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General Information 
A separate Alcoholic Beverage Excise Tax Return is due for each 
licensed facility by the end of the month following the month in 
which alcoholic beverages were sold in the state. Schedule A 
must be accompanied by all applicable supporting schedules (B 
through F); and the Inventory Report (Schedule G). All alcoholic 
beverage invoices must be kept for three years and be available 
for audit or inspection by the Alaska Department of Revenue 
(DOR). 

How To File 
File Online Return – File your Alcoholic Beverage Excise Tax 
Return using the Online Tax Information System (OTIS) at: www.
tax.alaska.gov You may also pay your tax online at this site. 

File Paper Return - Mail completed return to: 
Tax Division 
Alaska Department of Revenue 
PO Box 110420 
Juneau AK 99811-0420 

Payment 
Pay your taxes using the Online Tax Information System (OTIS) at 
www.tax.alaska.gov Note that you must be an existing taxpayer 
with the Tax Division to pay electronically. If you are a first-time 
taxpayer, contact the Tax Division at 907-465-2320 or visit www.
tax.alaska.gov for information. 

ACH Debit (EFT) - OTIS accommodates Automated Clearing 
House (ACH) debit payments. If your bank account has a 
debit block, your online payment request will be rejected by 
your bank. Rejected payments may result in late payment 
penalties and/or interest. 

If you think your bank account has a debit block, contact your 
bank before making an online payment to register the State of 
Alaska as an authorized ACH debit originator. The company ID 
for the Alaska Department of Revenue is 0000902050. 

ACH Credit (Credit Cards) - OTIS does not accept ACH credit 
or credit card transactions. 

Wire Transfers - If you are paying by wire transfer, log on to the 
OTIS website at www.tax.alaska.gov for instructions. 

Checks - Note that if your total payment exceeds $100,000 you 
are required to pay electronically or by wire transfer. If you are 
paying by check, make your check payable to the State of Alaska 
and mail it with your return to: 

Tax Division 
Alaska Department of Revenue 
PO Box 110420 
Juneau AK 99811-0420 

Penalties 
Late Filing Of Return - Returns not filed by the due date are 
subject to a failure to file penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 
30 day period or portion of a period the return is late, up to a 
maximum of 25%. 

Late Filing Of Return - Returns not filed by the due date are 
subject to a failure to file penalty of 5% of the unpaid tax for each 
30 day period or portion of a period the return is late, up to a 
maximum of 25%. 

Late Payment Of Tax - If the full amount of tax is not paid when 
due, the return is subject to a failure to pay penalty of 5% of 
the unpaid tax for each 30 day period or portion of a period the 
payment is late, up to a maximum of 25%. If during any period 
or portion of a period, both the failure to file and failure to pay 
penalties are applicable, only the failure to file penalty is imposed.
 
Interest 
Under Alaska Statute 43.05.225, interest will be assessed on any 
unpaid or delinquent tax. Interest is compounded quarterly at the 
applicable rate each quarter. Refer to www.tax.alaska.gov or 
contact the Tax Division for applicable rates. 

Line By Line Instructions 

Interactive forms are located at: 
http://www.tax.alaska.gov/alcohol

Schedule A - Tax Calculation 
Lines 1a, 2a, 3a, and 4a - Enter the total gallons of taxable 
alcoholic beverages sold in Alaska by type and district as reported 
on Schedule B. 
Lines 1c, 2c, 3c, and 4c - Enter the computed tax for each 
alcoholic beverage type. (Multiply Lines 1a, 2a, 3a, and 4a by 1b, 
2b, 3b and 4b.) 
Line 5 - Enter amount previously paid if filing an amended return. 
Lines 6 - Enter the total tax due. Add the total of lines 1c, 2c, 3c 
and 4c, less line 5. 

Schedule B - Supporting Schedule Of Gallons Sold In Alaska 
Enter the total number of taxable gallons sold in Alaska, and 
the names and Alaska addresses of all sales to retailers or 
individuals and include the judicial district (the destination of the 
retail sale). A single line should be used to report on-site sales 
directly to individual consumers. Carry forward the total to line 1a, 
2a, 3a and 4a of Schedule A by Judicial District and to Line 4 of 
Schedule G. Enter totals at the bottom of the page.

Schedule C - Supporting Schedule Of Gallons Sold To 
Military Establishments 
Enter the total number of tax exempt gallons sold, and the names, 
judicial district (the destination of the military sale) and Alaska 
addresses of sales made to military establishments qualifying for 
exemption under USC 4-107. Carry forward the total to line 5 of 
Schedule G. Enter totals at the bottom of the page.

