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General Instructions
Use Form 522 to report your monthly cigarette and tobacco products 
activity and remit the Alaska cigarette and tobacco products excise tax 
to the Alaska Department of Revenue, Tax Division. A return must be 
filed even if no cigarettes or tobacco products have been manufactured, 
imported, acquired or sold during the month covered by the return.  All 
schedules that pertain to your business must be completed and all 
required attachments must accompany the return to constitute a complete 
filing.

A single return may be filed for a cigarette business conducted in several 
locations, with several licenses, even if the business holds licenses within 
more than one cigarette business category.  For example, a taxpayer 
holding two distributor’s licenses and three direct-buying retailer’s 
licenses may file one return.   If a single return is filed for more than one 
license, you must include all license numbers in the “License Number(s)” 
box on all pages of the return.

Payment
Pay your taxes using the Online Tax Information System (OTIS) at www.
tax.alaska.gov. Note that you must be an existing taxpayer with the Tax 
Division to pay electronically.  If you are a first-time taxpayer, contact 
the Tax Division at (907) 465-2320 or visit www.tax.alaska.gov for 
information.

ACH Debit (EFT) - OTIS accommodates Automated Clearing House 
(ACH) debit payments.  If your bank account has a debit block, your 
online payment request will be rejected by your bank.  Rejected 
payments may result in late payment penalties and/or interest.

If you think your bank account has a debit block, contact your bank before 
making an online payment to register the State of Alaska as an authorized 
ACH debit originator.  The company ID for the Alaska Department of 
Revenue is 0000902050.

ACH Credit (Credit Cards) - OTIS does not accept ACH credit or credit 
card transactions.

Wire Transfers - If you are paying by wire transfer, log on to the OTIS 
website at www.tax.alaska.gov for instructions.

Checks - Note that if your total payment exceeds $100,000 you are 
required to pay electronically or by wire transfer. If you are paying by 
check,  make your check payable to the State of Alaska and mail it with 
your return to:

TAX DIVISION 
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 	

	 PO BOX 110420
	 JUNEAU AK  99811-0420

Due Date
The return is due by the end of the month following the month in which 
cigarettes and tobacco products were imported, acquired or sold, 
or cigarette tax stamps were purchased.  Tax returns filed without a 
signature and all required schedules and attachments will be deemed to 
be incomplete and therefore, not filed.
 
Interest
Under Alaska Statute 43.05.225, interest will be assessed on any unpaid or 
delinquent tax.  Interest is compounded quarterly at the applicable rate for 
each quarter.  Refer to www.tax.alaska.gov or contact the Tax Division for 
applicable rates. 

Penalties
Late filing of return.  Returns not filed by the due date are subject to a 
failure to file penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 30 day period or 
portion of a period the return is late, up to a maximum of 25%.

Late payment of tax.  If the full amount of tax is not paid when due, the 
return is subject to a failure to pay  penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for 
each 30 day period or portion of a period the payment is late, up to a 
maximum of 25%.  If during any period or portion of a period, both the 
failure to file and failure to pay penalties are applicable, only the failure to 
file penalty is imposed.

Failure to obtain a license.  If a person manufactures, imports, acquires 
or sells cigarettes in the state and fails to hold a license as required by AS 
43.50.010 or AS 43.50.035, the person is liable for the tax plus a penalty 
of 100% of the tax.

Misconduct involving unstamped cigarettes or stamps in the first 
degree.  A person commits the crime of misconduct involving unstamped 
cigarettes or stamps in the first degree if the person sells or distributes 
5,000 or more unstamped cigarettes in a single transaction; owns or 
possesses 5,000 or more unstamped cigarettes with the intent to sell; 
acquires, holds, transports, imports, or possesses 10,000 or more 
unstamped cigarettes; affixes a previously used stamp to a cigarette 
package; or possesses, sells or distributes a previously used stamp.  
Misconduct involving unstamped cigarettes or stamps in the first degree 
is a class C felony.

