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General Information

Who Must File a Mining License Tax Return?
A person engaged in one or more of the following activities in 
the state is in the business of mining and shall obtain a mining 
license and file a mining license tax return: 

1.	 A person owning and operating a mining property.
2.	 A person owning a mining property and receiving lease 

payments or royalty payments based on production from the 
property. 

3.	 A person leasing a mining property. 
4.	 A person processing a mineral interest, whether an economic 

or production interest, in a producing property, including 
royalty, working or operating interests, net profits, overriding 
royalties, carried interests and production payments.

Return Period 
A taxpayer shall make the return either on a calendar year or 
fiscal year basis, in conformance with the basis used in making 
the return for federal income tax purposes. An entity with a 
calendar year-end shall file a return on or before April 30 of the 
following calendar year. An entity with a fiscal year-end shall file a 
return on or before the last day of the fourth month following the 
end of the fiscal year.

Form 662
Use this form to calculate the Alaska mining license tax on all 
mining operations conducted during the tax year in Alaska, 
including operating and royalty interests. A mining operation is 
an operation by which valuable metals, ores, minerals, asbestos, 
gypsum, coal, or stone, or any of them are extracted, mined, 
or taken from the earth. A mining operation consists of a single 
mining property or several mining properties that are connected 
geographically.

How and Where to File
File paper return - Mail completed return to:

TAX DIVISION
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO Box 110420
JUNEAU AK  99811-0420

Payment
Pay taxes using the Online Tax Information System (OTIS) at 
www.tax.alaska.gov. Note that you must be an existing taxpayer 
with the Tax Division to pay electronically.  If you are a first-time 
taxpayer, contact the Tax Division at 907-465-2320 or visit www.
tax.alaska.gov for information.

ACH Debit (EFT) - OTIS accommodates Automated Clearing 
House (ACH) debit payments.  If your bank account has a debit 
block, your online payment request will be rejected by your bank.  
Rejected payments may result in late payment penalties and/or 
interest.

If you think your bank account has a debit block, contact your 
bank before making an online payment to register the State of 
Alaska as an authorized ACH debit originator.  The company ID 
for the Alaska Department of Revenue is 0000902050.

Credit Cards & ACH Credit - OTIS does not accept credit card 
or ACH credit transactions for this tax program.

Wire Transfers - If paying by wire transfer, log on to the OTIS 
website at www.tax.alaska.gov for instructions.

Checks - Note that if the total payment exceeds $150,000 it 
must be paid electronically or by wire transfer. If paying by check,  
make payable to the State of Alaska and mail it with the tax return.

Penalties 

Late filing of return.  Returns not filed by the due date are 
subject to a failure to file penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 
30 day period or portion of a period the return is late, up to a 
maximum of 25%.

Late payment of tax.  If the full amount of tax is not paid when 
due, the return is subject to a failure to pay  penalty of 5% of 
the unpaid tax for each 30 day period or portion of a period the 
payment is late, up to a maximum of 25%.  If during any period 
or portion of a period, both the failure to file and failure to pay 
penalties are applicable, only the failure to file penalty is imposed.

Interest 
Under Alaska Statute 43.05.225, interest will be assessed on any 
unpaid or delinquent tax. Interest is compounded quarterly at the 
applicable rate each quarter. Refer to www.tax.alaska.gov or 
contact the Tax Division for applicable rates. 

LINE BY LINE INSTRUCTIONS

Note: Report all income and expenses in U.S. Dollars

Line 1 - Enter the aggregate amount of taxable income from all 
mining operations as reported on line 7 of each Schedule A.

Line 2 - Computation of tax.  If line 1 is: 
•	 $40,000 or less; the tax is zero.  
•	 Over $40,000 and less than or equal to $50,000; the tax is 

$1,200 plus 3% (0.03) of the excess over $40,000.
•	 Over $50,000 and less than or equal to $100,000; the tax is 

$1,500 plus 5% (0.05) of excess over $50,000.
•	 Over $100,000; the tax is $4,000 plus 7% (.07) of excess 

over $100,000.

Line 3 - Exploration incentive credit. Enter the amount from line 5 
of Form 665 Exploration Incentive Credit. 

Line 4 - Enter the amount, if any, from line 6 of Schedule EC 
- Mining Business Education Credit. Contributions used to 
calculate a credit against any other taxes e.g. Alaska corporation 
net income tax, cannot be used as a credit against the Mining 
License Tax.

Line 6 - Enter any payments of tax previously paid with Form 
668, Application for Extension of Time to File.
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Line 7 - If filing an amended return, enter the amount of tax paid 
on the original return.  Otherwise enter zero.

