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General Information
In the State of Alaska there is a $2.50 tire fee imposed on the 
sale of all new tires (whether studded or not) for motor vehicles 
designed for use on a highway. New tires include unused 
tires customarily sold by tire dealers as well as retreaded or 
remanufactured tires. Tires subject to the fee include automobile, 
motorcycle, truck, and trailer tires, including tires for rigs and 
devices intended to be hitched or trailed behind a motor vehicle 
designed for highway use. Off-road tires such as those used on 
lawn mowers, farm equipment, racing cars, and similar vehicles 
that are not designed by the manufacturer for highway use are 
not subject to the fee.

An additional $5.00 fee is imposed on the sale of tires with metal 
studs or spikes weighing more than 1.1 grams each (“heavy 
studs”). The $5.00 fee also applies to the installation of heavy 
metal studs in a new or used tire.

Sales to a federal, state, or local government agency for official 
use are exempt from both the $2.50 fee and the $5.00 fee on tires 
with heavy metal studs. Sales for resale are also exempt from 
both portions of the fee. A certificate of use must be obtained for 
these sales. Other transfers that are not subject to the fee include 
the sale of used tires and certain replacements of defective tires. 
Sales to nonprofit and charitable organizations are not exempt 
from the tire fees.

Tire fees are due at the time of the sale or service. The seller 
is required to collect the fees at the time of the sale or service 
and the seller is also required to file a return and remit the fees 
collected to the Alaska Department of Revenue. The seller is 
liable for the fees if the seller fails to collect the fees. A seller is 
liable for the fees, as well as penalties and interest in the same 
manner as if the fees were taxes under AS 43.

A return is required to be filed for each calendar quarter. The 
return is due the 30th day of the month following the end of 
the calendar quarter:

Quarter	   Qtr Ending Date      Return Due Date
     1	 March 31	 April 30
     2	 June 30	 July 30
     3	 September 30	 October 30
     4	 December 31	 January 30

How To File
File online return – File your Tire Fees Quarterly Return using 
the Online Tax Information System (OTIS) at: www.tax.alaska.
gov. You may also pay your tax online at this site.

File paper return - Mail completed return to:

TAX DIVISION
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 110420
JUNEAU AK  99811-0420

Payment
Pay your taxes using the Online Tax Information System (OTIS) at 
www.tax.alaska.gov. Note that you must be an existing taxpayer 
with the Tax Division to pay electronically.  If you are a first-time 
taxpayer, contact the Tax Division at (907) 465-2320 or visit www.
tax.alaska.gov for information.

ACH Debit (EFT) - OTIS accommodates Automated Clearing 
House (ACH) debit payments.  If your bank account has a 
debit block, your online payment request will be rejected by 
your bank.  Rejected payments may result in late payment 
penalties and/or interest.

If you think your bank account has a debit block, contact your 
bank before making an online payment to register the State of 
Alaska as an authorized ACH debit originator.  The company ID 
for the Alaska Department of Revenue is 0000902050.

Credit Cards or ACH Credit - OTIS cannot accept credit cards 
or ACH credit transactions for this tax program.

Wire Transfers - If you are paying by wire transfer, log on to the 
OTIS website at www.tax.alaska.gov for instructions.

Checks - Note that if your total payment exceeds $100,000 you 
are required to pay electronically or by wire transfer. If you are 
paying by check,  make your check payable to the State of Alaska 
and mail it with your return to:

TAX DIVISION
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
PO BOX 110420
JUNEAU AK  99811-0420

Penalties
Late filing of return.  Returns not filed by the due date are subject 
to a failure to file penalty of 5% of the unpaid fees for each 30 day 
period or portion of a period the return is late, up to a maximum 
of 25%.

Late payment of tax.  If the full amount of fees is not paid when 
due, the return is subject to a failure to pay penalty of 5% of the 
unpaid fees for each 30 day period or portion of a period that the 
payment is late, up to a maximum of 25%.  If during any period 
or portion of a period, both the failure to file and failure to pay 
penalties are applicable, only the failure to file penalty is imposed.

Interest
Under Alaska Statute 43.05.225, interest will be assessed on any 
unpaid or delinquent fees.  Interest is compounded quarterly at 
the applicable rate each quarter.  Refer to www.tax.alaska.gov or 
contact the Tax Division for applicable rates.

Records
All fee payers are required to keep adequate records pertaining 
to each line item on the return.  Records may include, but are 
not limited to, general ledgers, invoices, and inventory schedules.

Line By Line Instructions
A person subject to the fee should refer to the statute, AS 
43.98.025 for further guidance before filing the return.