Misconduct involving unstamped cigarettes or stamps in the 
second degree.  A person commits the crime of misconduct involving 
unstamped cigarettes or stamps in the second degree if the person sells 
or distributes at least one but less than 5,000 unstamped cigarettes in a 
single transaction; owns or possesses at least one but less than 5,000 
unstamped cigarettes with the intent to sell; acquires, holds, transports, 
imports or possesses at least 601 but less than 10,000 unstamped 
cigarettes; or is not licensed or authorized by the Department to possess 
stamps and possesses a stamp that is not affixed to a cigarette package.  
Misconduct involving unstamped cigarettes or stamps in the second 
degree is a class A misdemeanor.

Unauthorized transfer of unaffixed stamps.  A licensee may not 
sell, exchange or otherwise transfer stamps not affixed to a package 
of cigarettes to another person without the prior written approval of the 
Department.  The Department may assess a civil fine of not less than 
$1,000 nor more than $10,000 for a violation of this provision.

Cigarette Shipping Restrictions
Generally, it is illegal to ship or receive cigarettes through the mail unless 
the person shipping the cigarettes holds a current cigarette license issued 
by the Department of Revenue and the person receiving the cigarettes 
holds a current tobacco endorsement issued by the Alaska Department 
of Commerce Community and Economic Development or the person 
receiving the cigarettes provides the shipping company an affidavit 
stating they are 19 years of age or older and are receiving the cigarettes 
for personal consumption.  In the above cases, the cigarettes must be 
stamped showing that the cigarette tax has been paid.  However, the 
following entities may receive stamped or unstamped cigarettes through 
the mail from any source:

1) A person who holds a current cigarette license issued by the 
Alaska Department of Revenue.

2) An operator of a customs bonded warehouse under 19 USC 
1311 or 19 USC 1555.

3) An instrumentality of the federal government.
4) An Indian tribal organization authorized to possess untaxed 

cigarettes.

Please note:  Only the Metlakatla and Klawock Indian Communities are 
Indian tribal organizations authorized to possess untaxed, unstamped 
cigarettes.  Individual members of these communities are subject 
to the excise tax and may not purchase cigarettes through the mail 
unless they provide the affidavit described above and purchase 
cigarettes from an entity licensed by the Department of Revenue.
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When shipping cigarettes, the package containing the cigarettes must be 
clearly marked with the word “cigarettes.”

Penalties, including a $5,000 civil fine per shipment, may be assessed 
by the Department of Revenue for violations of the cigarette shipping 
restrictions.
Specific Instructions

Schedule A - Payment Due for Cigarette Tax Stamps
Line 1 - The Alaska cigarette excise tax must be paid through the use of 
cigarette tax stamps.  Cigarette tax stamps are required to be affixed to 
packages of cigarettes before sale or distribution in the state.  Use Form 
620, Cigarette Tax Stamp Order Form, to purchase cigarette tax stamps.  
Enter the total dollar amount of cigarette tax stamps you purchased 
during the month from line 7, column (b) of Schedule E here.  This is your 
cigarette tax liability before the stamp discount and credit for unused, 
returned and/or destroyed stamps.

Line 2 - Licensees may be entitled to a discount on stamp purchases 
made during the month.   Calculate the stamp discount available to you 
for the purchases you made during the month on Schedule H (Unaffiliated 
Licensees) or Schedule I (Affiliated Licensees).  Complete only Schedule 
H or I, not both.  Enter the discount here.  See additional instructions for 
Schedules H and I within this booklet. 

Line 3 - Licensees may be entitled to a credit for unused cigarette tax 
stamps returned to the Department and stamps affixed to packs of 
cigarettes that were returned to the manufacturer or destroyed during the 
month.  Calculate the credit available to you on Schedule J.  Enter the 
credit here.  See additional instructions for Schedule J within this booklet.

Line 4 - Payment for cigarette tax stamps is due at the time the stamps 
are ordered unless you have been approved to purchase cigarette tax 
stamps on a deferred payment plan.  You may request to pay under a 
deferred payment plan by posting a bond and completing Form 623, 
Application to Purchase Cigarette Tax Stamps on Deferred Payment 
Basis. Enter the total dollar amount you paid during the month for 
the purchase of cigarette tax stamps reported on line 7, column (c) of 
Schedule E here.  If you have been approved for a deferred payment plan 
and did not make any payments for cigarette tax stamps at the time of 
purchase, enter zero here.

