Instructions For Alaska Cigarette and Tobacco Products
Tax License Applications

License Required

No person shall import, manufacture, sell, purchase, possess or acquire
cigarettes as a manufacturer, distributor, direct-buying retailer, vending
machine operator, or buyer without first having obtained the appropriate
license. In addition, no person shall distribute any tobacco product
without first having obtained the appropriate license.

Businesses located out of state that wish to sell cigarettes and tobacco
products into the state and pay the tax imposed under AS 43.50, may
apply for a cigarette wholesaler-distributor license or a tobacco distributor
license.

Please be advised that by applying for a license authorizing the sale of
cigarettes, you are agreeing to purchase and affix cigarette tax stamps,
or designate a third party to do so on your behalf, as the means of paying
the state excise tax.

Caution: A person who fails to obtain a cigarette license prior to importing
cigarettes into the state is subject to a penalty of 100% of the tax due on

the cigarettes in addition to the tax.

Definition of License Types

Buyer is a person who imports or acquires cigarettes for the person’s
own consumption from any source other than a manufacturer, distributor,
direct-buying retailer, retailer, or wholesaler-distributor.

Direct-Buying Retailer is a person who is engaged in the sale of
cigarettes at retail in the state, and who brings, or causes to be brought,

cigarettes into the state.

Cigarette Distributor a person who brings cigarettes, or has cigarettes
brought into the state, and who sells or distributes at least 75% of the
cigarettes to others for resale in the state. Tax is levied when cigarettes are

first imported or acquired in the state.

Manufacturer is a person who makes, fashions, or produces cigarettes
for sale to distributors or other persons.

Vending Machine Operator is a person who imports or acquires
cigarettes in the state, upon which the tax has not been paid, and
distributes them through vending machines.

Wholesaler-Distributors is a person outside of the state who sells
cigarettes into the state and agrees to pay the cigarette and tobacco

products tax imposed under AS 43.50.

Tobacco Products Distributor is a person who brings, or causes to be
brought, a tobacco product into the state from outside the state for sale;
makes, manufactures, or fabricates a tobacco product in the state for sale in
the state; or ships, or transports a tobacco product to a retailer in the state
for sale by the retailer. If you import cigarettes as well as tobacco products,
you only need to apply for the appropriate cigarette license.

Tax Imposed

There is an excise tax of 100 mills on each cigarette ($2.00 per pack
of 20) imported or acquired in Alaska. The cigarette tax must be paid
through the purchase of cigarette tax stamps. Use Form 620 to purchase
cigarette tax stamps. Taxpayers are entitled to a discount of 3% on the
first $1,000,000 and 2% on the next $1,000,000 of cigarette tax stamps
purchased in a calendar year. Atax is levied on tobacco products at the
rate of 75% of the wholesale price. Taxpayers may deduct 0.4 percent
(.004) of the total tobacco products tax to cover the expense of collecting
and remitting the tobacco products tax.

Other Definitions

Cigarette means a roll for smoking of any size or shape, made wholly or
partly of tobacco whether the tobacco is flavored, adulterated, or mixed
with another ingredient, if the wrapper or cover of the roll is made of paper
or a material other than tobacco.

Tobacco Products include the following: cigars; cheroots; perique;
snuff and snuff flour; smoking tobacco, including granulated, plug-cut,
ready-rubbed, and any form of tobacco suitable for smoking in a pipe or
cigarette; chewing tobacco, including cavendish, twist, plug, scrap, and
tobacco suitable for chewing; or articles or products made of tobacco or a
tobacco substitute, but not including cigarettes as defined above.

Wholesale Price is the established price for which a manufacturer
sells a tobacco product to a distributor after deduction of a discount
or other reduction received by the distributor for quantity or cash if the
manufacturer’s established price is adequately supported by bona fide
arm’s length sales as determined by the Department. If the price is not
adequately supported by bona fide arm’s length sales, the wholesale
price will be determined by the Department.
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