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WHO MUST FILE A VEHICLE RENTAL TAX QUARTERLY 
TAX RETURN AND DUE DATES
A person required to collect from the renter and remit to 
the department a vehicle rental tax imposed by AS 43.52 is 
required to file a Vehicle Rental Tax Quarterly Tax Return. The 
quarterly tax return is due to the State of Alaska Department 
of Revenue according to the schedule listed below:

Calendar Quarter Ended	 Due Date
	 March 31		  April 30
	 June 30			  July 31
	 September 30		  October 31
	 December 31		  January 31

TAX RATES
AS 43.52.020 levies a tax of 10 percent of the total fees 
and costs charged for the lease or rental of a passenger 
vehicle. AS 43.52.030 levies a tax of 3 percent of the 
total fees and costs charged for the lease or rental of a 
recreational vehicle.

EXEMPTIONS
1.	 A lease or rental contract that contains a term 

exceeding 90 consecutive days is exempt from the 
vehicle rental tax. Lease extensions, renewals, and new 
or supplemental contracts may not be combined with 
previous contracts in determining whether a lease or 
rental contains a term exceeding 90 consecutive days.

2.	 The vehicle rental tax does not apply to leases or rentals 
for official use to federal, state, or local government 
agencies (AS 43.52.090). The rental agency must 
obtain a completed Government Use Exemption 
Certificate from the renter that specifies the nature of 
the exemption and contains a signed certification by 
the renter that the lease or rental is authorized by the 
government agency for official use. The rental agency 
has the option of using the State of Alaska’s Government 
Use Exemption Certificate form or providing all of the 
information contained on the State’s form as part of the 
rental agreement contract or as an addendum to the 
contract.

3.	 (a) Rental trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating 
greater than 8,500 pounds and used primarily for the 
transportation of personal property.
(b) A vehicle provided by an automobile dealer to 
a customer as replacement transportation during 
warranty, recall, or service contract repairs if the dealer 
does not receive compensation from the customer. The 
rental agency must obtain a completed Other Usage 
Exemption Certificate from the renter that specifies 
the nature of the exemption and contains a signed 
certification by the renter/customer.

WHERE TO FILE
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
TAX DIVISION
PO BOX 110420
JUNEAU AK 99811-0420

PAYMENT OF TAX 
Tax payments can be made by	 Electronic Funds Transfer 
(EFT), wire transfer or check.  
 
When a return payment is $150,000 or greater, payment 
must be made by EFT or wire transfer, see 15 AAC 05.310.   
 
ELECTRONIC FUNDS TRANSFER
Pay your taxes online electronically by using the Online 
Tax Information System (OTIS) Payment Center at www.
tax.alaska.gov. OTIS accommodates Automated Clearing 
house (ACH) debit payments.  OTIS does not accept ACH 
credit or credit card transactions.  You must be registered in 
My Alaska to make your payment using OTIS. 
 
You must be an existing taxpayer with the Tax Division to pay 
electronically using OTIS.  If you are a first-time taxpayer, 
contact the Tax Division at 907-465-2320 or visit www.tax.
alaska.gov for information.  

If your bank account has a debit block, your online 
payment request will be rejected by your bank. Rejected 
payments may result in late payment penalties and/or 
interest. If you think your bank account has a debit block, 
contact your bank before making an online payment to 
register the State of Alaska as an authorized ACH debit 
originator. The company ID for the Alaska Department of 
Revenue is 0000902050.

WIRE TRANSFER
If you are paying by wire transfer, you are required to notify 
the State of Alaska, Treasury Division by 2:00 p.m. the 
business day prior of the wire transfer settlement date.  Use 
fax number 907-465-4019 or email to cashmgmt@alaska.
gov.  The notice must include the taxpayer name, Employer 
Identification Number (EIN), tax type, tax year, total payment 
amount, settlement date and the state agency the funds are 
for. If the payment covers multiple tax types or tax years, 
specify the amount applicable to each.

PAYMENT BY CHECK
Make checks payable to the State of Alaska. Note that if 
your total payment exceeds $150,000, you are required to 
pay by EFT or wire transfer.

Checks must be submitted with the appropriate return 
or payment voucher. Payment vouchers can be found 
on the OTIS Payment Center which must show name, 
address, tax year and EIN. 

Mail check with return or payment voucher to:

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
TAX DIVISION 
PO BOX 110420 
JUNEAU AK  99811-0420

State of Alaska
Vehicle Rental Tax Quarterly Tax Return Instructions
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PENALTIES
1.	 Late filing of a return. A person that does not file their 

return by the due date is subject to a failure to file penalty 
of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 30 day period or portion 
of a period the return is late, up to a maximum of 25%.

2.	 Late payment of tax. A person that does not pay the 
full amount of tax when due is subject to a failure to 
pay penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 30 day 
period or portion of a period the payment is late, up to 
a maximum of 25%. If during any period or portion of a 
period, both the failure to file and failure to pay penalties 
are applicable, only the failure to file penalty is imposed. 