Line 5 - Subtract lines 2, 3, and 4 from line 1.  This is the amount of 
cigarette tax due/(overpaid) with the return.  If you have an overpayment, 
it will first be used to reduce your monthly tobacco products excise tax 
due with the return as reported on Schedule B.  Any remaining amount 
will be refunded to you.

Schedule B - Tobacco Products Excise Tax Liability 
and Total Amount Due
Line 6 - Enter the wholesale price of tobacco products manufactured, 
imported, acquired and/or sold during the month from Schedule G here.  
See additional instructions for completing Schedule G within this booklet.

Line 7 - Credit for military sales.  You are allowed a credit for tobacco 
products sold directly to a military exchange, commissary or ship store 
that are for the sole use of authorized military personnel.  Credits claimed 
for military sales must be reported on Schedule G and substantiated with 
copies of original invoices.

Line 8 - Credit for Indian sales.  You are allowed a credit for tobacco 
products sold directly to an Indian operating a tobacco business within 
an Indian reservation of which the Indian is a member.  Please note:  
Only Metlakatla and Klawock Indian communities are Indian tribal 
organizations authorized to possess untaxed, unstamped cigarettes. See 
Schedule G for further instructions regarding this credit.

Line 9 - Other credits.  You are allowed a credit for tobacco products 
returned to the manufacturer or destroyed provided the product is included 
in line 6 of this return or a previous month’s return.  See Schedule G for 
further instructions regarding this credit.

Line 12 - You are allowed a commission of .4 percent (.004) to help cover 
the expense of tobacco products tax collection.  You are only entitled to 
this commission if you file your tax return and pay the tobacco products 
tax within the time prescribed by law.  Multiply line 11 by .4 percent (.004) 
and enter here.

Line 15 - If this is an amended return, enter the amount of cigarette 
and tobacco products excise tax paid for the month as reported on your 
original return.  Otherwise enter zero.

Line 16 - Subtract line 15 from line 14 and enter here.  This is the amount 
of cigarette and tobacco products excise tax due or overpaid with the 
return. If tax is due, it must be remitted by the due date of the return to 
avoid a late payment penalty. If tax is overpaid, we will issue a refund.

Schedule C - Alaska Report of Out-of-State Sales of 
Cigarettes
Effective January 1, 2005, Alaska cigarette licensees may maintain 
unstamped cigarette inventories in Alaska if their business includes 
sales to customers outside of Alaska.  The licensee may also claim a 
credit for cigarettes affixed with an Alaska tax stamp if the cigarettes are 
subsequently sold outside of Alaska.  To maintain unstamped cigarette 
inventories and claim a credit for stamped cigarettes, the licensee must 
be licensed in the state where the cigarettes are shipped if that state 
requires a license and the licensee must comply will all applicable federal 
and state laws and regulations.  You must complete a separate Schedule 
C for each state in which cigarettes are sold.  You must also indicate 
whether you are licensed in the state where the cigarettes are shipped 
and provide your license number issued by that state.  

Column 1 - Provide the date the cigarettes were shipped out of Alaska.

Column 2 - Provide the method of shipping used.  DT (distributor 
transport) if the cigarettes were transported using a truck, boat, or 
other form of transportation owned by you.  CC (common carrier) if 
the cigarettes were transported using a common carrier, i.e. US Postal 
Service, FedEx, UPS, etc.  CT (customer transport) if the cigarettes were 
transported using a truck, boat, or other form of transportation owned by 
your customer.

Columns  3 and 4 - Provide the invoice number, name and address of the 
customer receiving the cigarettes for each transaction.

Columns 5, 6, and 7 - Provide the total number of packs sold in 20 and 
25 denominations and the total number of cigarettes for each transaction.

Column 8 - Indicate whether you paid the taxes to the state where the 
cigarettes were shipped.

Column 9 - Indicate whether the cigarettes shipped out of state were 
affixed with an Alaska tax stamp.  Use Schedule J to claim the credit on 
these cigarettes.

