced in the state.

Line 2 – Gallons received tax-on. Enter the number of gallons 
you received tax-on. A dealer who purchases fuel and pays the 
tax at the time of purchase may claim a credit on the tax return 
for the tax paid.

Line 3 – Gallons received tax-off from Licensed Qualified Deal-
ers. Enter the total from Schedule 2.

Line 4 – Gallons imported from other states or foreign countries. 
Enter the total from Schedule 3.

Line 5 – Total receipts. Add lines 1 through 4. Enter here and on 
Page 1, Section 1, line 2. 

Section III. Disbursements

Report all transactions in whole gallons.

Gallons Delivered Tax-On

Line 1 – Gallons used. Enter the number of gallons you used, 
including fuel used for non-highway use.

Line 2 – Gallons delivered tax-on to retailers and consumers. 
Enter the number of gallons delivered to retailers and consum-
ers (users) with the tax collected.

Line 3 – Gallons delivered tax-on to Licensed Qualified Dealers. 
Enter the number of gallons delivered to qualified dealers with 
the tax collected.

Line 4 – Total gallons delivered tax-on. Add lines 1 through 3. 
Enter here and on Page 1, Section I, line 7.

Gallons Delivered Tax-Off

Line 5 – Gallons delivered tax-off to Licensed Qualified Dealers. 
Enter the total from Schedule 6.

Line 6 – Gallons exported to other states or foreign countries 
may be subject to the refined fuel surcharge. Enter the total from 
Schedule 7. Gallons exported to be used in a manner other than 
aviation fuel are subject to the refined fuel surcharge and must 
be reported on Form 530 or 531.

Line 7 – Gallons delivered to U.S. government agencies for their 
official use. Enter the number of gallons delivered tax-off to U.S. 
government agencies.

Line 8 – Gallons delivered to state and local government agen-
cies for their official use. Enter the number of gallons delivered 
tax-off to state and local government agencies. Gallons deliv-
ered to local government agencies to be used in a manner other 
than aviation fuel are subject to the refined fuel surcharge and 
must be reported on Form 530 or 531.

Line 9 – Gallons delivered to charitable institutions. Enter the 
number of gallons delivered tax-off to charitable institutions. Gal-
lons delivered to charitable institutions to be used in a manner 
other than aviation fuel are subject to the refined fuel surcharge 
and must be reported on Form 530 or 531.

Line 10 – Gallons used or delivered to users for heating are 
subject to the refined fuel surcharge. The gallons must be trans-
ferred from aviation fuel to diesel or gasoline and reported on 
Form 530 or 531.

Line 11 – Gallons delivered to Approved Deferred Air Carriers 
for foreign/domestic flights. Enter the total from Schedule 10.

Line 12 – Gallons used in foreign flights. Enter the total from 
Schedule 12.

Line 13 – Gallons delivered to air carriers that are not Qualified 
Dealers for use in foreign flights. Enter the total from Schedule 
13.
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Line 14 – Other exempt use or delivery. Enter any gallons used 
and/or delivered tax-off and not reported on lines 5 through 13. 
An explanation is required.

Line 15 – Total gallons delivered tax-off. Add lines 5 through 14.

Line 16 – Total disbursements. Add lines 4 and 15. Enter here 
and on Page 1, Section I, line 3.

Schedules

Schedule 2 – Gallons Received Tax-Off from Licensed 
Qualified Dealers
You must report all gallons received tax-off from licensed quali-
fied dealers by load. Report each load separately and the gal-
lons must be reported in whole numbers. The schedule must be 
fully completed. The license number of the qualified dealer you 
received fuel tax-off from must be valid for the filing period. A list 
of qualified dealer licenses and effective dates can be found at 
https://online-tax.alaska.gov. Enter the total number of gallons 
on Page 2, Section II, line 3.

