Instructions For Form 6325
2014 Alaska Veteran Employment Tax Credit

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Purpose of Form
Form 6325 is required for an employer to claim an income tax
credit for the employment of a veteran in the state.

Complete Form 6325 to claim an income tax credit on Form
6000, 6020, 6100, or 6150, or to report creditable activities on
Form 6900 Alaska Partnership Information Return.

An employer may be eligible to claim an income tax credit
for hiring a veteran in the state. The amount of the credit is
dependent on whether the veteran is disabled, and whether the
veteran is a permanent hire or a seasonal hire. If a permanent
hire, the law requires that the veteran be employed for 1,560
hours or more during the 12 consecutive months immediately
following the date the veteran is first employed. For a seasonal
hire, the law requires that the veteran be employed for 500 hours
or more during the three months immediately following the date
the veteran is first employed. The credit available is $3,000 for
the permanent hire of a disabled veteran and $2,000 for the
permanent hire of a veteran not disabled. A credit of $1,000
is available for the employment of any veteran in a seasonal
position.

The law imposes certain other requirements for the credit. The
employment of a veteran must start not more than two years after
discharge (in the case of a veteran not disabled) or 10 years
after discharge (in the case of a disabled veteran). The veteran
must have been unemployed for at least four weeks immediately
preceding the date employment begins.

The employer is required to maintain records to support its claim
of credit, including Form 6326 (see below) and a copy of the
veteran’s documentation to show the date that the veteran was
honorably discharged.

Other Related Forms

Form 6325 is a supplementary form that calculates the potential
credit to be ordered and limited on Form 6300 Alaska Incentive
Credits. Carryovers of the veteran employment tax credit are
reported directly on Form 6300. If the taxpayer is claiming a
carryover of the veteran employment tax credit, the employer
must attach a schedule of the carryover, showing amounts and
tax years in which the credit was generated, and the years of
utilization. See instructions for Form 6300 for more information.

Form 6326 Certificate of Qualifying Veteran is prepared and
signed by the qualifying veteran. The employer must secure the
certificate at the time of employment of the veteran, along with
a copy of the veteran’s federal Certificate of Discharge (DD 214
etc.) showing that the veteran was honorably discharged. Do
not send Form 6326 or the Certificate of Discharge with the tax
return.

If You Need Help

If you have questions, need additional information or require
other assistance, see our website at www.tax.alaska.gov, or
call:

Juneau: 907-465-2320
Anchorage: 907-269-6620

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

Line 1: Report the name, social security number, discharge
date, and employment date of each veteran hired in a permanent
position, in columns A, B, C, and D, respectively. Column E is a
check-box to indicate whether the veteran is disabled. Enter the
dates in columns C and D in the format mm/dd/yyyy.

Enter in column F the number of hours that the veteran was
employed during the twelve months immediately following
the date the veteran is first employed. If the amount of hours
employed is less than 1,560, then no credit is available for that
veteran. In column G, enter the credit available if all requirements
are met. The credit is $3,000 for the employment of a disabled
veteran in a permanent position, or $2,000 for a veteran who is
not disabled.

Additional Forms 6325 may be attached, if one Form 6325 is
inadequate to report all veterans hired. In this case, show the
total of all Forms 6325 on the first Form 6325 line 2, leaving line
2 blank on subsequent Forms 6325.

Line 3: Report the name, social security number, discharge
date, and employment date of each veteran hired in a seasonal
position, in columns A, B, C, and D, respectively, in the same
manner as described above.

In column F, enter the number of hours that the veteran was
employed during the three months immediately following the date
the veteran is first employed. If the amount of hours employed
is less than 500, then no credit is available for that veteran. The
credit is $1,000 for the employment of a veteran in a seasonal
position.

If additional Forms 6325 are needed, show the total of all Forms
6325 on the first Form 6325, line 4, leaving line 4 blank on
subsequent Forms 6325.

Attach Form 6325 to Form 6000, 6020, 6100, or 6150, or Form
6900, as appropriate.
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