Schedule D-1 - Cigarette Tax Stamp Inventory (For 
Tax Stamps Purchased at the Current Tax Rate of $.10 
per Cigarette)
All licensees must complete Schedule D-1 to report the number of 
cigarette tax stamps you purchased, affixed to cigarette packages, 
returned to the department, and have on hand at the end of the month.  
Use Schedule D-1 to report your inventory of white and brown stamps 
purchased at the new  tax rate of  $.10 per  cigarette  for PM cigarettes 
and  yellow  NPM  stamps purchased  at  the  rate of $.1125 per cigarette. 
PM cigarettes are cigarettes manufactured by those companies that 
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signed the tobacco master settlement agreement.  NPM cigarettes are 
cigarettes manufactured by companies that did not sign the tobacco 
master settlement agreement.  A list of PM and NPM cigarettes approved 
for sale in Alaska can be found on the Department’s website at:  
www.tax.alaska.gov/tobacco/

Refer to the applicable schedules and forms indicated on this schedule 
for further instructions.

Schedule E - Cigarette Tax Stamp Purchase and 
Payment Record
Use this schedule to report the amount of cigarette tax stamps purchased 
and paid for during the month.  Do not include payments made under 
a deferred payment plan in column (c).  However, include all purchases 
made in column (b) regardless of how you paid or will pay for the stamps.

Schedule F - Cigarette Transactions
All invoices covering cigarettes imported, acquired, or sold during the 
month must be listed on Schedule F and a copy of all invoices must be 
attached to the return.  A separate schedule must be prepared for each of 
the following types of transactions: cigarette acquisitions or sales; military 
sales;  Indian sales; unstamped cigarettes returned to the manufacturer; 
and unstamped cigarettes destroyed.  The amounts reported for each 
transaction must be carried to the appropriate line of Schedule C. Do not 
report the return or destruction of stamped cigarettes on this schedule.  
Use Schedule J.  

Schedule G - Tobacco Products Transactions
All invoices covering tobacco products imported, acquired or sold during 
the month must be listed on Schedule G and a copy of all invoices must 
be attached to the return.  A separate schedule must be prepared for each 
of the following types of transactions: tobacco product acquisitions or 
sales; military credits; Indian credits; and other credits.  The schedules 
are to be totaled and the totals carried forward to Schedule A of the return.   
Do not report cigarette transactions on Schedule G.  Use Schedule F.

Credits for military sales must be substantiated by copies of original sales 
invoices that must be attached to this schedule.  Invoices must contain 
a statement signed by an authorized agent of the military exchange, 
commissary or ship store that reads:   “The tobacco products purchased 
will be sold to and for the sole use of authorized personnel in accordance 
with military regulations.  Any sales to unauthorized personnel will be 
reported to the Department of Revenue and appropriate tobacco taxes will 
be paid.”  No credit for military sales will be allowed where retail sales are 
made through vending machines.

Credits for Indian sales must be substantiated by copies of original sales 
invoices that must be attached to this schedule.  Invoices must contain 
a statement signed by a representative of the Indian entity operating the 
tobacco business that reads:  “The tobacco products purchased will be 
sold to and for the sole use of Indians who are members of the Indian 
reservation.  Any sales to nonmembers will be reported to the Department 
of Revenue and appropriate tobacco taxes will be paid.”  No credit for 
Indian sales will be allowed where retail sales are made through vending 
machines.  

Please note:  Only Metlakatla and Klawock Indian communities are 
Indian tribal organizations authorized to possess untaxed, unstamped 
cigarettes. Credits claimed for Indian sales are only allowed for sales 
made to these two tribes.

Other credits claimed for the return or destruction of tobacco products 
must be substantiated with the following:

1) Credit claimed for return of unsaleable merchandise 
must be substantiated by certification from the manufacturer 
which must be attached to the return.

2) Credit claimed for merchandise destroyed must be substantiated 
by certification from the manufacturer or by U.S. Treasury 
Department Form ATF-F 5200.7 which must be attached to the 
return.

Schedules H and I - Stamp Discount
Licensees may purchase cigarette tax stamps at a discount.  The 
discount is equal to the sum of the amounts calculated using the following 
percentages of denominated value of stamps purchased by a licensee 
under this section in a calendar year: 

1) $1,000,000 or less, three percent. 
2) the amount that is more than $1,000,000 and not more than 

$2,000,000, two percent. 
3) the amount that is more than $2,000,000, zero percent.