Schedule 3 – Gallons Imported from Other States or 
Foreign Countries
You must report all gallons imported from other states or foreign 
countries by load. Report each load separately and the gallons 
must be reported in whole numbers. We suggest you report this 
information by bill of lading. This schedule must include all fuel 
for which you held title as it entered into Alaska. If title transfers 
upon delivery in Alaska, report the fuel as an import on Sched-
ule 3, and the subsequent sale on Schedule 6. You must report 
any sales to persons not licensed as qualified dealers in the 
state as taxable sales. The schedule must be fully completed, 
including the FEINs of the original suppliers. Enter the total on 
Page 2, Section II, line 4.

Schedule 6 – Gallons Delivered Tax-Off to Licensed 
Qualified Dealers
You must report all gallons delivered tax-off from licensed 
qualified dealers by load. Report each load separately and the 
gallons must be reported in whole numbers. We suggest you 
report this information by bill of lading. The schedule must be 
fully completed. The license number of the qualified dealer you 
delivered fuel tax-off to must be valid for the filing period. A list 
of qualified dealer licenses and effective dates can be found at 
https://online-tax.alaska.gov. Enter the total number of gallons 
on Page 2, Section III, line 5.

Schedule 7 – Aviation Fuel Exported to Other States 
or Foreign Countries
You must report all gallons exported to other states or foreign 
countries by load. Report each load separately and the gallons 
must be reported in whole numbers. We suggest you report 
this information by bill of lading. Exports to Canada should be 
reported by province. The schedule must be fully completed, 
including the FEINs of the original suppliers. Enter the total on 
Page 2, Section III, line 6.

Schedule 10 – Gallons Delivered Tax-Off to
Department of Revenue Approved Air Carriers
Use this schedule to report the number of jet fuel gallons deliv-
ered to air carriers that have elected to defer the jet fuel tax. You 
must report all gallons by load and the gallons must be reported 

in whole numbers. We suggest you report this information by 
bill of lading. The schedule must be fully completed. A list of 
deferred air carriers can be found at https://online-tax.alaska.
gov. Enter the total number of gallons on Page 2, Section III, 
line 11.

Schedule 12 – Jet Fuel Used for Foreign Flights
Use this schedule if you are an air carrier and qualified dealer. 
You must report all jet fuel gallons you used in jet propulsion 
aircraft operating flights from Alaska directly to a foreign country 
or flights re-fueling in Alaska that are continuing flights from a 
foreign country to another destination in the United States. You 
must report all gallons by load and the gallons must be reported 
in whole numbers. We suggest you report this information by bill 
of lading. The schedule must be fully completed. Enter the total 
number of gallons on Page 2, Section III, line 12.

Schedule 13 – Gallons Delivered to Non-Qualified 
Dealers for Use in Foreign Flights
You must report all jet fuel gallons delivered to non-qualified 
dealers for use in jet propulsion aircraft operating flights from 
Alaska directly to a foreign country or flights re-fueling in Alaska 
which are continuing flights from a foreign country to another 
destination in the United States. You must report all gallons by 
load and the gallons must be reported in whole numbers. We 
suggest you report this information by bill of lading. The sched-
ule must be fully completed. Enter the total number of gallons 
on Page 2, Section III, line 13.

Schedule 16 – Equipment List
Use this schedule to list equipment in which fuel being claimed 
for the non-highway refund was used. List each piece of equip-
ment for which the refund is being claimed and the number of 
gallons used. The schedule must be fully completed. 

Form 532A

The Department shares with the respective municipalities 60% 
of taxes attributable to aviation fuel sales at municipally owned 
or operated airports. The amount due to the municipalities is 
calculated based on Form 532A. You must complete a separate 
Form 532A for each municipally owned or operated airport that 
you sold or delivered aviation fuel to. The schedule must be 
fully completed. A link to a list of municipally owned or operated 
airports can be found at www.tax.alaska.gov/motorfuel. Attach 
the form(s) to the Form 530.

Additional Assistance

These instructions are not in place of Alaska statutes or regula-
tions and are offered only for the convenience of the taxpayer in 
completing the return.

If you have questions or require assistance, contact the Tax Di-
vision at dor.tax.motorfuel@alaska.gov or call 907.269.6620. 