ALASKA INTEREST RATES ON TAX DUE 
Refer to interest rates posted at www.tax.alaska.gov. 

LINE BY LINE INSTRUCTIONS
Line 1 - Enter gross fees and costs charged for lease or 
rental of passenger vehicles during the calendar quarter. 
See definitions of “fees and costs”, “calendar quarter” and 
“passenger vehicle” found in the Definitions section of 
instructions.

Line 2 - Enter tax exempt fees and costs charged for the 
rental or lease of passenger vehicles during the calendar 
quarter. See Exemptions section of instructions for charges 
that should be included on this line.

Line 3 - Subtract Line 2 from Line 1 and enter results.

Line 4 - Multiply Line 3 by 10% or .10 and enter results.

Line 5 - Enter gross fees and costs charged for lease or 
rental of recreational vehicles during the calendar quarter. 
See definitions of “fees and costs”, “calendar quarter” and 
“recreational vehicle” found in the Definitions section of the 
instructions.

Line 6 - Enter tax exempt fees and cost charged for the 
rental or lease of recreational vehicles during the calendar 
quarter. See Exemptions section of instructions for charges 
that should be included on this line.

Line 7 - Subtract Line 6 from Line 5 and enter results.

Line 8 - Multiply Line 7 by 3% or .03 and enter results.

Line 9 - Add Line 4 and Line 8 together and enter results.

Line 10 - If you are filing an amended return, enter the 
Vehicle Rental Tax paid when you filed the original return for 
the same calendar quarter. If you are not filing an amended 
return, enter zero on this line.

Line 11 - Subtract Line 10 from Line 9 and enter the results. 
If the results are positive, taxes are due to the Department. 
If the results are negative, you will receive a refund from the 
Department.

DEFINITIONS

Calendar Quarter means the period of three calendar 
months of the calendar year each beginning January 1, April 
1, July 1, and October 1.

Commercial Vehicle means a motor vehicle or a 
combination of a motor vehicle and one or more other 
vehicles that are used to transport property or more than 14 
passengers (including the driver), used on a land highway 
or vehicular way, weighs more than 26,000 pounds or 
transports hazardous materials.

Department means the Department of Revenue.

Emergency or Fire Equipment means equipment that is 
necessary to the preservation of life or property.

Farm Vehicle means a vehicle that is controlled and 
operated by a farmer, used to transport agricultural products, 
farm machinery, or farm supplies to or from that farmer’s 
farm, not used in the operations of a common or contract 
motor carrier, and used within 150 miles of the farmer’s farm.

Federal, State or Local Government Agency means 
domestic federal, state and local agencies, as well as foreign 
agencies exempt by federal law from the tax and which 
possess a tax exemption card issued by the United States 
Department of State.

Fees and Costs means all charges incurred by the renter 
for the lease or rental of a passenger or recreational vehicle 
without regard to billing practices, credit procedures, or bad 
debt and includes amounts paid to, or retained by, travel and 
other agents as a commission or fee for services related to 
the leasing or rental of a passenger or recreational vehicle. 
All charges incurred do not include: 
•	 fees from the sales of automobile liability insurance, 

loss damage waiver insurance or personal accident 
insurance

•	 parking tickets
•	 sales or excise taxes
•	 payment for damages to the vehicle during the rental 

period
•	 concession fees paid to an airport
•	 separately itemized charges for pots, pans, linens, 

cellular telephones, child car seats, global positioning 
systems and other personal property

•	 cancellation fees
•	 certain adjustments made at the end of a contract for 

fuel, damage, towing fees and overdue penalties 

Passenger Vehicle means a motor vehicle (self-propelled, 
but not by animal or human power) that is driven or moved 
on a highway or other public right-of-way in the state. 
Passenger vehicles do not include commercial vehicles, 
emergency or fire equipment, farm vehicles or recreational 
vehicles.
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Recreational Vehicle means a motor vehicle or trailer 
for recreational dwelling purposes, a motor home or other 
vehicle with a motor home body style, a one-piece camper 
vehicle or any other self-propelled vehicle with living 
quarters.

Vehicle means a device in, upon, or by which a person or 
property may be transported or drawn upon or immediately 
over a highway or vehicular way or area. Vehicle does not 
include devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or 
tracks, mobile homes or watercraft.

NEED HELP?
These instructions are not regulations and are offered only 
for the convenience of the taxpayer in completing the form. 
The applicable regulation may be found at 15 AAC 52.010 
- .990. If you have any questions regarding these filing 
requirements, please contact:

	 Department of Revenue, Tax Division
	 550 West 7th Ave Suite 500
	 Anchorage AK 99501
	 Phone:	 907-269-6620
	 Fax:	 907-269-6644