If you are not affiliated with any other licensee or you are filing a 
consolidated return that includes all affiliated licensees, you must 
calculate your discount using Schedule H.  If you are affiliated with one 
or more other licensees and you and one or more of your affiliates file 
separate returns, you must calculate your discount using Schedule 
I.  “Affiliated licensee” means two or more licensees in which the same 
person holds, directly or indirectly, at least a 50 percent ownership 
interest.  For example, if you and another business are owned by the 
same individual or parent company, you must include all Alaska cigarette 
tax stamp purchases made by you, the other business, and the individual 
or parent company even if each entity purchases its own stamps and files 
its own monthly tax return.  

Caution:  Complete Schedule H or I, but not both, to calculate your 
discount.  

Schedule H - Cigarette Tax Stamp Discount - 
Unaffiliated Licensees
Line 1 - Enter the amount of your total stamp purchases during the month 
from line 7, column (b) of Schedule E.  

Line 2 - Calculate the amount of credit you are claiming for the month 
on unused cigarette tax stamps returned to the Department; stamped 
cigarettes returned to the manufacturer, destroyed or restamped; and 
stamped cigarettes sold to customers outside of Alaska on Schedule J 
and enter it here.  See instructions for completing Schedule J.  

Line 3 - Subtract line 2 from line 1 and enter the result here.  The stamp 
discount is only allowed on the net amount of cigarette tax stamps 
purchased during the month.

Line 4 - Enter the total amount of cigarette tax stamp purchases net 
of credits as reported on line 5 of your prior month’s stamp discount 
worksheet that represent accumulated stamp purchases for the year 
beginning January 1.  If this is the first stamp discount worksheet prepared 
for the calendar year, enter zero here.  

Line 5 - Add lines 3 and 4.  This is the amount of your cumulative calendar 
year stamp purchases.

Line 6 - If your total calendar year stamp purchases entered on line 4 
exceed $2,000,000, you have already received the maximum discount 
allowed by statute.  Enter zero here and on line 2 of Schedule A.  

Line 7 - If your total calendar year-to-date stamp purchases entered on 
line 5 are $1,000,000 or less, you are entitled to a discount of 3 percent 
on your current month’s purchases.  Multiply line 3 by 3 percent (.03).  
Enter here and on line 2 of Schedule A.

Line 8 - If your total calendar year-to-date stamp purchases entered 
on line 5 are more than $1,000,000 and your previous month’s stamp 
purchases entered on line 4 are $1,000,000 or less, complete lines 8a 
through 9 to calculate your discount.  Enter the discount on line 9 and line 
2 of Schedule A.
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Line 10 - If your total calendar year-to-date stamp purchases entered 
on line 5 are more than $1,000,000 and your previous month’s stamp 
purchases are more than $1,000,000 but less than $2,000,000, complete 
lines 10a through 11 to calculate your discount.  Enter the discount on line 
11 and on line 2 of Schedule A.

Caution:  Only the discount calculated on line 6, 7, 9, or 11 is carried to 
Schedule A.  If you have calculated a discount on more than one line, you 
have calculated your discount incorrectly.

Schedule I - Cigarette Tax Stamp Discount - Affiliated 
Licensees
Line 1 - Enter the amount from line 7, column (b) of Schedule E that 
represents your total stamp purchases for the month covered by this 
return. 

Line 2 - Calculate the amount of credit you are claiming for the month on 
unused cigarette tax stamps returned to the Department and stamped 
cigarettes returned to the manufacturer or destroyed on Schedule J and 
enter it here.  See instructions for completing Schedule J.  

Line 3 - Subtract line 2 from line 1 and enter the result here.  The stamp 
discount is only allowed on the net amount of cigarette tax stamps 
purchased during the month.  Therefore, your purchases must be reduced 
by stamps for which you received a credit. 

Line 4 - Enter the total amount of cigarette tax stamp purchases net 
of credits as reported on line 3 of Schedule I for the month covered by 
this return of all affiliated licensees.  Do not include your current stamp 
purchases in this amount.