Top of Page
•	 Enter the EIN or SSN and Alaska business license number of 

the person filing the return (the seller).
•	 Enter the calendar quarter ending date for which the return is 

being filed (see above).
•	 Check the box if the filing is to amend a prior return.
•	 Enter the name, mailing address, e-mail address, telephone 

number and fax numbers for the seller.
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•	 Enter the name of a contact person, the title of that person 
and the telephone number for the individual. This individual 
is the person you authorize the department to contact as your 
representative if the department has a question regarding the 
return.

Fee Calculation
Line 1 - Enter the total number of new tires sold in the state. 
Include in the total all new tires, whether studded or not and 
exempt tires reported on Line 2.

Line 2 - Enter the total number of new tires sold to exempt entities, 
as summarized in Column D of the Supporting Schedule of 
Exempt Tire Sales.

Line 3 - Enter the number of taxable new tires sold in the state. 
This number is Line 1 less Line 2.

Line 5 - Enter the total fees on new tires. Multiply Line 3 by Line 4.

Line 6 - Enter the total number of studded tires sold. Include 
tires imbedded with metal studs or spikes weighing more than 
1.1 grams each. Include the number of exempt studded tires 
reported in Line 8.

Line 7 - Enter the total number of tire stud installation services 
performed. Include only installations of metal studs weighing 
more than 1.1. grams each. Include the number of exempt stud 
installations reported in Line 8.

Line 8 - Enter the total number of studded tires sold and tire 
stud installations performed for exempt entities as summarized in 
Column E of the Supporting Schedule of Exempt Tire Sales.

Line 9 - Enter the total number of taxable studded tires and stud 
installations performed. Add Lines 6 and 7, subtract Line 8.

Line 11 - Enter the total fees on studded tires and stud 
installations. Multiply Line 9 by Line 10.

Line 12 - Enter the total tire fees for all new tires sold, studded 
tires sold and stud installations performed. Add Lines 5 and 11.

Line 13 - Enter 5% of the amount on Line 12. The amount cannot 
exceed $900. Enter $0 if the tax amount due is not paid timely.

Line 14 - Enter the total tire fees due this quarter. Subtract Line 
13 from Line 12.

Line 15 - Use this line only if this is an amended return for a 
previous quarter. You must check the box at the top of the form 
to indicate that this is an amended return. Enter the amount from 
Line 16 (“Amount Due”) from the ORIGINAL tire fee return for this 
quarter. 

Line 16 - Subtract Line 15 from Line 14. This is the amount due 
for tire fees for the quarter. 

Sign and date the return. The return must be signed by a 
person authorized by law to act on behalf of the seller.

Schedule A - Tire Inventory
Each seller who collects the tire fee must keep a record of 
inventories each month under 15 AAC 98.090(a) and inventories 
must be reported on the quarterly return.  Inventory should be 
kept for all tires, tires subject to the fee, studded tires subject to 
the fee, and tires not subject to the fee.

New Unstudded Tires Subject to the Tire Fee (Column A).  
This includes all new tires manufactured for vehicles designed 
for highway use.  This does not include new studded tires (see 
Column B) or off-road tires, used tires, or tires upon which the fee 
has already been paid.

New Studded Tires Subject to the Tire Fee (Column B).    
This includes all new studded tires manufactured for vehicles 
designed for highway use.  This does not include used studded 
tires or studded tires upon which the fee has already been paid.

Total New Tires Subject to the Tire Fee (Column C).
This should equal column A plus column B.

Line 1 -  Enter the tire inventory on the first day of the quarter.  
This should equal the ending inventory from the last quarter.  If 
this does not match, attach an explanation.

Line 2 - Enter all tires purchased, produced, or otherwise received 
during the quarter.

Line 3 -  Enter all tires sold or transferred in the quarter, including 
all sales to exempt purchasers.  The sum of Column A, Line 3 and 
Column B, Line 3 should match Page 1, Line 1 for Tires Subject 
to the Fee, and Column B, Line 3 should match Page 1, Line 6  
for Studded Tires Subject to the Fee.  If it does not match, attach 
an explanation.

Line 4 -  Enter any adjustments to inventory not accounted for on 
Lines 2 and 3.  Attach an explanation.

Supporting Schedule Of Exempt Tire Sales
Tire sellers must complete this schedule if they sold new tires, 
studded tires, or performed stud installation services for exempt 
purchases, as provided by AS 43.98.025(g). The number of 
exempt tires reported on the supporting schedule must agree 
with the number of exempt tires and services reported on Lines 
2 and 8 of the Tire Fees Quarterly Return (Form 200). You must 
have a current year Tire Fees Certificate of Use (Form 201) 
for each tax exempt purchaser entered in this section. This 
certificate must be kept on hand for three years. Additional pages 
may be added as necessary.

If You Need Help
If you have any questions, need additional information or 
require other assistance, call (907) 269-6620.  Current forms, 
instructions, statutes and regulations are available online at www.
tax.alaska.gov.