Schedule A - Taxable Income From Mining Operation
A separate Schedule A must be completed for each mining 
operation from which income or royalties are received. Taxable 
income must be calculated for each mining operation separately. 
Examples of mining operations are as follows:

Example 1: Mining company A is a gold dredging operator 
which owns or leases three properties. The properties are joined 
contiguously and lie within a single river valley. Company A 
acquires an additional lease that shares a common boundary 
with the other properties. Company A is engaged in a single 
mining operation that includes the four properties. Company A is 
required to file a single Schedule A to report taxable income from 
its operation.

Example 2: Company B owns and operates property P1, a 
producing placer mine in southeast Alaska, receives a royalty 
from property P2 located in Fairbanks, and is developing 
property P3, a potential placer mine near Anchorage. Company 
B is engaged in three separate mining operations and must file 
a separate Schedule A to calculate taxable income from each 
operation.

Line 1 - Enter the gross income or royalties received from the 
mining operation identified at the top of the schedule. Gross 
income is the sale price, or the actual cash, credits, in-kind 
exchange and other valuable consideration received for mined 
materials. If royalties were received on the property, Schedule E 
must be completed and the amount on Schedule E, line 6 must 
be included on Schedule A, line 1.

Line 6 - An exemption from the mining license tax is allowed 
for three and one-half years after initial commercial production 
begins on the property, if the Department of Revenue has issued 
a certificate of exemption.  Please contact the Department with  
questions regarding the exemption at 907-269-6620. 

Schedule B - Depletion
A separate Schedule B must be completed to calculate the 
allowable depletion deduction for each mining operation. Enter 
only amounts attributable to the mining operation identified at the 
top of this page.

Line 1 - Enter the purchase cost of the property plus all 
development costs incurred while the property was in the 
development stage, less the amount of cost or percentage 
depletion previously taken as a deduction for this property.

Line 2 - Enter the amount of total recoverable units estimated to 
be produced from the property over the life of the mine.

Line 4 - Enter the total number of units sold during the reporting 
period. This line must be filled out.

Line 9 - Enter the applicable depletion percentage.

Line 14 - Percentage depletion is limited to 50% of net income 
from the property before the depletion deduction.

Line 16 - The depletion deduction is the greater of cost or 
percentage depletion calculated each year.

Schedule C - Mining Expenses
Complete a separate Schedule C for each mining operation. 
Royalty recipients cannot take any expenses except for 
depletion. 

Direct Mining Expenses
Direct mining expenses are fully deductible against mining 
gross income.  Only those expenses related to the extraction of 
the mined material, transportation of the material to the point of 
ordinary treatment processes, and the ordinary treatment process 
itself are deductible.  Included in this category of expenses are 
maintenance and repairs, and salaries and wages paid to those 
engaged in the extraction, transportation and ordinary treatment 
processes of the mined material.

Line 3 - Current Development Costs.  If a mining property is 
in the development stage, all development costs which are in 
excess of net income from the sale of mined materials must be 
included in the mine’s basis and are recoverable through the 
depletion allowance.  Development expenses incurred after 
the mine has reached the production stage are deductible as a 
current operating cost.  A mine is considered to be in production 
stage when the principal activity becomes the production of ore 
from the property rather than the development of the ore body.  
(15 AAC 65.125)

Indirect Mining Expenses (Allocation)
Indirect mining expenses are those expenses necessary to the 
mining operation but not directly connected to the extraction, 
transportation and ordinary treatment processes of the operation.  
These expenses are deductible from mining gross income in 
whole or in part. Exploration costs, federal income taxes, the 
Alaska mining license tax, losses on the sale of mining equipment 
or properties, net operating losses and other capital losses are 
not deductible. (15 AAC 65.125) Exploration costs may, however, 
be allowed as a credit against mining license tax due.  See 
instructions for Form 04-665 to see if the property qualifies for the 
exploration incentive credit.

Line 15 - If the indirect expense is related to both mining and non- 
mining activities, the item of expense is allocated in proportion to 
the mining and non mining activity’s direct expenses. (15 AAC 
65.125)

Line 33 - Where two or more properties are involved, indirect 
expenses must be allocated between the properties based upon 
the ratio of each property’s production to the taxpayer’s total 
production from all properties during the tax year.

Schedule D - Royalties Paid
Complete a Schedule D for each mining operation if royalties 
were paid. Show the name, address and identification number 
of each individual, partnership or corporation to whom royalties 
were paid. If the royalty payment was in-kind, report the fair 
market value of the mined material on the date that payment was 
made. Enter the amount from Schedule D, line 6 on line 1 of the 
appropriate Schedule C.

Schedule E - Royalties Received
Complete a Schedule E for each mining operation if royalties 
were received from the operation. Show the name, address 
and identification number of each individual, partnership or 
corporation from whom royalties were received. If the royalty 
payment was in-kind, report the fair market value of the mined 
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material at the date that payment was received. Advance royalty 
payments received should be included in gross income for the tax 
year in which the mined material was actually produced.

Need Help?
If you have questions not addressed in these instructions, need 
more information or require assistance, contact the Tax Division 
at dor.tax.mining@alaska.gov or call 907-269-6620.