Line 5 - Add lines 3 and 4 and enter here.  This is the total current stamp 
purchases of the affiliated group of licensees which includes you and all 
of your affiliates.

Line 6 - Enter the total amount of cigarette tax stamp purchases net 
of credits as reported on line 7 of your prior month’s stamp discount 
worksheet that represent accumulated stamp purchases of the affiliated 
group of licensees for the year beginning January 1.  If this is the first 
stamp discount worksheet prepared by you and all members of the 
affiliated group of licensees for the calendar year, enter zero here.  

Line 7 - Add lines 5 and 6.  This is the total calendar year-to-date stamp 
purchases made by you and all members of the affiliated group of 
licensees.

Line 8 - If the total calendar year stamp purchases of the affiliated group 
entered on line 6 exceed $2,000,000, you have already received the 
maximum discount allowed by statute.  Enter zero here and on line 2 of 
Schedule A.  

Line 9 - If the total calendar year-to-date stamp purchases of  the affiliated  
group entered on  line  7 are  $1,000,000 or  less,  you  are  entitled  to  a  
discount  of  3 percent  on your current month’s purchases.  Multiply line 3 
by 3 percent (.03) and enter here and on line 2 of Schedule A.

Line 10 - If the total calendar year-to-date stamp purchases of the 
affiliated group entered on line 7 are more than $1,000,000 and the 
previous month’s stamp purchases of the affiliated group entered on line 
6 are $1,000,000 or less, complete lines 10a through 11 to calculate your 
discount.  Enter the discount on line 11 and on line 2 of Schedule A.

Line 12 - If the total calendar year-to-date stamp purchases of the 
affiliated group entered on line 7 are more than $1,000,000 and the 
previous month’s stamp purchases of the affiliated group are more than 
$1,000,000 but less than $2,000,000, complete lines 12a through 13 to 
calculate your discount.  Enter the discount on line 13 and on line 2 of 
Schedule A.

Caution:  Only the discount calculated on line 8, 9, 11, or 13 is carried to 
Schedule A.  If you have calculated a discount on more than one line, you 
have calculated your discount incorrectly.

Schedule J - Cigarette Tax Stamp Credits
Use this schedule to calculate and claim credits on cigarette tax 
stamps returned to the department and tax stamps affixed to packages 
of cigarettes that were returned to the manufacturer, destroyed or 
restamped.  

Part I.  You may return tax stamps to the Department that have been 
damaged and/or will not be used by you.  Complete Part I to report the 
number of returned stamps.  The Department must receive the stamps 
before a credit will be issued.  Only stamps bearing serial numbers 
that were issued to you or transferred to you in a department approved 
transfer are eligible for a credit.  

Part II.  You are entitled to a credit for cigarette tax stamps purchased 
by you and affixed to cigarettes that were returned to the manufacturer, 
destroyed or restamped.  You must attach certification from the 
manufacturer which states the number of cigarettes and cigarette 
packages bearing the stamps that were returned.  You must attach 
U.S. Treasury Department Form ATF-F3069 or some other form of 
documentation acceptable to the Department verifying the destruction 
of the cigarettes.  You must attach documentation preapproved by the 
Department to claim a credit for cigarettes affixed with a tax stamp which 
were subsequently restamped.   A credit will not be given unless the 
required documentation is attached.  You must identify the serial number 
of the stamps affixed to the packages returned, destroyed or restamped.  
Only stamps bearing serial numbers that were issued to you or transferred 
to you in a transfer approved by the Department are eligible for a credit.
 
Part III.  Beginning January 1, 2005, you are entitled to a credit for 
cigarette tax stamps purchased by you and affixed to cigarettes that were 
subsequently sold outside of Alaska.  You must complete Schedule C for 
each state in which the cigarettes were sold and identify the serial number 
of the stamps affixed to the packages before a credit will be allowed.  Only 
stamps bearing serial numbers that were issued to you or transferred to 
you in a transfer approved by the Department are eligible for a credit.

Need Help?
Where to Send Form 522

TAX DIVISION
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
PO BOX 110420
JUNEAU AK  99811-0420

  

Questions
If you have questions about this form, please contact the Tax Division at 
907-269-6620 or dor.tax.cigarette@alaska.gov.