Schedule D - Supporting Schedule Of Gallons Transferred 
Or Sold To Licensed Warehouse 
Enter the total number of tax exempt gallons sold or consigned, 
and the names, judicial district (the destination of the sale or 
consignment) and Alaska addresses for sales or consignments to 
licensed bonded warehouses in the state. Carry forward the total 
to line 6 of Schedule G. Enter totals at the bottom of the page.
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Schedule E - Supporting Schedule Of Gallons Sold Out Of 
State 
Enter the total number of tax exempt gallons sold or consigned 
and the names and addresses of sales or consignments out of 
state. Carry forward the total to line 7 of Schedule G. Enter totals 
at the bottom of the page.

Schedule F – Distributor’s Schedule For Sales Of Reduced 
Tax Rate Beer And Malt Beverages 
Distributor’s (Licensed Bonded Warehouses only) must complete 
this form if they sell beer or malt beverages produced by a 
brewery that qualifies for the reduced tax rate and are approved 
by DOR for the current fiscal year and are claiming the reduced 
rate on Schedule A. Provide the name and address of the brewery 
qualifying for the reduced rate and the number of gallons sold or 
consigned. The reduced rate will not be allowed if any information 
on this form is omitted. The grand total of Schedule F should 
match the totals on Schedules B, C, D, and E. Enter totals at the 
bottom of the page.

Schedule G – Inventory Report 
All alcoholic beverage licensees must complete this form if 
alcoholic beverages are stored or manufactured in Alaska. A 
separate inventory report must be provided for each location 
where alcoholic beverages are stored or manufactured with each 
return. 

Line 1 – Beginning inventory must equal the ending inventory 
reported on the prior month’s form. Provide a full explanation if 
the amounts do not agree. 

Line 2 – Enter total gallons received or produced during the 
month. 

Line 3 – Total gallons on hand during the month (Add lines 1 and 
2).
 
Line 4 – Total gallons from Schedule B (See instructions for 
Schedule B). 

Line 5 – Total gallons from Schedule C (See instructions for 
Schedule C). 

Line 6 – Total gallons from Schedule D (See instructions for 
Schedule D). 

Line 7 – Total gallons from Schedule E (See instructions for 
Schedule E). 

Line 8 – Subtotal (Subtract Lines 4 through 7 from Line 3). 

Line 9 – Increase or (decrease) – An example of an increase 
would be returns, inventory adjustments, etc. An example of a 
decrease would be breakage, donations, samples, losses due to 
settling, etc. Enter a decrease as a negative number. Provide a 
detailed explanation of each type of increase or decrease. 

Line 10 – Ending Inventory (sum of Line 8 and 9) must equal 
beginning inventory for the next month. 

Definitions 
Judicial District - For reporting purposes, the district is the 
destination of the retail sale or consignment. There are a total of 
four districts. A judicial map may be obtained at the following web 
site: www.courts.alaska.gov/venuemap.pdf.

Quick reference:
District 1 = Southeast Alaska; District 2 = North Slope; District 3 = 
Anchorage Area & District 4 = Fairbanks Area

Liquor - Alcoholic beverages having a content of more than 21 
percent alcohol by volume. 

Wine - Alcoholic beverages except malt or cider beverages 
having a content of less than 21 percent alcohol by volume. 

Malt Beverages - Any alcoholic beverage brewed or produced 
from malt, wholly or in part, or from any substitute for malt. 

Cider - Still wine derived primarily from apples or apple 
concentrate and water (apple juice, or the equivalent amount 
of concentrate reconstituted to the original brix of the juice prior 
to concentration, must represent more than 50 percent of the 
volume of the finished product) containing no other fruit product 
nor any artificial product which imparts a fruit flavor other than 
apple; containing at least 0.5 percent but not more than 7 percent 
alcohol by volume; having the taste, aroma, and characteristics 
generally attributed to hard cider; and sold or offered for sale as 
cider. 

Beer & Malt Beverages Qualifying For Reduced Tax Rate - 
Alaska allows a reduced rate of tax (0.35 cents per gallon) on 
sales of beer and malt beverages sold in the state produced 
by a qualifying brewery. If the department has not received the 
following documents, beer and malt beverages will be taxed at 
the rate of $1.07 per gallon. If proof of eligibility is not received by 
the department before June 1 each fiscal year, the reduced tax 
rate does not apply until the first day of the second month after 
the month the proper documents are received by the department. 
In State  Brewers must be licensed annually by DOR and must 
qualify for the reduced rate of tax. DOR must have received a 
Brewer’s Report of Operations (TTB F5130.09), or for brewers 
that do not produce more than 5,000 barrels of beer per calendar 
year the Brewpub Report of Operations (TTB F5130.26) and an 
annual Declaration of Anticipated Brewing (0405-406). Out of 
State Brewers must be approved annually by DOR to receive 
the reduced tax rate. Before the reduced rate is allowed, the 
department must have received a Brewer’s Report of Operations 
(TTB F5130.09) and an annual Declaration of Anticipated 
Brewing (0405-406). 

Need Help? 
If you have any questions not addressed in these instructions, 
need more information or require assistance, contact the Tax 
Division at dor.tax.alcohol@alaska.gov or call 907-269-6620.


