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STATE OF ALASKA 
TIRE FEES QUARTERLY RETURN 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

 
General Instructions:  
In the state of Alaska, there is a $2.50 tire fee imposed on the sale 
of all new tires (whether studded or not) for motor vehicles 
designed for use on a highway.  New tires include unused tires 
customarily sold by tire dealers, as well as retreaded or 
remanufactured tires.  Tires subject to the fee include automobile, 
motorcycle, truck, and trailer tires, including tires for rigs and 
devices intended to be hitched or trailed behind a motor vehicle 
designed for highway use.  Off-road tires such as those used on 
lawn mowers, farm equipment, racing cars, and similar vehicles 
that are not designed by the manufacturer for highway use, are not 
subject to the fee.    
 
Effective July 1, 2004, an additional $5.00 fee is imposed on the 
sale of tires with metal studs or spikes weighing more than 1.1 
grams each (“heavy studs”).  The $5.00 fee applies to the 
installation of heavy metal studs in a new or used tire.      
 
Sales to a federal, state, or local government agency for official 
use are exempt from both the $2.50 fee and the $5.00 fee on tires 
with heavy metal studs.  Sales for resale are also exempt from 
both portions of the fee.  A certificate of use must be obtained for 
these sales.  Other transfers that are not subject to the fee include 
the sale of used tires and certain replacements of defective tires. 
 
Tire fees are due at the time of the sale or service.  The seller is 
required to collect the fees at the time of the sale or service and 
the seller is also required to file a return and remit the fees 
collected to the Alaska Department of Revenue.  The seller is 
liable for the fees if the seller fails to collect the fees.  A seller is 
liable for the fees, as well as penalties and interest, in the same 
manner as if the fees were taxes under AS 43. 
 
A return is required to be filed for each calendar quarter.  The 
return is due the 30th day of the month following the end of 
the calendar quarter: 

      
Quarter Qtr Ending Date  Return Due Date 
 1 March 31 April 30 
 2 June 30 July 30 
 3 September 30 October 30 
 4 December 31 January 30 
 
A person subject to the fee should refer to the statute, AS 
43.98.025, for further guidance before filing the return. 
 
 
Line by Line Instructions: 
Top of page.   

• Check the box if the filing is to amend a prior return.  
• Fill in the EIN or SSN, and Alaska business license 

number of the person filing the return (the seller). 
• Fill in the calendar quarter ending date for which the 

return is being filed (see above). 
• Fill in the name, mailing address, e-mail address, 

telephone number and fax numbers for the seller. 
• Fill in the name of a contact person, the title of that 

person and the telephone number for the individual.  This 
individual is the person you authorize the department to 
contact as your representative if the department has a 
question regarding the return. 

 
Lines 1 through 16.  Fee Calculation 
Line 1. Enter the total number of new tires sold in the state.  
Include in the total all new tires, whether studded or not.  
 

Line 2. Enter the total number of new tires sold to exempt 
entities, as summarized in Column D of the Supporting Schedule 
of Exempt Tire Sales. 
 
Line 3. Enter the number of taxable new tires sold in the state.  
This number is Line 1 less Line 2.  
 
Line 4. The fee rate for new tires (whether studded or not) is 
$2.50 per tire.   
 
Line 5. Enter the total fees on new tires.  Multiply Line 3 by Line 
4.  Enter the result in Line 5.  
 
Line 6. Enter the total number of studded tires sold.  Include 
tires imbedded with metal studs or spikes weighing more than 1.1 
grams each. 
  
Line 7. Enter the total number of tire stud installation services 
performed.  Include only installations of metal studs weighing more 
than 1.1 grams each. 
 
Line 8. Enter the total number of studded tires sold and tire 
stud installations performed for exempt entities, as summarized in 
Column E of the Supporting Schedule of Exempt Tire Sales. 

 
Line 9. Enter the total number of taxable studded tires and 
stud installations performed.  Add Lines 6 and 7, subtract Line 8.  
Enter the result in Line 9. 
 
Line 10. The fee rate for tires imbedded with metal studs or 
spikes weighing more than 1.1 grams each is $5.00 per tire. 
 
Line 11. Enter total fees on studded tires and stud installations.  
Multiply Line 9 by Line 10.  Enter the result in Line 11. 
 
Line 12. Enter total tire fees for all new tires sold, studded tires 
sold and stud installations performed.  Add lines 5 and 11.  Enter 
the sum in Line 12. 
 
Line 13. Enter 5% of the amount in Line 12.  The amount 
cannot exceed $900.  Enter $0 if the tax amount due is not paid 
timely. 
 
Line 14. Enter the total tire fees due this quarter.  Subtract Line 
13 from Line 12 and enter the result in Line 14. 
 
Line 15. Use Line 15 only if this is an amended return for a 
previous quarter.  The box at the top of the form (indicating that 
this is an amended return) must be checked.  Enter the amount 
from Line 16 (“Amount Due”) of the ORIGINAL tire fee return for 
this quarter. 
 
Line 16. Subtract Line 15 from Line 14.  This is the amount due 
for tire fees for the quarter.  If the amount due is $100,000 or more, 
you must make a wire transfer of electronic funds transfer (EFT) in 
accordance with 15 AAC 05.310. 
  
Sign and date the return.  The return must be signed by a 
person authorized by law to act on behalf of the seller.    
 
Supporting Schedule of Exempt Tire Sales.  Tire sellers must 
complete this schedule if they sold new tires, studded tires, or 
performed stud installation services for exempt purchasers, as 
provided by AS 43.98.025(g).  The number of exempt tires 
reported on the supporting schedule must agree with the number 
of exempt tires & services reported on Lines 2 and 8 of the Tire 
Fees Quarterly Return (Form 04-200).  Additional pages may be 
added as necessary.     


