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Instructions for Alaska Commercial Passenger 
Vessel Excise Tax Monthly Return

General Information
A person providing travel to a passenger aboard a commercial 
vessel for which the Commercial Passenger Vessel (CPV) Excise 
Tax is payable shall collect the tax and submit a monthly return to 
the Department. The amount of tax collected by voyage, number 
of passengers, local levies collected and ports of call must be 
reported for each commercial passenger vessel that provided 
overnight accommodations on the state’s marine water during the 
prior calendar month.  The monthly tax return and remittance of 
the collected tax are due to the Department on the last day of the 
month following the month in which the voyages were completed.  

Tax Rates And Collection
CPV Excise Tax statutes (AS 43.52.200-295) levy an excise tax of 
$34.50 a passenger per voyage. The tax must be collected from the 
passenger on or before the completion of the voyage, regardless 
of billing practices, installment agreements, credit procedures or 
bad debts. The tax also applies to passengers who are provided 
a voyage under a promotion, contest or other agreement for 
which the passenger did not compensate the company or person 
providing travel aboard the commercial vessel. 

Tax Reduction For Local Levies
The CPV tax is reduced by the total amount of a tax on the 
passenger traveling on a commercial passenger vessel that is 
imposed and collected by Juneau and Ketchikan. A local levy 
reduction is allowed only if the passenger is subject to the CPV 
Excise Tax.

Exemptions
The tax imposed by AS 43.52.200-43.52.295 does not apply to 
passengers on board a commercial passenger vessel that does 
not anchor or moor in state marine waters with the intent to allow 
passengers to disembark.

How To File
File an online return – File your Commercial Passenger Vessel 
Excise Tax Monthly Tax Return using the Online Tax Information 
System (OTIS) at: www.tax.alaska.gov. You may also pay your 
tax online at this site.

File a paper return - Mail completed return to:
TAX DIVISION
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 110420
JUNEAU AK 99811-0420

Payment
Pay your taxes using the Online Tax Information System (OTIS) at 
www.tax.alaska.gov. Note that you must be an existing taxpayer 
with the Tax Division to pay electronically.  If you are a first-time 
taxpayer, contact the Tax Division at (907) 465-2320 or visit www.
tax.alaska.gov for information.

ACH Debit (EFT) - OTIS accommodates Automated Clearing 
House (ACH) debit payments.  If your bank account has a 
debit block, your online payment request will be rejected by 
your bank.  Rejected payments may result in late payment 
penalties and/or interest.

If you think your bank account has a debit block, contact your 
bank before making an online payment to register the State of 
Alaska as an authorized ACH debit originator.  The company ID 
for the Alaska Department of Revenue is 0000902050.

ACH Credit (Credit Cards) - OTIS cannot accept ACH credit or 
credit card transactions for this tax program.

Wire Transfers - If you are paying by wire transfer, log on to 
OTIS at www.tax.alaska.gov for instructions.

Checks - Note that if your total payment exceeds $100,000 you 
are required to pay electronically or by wire transfer. If you are 
paying by check,  make your check payable to the State of Alaska 
and mail it with your return or OTIS payment voucher to:

	 TAX DIVISION
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

 	 PO BOX 110420
	 JUNEAU AK 99811-0420

Penalties
Late filing of return. Returns not filed by the due date are subject 
to a failure to file penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 30-day 
period or portion of a period the return is late, up to a maximum 
of 25%.

Late payment of tax. If the full amount of tax is not paid when 
due, the return is subject to a failure to pay penalty of 5% of 
the unpaid tax for each 30-day period or portion of a period the 
payment is late, up to a maximum of 25%. If during any period 
or portion of a period, both the failure to file and failure to pay 
penalties are applicable, only the failure to file penalty is imposed.

Interest
Under Alaska Statute 43.05.225, interest will be assessed on any 
unpaid or delinquent tax.  Interest is compounded quarterly at the 
applicable rate for each quarter.  Refer to www.tax.alaska.gov or 
contact the Tax Division for applicable rates.

Line By Line Instructions
Schedule A - Commercial Passenger Vessel Excise Tax 
Calculation
Line 1 - Enter total passengers from Schedule B. 

Line 3 - Enter the tax. Multiply the total number of passengers on 
line 1 by the tax rate on line 2.

Line 4 - Enter the total levies collected from Schedule D.

Line 5 - Enter total tax (line 3 less line 4).

Line 6 - f this is an amended return, enter in the amount previously 
paid on the original return.  If this is not an amended return, leave 
this line blank.

Line 7 - Enter the total amount of Commercial Passenger Vessel 
Excise Tax due (subtract line 6 from line 5).
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Schedule B - Voyage Information
Include the following information for each voyage for the 
commercial passenger vessel filing the return.  

Voyage # - Enter the unique identifying number for each voyage.

Port of Origin - Enter the name of the port where the voyage 
began. 

Final Port - Enter the port where the voyage ended. 

Begin Date - Enter the date of embarkation of the vessel from the 
port of origin.

End Date - Enter the date of final debarkation of the voyage.

Total from additional sheets - If the reporting vessel had more 
than eight (8) voyages during the filing period, include the required 
information on a separate sheet making sure to include the total 
number of passengers reported on those separate sheets on this 
line.

Total # of Passengers - Enter the number of passengers 
on board the commercial passenger vessel subject to the 
Commercial Passenger Vessel Excise Tax.  

Schedule C - Ports of Call Detail
For each voyage listed in Schedule B, list the first seven (7) 
Alaska ports of call. If the vessel had more than eight (8) voyages 
during the reporting period, attach a separate sheet as needed.

Voyage # - Enter the voyage numbers from Schedule B.

Alaska Port Code - Use the Alaska port codes provided on the 
form. The ports of call provided are limited to municipalities as 
defined by 15 AAC 52.295(1)(c)(2). 

Number of Passengers - Report the number of passengers  on 
board the vessel at each port of call.

Schedule D - Tax Reduction for Local Levies
Voyage # - Enter the voyage number from Schedule B if the 
voyage itinerary included a visit to Juneau or Ketchikan.

Alaska Port Code - Enter the corresponding Alaska Port Code 
for either Juneau or Ketchikan (JNU or KTN).

Number of Passengers - Enter the number of passengers upon 
which a levy was imposed and collected by the port you entered.

Levy Rate - Enter the levy rate per passenger imposed and 
collected by the port you entered.

Levy Amount Collected - Enter the number of passengers 
multiplied by the levy rate.

Subtotal - Add the levy amounts collected on this page.

Total from additional pages - If the reporting vessel had more 
than twenty one (21) levies imposed and collected during the 
filing period, include the required information on a separate sheet 
making sure to include total levies collected reported on those 
separate sheets on this line.

Total levies collected - Enter the total levies collected (subtotal 
and any additional pages).

Need Help?
These instructions are not regulations and are offered for 
the convenience of the taxpayer in completing this form. The 
applicable regulations, 15 AAC 52.210-295, may be found at http://
www.tax.alaska.gov/programs/programs/index.aspx?20000.

If you have any questions regarding these filing requirements, 
please contact:

TAX DIVISION
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
550 W 7TH AVE STE 500
ANCHORAGE AK 99501
Phone 907.269.6620 
Fax 907.269.6644

For additional forms, visit www.tax.alaska.gov or contact us at the 
address or phone number above.


